DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Neligan et al. (WO2021122755A3) with the publication date: 2021-08-12. The rejection is relied on (US 2023/0011299) with the similar disclosure as disclosed in (WO2021122755A3).
Regarding claim 1, Neligan discloses a portable power supply (transportable charging stations, paragraph [0064]) comprising:
a housing (a housing 2A of the transportable charging station 2, paragraph [0207]);
a control area network (“CAN”) bus disposed in the housing (This internal communication bus may comprise in a possible implementation a CAN bus, paragraph [0209]);
a battery core disposed in the housing (battery pack 2D, fig. 3) and configured to be charged by a battery core charger (the charging station 2 comprises an integrated battery loading circuitry 2N connected to the recharging unit 2L using the electrical power generated by the recharging unit 2L to recharge the battery packs 2D integrated in the housing 2A of the transportable charging station 2, paragraph [0223]);
a battery pack charger (charger connector 2E, fig. 3; Each charging connector 2E of the transportable charging station 2 can receive a DC charging current from an associated DC/DC converter 2F via a switch 2G controlled by a controller of a control unit 2H of the transportable charging station 2, paragraph [0222]) connected to the battery core via a power line and to the CAN bus via a galvanic isolation barrier (the battery charger 2E is connected with the power line to the battery 2D and CU (can bus communication) is connected to the battery through DC/DC converters 2F ensuring a galvanic isolation, paragraph [0209], [0238]), the battery pack charger including one or more charging modules (2F-2E, fig. 3);
a battery management system(the battery management system 21, fig. 3) connected to the battery pack charger via the CAN bus and the power line and configured to control an operation of the battery pack charger and the battery core charger (the battery management system 21 is connected to the battery pack 2D through 2H and 2F, fig.3, paragraph [0209]); and
a battery pack detection circuit connected to one or more charging ports of the one or more charging modules, the battery pack detection circuit configured to draw current from a battery pack connected the one or more charging ports and produce a battery pack detection signal at the battery management system via a galvanic isolation device (The charging device increases the voltage after a predefined time. The control unit 2H of the charging station 2 detects a defined voltage increase after a predefined time. The control unit 2H may detect a charge request and then check the electrical isolation. A precharge can be performed and the relays closed. The charge operation may be performed with 500 V DC with a maximum charging current of 200 Amp. The DC/DC converters 2F can control the charge current and voltage by communication with the battery management system 21, paragraph [0258]), wherein the battery pack charger is disposed on a battery pack charger side of the galvanic isolation device, and wherein the battery management system is disposed on a battery management system side of the galvanic isolation device (the battery charger is connected to 2E which is at one side of the galvanic isolation of the converter 2F and the BMS 21 is with the control unit side of the system, fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)2, 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neligan et al. (US 2023/0011299), and Karlin et al. (US 5,192,905), herein after Karlin.
Regarding claim 2, Neligan discloses the portable power supply system of claim 1. However, Neligan does not explicitly disclose the galvanic isolation device is an optocoupler.
Karlin discloses a battery charger to charge the battery by controlling the charging voltage and current (fig. 1). Karlin further discloses the galvanic isolation device is an optocoupler (signal isolation 39, fig. 1 has the optocoupler 336, fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neligan’s system galvanic isolation device to have an optocoupler as taught by Karlin, in order to create total electrical separation between circuits while still letting data or control signals pass through.
Regarding claim 3, Neligan discloses the portable power supply system of claim 1. However, Neligan does not explicitly disclose the galvanic isolation device is a transformer.
Karlin discloses a battery charger to charge the battery by controlling the charging voltage and current (fig. 1). Karlin further discloses the galvanic isolation device is a transformer (the charger inverter 46, fig. 1 has the isolation transformer 146, fig. 3B ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neligan’s system galvanic isolation device to have a transformer as taught by Karlin, in order to allow a circuit to safely transfer high-power energy and delicate control or feedback signals across separate electrical domains. The transformer handles heavy power conversion magnetically, while the optocoupler handles precise data or logic signals optically.
Regarding claim 4, Neligan discloses the portable power supply system of claim 1. However, Neligan does not explicitly disclose wherein the galvanic isolation device includes at least two capacitors.
Karlin discloses a battery charger to charge the battery by controlling the charging voltage and current (fig. 1). Karlin further discloses the galvanic isolation device includes at least two capacitors (the current feedback circuit 40 of the inverter has two capacitor 166, 163, fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neligan’s system galvanic isolation device to include two capacitor as taught by Karlin, in order to provide high-frequency EMI filtering and safe transient discharge paths.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neligan et al. (US 2023/0011299), and Liu (CN108206556) with publication date: 2018-06-26.
Regarding claim 5, Neligan discloses a portable power supply system of claim 1. However, Neligan does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery management system side includes: a transistor including a collector, a base, and an emitter; and a positive logic supply voltage connected to a battery pack detection signal line and to the collector of the transistor.
Liu discloses the charging system to charge the battery at the low power consumption (paragraph [0004]). Liu further discloses the battery management system side includes: a transistor including a collector, a base, and an emitter; and a positive logic supply voltage connected to a battery pack detection signal line and to the collector of the transistor (a transistor with base, emitter and collector is connected with the optocoupler U2 for the detection purposes, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neligan’s system to have a transistor connected with the battery for the detection purpose as taught by Liu, in order to extend the battery storage time and improving the battery life (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Neligan in view of Liu discloses a portable power supply system of claim 5. Liu further discloses wherein the battery management system side of the galvanic isolation device is configured to a produce a signal accepted by the base of the transistor in response to a battery pack charger side of the galvanic isolation device receiving current from the battery pack (paragraph [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neligan’s system to have a transistor connected with the battery for the detection purpose as taught by Liu, in order to extend the battery storage time and improving the battery life (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 7, Neligan in view of Liu discloses a portable power supply system of claim 6. Liu further discloses wherein: a voltage of the battery pack detection signal line changes in response to the base of the transistor receiving the signal produced by the battery management system side of the galvanic isolation device; and the change of the voltage of the battery pack detection signal line indicates to a battery management system that a battery is detected (paragraph [0034]-[0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neligan’s system to have a transistor connected with the battery for the detection purpose as taught by Liu, in order to extend the battery storage time and improving the battery life (paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 8, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neligan et al. (US 2023/0011299), Hutchings (US 4,843,299).
Regarding claim 8, Neligan discloses a battery detection circuit comprising:
a galvanic isolation device (2F, fig. 3) including a first side and a second side (several battery strings with corresponding DC/DC converters 2F ensuring a galvanic isolation between the connected vehicles 6, paragraph [0238]galvanic isolation inherently uses a barrier to separate two circuits typically divided in to a primary side and secondary side );
a battery management system side connected to the first side (BMS 21 is connected at the first side of the 2F galvanic isolation component, fig. 3); and
a battery pack charger side connected to the second side (the battery charger connected at the other side of 2F with the connector 2E, fig. 2). However, Neligan does not explicitly disclose the battery charger side include a low quiescent voltage regulator, a timing circuit, a load switch, and a driver.
Hutchings discloses a battery charger (fig. 2) to charge the battery. Hutchings further discloses the battery charger include a low quiescent voltage regulator (title, 44, fig. 2), a timing circuit (watch dog timer 34, fig. 2), a load switch (50a, 50b, fig. 2), and a driver (SCR gate drive 86, fig. 3; Col. 7, lines 5-15).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Neligan’s system to have the battery charger as taught by Hutchings, in order to have the controlled voltage at the output enhancing efficiency, safety, and system longevity.
Regarding claim 13, Neligan in view of Hutchings discloses the battery detection circuit of claim 8. However, Neligan does not explicitly disclose wherein the timing circuit is configured to control the load switch to change a voltage of a battery detection signal line in response to a battery being connected to the battery pack charger side of the battery detection circuit.
Hutchings discloses wherein the timing circuit is configured to control the load switch to change a voltage of a battery detection signal line in response to a battery being connected to the battery pack charger side of the battery detection circuit (the timer circuit 74 provide the signal to the controller 70 which drive the switch to determine the battery is connected, fig. 3; Col. 7; 17-35).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Neligan’s system to have the battery charger as taught by Hutchings, in order to have the controlled voltage at the output enhancing efficiency, safety, and system longevity.
Regarding claim 14, Neligan in view of Hutchings discloses the battery detection circuit of claim 13. Hutchings further discloses wherein the change of the voltage of the battery pack detection signal line indicates to a battery management system that a battery is detected (Once the logic has established that the battery is connected, the micro-processor 70 can perform a deep discharge check in which the charger gradually increases the battery current to 2.5 amps over a period of ten seconds. If the battery will not draw 2.5 amps at the expiration of ten seconds, the battery is considered to be in deep discharge (high impedence) and the charger continues to apply voltage until the battery draws more than 2.5 amps. Col. 7; 27-35).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Neligan’s system to have the battery charger as taught by Hutchings, in order to have the controlled voltage at the output enhancing efficiency, safety, and system longevity.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neligan et al. (US 2023/0011299), Hutchings (US 4,843,299) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Karlin (US 5,192,905).
Regarding claim 9, Neligan in view of Hutchings discloses the battery detection circuit of claim 8. However, they are silent about wherein the galvanic isolation device is an optocoupler.
Karlin discloses a battery charger to charge the battery by controlling the charging voltage and current (fig. 1). Karlin further discloses the galvanic isolation device is an optocoupler (signal isolation 39, fig. 1 has the optocoupler 336, fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neligan’s system galvanic isolation device in view of Hutchings to have an optocoupler as taught by Karlin, in order to create total electrical separation between circuits while still letting data or control signals pass through.
Regarding claim 10, Neligan in view of Hutchings discloses the battery detection circuit of claim 8. However, they are silent about the galvanic isolation device is a transformer.
Karlin discloses a battery charger to charge the battery by controlling the charging voltage and current (fig. 1). Karlin further discloses the galvanic isolation device is a transformer (the charger inverter 46, fig. 1 has the isolation transformer 146, fig. 3B ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neligan’s system galvanic isolation device in view of Hutchings to have a transformer as taught by Karlin, in order to allow a circuit to safely transfer high-power energy and delicate control or feedback signals across separate electrical domains. The transformer handles heavy power conversion magnetically, while the optocoupler handles precise data or logic signals optically.
Regarding claim 11, Neligan in view of Hutchings discloses the battery detection circuit of claim 8. However, they are silent about wherein the galvanic isolation device includes at least two capacitors.
Karlin discloses a battery charger to charge the battery by controlling the charging voltage and current (fig. 1). Karlin further discloses the galvanic isolation device includes at least two capacitors (the current feedback circuit 40 of the inverter has two capacitor 166, 163, fig. 3B ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neligan’s system galvanic isolation device in view of Hutchings to include two capacitor as taught by Karlin, in order to provide high-frequency EMI filtering and safe transient discharge paths.
Regarding claim 12, Neligan in view of Hutchings discloses the battery detection circuit of claim 8. However, they are silent about the system further comprising a diode connected antiparallel with the galvanic isolation device.
Karlin discloses a battery charger to charge the battery by controlling the charging voltage and current (fig. 1). Karlin further discloses the system further comprising a diode connected antiparallel with the galvanic isolation device (the pair of diodes 140, 142, fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Neligan’s system galvanic isolation device in view of Hutchings to include a diode as taught by Karlin, in order to improve safety, efficiency, and reliability by preventing reverse current, blocking HV surges, and ensuring only forward-conducting paths are used.
Claim(s) 15, 16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108206556) with publication date: 2018-06-26, and WU (CN 203191441) with publication date: 2013-09-11.
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses a method of detecting a connection of a battery pack to a portable power source, the method comprising:
conducting a flow of current from a battery pack to a battery pack charger side of a galvanic isolator device (paragraph [0015]-[0016]where the paragraph [0036] shows that the battery current Ifb flow from the batter to charger to wake up MCU); producing a signal on a battery management system side of the galvanic isolator device in response to the battery pack charger side of the galvanic isolation device receiving the current from the battery pack (paragraph [0017], [0021]); and
changing a voltage of a battery pack detection signal line based on the signal produced by the battery management system side of the galvanic isolator device (paragraph [0018]-[0020], paragraph [0036] shows that the MCU get the signal from the battery and wake to send the message to BMS to enter in the charging mode and charge the battery).
Although, Luo does disclose a capacitor serially connected to the isolator device, however, Luo is silent about charging a capacitor with the current until the capacitor is fully charged and stops the flow of current to the battery pack charger side of the galvanic isolator device.
Wu discloses an alternating current zero-crossing detection circuit consisting of a power supply charging circuit and a zero-crossing detection circuit (abstract). Wu further discloses when the optocoupler is conducted, the capacitor is being charged; and when the capacitor is fully charged and no current flows through the optocoupler, an optocoupler output is cut off automatically (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu’s charging system to have the capacitor connected in series with the isolation component which can control the operation of the isolation device as taught by Wu, in order have the detection circuit with high accuracy, simple circuit, low heat generation and high reliability (paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Liu further discloses wherein the galvanic isolation device is an optocoupler (paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 19, Liu further discloses wherein the battery management system side includes: a transistor including a collector, a base, and an emitter; and a positive logic supply voltage connected to a battery pack detection signal line and to the collector of the transistor (a transistor with base, emitter and collector is connected with the optocoupler U2 for the detection purposes, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Liu further discloses wherein: a voltage of the battery pack detection signal line changes in response to the base of the transistor receiving the signal produced by the battery management system side of the galvanic isolation device; and the change of the voltage of the battery pack detection signal line indicates to a battery management system that a battery is detected (paragraph [0034]-[0035]).
Claim(s) 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN108206556) with publication date: 2018-06-26, and WU (CN 203191441) with publication date: 2013-09-11, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Karlin (US 5,192,905).
Regarding claim 17, Liu in view of WU discloses the method of claim 15. However, they are silent about wherein the galvanic isolation device is a transformer.
Karlin discloses a battery charger to charge the battery by controlling the charging voltage and current (fig. 1). Karlin further discloses the galvanic isolation device is a transformer (the charger inverter 46, fig. 1 has the isolation transformer 146, fig. 3B ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu’s battery charging method in view of Hutchings to have a transformer as taught by Karlin, in order to allow a circuit to safely transfer high-power energy and delicate control or feedback signals across separate electrical domains. The transformer handles heavy power conversion magnetically, while the optocoupler handles precise data or logic signals optically.
Regarding claim 18, Liu in view of WU discloses the method of claim 15. However, they are silent about wherein the galvanic isolation device includes at least two capacitors.
Karlin discloses a battery charger to charge the battery by controlling the charging voltage and current (fig. 1). Karlin further discloses the galvanic isolation device includes at least two capacitors (the current feedback circuit 40 of the inverter has two capacitor 166, 163, fig. 3B ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Liu’s battery detection method in view of WU to include two capacitor as taught by Karlin, in order to provide high-frequency EMI filtering and safe transient discharge paths.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859