DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 8, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “chamfer-like” which includes the phrases "or the like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN101850566 to Zheng.
In re claim 1, Zheng teaches a chainsaw chain for a chainsaw, the chainsaw chain comprising:
a plurality of drive links (4) configured to connect the chainsaw chain to the chainsaw, each drive link including a drive link body (a shown in at least Figure 1), a rivet hole (rivet 1 is disposed in rivet hole) extending through the drive link body, and a tang (see Annotated Figure 1, below) extending from the drive link body and configured to engage a drive element of the chainsaw;
a plurality of cutters (2) configured to cut a workpiece during a cutting operation, each cutter including
a cutter body having a rivet hole (as shown in at least Figure 2) extending therethrough,
a cutting tooth (21) coupled to an upper portion of the cutter body,
a carbide cutting tip (5, Paras 0011,0012) coupled to the cutting tooth,
a feed limiter (22) coupled to the upper portion of the cutter body and spaced from the cutting tooth, and
a gullet (see Annotated Figure 1, below)defined between the cutting tooth and the feed limiter; and
a plurality of rivets (as shown in at least Figure 1) received within corresponding rivet holes of the plurality of drive links and the plurality of cutters to couple the plurality of drive links and the plurality of cutters together.
In re claim 2, further comprising a plurality of tie straps (3), wherein each tie strap includes a tie strap body (as shown in at least Figure 1) and a rivet hole (as shown in at least Figure 1) extending through the tie strap body, and wherein the plurality of rivets is also received within corresponding rivet holes of the plurality of tie straps to couple the plurality of drive links, the plurality of cutters, and the plurality of tie straps together (as shown in at least Figure 1).
In re claim 4, wherein the rivet hole (as shown in at least Figure 2) of each cutter body is a first rivet hole, and wherein the cutter body of each cutter (2) has a second rivet hole extending therethrough and a longitudinal axis extending through the first rivet hole and the second rivet hole (as shown in at least Figure 2)
In re claim 5, wherein a major dimension of the carbide cutting tip (5) of at least one cutter is oriented at an oblique angle relative to the longitudinal axis (as shown in at least Figure 3).
Note, the term “major” does not impart any structure to the term dimension. It has been interpreted, the cutting edge (9) is oriented oblique relative to the longitudinal axis.
In re claim 7, wherein a major dimension of the carbide cutting tip of at least one cutter is oriented parallel to the longitudinal axis (as shown at least Figure 2, see Annotated Figure 2, below).
Note, he term “major” does not impart any structure to the term dimension. It has been interpreted, the base of the cutting tip is oriented parallel to the longitudinal axis.
In re claim 8, wherein the cutting tooth (21) of at least one cutter is set relative to the feed limiter (22)
In re claim 9, wherein the carbide cutting tip (5) of at least one cutter has a width that is greater than a width of a corresponding cutter body (as shown in at least Figure 3).
In re claim 11, wherein a cutting insert (5) of at least one cutter extends across an entire lead edge of the top plate (see Annotated Figure 3, below).
In re claim 12, wherein a cutting insert (5) of at least one cutter extends across a portion of a lead edge of the top plate (see Annotated Figure 3, above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of CN 114536481 to Ni et al.
In re claim 3, Zheng teaches wherein the cutter body of each cutter has a toe and a heel formed on a bottom portion of the cutter body and spaced from each other, but does wherein the toe and the heel are formed as chamfer-like edges.
Ni teaches a cutter body having a toe and a heel having chamfer-like edges (as shown in at least Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to shape the tow and heal of Zheng to have chamfer-like edges as taught by Ni which is advantageous for durability and impact resistance.
Regarding claim 6, referring to Figure 1, Zheng teaches the carbide cutting tip having a major dimension with respect to the longitudinal axis, but does not teach the carbide cutting tip of at least one cutter is oriented perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
Referring to alternative embodiment to at least Figure 4, Zheng teaches at least a point along the carbide cutting tip oriented perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
Ni teaches a cutting tip (312) having a high hardness (higher than the base body) orientated perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to orient the carbide cutting tip of Zheng perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (of the cutting body) as taught by Figure 4 to Zheng or Ni which is advantageous for cutting speed and chip ejection.
Regarding claim 10, Zheng teaches wherein each cutter also includes a top plate and at least a portion of the top plate extends outward and perpendicular to the cutter body; however, in the event one may argue the top plate of Zheng does not extend outward and perpendicular, Ni teaches a cutter including a top plate (as shown in at least Figure 4) extending outward and perpendicular to the cutter body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to orient the top plate of Zheng perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (of the cutting body) as taught by Ni which is advantageous for cutting speed and chip ejection.
Regarding claim 13, Zheng teaches a cutting insert, but does not teach a portion of at least one cutter overlays a portion of a corresponding gullet.
Ni teaches a portion of the cutting insert (312) of at least one cutter overlays a portion of a corresponding gullet (312a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to orient a portion of the cutting insert of Zheng to overlap the gullet as taught by Ni which is advantageous for quickly breaking the object being cut (Pg. 3, lines 6-8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. EP0090773 teaches a cutting insert overlapping a cutter. US Patent Application Publication No. 20140260875 teaches a chainsaw cutter having a body, cutting tool, gullet, feed limiter, and a plurality of rivets.
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724