DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 12/07/2022. It is noted, however, that no certified copy of the JP2022-195979 application has been submitted as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection in view of Wen (US 20210280027 A1) and Darvish (US 20190354770 A1). Specifically, Wen is relied upon to teach the added limitations of “acquire video image data on a user who purchases a commodity product…” at (Wen: ¶16 “In certain embodiments, the computer executable code is configured to, before track the product: segment the video frames such that each pixel of the video frames is labeled with hand of a customer, product in hand,” ).
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1-6, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goncalves (US 20100059589 A1) in view of Wen (US 20210280027 A1).
Claim 7-8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goncalves (US 20100059589 A1) in view of Wen (US 20210280027 A1) and in further view of Darvish (US 20190354770 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goncalves (US 20100059589 A1) in view of Wen (US 20210280027 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goncalves discloses specifying, by analyzing the acquired video image data, (Goncalves: ¶24 “the camera (101, 101') triggers image capture based on motion detection and/or optical flow analysis of a video stream”) the commodity product (Goncalves: ¶54 “The image captured through image acquisition module (110) is processed by the object recognition module (103), which compares the image data to a visual recognition model database (104) of item information about known items, and determines the identity of the item or items in the image,”) that is set for the code of the commodity product to be scanned to the accounting machine; (Goncalves: ¶56 “the visual recognition model database (104) also contains UPCs corresponding to objects or items whose features are contained in the database.”)
acquiring, by scanning the code of the commodity product by the accounting machine, commodity product information that has been registered to the accounting machine; and (Goncalves: ¶56 “the visual recognition model database (104) also contains UPCs corresponding to objects or items whose features are contained in the database.”)
generating, by comparing the acquired commodity product information with the specified commodity product an alert connected to an abnormality of a behavior of registering the commodity product to the accounting machine. (Goncalves: ¶59 “If there is a discrepancy between the sequence (105) of scanned UPCs and the sequence (109) of UPCs corresponding to visually recognized items, an exception has been detected and one of several possible actions can be executed.”)
Goncalves fails to specifically disclose A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored therein an information processing program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising:
acquiring video image data on a user who purchases a commodity product and is scanning a code of a commodity product to an accounting machine;
In related art, Wen discloses A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored therein an information processing program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising: (Wen: ¶63 “The computer programs include processor-executable instructions that are stored on a non-transitory tangible computer readable medium.”)
acquiring video image data (Wen: ¶8 “instruct the imaging device to capture video frames of a region of interest (ROI),” ) on a user who purchases a commodity product (Wen: ¶16 “In certain embodiments, the computer executable code is configured to, before track the product: segment the video frames such that each pixel of the video frames is labeled with hand of a customer, product in hand,” ) and is scanning a code of a commodity product to an accounting machine; (Wen: ¶14 “the computer executable code is configured to initiate a self-checkout event when the customer touches “Start” on a touchscreen of the computing device, or when the customer starts scanning a product, or the customer scans his membership card.”)
that has been gripped by the user within a range of an area (Wen: ¶74 “the video frames may be simply labeled with numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, where 0 represents background, 1 represents hand or hands of a customer, either empty hand or hand holding a product”)
that has been gripped by the user, (Wen: ¶74 “the video frames may be simply labeled with numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, where 0 represents background, 1 represents hand or hands of a customer, either empty hand or hand holding a product”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the capturing video of a user scanning a product disclosed by Wen into the method of item recognition, correspondence, and alerting disclosed by Goncalves to identify items being scanned by either a customer or cashier to prevent during checkout.
Regarding claim 2, Goncalves, as modified by Wen, disclose wherein the specifying includes specifying, by inputting the acquired video image data to a first machine learning model, the commodity product that has been gripped by the user (Wen: ¶74 “the video frames may be simply labeled with numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, where 0 represents background, 1 represents hand or hands of a customer, either empty hand or hand holding a product”) within the range of the area that is set for the code of the commodity product to be scanned to the accounting machine. (Goncalves: ¶54 “the object recognition module (103) receives images from one or more image acquisition modules (110, 110') and performs a visual recognition of any number of items present in an image.”)
Regarding claim 3, Goncalves, as modified by Wen, disclose wherein the specifying includes specifying, by inputting the acquired video image data to a second machine learning model, an attribute related to an external appearance of the commodity product that has been gripped by the user, (Wen: ¶74 “the video frames may be simply labeled with numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, where 0 represents background, 1 represents hand or hands of a customer, either empty hand or hand holding a product”) and (Goncalves: ¶54 “object recognition module (103) can comprise a feature extractor (112), which generates a list of geometric point features present in even just a single image.”)
the generating includes estimating an attribute related to the commodity product based on the commodity product information that has been acquired from the accounting machine, and (Goncalves: ¶54 “object recognition module (103) can comprise a feature extractor (112), which generates a list of geometric point features present in even just a single image.”)
generating the alert when the estimated attribute related to the commodity product is different from the attribute related to the commodity product gripped by the user (Wen: ¶74 “the video frames may be simply labeled with numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, where 0 represents background, 1 represents hand or hands of a customer, either empty hand or hand holding a product”) and that has been specified by using the second machine learning model. (Goncalves: ¶59 “If there is a discrepancy between the sequence (105) of scanned UPCs and the sequence (109) of UPCs corresponding to visually recognized items, an exception has been detected and one of several possible actions can be executed.”)
Regarding claim 4, Goncalves, as modified by Wen, disclose wherein specifying, by inputting the acquired video image data to a third machine learning model, a first region including a hand of the user, a second region including the commodity product, and a relationship between the first region and the second region; and (Wen: ¶16 “each pixel of the video frames is labeled with hand of a customer, product in hand, product on table, and background; and detect the product in hand and the product on table based on the labels of the pixels. In certain embodiments, the object detection methods, e.g. Mask R-CNN, Faster R-CNN, and RefineDet, can be used to detect the product in hand or on the table”)
specifying that the user has gripped the commodity product based on the specified first region, the specified second region, and the specified relationship, wherein (Wen: ¶18 “the computer executable code is configured to track the product using tracking-by-detection and greedy search when the product is the product in hand”)
the specifying includes specifying, by inputting, to the first machine learning model, the video image data in which it is specified by using the third machine learning model that the user has gripped the commodity product, the commodity product that has been gripped by the user within the range of the area. (Wen: ¶18 “ track the product using tracking-by-detection and greedy search when the product is the product in hand,” ¶16 “Mask R-CNN, Faster R-CNN, and RefineDet, can be used to detect the product in hand or on the table.”)
Regarding claim 5, Goncalves, as modified by Wen, disclose wherein the generating includes generating, as the alert connected to the abnormality of the behavior of registering the commodity product to the accounting machine, an alert indicating that there is a commodity product that has not yet been registered to the accounting machine by the user, or, indicating that the commodity product that has been registered to the accounting machine by the user is abnormal. (Goncalves: ¶59 “If there is a discrepancy between the sequence (105) of scanned UPCs and the sequence (109) of UPCs corresponding to visually recognized items, an exception has been detected and one of several possible actions can be executed.”)
Regarding claim 6, Goncalves, as modified by Wen, disclose wherein the process further includes notifying, when the alert connected to the abnormality of the behavior of registering the commodity product to the accounting machine is generated, a terminal used by a store clerk of identification information on the accounting machine and the generated alert in an associated manner. (Goncalves: ¶107 “The cashier can be alerted as soon as UPC fraud or scan passing is detected according to one or more of the following options: i) generate an auditory or visual alert executed on bi-optic (flat-bed scanner) and/or POS (cash register); or ii) suspend the transaction”)
Regarding claim 9, Goncalves, as modified by Wen, disclose wherein identifying, by inputting the acquired video image data to the third machine learning model, the first region, the second region, and the relationship, wherein (Wen: ¶16 “each pixel of the video frames is labeled with hand of a customer, product in hand, product on table, and background; and detect the product in hand and the product on table based on the labels of the pixels. In certain embodiments, the object detection methods, e.g. Mask R-CNN, Faster R-CNN, and RefineDet, can be used to detect the product in hand or on the table”)
the third machine learning model is a model that is used for Human Object Interaction Detection (HOID) and that is generated by performing machine learning such that a first class that indicates a user who purchases a commodity product and first region information that indicates a region in which the user appears, a second class that indicates an object including the commodity product and second region information that indicates a region in which the object appears, and an interaction between the first class and the second class are identified. (Wen: ¶16 “each pixel of the video frames is labeled with hand of a customer, product in hand, product on table, and background; and detect the product in hand and the product on table based on the labels of the pixels. In certain embodiments, the object detection methods, e.g. Mask R-CNN, Faster R-CNN, and RefineDet, can be used to detect the product in hand or on the table”)
Regarding claim 10, Goncalves, as modified by Wen, disclose wherein the generating includes generating, when the commodity product information and the specified commodity product that has been gripped by the user (Wen: ¶74 “the video frames may be simply labeled with numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, where 0 represents background, 1 represents hand or hands of a customer, either empty hand or hand holding a product”) do not match, the alert connected to the abnormality of the behavior of registering the commodity product to the accounting machine. (Goncalves: ¶59 “If there is a discrepancy between the sequence (105) of scanned UPCs and the sequence (109) of UPCs corresponding to visually recognized items, an exception has been detected and one of several possible actions can be executed.”)
Regarding claim 11, Goncalves, as modified by Wen, disclose wherein the accounting machine is a self-service checkout terminal. (Wen: ¶4 “Self-checkout (also known as self-service checkout or semi-attended customer-activated terminal (SACAT)) machines provide service for customers to process their own purchases from a retailer”)
Regarding claim 12, Goncalves discloses specifying, by analyzing the acquired video image data, (Goncalves: ¶24 “the camera (101, 101') triggers image capture based on motion detection and/or optical flow analysis of a video stream”) the commodity product (Goncalves: ¶54 “The image captured through image acquisition module (110) is processed by the object recognition module (103), which compares the image data to a visual recognition model database (104) of item information about known items, and determines the identity of the item or items in the image,”) that is set for the code of the commodity product to be scanned to the accounting machine; (Goncalves: ¶56 “the visual recognition model database (104) also contains UPCs corresponding to objects or items whose features are contained in the database.”)
acquiring, by scanning the code of the commodity product by the accounting machine, commodity product information that has been registered to the accounting machine; and (Goncalves: ¶56 “the visual recognition model database (104) also contains UPCs corresponding to objects or items whose features are contained in the database.”)
generating, by comparing the acquired commodity product information with the specified commodity product an alert connected to an abnormality of a behavior of registering the commodity product to the accounting machine. (Goncalves: ¶59 “If there is a discrepancy between the sequence (105) of scanned UPCs and the sequence (109) of UPCs corresponding to visually recognized items, an exception has been detected and one of several possible actions can be executed.”)
Goncalves fails to specifically disclose acquiring video image data on a user who purchases a commodity product and is scanning a code of a commodity product to an accounting machine;
In related art, Wen discloses acquiring video image data (Wen: ¶8 “instruct the imaging device to capture video frames of a region of interest (ROI),” ) on a user who purchases a commodity product (Wen: ¶16 “In certain embodiments, the computer executable code is configured to, before track the product: segment the video frames such that each pixel of the video frames is labeled with hand of a customer, product in hand,” ) and is scanning a code of a commodity product to an accounting machine; (Wen: ¶14 “the computer executable code is configured to initiate a self-checkout event when the customer touches “Start” on a touchscreen of the computing device, or when the customer starts scanning a product, or the customer scans his membership card.”)
that has been gripped by the user within a range of an area (Wen: ¶74 “the video frames may be simply labeled with numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, where 0 represents background, 1 represents hand or hands of a customer, either empty hand or hand holding a product”)
that has been gripped by the user, (Wen: ¶74 “the video frames may be simply labeled with numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, where 0 represents background, 1 represents hand or hands of a customer, either empty hand or hand holding a product”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the capturing video of a user scanning a product disclosed by Wen into the method of item recognition, correspondence, and alerting disclosed by Goncalves to identify items being scanned by either a customer or cashier to prevent during checkout.
Regarding claim 13, Goncalves discloses specify, by analyzing the acquired video image data, (Goncalves: ¶24 “the camera (101, 101') triggers image capture based on motion detection and/or optical flow analysis of a video stream”) the commodity product (Goncalves: ¶54 “The image captured through image acquisition module (110) is processed by the object recognition module (103), which compares the image data to a visual recognition model database (104) of item information about known items, and determines the identity of the item or items in the image,”) that is set for the code of the commodity product to be scanned to the accounting machine; (Goncalves: ¶56 “the visual recognition model database (104) also contains UPCs corresponding to objects or items whose features are contained in the database.”)
acquire, by scanning the code of the commodity product by the accounting machine, commodity product information that has been registered to the accounting machine; and (Goncalves: ¶56 “the visual recognition model database (104) also contains UPCs corresponding to objects or items whose features are contained in the database.”)
generate, by comparing the acquired commodity product information with the specified commodity product an alert connected to an abnormality of a behavior of registering the commodity product to the accounting machine. (Goncalves: ¶59 “If there is a discrepancy between the sequence (105) of scanned UPCs and the sequence (109) of UPCs corresponding to visually recognized items, an exception has been detected and one of several possible actions can be executed.”)
Goncalves fails to specifically disclose
a memory; and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to:
acquire video image data on a user who purchases a commodity product and is scanning a code of a commodity product to an accounting machine;
that has been gripped by the user within a range of an area
that has been gripped by the user,
In related art Wen discloses a memory; and (Wen: ¶59 “The term module may include memory”)
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to: (Wen: ¶59 “The term module may include memory (shared, dedicated, or group) that stores code executed by the processor.”)
acquire video image data (Wen: ¶8 “instruct the imaging device to capture video frames of a region of interest (ROI),” ) on a user who purchases a commodity product (Wen: ¶16 “In certain embodiments, the computer executable code is configured to, before track the product: segment the video frames such that each pixel of the video frames is labeled with hand of a customer, product in hand,” ) and is scanning a code of a commodity product to an accounting machine; (Wen: ¶14 “the computer executable code is configured to initiate a self-checkout event when the customer touches “Start” on a touchscreen of the computing device, or when the customer starts scanning a product, or the customer scans his membership card.”)
that has been gripped by the user within a range of an area (Wen: ¶74 “the video frames may be simply labeled with numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, where 0 represents background, 1 represents hand or hands of a customer, either empty hand or hand holding a product”)
that has been gripped by the user, (Wen: ¶74 “the video frames may be simply labeled with numbers 0, 1, 2, 3, where 0 represents background, 1 represents hand or hands of a customer, either empty hand or hand holding a product”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the capturing video of a user scanning a product disclosed by Wen into the method of item recognition, correspondence, and alerting disclosed by Goncalves to identify items being scanned by either a customer or cashier to prevent during checkout.
Claim 7-8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goncalves (US 20100059589 A1) in view of Wen (US 20210280027 A1) and in further view of Darvish (US 20190354770 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Goncalves, as modified by Wen, disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the generating includes outputting, in a case where the alert connected to the abnormality of the behavior of registering the commodity product to the accounting machine has been generated, voice or a screen that makes the user located at the accounting machine aware of a registration omission of the commodity product from the accounting machine.
In related art, Darvish discloses wherein the generating includes outputting, in a case where the alert connected to the abnormality of the behavior of registering the commodity product to the accounting machine has been generated, voice or a screen that makes the user located at the accounting machine aware of a registration omission of the commodity product from the accounting machine. (Darvish: ¶137 “The visual warning interface 345 and loudspeaker interface 350 serve to generate an audio visual alert in the case of abnormal activity. In particular, where grievous abnormal activity is detect, such as theft, the audio visual alert serves to attract the attention of authorities while discouraging other would-be thieves of fraudsters from stealing.” ¶35 discloses the transaction monitoring system may be used in self-checkout counters ensuring the user purchasing a product will observe the alert)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the use of visual or audio alerts upon detecting abnormal checkout behavior disclosed by Darvish into the method of item recognition, correspondence, and alerting disclosed by Goncalves, as modified by Wen. It would have been obvious to incorporate these separate aspects in order to halt the transaction and alert store staff upon abnormal checkout activity being detected.
Regarding claim 8, Goncalves, as modified by Wen disclose the claimed invention except for wherein capturing, when the alert connected to the abnormality of the behavior of registering the commodity product to the accounting machine is generated, the user by a camera included in the accounting machine; and
storing image data on the captured user and the alert in an associated manner in a storage.
In related art, Darvish discloses capturing, when the alert connected to the abnormality of the behavior of registering the commodity product to the accounting machine is generated, the user by a camera included in the accounting machine; and (Darvish: ¶138 “ For example, an alarm triggered by an alarm interface may be a local buzzer, a silent alarm to the manager or security, and indicator to cameras to start recording,”)
storing image data on the captured user and the alert in an associated manner in a storage. (Darvish: ¶138 “For example, an alarm triggered by an alarm interface may be a local buzzer, a silent alarm to the manager or security, and indicator to cameras to start recording, or to camera systems to save/prevent discarding of recordings”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the recording the user upon detection of abnormal activity disclosed by Darvish into the method of item recognition, correspondence, and alerting disclosed by Goncalves, as modified by Wen to prevent customer fraud by capturing the identity of the customer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Debucean (US 20210216785 A1) discloses A system for detecting scan and non-scan events in a self-check out (SCO) process includes a a scanner for scanning objects and generating point of sale (POS) data, a video camera for generating a video of the scanning region, proximity sensors proximal to the video camera for defining an Area of Action (AoA), wherein the video camera starts capturing scanning region, when the objects enter the AoA, and the POS data includes non-zero values, an Artificial neural network (ANN) for receiving an image frame and generating one or more values, each indicating a probability of classification of the image frame into one or more classes respectively, and a processing unit for processing the POS data, and probabilities of one or more classes to detect a correlation between video data and POS data, and detect one of: scan and non-scan event in the image frame based on the correlation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL KIM MAIDEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665