Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, starting on line 8, the applicant states “the one or more of the transportation robots to separately transport…at least a shipping bin for a first ship-to destination and a shipping bin for a second ship-to destination”. As the claim stands, it cannot be ascertained exactly what is meant in the use of the term “separately transport”. The term “separately transport” is considered indefinite because it can be interpreted that the one or more transportation robots takes separate trips transporting one shipping bin each time, or that the transportation robot simultaneously transports at least two shipping bins that are separate on the transportation robot itself. The specification does not provide further clarification on how the term “separately transport” is exactly defined. For the purpose of this examination, the claim will be interpreted as though the transportation robot simultaneously transports at least two shipping bins that are separate on the transportation robot.
Claims 2-10 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 1.
In Claim 11, starting on line 8, the applicant states “controlling one or more of the transportation robots, by a controller, to separately transport, among the one or more shipping bins, at least a shipping bin for a first ship-to destination and a shipping bin for a second ship-to destination”. As the claim stands, it cannot be ascertained exactly what is meant in the use of the term “separately transport”. The term “separately transport” is considered indefinite because it can be interpreted that the one or more transportation robots takes separate trips transporting one shipping bin each time, or that the transportation robot simultaneously transports at least two shipping bins that are separate on the transportation robot itself. The specification does not provide further clarification on how the term “separately transport” is exactly applied. For the purpose of this examination, the claim will be interpreted as though the transportation robot simultaneously transports at least two shipping bins that are separate on the transportation robot.
Claims 12-20 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-13, 15-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchmann (US 20210221615 A1) in view of Li (US 11401110 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Buchmann teaches a control system for a warehouse comprising:
a controller controlling the automated warehouse system (controlling device 30, described in paragraph 0049), the automated warehouse system including:
a rack for arranging at least one storing bin for storing at least one item (racks 34, 36 shown in Figure 1, described in Abstract);
a plurality of picking stations for picking the item from one or more of the storing bins to one or more shipping bins for containing an item to be shipped (picking stations 22, described in paragraph 0042);
and a plurality of transportation robots for transporting the storing bin and the shipping bin (vehicles 16, shown in Figure 1 to transport both storing, or source, containers 18 and shipping, or target, containers 20),
Buchmann does not teach:
wherein the controller controls one or more of the transportation robots to separately transport, among the one or more shipping bins, at least a shipping bin for a first ship-to destination and a shipping bin for a second ship-to destination to the picking station, and
the controller controls one or more of the transportation robots to transport the one or more storing bins to the picking station, the one or more storing bins each containing the item for the first ship-to destination and the second ship-to destination.
Li teaches a mobile robot comprising at least a first carrying device (102), a second carrying device (103), and a third carrying device (104) capable of carrying at least two separate containers (described in column 7 line 12-21).
Regarding Claim 1, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the mobile robots taught by Li as the transportation robots utilized in the control system taught by Buchmann. The result would improve the speed and efficiency of shipping and storing bin transport in the control system of Buchmann by enabling transportation robots to carry at least two shipping and/or storing bins to picking stations. Specifically, the application of the mobile robots of Li to the control system of Buchmann would enable the controller to control one or more of the transportation robots to separately transport a shipping/storing bin containing items with first and second ship-to destinations, thereby reducing the amount of time used a transportation robot compared to transporting one shipping/storing bin per trip. One of ordinary skill in the art could apply the mobile robots of Li to the control system of Buchmann without undue experimentation. Further the application of the mobile robots of Li to the control system of Buchmann would produce the predictable results of controlling item inventory within an automated storage warehouse with regard to shipping and storing.
Regarding Claim 2, the application of the mobile robots of Li to the control system of Buchmann would enable the control system of Buchmann to have the items for the first ship-to destination and/or the second ship-to destination are contained in a plurality of the storing bins. This would result in improved transportation time of multiple items by carrying more than one item/bin at a time.
Regarding Claim 3, Buchmann further teaches wherein the controller further controls the transportation robot to transport the shipping bin in which the picking of the item is completed to the rack from the picking station (paragraph 0041 describes shipping and storing bins being transported to and from picking stations, the abstract describes these bins being stocked in racks 34, 36).
Regarding Claim 5, Buchmann does not teach the transportation of the storing bins by the transportation robot having a longer distance or a longer time to the picking station is performed in priority. However, Buchmann does teach tracking distances and speed between transportation robots and picking stations and controlling movement of transportation robots based on them (described in paragraph 0077). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the control system of Buchmann such that the transportation of the storing bins by the transportation robot having a longer distance or a longer time to the picking station is performed in priority. This would be for the purpose of improving transportation time of storing/shipping bins to the picking stations by prioritizing longer distances which are more likely to take longer times to transport.
Regarding Claim 6, Buchmann does not teach wherein the storing bins containing the items more frequently used for the picking of the items are located closer to the picking station prior to the picking of the items. However, Buchmann does teach that the racks utilized in their control system are mobile (described in paragraph 0070-0071). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could modify the control system of Buchman such that the storing bins containing the items more frequently used for the picking of the items are located closer to the picking station prior to the picking of the items. This would be for the purpose of improving dynamic allocation of items within the warehouse by moving racks closer to and further away from the picking stations based on the frequency of orders of items within certain racks. Wherein, items that are more frequently ordered are closer to picking stations and items less frequently ordered are further away from picking stations.
Regarding Claim 9, Buchmann further teaches wherein
the automated warehouse system includes a guide mechanism providing a guide indicating which one of the items is to be picked and from which one of the storing bins and to which one of the shipping bins the item is to be picked in the picking station, and
the controller further controls the guide mechanism in accordance with the picking of the item (described in paragraph 0068, wherein the controller would have to operate the “lamps, displays, loudspeakers, headsets and the like” to track and communicate operations of picking stations).
Regarding Claim 10, Buchmann does not teach the guide indicating which one of the items is to be picked is provided in an order of the picking becoming possible as the storing bin and the shipping bin arrive at the picking station. However, one of ordinary skill in the art could modify the guide mechanism in the control system of Buchmann such that it indicates which one of the items is to be picked is provided in an order of the picking becoming possible as the storing bin and the shipping bin arrive at the picking station. This would be for the purpose of communicating the active priorities of each picking station to any user and/or observer of the control system of Buchmann and further improving logistical tracking as well as providing a check to users/observers if the priorities of one or more picking stations needs to be adjusted.
Regarding Claim 11, Buchman further teaches a method of controlling an automated warehouse system, the automated warehouse system including:
a rack for arranging at least one storing bin for storing at least one item (racks 34, 36 shown in Figure 1, described in Abstract);
a plurality of picking stations for picking the item from one or more of the storing bins to one or more shipping bins for containing an item to be shipped (picking stations 22, described in paragraph 0042);
and a plurality of transportation robots for transporting the storing bin and the shipping bin (vehicles 16, shown in Figure 1 to transport both storing, or source, containers 18 and shipping, or target, containers 20),
Buchmann does not teach the method comprising:
controlling one or more of the transportation robots, by a controller, to separately transport, among the one or more shipping bins, at least a shipping bin for a first ship-to destination and a shipping bin for a second ship-to destination to the picking station; and
controlling one or more of the transportation robots, by the controller, to transport the one or more storing bins to the picking station, the one or more storing bins each containing the item for the first ship-to destination and the second ship-to destination.
Li teaches a mobile robot comprising at least a first carrying device (102), a second carrying device (103), and a third carrying device (104) capable of carrying at least two separate containers (described in column 7 line 12-21).
Regarding Claim 11, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the mobile robots taught by Li as the transportation robots utilized in the control method taught by Buchmann. The result would improve the speed and efficiency of shipping and storing bin transport in the control method of Buchmann by enabling transportation robots to carry at least two shipping and/or storing bins to picking stations. Specifically, the application of the mobile robots of Li to the control method of Buchmann would enable the controller to control one or more of the transportation robots to separately transport a shipping/storing bin containing items with first and second ship-to destinations, thereby reducing the amount of time used a transportation robot compared to transporting one shipping/storing bin per trip. One of ordinary skill in the art could apply the mobile robots of Li to the control method of Buchmann without undue experimentation. Further the application of the mobile robots of Li to the control method of Buchmann would produce the predictable results of controlling item inventory within an automated storage warehouse with regard to shipping and storing.
Regarding Claim 12, the application of the mobile robots of Li to the control method of Buchmann would enable the control method of Buchmann to have the items for the first ship-to destination and/or the second ship-to destination are contained in a plurality of the storing bins. This would result in improved transportation time of multiple items by carrying more than one item/bin at a time.
Regarding Claim 13, Buchmann further teaches wherein the controller further controls the transportation robot to transport the shipping bin in which the picking of the item is completed to the rack from the picking station (paragraph 0041 describes shipping and storing bins being transported to and from picking stations, the abstract describes these bins being stocked in racks 34, 36).
Regarding Claim 15, Buchmann does not teach the transportation of the storing bins by the transportation robot having a longer distance or a longer time to the picking station is performed in priority. However, Buchmann does teach tracking distances and speed between transportation robots and picking stations and controlling movement of transportation robots based on them (described in paragraph 0077). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the control method of Buchmann such that the transportation of the storing bins by the transportation robot having a longer distance or a longer time to the picking station is performed in priority. This would be for the purpose of improving transportation time of storing/shipping bins to the picking stations by prioritizing longer distances which are more likely to take longer times to transport.
Regarding Claim 16, Buchmann does not teach wherein the storing bins containing the items more frequently used for the picking of the items are located closer to the picking station prior to the picking of the items. However, Buchmann does teach that the racks utilized in their control method are mobile (described in paragraph 0070-0071). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could modify the control method of Buchman such that the storing bins containing the items more frequently used for the picking of the items are located closer to the picking station prior to the picking of the items. This would be for the purpose of improving dynamic allocation of items within the warehouse by moving racks closer to and further away from the picking stations based on the frequency of orders of items within certain racks. Wherein, items that are more frequently ordered are closer to picking stations and items less frequently ordered are further away from picking stations.
Regarding Claim 19, Buchmann further teaches wherein
the automated warehouse system includes a guide mechanism providing a guide indicating which one of the items is to be picked and from which one of the storing bins and to which one of the shipping bins the item is to be picked in the picking station, and
the controller further controls the guide mechanism in accordance with the picking of the item (described in paragraph 0068, wherein the controller would have to operate the “lamps, displays, loudspeakers, headsets and the like” to track and communicate operations of picking stations).
Regarding Claim 20, Buchmann does not teach the guide indicating which one of the items is to be picked is provided in an order of the picking becoming possible as the storing bin and the shipping bin arrive at the picking station. However, since Buchmann teaches the display communicates the picking of items being performed at a given picking station, one of ordinary skill in the art could modify the guide mechanism in the control method of Buchmann such that it indicates which one of the items is to be picked is provided in an order of the picking becoming possible as the storing bin and the shipping bin arrive at the picking station. This would be for the purpose of communicating the active priorities of each picking station to any user and/or observer of the control system of Buchmann and further improving logistical tracking as well as providing a check to users/observers if the priorities of one or more picking stations needs to be adjusted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art: the automated warehouse control system of Buchmann (US 20210221615 A1) does not teach the controller further controls the transportation robot to perform temporal evacuation of the shipping bin in which the picking of the item is not completed to the rack.
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art: the automated warehouse control system of Buchmann (US 20210221615 A1) does not teach wherein in a case where one or more of the storing bins are in a different picking station, the one or more storing bins storing the item necessary for the picking to the shipping bin in which the picking is not completed, the controller further controls the transportation robot to perform transportation of the shipping bin in which the picking of the item is not completed to the picking station different from the picking station.
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art: the automated warehouse control system of Buchmann (US 20210221615 A1) does not teach the picking station defines a surface extending from a surface of one of the plurality of floors, and the transportation robot is travelable along the surface of the floor and the surface of the picking station.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art: the automated warehouse control method of Buchmann (US 20210221615 A1) does not teach controlling the transportation robot, by the controller, to perform temporal evacuation of the shipping bin in which the picking of the item is not completed to the rack.
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art: the automated warehouse control method of Buchmann (US 20210221615 A1) does not teach in a case where one or more of the storing bins are in a different picking station, the one or more storing bins storing the item necessary for the picking to the shipping bin in which the picking is not completed, controlling the transportation robot, by the controller, to perform transportation of the shipping bin in which the picking of the item is not completed to the picking station different from the picking station.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art: the automated warehouse control method of Buchmann (US 20210221615 A1) does not teach the picking station defines a surface continuous with a surface of one of the plurality of floors, and the transportation robot is travelable along the surface of the floor and the surface of the picking station.
Conclusion
be directed to MIRAJ T PATEL whose telephone number is (571)272-9330. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00-5:00.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jacob Scott can be reached on 571-270-3415. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.T.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655