DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 18 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the term " like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by " like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For the purpose of examination the limitation will be examined as “a chain seal element”.
Claims 8 – 9 and 15 – 16 are further rejected as being dependents on rejected claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 10 – 14 and 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trebouet (FR 3105133 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Trebouet teaches a sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) for cleaning a sensor field (cleaning surface, 202) of a sensor (Paragraph [0002] and [0024]), said apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising at least one wiper drive housing (housing, 4 AND 5), which houses at least a majority of at least one wiper drive unit (drive assembly, 6 with motor, 5; Fig. 1 ), comprising at least one wiper (arm, 9) arranged at least partially outside of the wiper drive housing (Fig. 1) and configured to clean the sensor field (202) by way of a wiping motion (Paragraph [0003])), and comprising at least one wiper receiving element (carriage, 8) for transferring a drive movement from the wiper drive unit (6) to the wiper (9; Paragraph [0040]) and a sealing unit (sealing device, 25) configured for an at least water-tight seal of the wiper drive housing (Paragraphs [0011] and [0012]) and comprising at least one movable passage opening (opening, 46) for the wiper receiving element (8) and/or for the wiper.
Regarding Claim 2, Trebouet teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the sealing unit (25) comprises at least one movably mounted sealing element (lips, 14).
Regarding Claim 3, Trebouet teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the movable passage opening (46) and/or the movably mounted sealing element (14) is/are configured to follow the wiping movement during a wiping operation of the wiper (10, the sealing element and the opening of th follow the wiper movement as the opening and lips move as the wiper moves).
Regarding Claim 4, Trebouet teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the wiper receiving element (8) and/or the wiper (9) is/are at least connected to the sealing unit (14) in a water-tight manner (Paragraphs [0011] and [0012]).
Regarding Claim 5, Trebouet teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the sealing element (14) is configured as a flexible tape (Fig. 4 - lip seals 14 are made of waterproof deformable polymer formed in a tape manner).
Regarding Claim 6, Trebouet teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the sealing unit (14) comprises a faceplate (42), which seals the sealing element (14) towards a front side (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Trebouet teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the sealing element (14) comprises at least one guide element (attachment member, 84) for guiding the movement of the sealing element (14), which is configured for an engagement with a corresponding guide element (lever, 7) of the wiper drive housing (4/5).
Regarding Claim 11, Trebouet teaches a sensor (Paragraph [0024]) having a sensor field (202) and having the sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) according to claim 1 for cleaning the sensor field (202).
Regarding Claim 12, Trebouet teaches a vehicle (Paragraph [0001]) having a sensor (Paragraph [0024]) according to claim 11.
Regarding Claim 13, Trebouet teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1), wherein the sensor is a LiDAR sensor in a vehicle (Paragraph [0002).
Regarding Claim 14, Trebouet teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the wiping motion of the wiper (9) is exclusively translational (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 17, Trebouet teaches the sensor (Fig. 1) wherein the sensor is a LiDAR sensor (Paragraph [0024]).
Regarding Claim 18, Trebouet teaches the vehicle where the vehicle is an air, water, and/or land vehicle (Paragraph [0033] – motor vehicle which can be all three).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 – 9 and 15 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trebouet (FR 3105133 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Trebouet teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above.
Trebouet does not teach wherein the sealing unit comprises a chain-like seal support element, which supports at least one flexible sealing element extending over a plurality of chain links of the seal support element, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Trebouet to explicitly teach the sealing unit comprises a chain-like seal support element, which supports at least one flexible sealing element extending over a plurality of chain links of the seal support element, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of
ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 8, Trebouet, as modified, teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus of claim 7 as discussed above.
Trebouet does not teach the seal support element includes chain links that are at least connected to one another in a water-tight manner, and are at least rotatable relative to one another, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Trebouet to explicitly teach the seal support element includes chain links that are at least connected to one another in a water-tight manner, and are at least rotatable relative to one another, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 9, Trebouet, as modified, teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus of claim 7 as discussed above.
Trebouet does not teach the seal support element is configured as an endless chain or an open chain, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Trebouet to explicitly teach the seal support element is configured as an endless chain or an open chain, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 15, Trebouet, as modified, teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus of claim 8 as discussed above.
Trebouet does not teach wherein the chain links are clipped onto one another, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Trebouet to explicitly teach the seal support element is configured as an endless chain or an open chain, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 16, Trebouet, as modified, teaches the sensor cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) wherein the sealing element (14) comprises at least one guide element (attachment member, 84) for guiding the movement of the sealing element (14), which is configured for an engagement with a corresponding guide element (lever, 7) of the wiper drive housing (4/5).
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent Publication 2023/0358869 A1 to Wijntjes teaches a system having has a housing module for cooperating with the sensing device, comprising a window opening, that defines a sensor window plane, for receiving the sensor window of the optical sensing device. A wiper module includes a wiper (for wiping the sensor window. A drive module comprises a rotary output organ. A kinematic transformer module is interconnected between the drive module and the wiper module and configured for transforming a rotation of the rotary output organ of the drive module so as to drive the wiper in a cyclic wiper trajectory.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723