CTNF 18/454,186 CTNF 77776 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 1. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 2. Claim s 1-2, 5, 14-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis et al. (US 11,129,116) in view of Bergstrom (US 2023/0276376) . Regarding claim 1 , Landis teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1, 2) comprising at least one processor (Fig. 2), and at least one memory storing instructions (Fig. 2) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to control (Fig. 2 and column 10, lines 31 – column 11, lines 55), receiving scheduling information for uplink transmission, performing at least one scheduled uplink transmission according to the scheduling information (column 4, lines 12 – column 5, lines 37 and Fig. 1, where teaches transmission of PUSCH frequency signals in 3GPP standard which are scheduled by downlink control channels, and a PUCCH carries uplink control channel information to another device, such as a base station, and for example, the PUCCH may be used to transport one or more of hybrid automatic repeat request feedback, channel state information, channel quality indicators, MIMO feedback, or scheduling request, and scheduling by downlink control channels according to scheduling information), controlling content of a power headroom report in dependence upon detection of a reflection of the scheduled uplink transmission (column 2, lines 64 – column 4, lines 63, Fig. 1, 3, and column 12, lines 24 – column 13, lines 2, where teaches setting transmission power to comply with a maximum permissible exposure, MPE, limit depends on the detection of reflection of the scheduled uplink transmission). Landis does not specifically teach the limitation “controlling content of a power headroom report in dependence upon detection of a reflection of the scheduled uplink transmission, and transmitting the power headroom report having content controlled in dependence upon detection of the reflection of the scheduled uplink transmission”. However, Bergstrom teaches the limitation “controlling content of a power headroom report in dependence upon detection of a reflection of the scheduled uplink transmission, and transmitting the power headroom report having content controlled in dependence upon detection of the reflection of the scheduled uplink transmission” (pages 13, paragraphs 134 – 135, Fig. 1, 11, pages 2, paragraphs 28 – 31, and pages 3, paragraphs 51 – pages 4, paragraphs 60, where teaches wireless connection between UE and base station, and the UE for sending a PHR MAC CE which includes an MPE indication, and improving the performance of OTT services provided to UE using OTT connection, more precisely, improving the reporting of power headroom and thus enable more accurate (appropriate) scheduling of resource blocks for uplink transmissions). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Landis’s device performance and structure as taught by Bergstrom, provide the motivation to achieve recognizing and controlling a base station’s transmission power limitations in order to improve terminal device configurability. Regarding claim 2 , Landis and Bergstrom teach all the limitation as discussed in claim 1. Furthermore, Landis further teaches that one or more first antennas, and at least a second antenna different to the one or more first antennas (Fig. 2, 4 and column 13, lines 3 – column 15, lines 40), wherein the apparatus is configured to perform the uplink transmission according to the scheduling information from the one or more first antennas (column 4, lines 12 – column 5, lines 37, Fig. 2, 4, and column 13, lines 3 – column 15, lines 40), detect at the second antenna reflection of the uplink transmission, transmitted according to the scheduling information (column 4, lines 12 – column 5, lines 37, Fig. 2, 4, and column 13, lines 3 – column 15, lines 40). Landis does not specifically teach the limitation “update the power headroom report in dependence upon detecting reflection of the uplink transmission”. However, Bergstrom teaches the limitation “update the power headroom report in dependence upon detecting reflection of the uplink transmission” (pages 13, paragraphs 134 – 135, Fig. 1, 11, pages 2, paragraphs 28 – 31, and pages 3, paragraphs 51 – pages 4, paragraphs 60, where teaches wireless connection between UE and base station, and the UE for sending a PHR MAC CE which includes an MPE indication, and improving the performance of OTT services provided to UE using OTT connection, more precisely, improving the reporting of power headroom and thus enable more accurate (appropriate) scheduling of resource blocks for uplink transmissions). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Landis’s device performance and structure as taught by Bergstrom, provide the motivation to achieve recognizing and controlling a base station’s transmission power limitations in order to improve terminal device configurability. Regarding claim 5 , Landis and Bergstrom teach all the limitation as discussed in claim 1. Furthermore, Landis further teaches that the apparatus is configured to detect reflection of the uplink transmission within a time-limited window positioned at a time dependent upon a transmission time of the uplink transmission (column 13, lines 3 – column 15, lines 40 and Fig.1, 4, 6). Regarding claim 14 , Landis and Bergstrom teach all the limitation as discussed in claim 1. Furthermore, Landis further teaches that storing scheduling information for uplink transmission (column 4, lines 12 – column 5, lines 37, Fig. 1, 2, and column 11, lines 28 – column 12, lines 23, where teaches transmission of PUSCH frequency signals in 3GPP standard which are scheduled by downlink control channels, and a PUCCH carries uplink control channel information to another device, such as a base station, and for example, the PUCCH may be used to transport one or more of hybrid automatic repeat request feedback, channel state information, channel quality indicators, MIMO feedback, or scheduling request, and scheduling by downlink control channels according to scheduling information or instruction that is stored in memory), updating of the power headroom report having content controlled in dependence upon detection of the reflection of the scheduled uplink transmission. Regarding claim 15 , Landis and Bergstrom teach all the limitation as discussed in claims 1 and 14. Regarding claim 16 , Landis and Bergstrom teach all the limitation as discussed in claims 1 and 2. Regarding claim 19 , Landis and Bergstrom teach all the limitation as discussed in claims 1 and 5 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 3. Claim s 3-4, 6-13, 17-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record fails to disclose the limitation “the apparatus is configured to perform at least one uplink transmission according to the scheduling information at a maximum transmit power and is configured to transmit a power headroom report with 0 dB power headroom and no maximum permissible exposure event trigger in response to determination that no reflected version of the scheduled and transmitted uplink transmission is detected at the apparatus and is configured to transmit a power headroom report with a maximum permissible exposure event trigger in response to determination that a reflected version of the scheduled and transmitted uplink transmission is detected at the apparatus” as specified the claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mow et al. (US 2019/0267709) discloses Electronic Device Having Phased Antenna Array for Performing Proximity Detection Operations. PARK et al. (US 2023/0262614) discloses Method and Apparatus for Reporting Effective Power Headroom of Terminal. Information regarding...Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system... at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)." Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN J LEE whose telephone number is (571)272-7880. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri (8:00am-5:00pm). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuwen Pan can be reached on 571-272-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. J.L September 3, 2025 John J Lee /JOHN J LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/454,186 Page 2 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/454,186 Page 3 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/454,186 Page 4 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/454,186 Page 5 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/454,186 Page 6 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/454,186 Page 7 Art Unit: 2649