DETAILED ACTION
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A copolymer, comprising tetrafluoroethylene unit and perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) unit,
wherein the copolymer has a content of perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) unit of 4.6 to 5.2% by mass with respect to the whole of the monomer units,
a melt flow rate at 372°C of 22.0 to 28.0 g/10 min, and
the total number of -CF=CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2 and -CH2OH of 50 or less per 106 main-chain carbon atoms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 110790854 as listed on IDS dated January 10, 2024) in view of Kitahara et al. (US 20100314154 as listed on IDS dated June 27, 2025).
The examiner refers to the English translation of Wang et al. provided by the applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. disclose in Example 2 a copolymer comprising a tetrafluoroethylene and perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) [0093-0099]. Wang et al. disclose the copolymer comprises 3.26 wt% of perfluoro propyl vinl ether and a melt flow rate of 26.4 g/10 min at 372°C as shown in Table 1 (machine translation provided below), thereby lying within the claimed ranges.
Wang et al. is silent on the total number of -CF=CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2 and -CH2OH as recited in the instant claim.
Kitahara et al. teach a tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropolynee copolymer (claim 1). Kitahara et al. teach the amount of thermally unstable end groups such as --COOH, --CH2OH, --COF, --CF=CF--, --CONH2 , --COOCH3 is less than or equal to 50 per 1×106 carbon atoms [0027-0028], thereby reading on the claimed range. Kitahara et al. offer the motivation that the unstable end groups cause a decrement in thermal resistance and an increment of attenuation of the electrical wire obtained from the resin because the end group is chemically unstable [0028]. Wang et al. is also concerned with reducing the number of unstable end groups [0017].
Regarding claim 3 and 4, Wang et al. do not teach Example 2 is used to form an electric wire coating or a formed article.
However, Wang et al. teach the PTFE resin is widely used for insulation sheaths for wires and cables [0005], thereby reading on the coated electric wire of claim 3 and the article of claim 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the composition of Wang et al. to form a coating for an electric wire since it is well known in the industry.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 110790854 as listed on IDS dated January 10, 2024) in view of Kitahara et al. (US 20100314154 as listed on IDS dated June 27, 2025) in further view of Sawaki et al. (US 20150158988 as listed on IDS dated January 10, 2024).
The copolymer of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. is silent on if the composition is used to form an injection molded article.
Sawaki et al. teach a fluorine containing copolymer consisting of tetrafluoroethylene and perfluoro(alkyl vinyl ether) units (claim 1). Sawaki et al. teach a molded article is formed from the copolymer by injection molding (claim 4). Wang et al. is also concerned with tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether copolymer (claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the composition of Wang et al. to form an injection molded article as taught by Sawaki et al. since it is well known in the industry that the tetrafluoroethylene-perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether copolymers can be injection molded.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3, 4, and 5 of copending Application No. 18451502 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications refer to a copolymer comprising overlapping amounts of perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) unit, overlapping melt flow rates, and overlapping amount of -CF=CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2 and -CH2OH.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, and 3 of copending Application No. 1885870 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications refer to a copolymer comprising overlapping amounts of perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) unit, overlapping melt flow rates, and overlapping amount of -CF=CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2 and -CH2OH.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12459176. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications refer to a copolymer comprising overlapping amounts of perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) unit, overlapping melt flow rates, and overlapping amount of -CF=CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2 and -CH2OH.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763