Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 includes a typographical error in that there is a semicolon at the end of the claim, “a product” in claims 10, 11, 14, 19, and 20 should be “the food product” in order to be consistent with the independent claims 1 and 12. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9-11, 13, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites wherein the illumination element is further “configured to illuminate the food product within the chamber according to another lighting attribute, wherein the another lighting attribute is determined based on information received from a pressure sensing device that indicates a pressure level within the chamber and information that maps pressure levels to lighting attributes based on food product types.” The specification details, in paragraph 0084, that the illumination element can be an array of laser diodes, an array of LEDs, an incandescent lamp, a metal halide lamp, an arc lamp, etc. Similarly, paragraph 0086 describes using a pressure transducer to measure the pressure level within the chamber. It is unclear if the illumination element, alone, performs the entire claimed function or if additional structure (e.g., a controller using a control loop) is required in order for the claimed functions to be met.
Claim 9 recites “the temperature profile” which lacks proper antecedent basis and it is unclear what temperature profile is being referenced. It is unclear, for instance, if the temperature profile refers to a temperature range of the chamber, the food product, both, or something else.
Claim 10 requires a trained predictive model that identifies a state of a product based on a type of product and pressure information indicating an amount of pressure surrounding the product. Claim 9, from which claim 10 depends, recites the controller determines a temperature value of the food product based on an optical device. It is unclear if claim 10 intends to have the optical device determine the state of the product and pressure information. If not, then it is unclear if the state of the product and the pressure information are obtained using sensors, are input parameters that a user inputs into the controller, are stored parameters within a memory of the controller, or are variables randomly assigned by the trained model based on some unknown parameter.
Claims 10 and 11 recite indicating whether the food product is in a first state or a second state. Claims 10 and 11 depend from claim 9 which details the food product changing from a first state to a second state. It is unclear if the first and second state of claims 10 and 11 refer to the same recited in claim 9 or to different states.
Claim 13 requires a temperature sensor that is “configured to detect a temperature profile of the food product within the chamber.” Claim 13 depends from claim 12 that recites the same language. Accordingly, it is unclear if claim 13 is intended to reference the same temperature sensor recited in claim 12 or an additional temperature sensor.
Claim 14 recites “the temperature profile” which lacks proper antecedent basis and it is unclear what temperature profile is being referenced. It is unclear, for instance, if the temperature profile refers to a temperature range of the chamber, the food product, both, or something else.
Claim 17 requires an optical device configured to capture image data indicative of a temperature profile of the food product. Claim 12, from which claim 17 depends, requires a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature profile of the food product within the chamber. It is unclear if the optical device and the temperature sensor, both detecting a temperature profile of the food product within the chamber, are the same structure or different structures performing the same function. For purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted as defining the temperature sensor of claim 12 to be an optical temperature sensor.
Claim 18 recites “the temperature profile” which lacks proper antecedent basis and it is unclear what temperature profile is being referenced. It is unclear, for instance, if the temperature profile refers to a temperature range of the chamber, the food product, both, or something else.
Claim 19 requires a trained predictive model that identifies a state of a product based on a type of product and pressure information indicating an amount of pressure surrounding the product. Claim 19, from which claim 18 depends, recites the controller determines a temperature value of the food product based on an optical device. It is unclear if claim 19 intends to have the optical device determine the state of the product and pressure information. If not, then it is unclear if the state of the product and the pressure information are obtained using sensors, are input parameters that a user inputs into the controller, are stored parameters within a memory of the controller, or are variables randomly assigned by the trained model based on some unknown parameter.
Claims 19 and 20 recite indicating whether the food product is in a first state or a second state. Claims 19 and 20 depend from claim 18 which details the food product changing from a first state to a second state. It is unclear if the first and second state of claims 19 and 20 refer to the same recited in claim 18 or to different states.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. (KR 20220030725, published 03/11/2022).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches an apparatus (Technical Field and Abstract disclose a vacuum coffee roaster) comprising (Fig. 1): a chamber (defined as the internal volume of container 10); an illumination element (halogen heater 50) configured to illuminate a food product (coffee beans) within the chamber according to a lighting attribute (light from halogen heater 50); and an agitation element (stirring element 80) within the chamber configured to agitate the food product.
Regarding claim 8, Ahn teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the illumination element comprises at least one of a laser diode, a light-emitting diode (LED), an incandescent lamp (halogen heater 50 is understood by those of ordinary skill in the art to be a type of incandescent lamp), a metal halide lamp, or an arc lamp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Yang et al. (US20190215916)
Regarding claims 2-3, Ahn teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 1, including wherein the food product comprises at least one of a coffee bean, a nut, a legume, a meat, or a grain (as applied in claim 1 above; coffee roaster).
Ahn is silent on an optical device configured to capture image data indicative of a temperature profile of the food product within the chamber (claim 2) and wherein the optical device comprises at least one of an optical pyrometer, a hyperspectral imaging device, or a speckle field detection device (claim 3).
Yang relates to a cooking apparatus (para. 0002) (Fig. 1; apparatus 100) in which a food product is placed in a chamber (101) and heated by a heater (para. 0011).
Yang is concerned with regulating the temperature within the chamber and teaches using an optical device (pyrometer 19; para. 0019) configured to capture image data indicative of a temperature profile of the food product within the chamber (101) (19 measures the temperature profile within chamber 101 which is also indicative of the temperature profile of the food product within the chamber) and wherein the optical device comprises at least one of an optical pyrometer (pyrometer 19, a hyperspectral imaging device, or a speckle field detection device.
Yang teaches that the pyrometer provides data to a controller that uses such data in a feedback control loop in order to control the heating of the food product (para. 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn with Yang, by adding to the coffee roaster and halogen heater of Ahn, with the controller and optical pyrometer taught by Yang, for in doing so would provide a means to regulate the operation of the halogen heater so that heating occurs under prescribed temperatures and durations, thereby allowing for more control over the roasting operation.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Dubief et al. (US 2022/0079204).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 1, including an additional heating element configured to heat the chamber according to a heating parameter (Fig. 1; heating element 70 is installed on the bottom of the container 10, which functions to heat the internal chamber according to some heating parameter).
Ahn does not explicitly state that this heating element is external to the chamber and that the heating parameter is received via a user interface.
While not explicitly detailed in Ahn, the heating element 70 is disclosed as being installed on the bottom of the container 10. This implies that the heating element is not necessarily within the internal chamber of container 10. Additionally, those of ordinary skill in the would understand that the heating element 70 can only be located either within the internal chamber of container 10 or external to it.
Dubief relates to the field of roasting coffee beans (para. 0001) and teaches a coffee roaster (Fig. 1; roaster 1) having a chamber (internal volume of vessel 11 that receives and holds the coffee beans-para. 0128) and a heating element (122). Dubief teaches that the bottom of the vessel (11) includes a perforated plate (14) that allows heat from the heater to enter the vessel. Accordingly, Dubief teaches the heating element (122) being external to the chamber.
Dubief also teaches the coffee roaster having a user interface (20) which allows a user to interface with the controller in order to control the heating process (para. 0143, 0159). Accordingly, Dubief teaches an external heating element that is configured to heat the chamber according to a heating parameter received via the user interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn with Yang, by modifying the placement of the heating element relative to the chamber of Ahn, to be external as taught by Dubief, for in doing so would provide an alternative placement for the heating element. Furthermore, placing the heating element of Ahn to be external to the chamber, but still in thermal contact, would amount to the mere rearrangement of parts which lacks a patentable distinction over the prior art because shifting the position of the heating element would not have modified the operation of the coffee roaster as the heating element would remain in thermal communication with the chamber. See MPEP 2144.04-VI-C.
Additionally, using an external heating element in lieu of an internal heating element for the purpose of providing additional heat to the chamber of the roaster would have been obvious as:
1) Both internal and external heating elements address a recognized
problem of providing heat to the internal chamber of a roaster,
2) There are a finite number of identified and predictable solutions to this
problem, and
3) One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued using external heating elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
Based on the above, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under 35 USC 103. See MPEP 2143-I-E.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Cha (US2020/0107672) and in view of Katsuki (US2015/0201808).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied to claim 1, and a pressure control element configured to modify the pressure level within the chamber (Ahn teaches throughout that the coffee roaster operates to roast coffee beans in a vacuum and that cover 20 connects upper edge of the container 10 and the lower edge of cover 30 “to seal it so that is roasted in a vacuum state”).
While not explicitly stated, it is evident that in order for the coffee beans to be roasted in a vacuum there must be some pressure element present to form such a vacuum. A valve or pump of some form is implicitly disclosed in order for a vacuum to be formed and maintained within the chamber.
Ahn additionally teaches wherein the agitation element is configured to agitate the food product at a rate determined based on the pressure level within the chamber (as the coffee beans are roasted in a vacuum chamber a pressure level of some value necessarily exists. Additionally, as the stirring element 80 functions to stir the coffee beans during roasting, where the roasting occurs at some pressure level, the stirring element agitates the coffee beans at a rate that is based on the pressure level. In other words, the rate at which the stirring element rotates is based, at least partially, on the pressure within the chamber. Note: no additional structure is required by the claim. For instance, the claim does not recite a controller utilizing feedback control from sensors to control the rate of the agitation element. As such, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the rate of the agitation element that occurs during use is considered to be determined based on the pressure level within the chamber is considered met by Ahn as the rate of the stirring element occurs at the pressure level within the chamber).
Ahn does not teach a pressure-sensing device configured to detect a pressure level within the chamber or, explicitly, wherein the pressure control element comprises at least one of a vacuum valve, a throttling valve, or a vacuum pump.
Cha relates to coffee roasters (Abstract) and teaches using a vacuum pump from a chamber containing coffee beans (para. 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn with Cha, by adding to the roaster of Ahn, the vacuum pump taught by Cha, for in doing so would provide a conventional structure for forming a vacuum within a chamber.
Katsuki relates to a cooking device (Abstract; Fig. 1) in which a vacuum is formed within a chamber (pressure reducing device 10) (para. 0077 details using an electric vacuum pump).
Katsuki teaches using a pressure sensor to regulate the formation of the vacuum (para. 0135) and using the data from the pressure sensor to control a mixing operation (para. 0140; Fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn, as modified by Cha, with Katsuki, by adding to the vacuum chamber and vacuum pump of modified Ahn, with the pressure sensor taught by Katsuki, for in doing so would provide a means for regulating the pressure within the vacuum chamber, as well as, regulating the agitating element.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Dubief et al. (US 2022/0079204).
Regarding claim 6, Ahn teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 1, except for an interactive user interface configured to receive information describing at least one of: a type of the food product within the chamber, the lighting attribute, or an instruction that causes agitation of the agitation element.
Dubief relates to the field of roasting coffee beans (para. 0001) and teaches a coffee roaster (Fig. 1; roaster 1) having a chamber (internal volume of vessel 11 that receives and holds the coffee beans-para. 0128) and a heating element (122).
Dubief also teaches the coffee roaster having a user interface (20) which allows a user to interface with the controller in order to control the heating process (para. 0143, 0159). Dubief states that the user interface is configured to receive information describing at least one of: a type of the food product within the chamber (para. 0140, information regarding the coffee beans is displayed on the user interface based on information read from a code reader), the lighting attribute, or an instruction that causes agitation of the agitation element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn with Dubief by adding to the roaster of Ahn, with the user interface of Katsuki, for in doing so would provide a means for information regarding the coffee beans to be displayed to a user, which would offer improved clarity for the user over what beans are being used in the roaster.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Bae (KR10963039)
Regarding claim 7, Ahn teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 1, except for wherein the illumination element is further configured to illuminate the food product within the chamber according to another lighting attribute, wherein the another lighting attribute is determined based on information received from a pressure sensing device that indicates a pressure level within the chamber and information that maps pressure levels to lighting attributes based on food product types.
Bae relates to a coffee bean roaster in which coffee beans are roasted in a vacuum chamber (Abstract). Bae teaches a pressure sensing device that indicates a pressure level within the chamber and information (sensor that detects the degree of vacuum within the chamber with this information being transmitted to control unit 260). Bae also teaches that the controller (260) controls and regulates the heating section (450) for roasting coffee beans.
Accordingly, Bae teaches a controller using feedback control to control the heating element based on pressure level information from a pressure sensing device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn with Bae by adding to the roaster and halogen heater of Ahn, with the pressure sensing device and controller of Bae, for in doing so would provide a means for regulating the output of the halogen heater, thereby allowing for the temperature within the chamber to be adjusted to desired levels.
The combination of Ahn and Bae teaches the claimed invention except explicitly for the pressure sensing device to map pressure levels to lighting attributes based on food product types. However, the combination suggests adding the pressure sensing device and controller of Bae into the vacuum roaster of Ahn which would produce an arrangement in which the pressure sensor measures the pressure within the vacuum chamber, outputs the information to the controller, and the controller regulates the output of the halogen heater. This arrangement would provide varying lighting attributes (i.e., output of the halogen heater) and for the pressure levels sensed by the pressure sensor to be mapped to the lighting attributes as a result of the feedback control loop.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Chen (U2020/0245671).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 1, except for a controller, wherein based on image data indicating the food product received from an optical device, the controller: determines that a temperature value of the temperature profile satisfies a temperature threshold that indicates that the food product changed from a first state to a second state based on illumination from the illumination element; and causes, based on the determination that the temperature value satisfies the temperature threshold, the food product to be removed from the chamber.
Chen relates to coffee roasting and is concerned with measuring coffee bean roasting degree (para. 0001)
Chen teaches a controller (microprocessor 12; Fig. 3A) wherein based on image data indicating the food product received from an optical device (image capturing unit 13), the controller (12): determines that a temperature value of the temperature profile satisfies a temperature threshold that indicates that the food product changed from a first state to a second state based on illumination from the illumination element; and causes, based on the determination that the temperature value satisfies the temperature threshold, the food product to be removed from the chamber (Fig. 4 and para. 0005; “. The displaying unit has a screen and is disposed on the first end and is electrically connected to the micro-processing unit. The light emitter of the light emitting unit projects light onto the group of coffee beans under measurement when the micro-processing unit sends a first instruct signal to the light emitting unit; the image-capturing unit captures an image of a light-projected surface of the coffee beans under measurement and the memory unit stores an optical signal value of each pixel of the captured image when the micro-processing unit sends a second instruct signal to the image-capturing unit; the optical signal value of each pixel of the captured image is converted by the micro-processing unit into a roasting-degree when the micro-processing unit sends a third instruct signal to the memory unit; and the displaying unit presents a roasting-degree distribution curve reflecting all of the roasting-degrees on the screen when the micro-processing unit sends a fourth instruct signal to the displaying unit.”) (Fig. 5 and para. 0033; “ From the two-dimensional roasting-degree distribution curve, one can easily obtain the roasting-degree variance of a group of coffee beans under measurement and therefore clearly distinguish the color depth of the roasted coffee beans.”).
Chen, therefore, teaches illuminating coffee beans and capturing an image of the coffee beans at various points to measure a roasting degree. This roasting degree includes a clearly distinguishable color depth, which is indicative that a temperature profile has been satisfied (i.e., one necessary to achieve the correct color depth) [Note: the claims do not recite, nor require the controller to actually measure temperature. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim is understood to refer to a controller that determines that a temperature value of the coffee bean is satisfied based on image data from the optical device, which is what Chen describes.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn with Chen by adding to the roaster and halogen heater of Ahn, with the optical device and controller of Chen, for in doing so would provide a means for measuring the roasting degree of the coffee beans which would allow a user to determine to what extent they want the coffee beans to be roasted.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Chen (U2020/0245671) in view of Kingston (US 2018/0075406)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ahn and Chen teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 9, including wherein the controller is configured identify a state of a product (coffee bean) based on visual attributes of the product (roasting degree) and receive image data (Chen; from image capturing unit 13) indicating the food product in a first state; and output and indication that the food product is in a second based on a color attribute of the food product (Image capturing unit 13 captures an image of the coffee beans at various points and outputs that data, which includes a color depth, to controller 12).
The combination does not describe the controller as having a predictive model.
Kingston relates the analysis, collection, resource allocation and tracking of products (abstract) including coffee beans (para, 0052).
Kingston teaches a controller (control module 106) including a trained predictive model (AI 111; para. 0070). Kingston also teaches capturing image data (Fig. 14; 258/260) which is used by the predictive model (111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn as modified by Chen, with Kingston by adding to the controller of modified Ahn, with the predictive model taught by Kingston, for in doing so would provide an artificial intelligence that can predictively carry out a number of material analysis functions based on captured image data, which would allow for an improved controller.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Cha (US2020/0107672) and Yang et al. (US20190215916)
Regarding claim 12, Ahn teaches an apparatus (Technical Field and Abstract disclose a vacuum coffee roaster) comprising (Fig. 1): a chamber (defined as the internal volume of container 10); an illumination element (halogen heater 50) configured to illuminate a food product within the chamber according to a lighting attribute (light from halogen heater 50); a pressure control element configured to modify a pressure level within the chamber(Ahn teaches throughout that the coffee roaster operates to roast coffee beans in a vacuum and that cover 20 connects upper edge of the container 10 and the lower edge of cover 30 “to seal it so that is roasted in a vacuum state”); and an agitation element (stirring element 80) within the chamber configured to agitate the food product.
While not explicitly stated, it is evident that in order for the coffee beans to be roasted in a vacuum there must be some pressure element present to form such a vacuum. A valve or pump of some form is implied in order for a vacuum to be formed within the chamber.
Ahn is silent on a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature profile of the food product within the chamber.
Cha relates to coffee roasters (Abstract) and teaches using a vacuum pump from a chamber containing coffee beans (para. 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn with Cha, by adding to the roaster of Ahn, the vacuum pump taught by Cha, for in doing so would provide a conventional structure for forming a vacuum within a chamber.
Yang relates to a cooking apparatus (para. 0002) (Fig. 1; apparatus 100) in which a food product is placed in a chamber (101) and heated by a heater (para. 0011).
Yang is concerned with regulating the temperature within the chamber and teaches using an optical device (pyrometer 19; para. 0019) configured to detect a temperature profile of the food product within the chamber (101) (19 measures the temperature profile within chamber 101 which is also indicative of the temperature profile of the food product within the chamber).
Yang teaches that the pyrometer provides data to a controller that uses such data in a feedback control loop in order to control the heating of the food product (para. 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn, as modified by Cha, with Yang, by adding to the coffee roaster and halogen heater of Ahn, with the controller and optical pyrometer taught by Yang, for in doing so would provide a means to regulate the operation of the halogen heater so that heating occurs under prescribed temperatures and durations, thereby allowing for more control over the roasting operation.
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 12, including a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature profile of the food product within the chamber (Yang, as applied above in claim 12), wherein the food product comprises at least one of a coffee bean, a nut, a legume, a meat, or a grain (as applied in claim 12 above; coffee roaster).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 12, including an optical device configured to capture image data indicative of a temperature profile of the food product within the chamber (Yang; optical pyrometer).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Cha (US2020/0107672), Yang et al. (US20190215916), Chen (U2020/0245671) and Kingston (US 2018/0075406)
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 12, except for wherein the controller is configured with a predictive model trained to identify a state of a product based on a type of the product and temperature information indicating the temperature of the food product by: receiving an indication of the food product in a first state; and outputting and indication that the food product is in a second state based on an indication of the temperature profile of the food product.
Chen relates to coffee roasting and is concerned with measuring coffee bean roasting degree (para. 0001)
Chen teaches a controller (microprocessor 12; Fig. 3A) wherein based on image data indicating the food product received from an optical device (image capturing unit 13), the controller (12) identifies a state of a product based on a type of the product and temperature information indicating the temperature of the food product by receiving an indication of the food product in a first state; and outputting and indication that the food product is in a second state based on an indication of the temperature profile of the food product. (Fig. 4 and para. 0005; “. The displaying unit has a screen and is disposed on the first end and is electrically connected to the micro-processing unit. The light emitter of the light emitting unit projects light onto the group of coffee beans under measurement when the micro-processing unit sends a first instruct signal to the light emitting unit; the image-capturing unit captures an image of a light-projected surface of the coffee beans under measurement and the memory unit stores an optical signal value of each pixel of the captured image when the micro-processing unit sends a second instruct signal to the image-capturing unit; the optical signal value of each pixel of the captured image is converted by the micro-processing unit into a roasting-degree when the micro-processing unit sends a third instruct signal to the memory unit; and the displaying unit presents a roasting-degree distribution curve reflecting all of the roasting-degrees on the screen when the micro-processing unit sends a fourth instruct signal to the displaying unit.”) (Fig. 5 and para. 0033; “ From the two-dimensional roasting-degree distribution curve, one can easily obtain the roasting-degree variance of a group of coffee beans under measurement and therefore clearly distinguish the color depth of the roasted coffee beans.”).
Chen, therefore, teaches illuminating coffee beans and capturing an image of the coffee beans at various points to measure a roasting degree. This roasting degree includes a clearly distinguishable color depth, which is indicative that a temperature profile has been satisfied (i.e., one necessary to achieve the correct color depth) [Note: the claims do not recite, nor require the controller to actually measure temperature. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim is understood to refer to a controller that determines that a temperature value of the coffee bean is satisfied based on image data from the optical device, which is what Chen describes.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn, as modified above, with Chen by modifying the controller of modified Ahn, with the optical device and controller functionality of Chen, for in doing so would provide a means for measuring the roasting degree of the coffee beans which would allow a user to determine to what extent they want the coffee beans to be roasted.
The combination does not describe the controller as having a predictive model.
Kingston relates the analysis, collection, resource allocation and tracking of products (abstract) including coffee beans (para, 0052).
Kingston teaches a controller (control module 106) including a trained predictive model (AI 111; para. 0070). Kingston also teaches capturing image data (Fig. 14; 258/260) which is used by the predictive model (111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn as modified above, with Kingston by adding to the controller of modified Ahn, with the predictive model taught by Kingston, for in doing so would provide an artificial intelligence that can predictively carry out a number of material analysis functions based on captured image data, which would allow for an improved controller.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Cha (US2020/0107672), Yang et al. (US2019021591, and in view of Dubief et al. (US 2022/0079204).
Regarding claim 15, the primary combination teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 12, except for an interactive user interface configured to receive information describing at least one of: a type of the food product within the chamber, the lighting attribute, or an instruction that causes agitation of the agitation element.
Dubief relates to the field of roasting coffee beans (para. 0001) and teaches a coffee roaster (Fig. 1; roaster 1) having a chamber (internal volume of vessel 11 that receives and holds the coffee beans-para. 0128) and a heating element (122).
Dubief also teaches the coffee roaster having a user interface (20) which allows a user to interface with the controller in order to control the heating process (para. 0143, 0159). Dubief states that the user interface is configured to receive information describing at least one of: a type of the food product within the chamber (para. 0140, information regarding the coffee beans is displayed on the user interface based on information read from a code reader), the lighting attribute, or an instruction that causes agitation of the agitation element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn with Dubief by adding to the roaster of Ahn, with the user interface of Katsuki, for in doing so would provide a means for information regarding the coffee beans to be displayed to a user, which would offer improved clarity for the user over what beans are being used in the roaster.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn Cha (US2020/0107672), Yang et al. (US2019021591, and in view of Bae (KR10963039)
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 1, except for wherein the illumination element is further configured to illuminate the food product within the chamber according to another lighting attribute, wherein the another lighting attribute is determined based on information received from a pressure sensing device that indicates a pressure level within the chamber and information that maps pressure levels to lighting attributes based on food product types.
Bae relates to a coffee bean roaster in which coffee beans are roasted in a vacuum chamber (Abstract). Bae teaches a pressure sensing device that indicates a pressure level within the chamber and information (sensor that detects the degree of vacuum within the chamber with this information being transmitted to control unit 260). Bae also teaches that the controller (260) controls and regulates the heating section (450) for roasting coffee beans.
Accordingly, Bae teaches a controller using feedback control to control the heating element based on pressure level information from a pressure sensing device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn, as modified above, with Bae by adding to the halogen heater and controller of modified Ahn, with the pressure sensing device and controller functionality of Bae, for in doing so would provide a means for regulating the output of the halogen heater, thereby allowing for the temperature within the chamber to be adjusted to desired levels.
The combination of Ahn and Bae teaches the claimed invention except explicitly for the pressure sensing device to map pressure levels to lighting attributes based on food product types. However, the combination suggests adding the pressure sensing device and controller of Bae into the vacuum roaster of Ahn which would produce an arrangement in which the pressure sensor measures the pressure within the vacuum chamber, outputs the information to the controller, and the controller regulates the output of the halogen heater. This arrangement would provide varying lighting attributes (i.e., output of the halogen heater) and for the pressure levels sensed by the pressure sensor to be mapped to the lighting attributes as a result of the feedback control loop.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Cha (US2020/0107672), Yang et al. (US20190215916), Chen (U2020/0245671).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 12, except for the controller, wherein based on image data indicating the food product received from an optical device, the controller: determines that a temperature value of the temperature profile satisfies a temperature threshold that indicates that the food product changed from a first state to a second state based on illumination from the illumination element; and causes, based on the determination that the temperature value satisfies the temperature threshold, the food product to be removed from the chamber.
Chen relates to coffee roasting and is concerned with measuring coffee bean roasting degree (para. 0001)
Chen teaches a controller (microprocessor 12; Fig. 3A) wherein based on image data indicating the food product received from an optical device (image capturing unit 13), the controller (12): determines that a temperature value of the temperature profile satisfies a temperature threshold that indicates that the food product changed from a first state to a second state based on illumination from the illumination element; and causes, based on the determination that the temperature value satisfies the temperature threshold, the food product to be removed from the chamber (Fig. 4 and para. 0005; “. The displaying unit has a screen and is disposed on the first end and is electrically connected to the micro-processing unit. The light emitter of the light emitting unit projects light onto the group of coffee beans under measurement when the micro-processing unit sends a first instruct signal to the light emitting unit; the image-capturing unit captures an image of a light-projected surface of the coffee beans under measurement and the memory unit stores an optical signal value of each pixel of the captured image when the micro-processing unit sends a second instruct signal to the image-capturing unit; the optical signal value of each pixel of the captured image is converted by the micro-processing unit into a roasting-degree when the micro-processing unit sends a third instruct signal to the memory unit; and the displaying unit presents a roasting-degree distribution curve reflecting all of the roasting-degrees on the screen when the micro-processing unit sends a fourth instruct signal to the displaying unit.”) (Fig. 5 and para. 0033; “ From the two-dimensional roasting-degree distribution curve, one can easily obtain the roasting-degree variance of a group of coffee beans under measurement and therefore clearly distinguish the color depth of the roasted coffee beans.”).
Chen, therefore, teaches illuminating coffee beans and capturing an image of the coffee beans at various points to measure a roasting degree. This roasting degree includes a clearly distinguishable color depth, which is indicative that a temperature profile has been satisfied (i.e., one necessary to achieve the correct color depth) [Note: the claims do not recite, nor require the controller to actually measure temperature. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim is understood to refer to a controller that determines that a temperature value of the coffee bean is satisfied based on image data from the optical device, which is what Chen describes.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn, as modified above, with Chen by adding to the halogen heater and controller of modified Ahn, with the optical device and controller functionality of Chen, for in doing so would provide a means for measuring the roasting degree of the coffee beans which would allow a user to determine to what extent they want the coffee beans to be roasted.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Cha (US2020/0107672), Yang et al. (US20190215916), Chen (U2020/0245671) and Kingston (US 2018/0075406)
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Ahn and Chen teaches the claimed apparatus, as applied in claim 18, including wherein the controller is configured identify a state of a product (coffee bean) based on visual attributes of the product (roasting degree) and receive image data (Chen; from image capturing unit 13) indicating the food product in a first state; and output and indication that the food product is in a second based on a color attribute of the food product (Image capturing unit 13 captures an image of the coffee beans at various points and outputs that data, which includes a color depth, to controller 12).
The combination does not describe the controller as having a predictive model.
Kingston relates the analysis, collection, resource allocation and tracking of products (abstract) including coffee beans (para, 0052).
Kingston teaches a controller (control module 106) including a trained predictive model (AI 111; para. 0070). Kingston also teaches capturing image data (Fig. 14; 258/260) which is used by the predictive model (111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Ahn as modified by above, with Kingston by adding to the controller of modified Ahn, with the predictive model taught by Kingston, for in doing so would provide an artificial intelligence that can predictively carry out a number of material analysis functions based on captured image data, which would allow for an improved controller.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach, suggest, or otherwise disclose the combination of features including the controller being “configured with a predictive model trained to identify a state of a product based on a type of the product and pressure information indicating an amount of pressure surrounding the product, wherein the predictive model is configured to: receive an indication of the food product in a first state; and output and indication that the food product is in a second state based on an indication of the pressure level within the chamber” as required in dependent claims 10 and 19.
While the Kingston reference teaches the controller including artificial intelligence, there is no disclosure on the AI being trained to identify a state of a product based on a type of the product and pressure information surrounding the product. Furthermore, there is no evidence of record to suggest that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, or otherwise consider it obvious, to modify the AI program to perform these functions.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761