DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 12, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. 112b rejection is withdrawn from claims 8 and 18.
Response to Arguments
Response to Arguments: In reference to Applicant' s arguments: Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101. Examiner' s response: Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 are held
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on page 8 noting “Present claim 1 is not an abstract idea, and even if, arguendo, present claim 1 is an abstract idea, present claim 1 recites a practical application,” the examiner fully considers the argument, however, since the amended claim 1 still recites abstract ideas, such as knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences, (which recites an abstract idea of a mental process), and the encoding and decoding limitations recite math concepts from paragraphs [0024, 0026, 0029] in specification, as well as filtering the named entity by selecting named entities involve math equations from paragraph [0034], and fine tuning a model shown in paragraph [0029], recite math concepts), these limitations still recite abstract ideas.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on page 9 noting “Explicitly, present claim 1 improves the functioning of a computer or another technology by improving the ability to accurately name an entity from a source domain to a target domain by filtering … This mechanism prevents false positive matches resulting from coincidental diction, grammar, etymology, etc. Instead, the "noun phrases" in question are scored for relevance to avoid these false positive situations. This is readily apparent in present claim 1 and thereby is an explicit improvement in fine-tuning a model from a source domain to a target domain,” the examiner fully considers the arguments, however, since the amended claim 1 did not reflect the improvement of preventing false positive matches or related practical applications, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on pages 9-10 stating “Additionally, implicitly present claim 1 improves a computer or another technology by fine- tuning a model from a source domain which can include a significant amount of information, much of which is irrelevant, and prepares the model for use in a target domain, even if there is overlap in the data from the source domain and the target domain (Present specification [0018], [0021]). This aids models in becoming specialized and useful in more than merely generic computer applications. Therefore, present claim 1 is not an abstract idea,” the examiner fully considers the arguments, however, since the amended claim 1 did not reflect the improvement or related practical applications within the written claim language, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. The ‘models in becoming specialized’ language was not reflected in the amended claims.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on page 10 noting “Present claim 1 incorporates a practical application. Present claim 1 is a method of fine- tuning a model which is a form of training a model to be specialized in a specific domain… This is not merely mathematical concepts but applying technical features to a purported goal that improves a technology of training a model to perform named entity recognition,” the examiner fully considers the arguments, however, since the amended claim 1 did not reflect the improvement or related practical applications, and still was written with limitations that recite math concepts or using equations within the written claim language, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on page 10 noting “Furthermore, present claim 1 includes an inventive concept. Present claim 1 is not merely the use of a knowledge base, a prompt, or a language model individually. Rather, the claims recite operations that selectively retrieve contextual knowledge relevant to an input sentence, incorporate that selected knowledge and a prompt into a common intermediate representation, and use the prompt to constrain the named entities used for fine-tuning. Accordingly, the prompt is not merely an instruction supplied to a conventional language model; it participates in a defined processing pipeline that constrains the training output,” the examiner fully considers the arguments, however, since the amended claim 1 did not reflect the improvement or related practical applications, within the written claim language. Further, the processing pipeline method is able to be performed with any generic computer as a tool to apply the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on page 11 noting “Accordingly, even assuming that the individual concepts of parsing, knowledge retrieval, prompting, decoding, and fine-tuning were individually known, the claimed ordered combination supplies an inventive concept because the claimed operations cooperate to produce a particular intermediate representation and a selectively filtered training signal for named-entity recognition. Therefore, present claim 1 recites patent eligible subject matter,” the examiner fully considers the arguments, however, since the amended claim 1 did not reflect the improvement or related practical applications, within the written claim language, and the operations are able to be performed with any generic computer as a tool to apply the abstract idea. See 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections for further information.
In reference to Applicant's arguments:
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Examiner' s response:
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on pages 12-13 note “Gong, Overell, and Jiang fail to teach or suggest the limitation "retrieving knowledge sentences, related to an input sentence, from a knowledge base, wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate noun phrases from the input sentence and the noun phrases are scored by relevance, knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences…”, the examiner fully considers the argument, however, the arguments are moot because they do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection and because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to applicant’s arguments in page 13 stating “Gong does not teach or suggest at least "a sentence parser" which "retrieves noun phrases," wherein the "noun phrases are scored by relevance" such that "knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences," nor does Gong teach or suggest at least "filtering named entities by selecting only those of a type specified by a prompt," these arguments were fully considered by the examiner, please view the Overell reference in paragraphs [0169, 0171] describe "One method for finding the principal class of an object is first to identify the classes of which the object is a member, i.e. a query is done looking for objects to which the entity has the relation [is an instance of]. The resulting class objects are then ordered using the [is a subclass of] relation and the most specific class labelled as a principal class is then considered the PC for the object … … After prompting the user entity for a class, both this class and the classes to which this class is on the right in the relation [is a subclass of] are retrieved from the knowledge base and again they are ordered. The most specific class labelled as a PC is taken as the object's PC. If one is not found using this method the user entity is prompted for a more specific class, e.g. the string “policeman” will find [human being] as the principal class (the class of policemen is a subclass of the PC [human being]) but “living thing” will result in the user being prompted to be more specific." Here, Overell describes class as a type of the entity, where class is a certain category of the text the user has input into their query (i.e. input sentence). See Overell reference shows a type (described as a category of text like the subclass) specified by the prompt. See Overell in figure 49 illustrating using noun phrases, and in paragraphs [0024, 0088] note retrieving noun phrases by relevance. Regarding the "knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences," the examiner fully considers the argument; however, the arguments are moot because they do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on page 13 noting “Gong does not mention, let alone teach or suggest at least employing a sentence parser to retrieve candidate noun phrases from an input sentence. In fact, Gong only mentions the term noun twice, and neither is for a noun phrase (Gong [0004], [0086]). Gong does not score any retrieved noun phrases by relevance. Further, Gong does not have entries based on top-k relevance scores … However, Gong does not use a prompt to constrain or filter which named entities are selected for fine-tuning the language model,” the examiner fully considers the arguments, and note that the Overell reference was brought in to teach the noun phrases, see in [0024, 0088] and in figure 49 for details. Regarding a sentence parser, this describes a method that retrieves sentences and identifies labels of different parts of speech such as noun phrases, and can be located in any method that is used by entity recognition. Further, regarding these limitations and including the remarks on page 13 noting “Further, Gong does not mention top-k, let alone teach that top-k sentences are selected”, the arguments are moot because they do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on page 14 noting “Overell fails to cure the deficiencies of Gong. Overell teaches "noun phrases" but not that these noun phrases are scored by relevance to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences (See Overell $ [1190]). Overell, at most, mentions relevance being determined by natural language words, etc., or ordering elements by a relevance heuristic, but these do not relate to scoring noun phrases by relevance (Overell [1165], [0105]). Further, Overell teaches a prompting mechanism that is directed to interactively querying a user to clarify an entity's class when the system cannot determine the principal class of an object, which is different from using a prompt to filter generated named entities during model training (Overell [0169], [0171]). Overell's prompt is a user-facing interactive query mechanism, not a mechanism for filtering named entities of a specified type during model training. Further, Overell does not mention top-k, let alone teach that top-k sentences are selected,” the Overell reference is brought in to teach identifying parts of the sentence by noun phrases in figure 49, [0024,0088], and further, Overell in [0283] noted “Subsequent lines in the query may filter the objects found (i.e. the line may include only a variable used to generate the objects on a previous line so when reached it substitutes the previously found objects in and only ones which can be justified survive). Before proceeding to execute subsequent lines, the completeness status is checked (step 520).” Here, Overell shows a form of filtering of the objects found within the query of a database, and teaches filtering by objects, and see Overell in paragraphs [1193, 1195] describing the objects as parts of speech tags. See OVERELL in figure 49 illustrate selecting the named entities by different types.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on page 15 noting “Jiang fails to cure the deficiencies of Gong and Overell. Jiang does not even mention noun phrases, let alone any technical detail about applying relevance to noun phrases … Jiang does not employ a sentence parser to retrieve candidate noun phrases from an input sentence, does not score noun phrases by relevance, and does not select knowledge base entries based on top-k relevance scores to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences. Jiang's retrieval of knowledge subgraphs is a different operation from parsing an input sentence for candidate noun phrases, scoring those noun phrases for relevance, and selecting the most relevant knowledge base entries based on those relevance scores to retrieve a corresponding set of top-k knowledge sentences. Furthermore, Jiang does not teach filtering named entities by selecting those of a type specified by a prompt … Further, Jiang does not mention top-k, let alone teach that top-k sentences are selected,” the examiner fully considers the argument, however, the arguments are moot because they do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on pages 16-17 noting “Ya fails to cure the deficiencies of Gong, Overell, and Jiang. Ya teaches "the task of query-focused extractive summarization can be decomposed into two subtasks, i.e., sentence scoring and sentence selection. The former scores a sentence to measure query relevance, and the latter chooses sentences to create a summary by considering both query relevance and redundancy" (Ya, p. 68-69). Ya, however, does not teach noun phrases, and therefore does not teach or suggest scoring noun phrases by relevance. Further, Ya does not mention top-k, let alone teach that top-k sentences are selected,” the examiner fully considers the argument, however, the arguments are moot because they do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection. The reference Overell was brought in to teach the noun phrases, see in [0024, 0088] and in figure 49 for details.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on pages 17-18 noting “Li briefly mentions noun phrases but does not teach generating noun phrases from input text (See Li § 2.4.2, § 3.3.3). Additionally, Li mentions scores several times, but each of these is not related to a relevance score, but rather, to distribution scores, segment scores, and performance scores (F-scores) (Li § 3.3.1; § 3.4.2; § 3.5). Further, Li does not mention top-k, let alone teach that top-k sentences are selected… Zhu fails to cure the deficiencies of Gong, Overell, Jiang, Ya, and LI. Zhu teaches a sentiment score, but not a relevance score)… Nor does Zhu reference, let alone teach or suggest at least “noun phrases.” Further, Zhu does not mention top-k, let alone teach that top-k sentences are selected,” the examiner fully considers the argument, however, the arguments are moot because they do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection. See reference Wang for details in teaching the limitations of the top-k sentences and relevance scores.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on page 19 noting “Meftah fails to cure the deficiencies of Gong, Overell, Jiang, Ya, Li, and Zhu. Meftah does mention the term "noun phrase" but does not mention generating a noun phrase from an input, nor does Meftah use noun phrase for a relevancy score (See Meftah § 4.4). In fact, Meftah's discussion of noun phrases is directed to conventional linguistic chunking and syntactic analysis, rather than identifying candidate noun phrases for retrieval of knowledge from a knowledge base. Further, although Meftah uses the term "relevant" in describing features learned for tasks of interest, Meftah does not teach determining a relevance of a candidate noun phrase for purposes of retrieving knowledge, … Meftah therefore … does not disclose determining, from an input sentence, a relevance score for a candidate noun phrase and using the relevance score to select knowledge-base entries or retrieve knowledge sentences” the examiner fully considers the argument, however, the arguments are moot because they do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection. See reference Wang for details in teaching the limitations of the top-k sentences and relevance scores.
Regarding the applicant’s remarks on page 20 noting “Sedinkina fails to cure the deficiencies of Gong, Overell, Jiang, Ya, Li, Zhu, and Meftah. Sedinkina does not mention the term "noun phrases" let alone identifying noun phrases from inputs. Further, while Sedinkina teaches the use-of scores, the scores are not relevancy scores but rather performance scores such as SVM scores, probability scores, and perplexity scores (See Sedinkina § 3.3.3, § 2.2, § 2.1). Further, Sedinkina does not mention top-k, let alone teach that top-k sentences are selected,” the examiner fully considers the argument, however, the arguments are moot because they do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection. See reference Wang for details in teaching the limitations of the top-k sentences and relevance scores.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (mathematical concept or mental process) without significantly more.
Claim 1:
Regarding claim 1, in step 1 of the 101-analysis set forth in MPEP 2106, the claim recites
“A computer-implemented method for training a language model, comprising: retrieving knowledge sentences, related to an input sentence, from a knowledge base, wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate noun phrases from the input sentence and the noun phrases are scored by relevance, knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences; encoding the input sentence, the top-k knowledge sentences, and a prompt into an intermediate representation; decoding the intermediate representation to generate a named entity from the input sentence; filtering the named entity by selecting named entities from the input sentence that are of a type specified by the prompt; and fine-tuning a language model based on the filtered named entity,” and a method is one of the four statutory categories of invention.
In step 2A prong 1 of the 101-analysis set forth in the MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined that the following limitations recite a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a math concept but for recitation of generic computer components:
knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences; (mental process, a person can mentally evaluate, look, and select sentences that has top k scores from a knowledge base, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
encoding the input sentence, the top-k knowledge sentence, and a prompt into an intermediate representation; (This is considered a mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, or mathematical calculation, see specification in paragraphs [0024] state “the knowledge vector may be aggregated using the equation K=Aggregate(HI,Hk), where Hk is the knowledge vector and HI is the intermediate representation. The prompt vector is used to calculate HI, as above. The prompt may be generated manually, and the prompt sentence is encoded to initialize prompt parameters ϕ.” , and [0026] state “The attention function of the encoder, with the prompt, may be written as:
”, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I),
decoding the intermediate representation to generate a named entity from the input sentence; (This recites a mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, or mathematical calculation, see specification in [0029] state “The decoding uses the output of the encoder and previous decoder output tokens to decode a next token,” where the decoding process involves a calculation on the output of the encoder, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I),
filtering the named entity by selecting named entities from the input sentence that are of a type specified by the prompt; (This recites a mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, or mathematical calculation, see specification in paragraph [0034] note “In some cases, the knowledge base may return entries that are similar to noun phrases. At the sentence level, the returned entries may not be relevant to the input sentence. Therefore, a pretrained language model may be used to further filter relevant knowledge sentences. The encoder may be used to calculate a hidden representation of the input sentence X…
, Here, this shows filtering is performed using the following equation, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I),
and fine-tuning a language model based on the filtered named entity (This recites a mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, or mathematical calculation, see specification in [0029] state “The index yi~ is the position of each token in the input sentence, and is used to select tokens from the input sentence. Using the ground truth value pi, a categorical cross-entropy loss may be determined between pi and yi and may be used to fine-tune the parameters of the model in 212,”
Here, a loss function is used to fine-tune the model, and is considered a math calculation, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I),
If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a mathematical concept or mental process but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the mathematical concept or mental process grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim “recites” an abstract idea.
In step 2A prong 2 of the 101-analysis set forth in MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined that the following additional elements do not integrate this judicial exception into a practical application:
A computer-implemented method for training a language model, comprising: retrieving a knowledge sentence, related to an input sentence, from a knowledge base; (In step 2A, prong 2, this recites mere data receiving or gathering, and is considered insignificant extra-solution activity – see MPEP 2106.05(g)),
wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate noun phrases from the input sentence and the noun phrases are scored by relevance, (In step 2A, prong 2, this recites mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer – see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
Since the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is “directed” to an abstract idea.
In step 2B of the 101-analysis set forth in the 2019 PEG, the examiner has determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above, additional element vii recites mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components, which is not indicative of significantly more. Additional element vi recites mere data gathering, and is considered insignificant extra-solution activity. In step 2B, this insignificant extra-solution activity is a well understood routine and conventional activity, which includes receiving or transmitting data over a network from court case Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016), – see MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)(i)),
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2:
Regarding claim 2, it is dependent upon claim 1, and thereby incorporates the limitations of, and corresponding analysis applied to claim 1. Further, claim 2 recites the following additional element:
The method of claim 1, wherein retrieving the knowledge sentence includes searching a knowledge base for entities in the input sentence, (In step 2A, prong 2, this recites mere data gathering, which is considered insignificant extra-solution activity – see MPEP 2106.05(g),). In step 2B, this insignificant extra-solution activity is well understood routine and conventional activity which includes receiving or transmitting data over a network from court case Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) – see MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)(i).
Since the claim does not recite additional elements that either integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor provide significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 3:
Regarding claim 3, it is dependent upon claim 2, and thereby incorporates the limitations of, and corresponding analysis applied to claim 2. Further, claim 3 recites the following additional element:
The method of claim 2, wherein retrieving the knowledge sentence further includes retrieving relations from the knowledge base, (In step 2A, prong 2, this recites mere data gathering, which is considered insignificant extra-solution activity – see MPEP 2106.05(g),). In step 2B, this insignificant extra-solution activity is well understood routine and conventional activity which includes receiving or transmitting data over a network from court case Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) – see MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)(i).
Since the claim does not recite additional elements that either integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor provide significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 4:
Regarding claim 4, it is dependent upon claim 3, and thereby incorporates the limitations of, and corresponding analysis applied to claim 3. Further, claim 4 recites the following abstract idea:
The method of claim 3, wherein retrieving the knowledge sentence further includes generating a set of knowledge sentences from the entities and the relations and selecting a percentage with a highest relevance to the input sentence, (This recites a mental process, since a person can mentally generate sentences, and then select a percentage that is highly relevant to an input sentence, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)),
If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a mental process but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the mental process grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim “recites” an abstract idea.
Since the claim does not recite additional elements that either integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor provide significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 5:
Regarding claim 5, it is dependent upon claim 4, and thereby incorporates the limitations of, and corresponding analysis applied to claim 4. Further, claim 5 recites the following additional element:
The method of claim 4, wherein the set of knowledge sentences include sentences of the form <entity> is a <type>, (In step 2A, prong 2, this recites an indication to a field of use or technological environment – see MPEP 2106.05(h)), (In step 2B, this also recites a field of use or technological environment – see MPEP 2106.05(h)),
Since the claim does not recite additional elements that either integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor provide significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 6:
Regarding claim 6, it is dependent upon claim 2, and thereby incorporates the limitations of, and corresponding analysis applied to claim 2. Further, claim 6 recites the following additional element:
The method of claim 2, wherein the knowledge base is a multilingual knowledge graph, (In step 2A, prong 2, this recites an indication to a field of use or technological environment – see MPEP 2106.05(h)), (In step 2B, this also recites a field of use or technological environment – see MPEP 2106.05(h)),
Since the claim does not recite additional elements that either integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor provide significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 7:
Regarding claim 7, it is dependent upon claim 1, and thereby incorporates the limitations of, and corresponding analysis applied to claim 1. Further, claim 7 recites the following additional element:
The method of claim 1, further comprising pre-training the model with labeled training data from a source domain, wherein the input sentence includes labeled entities from a second domain, (In step 2A, prong 2, this is considered mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer – see MPEP 2106.05(f)), (In step 2B, this is also considered mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer – see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
Since the claim does not recite additional elements that either integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor provide significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 8:
Regarding claim 8, it is dependent upon claim 1, and thereby incorporates the limitations of, and corresponding analysis applied to claim 1. Further, claim 8 recites the following abstract idea:
The method of claim 1, wherein encoding uses an attention function:
where l designates an attention layer, Q, K, and V are query, key, and value parameters of the attention layer, respectively, ϕk and ϕv are prompt parameters corresponding to K and V, and [⋅:⋅] denotes a concatenation operation, and d is a dimension size, (This recites a mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, or mathematical calculation, see specification in [0026] state “two trainable embedding matrices may be defined as trainable prompt parameters. The attention function of the encoder, with the prompt
The input sequence representation may be projected to the Q, K and V values. For each ϕvl and ϕkl, they may be initialized with the word embedding of a manually defined prompt. The hidden representation HI of the input sentence may be determined using the encoder,” where the attention function takes in prompt parameters and project input sequence to Q ,K and V , see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I),
If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a mathematical concept but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the mathematical concept grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim “recites” an abstract idea.
Since the claim does not recite additional elements that either integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor provide significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 9:
Regarding claim 9, it is dependent upon claim 1, and thereby incorporates the limitations of, and corresponding analysis applied to claim 1. Further, claim 9 recites the following additional element:
The method of claim 1, wherein the prompt specifies a type of entity to be identified, (In step 2A, prong 2, this recites an indication to a field of use or technological environment – see MPEP 2106.05(h)), (In step 2B, this also recites a field of use or technological environment – see MPEP 2106.05(h)),
Since the claim does not recite additional elements that either integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor provide significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 10:
Regarding claim 10, it is dependent upon claim 1, and thereby incorporates the limitations of, and corresponding analysis applied to claim 1. Further, claim 10 recites the following abstract idea:
The method of claim 1, wherein encoding includes aggregating a representation of the input sentence with a representation of the knowledge sentence, based on the prompt, (This recites a mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, or mathematical calculation, see specification in [0027] state “a scaled dot-product attention may be used to aggregate the knowledge sentences and input sentence,” where a scaled dot-product attention is used to aggregate the sentences, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I),
If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a mathematical concept but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the mathematical concept grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim “recites” an abstract idea.
Since the claim does not recite additional elements that either integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor provide significantly more than the judicial exception, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 11:
Regarding claim 11, in step 1 of the 101-analysis set forth in MPEP 2106, the claim recites
“A system for training a language model, comprising: a hardware processor; and a memory that stores a computer program which, when executed by the hardware processor, causes the hardware processor to: retrieve knowledge sentences, related to an input sentence, from a knowledge base, wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate noun phrases from the input sentence and the noun phrases are scored by relevance, knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences; encode the input sentence, the top-k knowledge sentences, and a prompt into an intermediate representation; decode the intermediate representation to generate a named entity from the input sentence filter the named entity by selecting named entities from the input sentence that are of a type specified by the prompt: and fine-tune a language model based on the named entity.,” and a system is one of the four statutory categories of invention.
In step 2A prong 1 of the 101-analysis set forth in the MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined that the following limitations recite a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a math process but for recitation of generic computer components:
knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences, (mental process, a person can mentally evaluate, look, and select sentences that has top k scores from a knowledge base, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
encode the input sentence, the top-k knowledge sentence, and a prompt into an intermediate representation; (This is considered a mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, or mathematical calculation, see specification in paragraphs [0024] state “the knowledge vector may be aggregated using the equation K=Aggregate(HI,Hk), where Hk is the knowledge vector and HI is the intermediate representation. The prompt vector is used to calculate HI, as above. The prompt may be generated manually, and the prompt sentence is encoded to initialize prompt parameters ϕ.” , and [0026] state “The attention function of the encoder, with the prompt, may be written as:
”, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I),
decode the intermediate representation to generate a named entity from the input sentence that is of a type specified by the prompt; (This recites a mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, or mathematical calculation, see specification in [0029] state “The decoding uses the output of the encoder and previous decoder output tokens to decode a next token,” where the decoding process involves a calculation on the output of the encoder, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I),
filter the named entity by selecting named entities from the input sentence that are of a type specified by the prompt; (This recites a mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, or mathematical calculation, see specification in [0034] note “In some cases, the knowledge base may return entries that are similar to noun phrases. At the sentence level, the returned entries may not be relevant to the input sentence. Therefore, a pretrained language model may be used to further filter relevant knowledge sentences. The encoder may be used to calculate a hidden representation of the input sentence X…
, Here, this shows filtering is performed using the following equation, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I),
and fine-tune a language model based on the named entity (This recites a mathematical relationship, mathematical formula or equation, or mathematical calculation, see specification in [0029] state “The index yi~ is the position of each token in the input sentence, and is used to select tokens from the input sentence. Using the ground truth value pi, a categorical cross-entropy loss may be determined between pi and yi and may be used to fine-tune the parameters of the model in 212,”
Here, a loss function is used to fine-tune the model, and is considered a math calculation, see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I),
If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a mathematical concept or mental process, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the mathematical concept or mental process grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim “recites” an abstract idea.
In step 2A prong 2 of the 101-analysis set forth in MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined that the following additional elements do not integrate this judicial exception into a practical application:
A system for training a language model, comprising: a hardware processor; and a memory that stores a computer program which, when executed by the hardware processor, causes the hardware processor, (This recites mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer – see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
to: retrieve a knowledge sentence, related to an input sentence, from a knowledge base; (In step 2A, prong 2, this recites mere data gathering, which is considered insignificant extra-solution activity – see MPEP 2106.05(g)),
wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate noun phrases from the input sentence and the noun phrases are scored by relevance, (In step 2A, prong 2, this recites mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer – see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
Since the claim as a whole, looking at the additional elements individually and in combination, does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is “directed” to an abstract idea.
In step 2B of the 101-analysis set forth in the 2019 PEG, the examiner has determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above, additional elements v and viii recite mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components, which are not indicative of significantly more. The additional element vii recites mere data gathering, and is considered insignificant extra-solution activity. In step 2B, this insignificant extra-solution activity is a well understood routine and conventional activity, which includes receiving or transmitting data over a network from court case Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016), – see MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)(i)),
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 12 - 20:
Regarding claim 11, all of claim 11’s dependent claims follow the deficiencies of their parent claim. Since claims 12-20 recite similar limitations as corresponding claims 2-10 listed above, and are rejected for similar reasons under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Gong, B. et al., (Pub. No. CN 113868392A), published on December 31, 2021, (hereafter, GONG), in view of Overell, S. et al., (US PG Pub. No. US20110307435A), published on December 15, 2011, (hereafter, OVERELL), further in view of Wang, X. et al., in “Improving named entity recognition by external context retrieving and cooperative learning,” published in August 2021, available at: https://aclanthology.org/2021.acl-long.142.pdf , (hereafter, Wang), and further in view of Kang, M., et al., in “KALA: knowledge-augmented language model adaptation,” published on August 4, 2022, available at: https://arxiv.org/pdf/2204.10555v2 , (hereafter, Kang).
Claim 1:
Regarding claim 1, GONG teaches “A computer-implemented method for training a language model, comprising: retrieving a knowledge sentence, related to an input sentence, from a knowledge base;”
See GONG in [0003] describe “The general information retrieval-based question-answering system works in two steps: question resolution and answer retrieval. Problem analysis is a natural language understanding task, and the main work of the problem analysis is to extract useful information from a question set by a user so as to guide subsequent retrieval. The answer retrieval is to find the answer from the constructed domain knowledge base.” Here, GONG explains retrieving an answer which is in a form of a natural language.
Further, see GONG in [0004] specify “The problem analysis method adopts two sequence tagging technologies of named entity identification and part of speech tagging, which are also called slot filling. The sequence tagging is to regard an input sentence as an input sequence, and tag each word in the input sequence, so as to tag important elements in the sentence.” Here, GONG describes the input sequence is similar to a question, and using the answer retrieval step involves finding an answer also in a form of a sentence from a knowledge base. This relates to retrieving a knowledge sentence, where the knowledge sentence is construed to mean the sentence, where after retrieving the relevant information from a knowledge base, generates an answer to a user prompt to a language model.
Further, GONG teaches “encoding the input sentence, the … knowledge sentence, and a prompt into an intermediate representation;”
See GONG in [0039] describe “the method for realizing the question-answering system is used in a specific field, a field knowledge base is designed by considering the characteristics of knowledge in the field, the structure of the knowledge base is considered, two sequence tagging tasks of named body recognition and part of speech tagging are completed based on a bidirectional transducer encoder representation technology (BERT), sentence information is extracted in a targeted manner,” Here, GONG describes BERT, a model that is specifically designed to encode two sequence tasks: 1. the extracted sentence information (i.e. input sentence) as well as the 2. sequence task extracted from a knowledge base (i.e. knowledge sentence), into contextualized numeric representations called embeddings or label text sequence with tags in this case. GONG mentions BERT model has an encoder and transducer, and performs the process of encoding.
Further, see GONG in paragraphs [0103-0106], describe "The specific training method comprises the following steps: (1) and performing participlization on the corpus data training set labeled above, namely dividing the question text into separate participles (tokens)... (2) And then converted to word embedding. Processing NLP task by means of neural network model, it is often necessary to map words into a vector in a high-dimensional dense space, and express semantic relation between corresponding words by cosine distance between each vector, which is word embedding. " Here, GONG describes labeling the question text into word embeddings, which shows encoding the prompt into an intermediate representation. Note the examiner construes intermediate representation to mean any vector representation in space, which includes embeddings, from the specification [0023] stating “the encoder encodes the inputs together and generates an intermediate representation, for example as a vector in a latent space.”
Further, see GONG in paragraphs [0110-0111, 0114-0116] describe “ (1) the method includes inputting question texts, simply screening the text lengths, ... (2) And performing participlization and converting into word embedding. …(1) Extracting relation elements contained in the question from the labeled result; (2) converting relational elements into database query statements (3) And giving corresponding prompts for the conditions of inquiring or not inquiring answers.” Here, GONG describes using the process of viewing the question text, converting this into word embeddings (i.e. intermediate representation), extracting relation elements from the question (this step implies using information from a knowledge base), then giving prompts that correspond with the content of the question. The term corresponding prompts means prompts that relate to the original text content, which was converted into word embeddings. Since the prompt is originally part of the text, which is converted to word embeddings, this means the prompt also was converted into intermediate representation.
Further, see GONG in [0020 - 0023] describe “step 2-2: obtaining a question sentence of a user, screening according to the length of the text, and then preprocessing the screened text; step 2-3: inputting the preprocessed data into a sequence labeling model to obtain a label sequence; step 2-4: extracting relationship elements from the tag sequence; step 2-5: converting the relationship elements into database query statements;” Here, GONG describes the process after getting a question sentence from a user, the method helps preprocess data into sequence labeling model, which refers to the BERT model, and labels the sequence (which includes input sentence). See GONG in [0025-0030] for details.
Further, GONG teaches “decoding the intermediate representation to generate a named entity from the input sentence;”
See GONG in [0090 - 0091] describe "The encoder representation model (BERT) of a bidirectional Transformer is composed of a number of bidirectional Transformer modules, each of which comprises a concatenation of a number of encoders and decoders. A single decoder or encoder has one attribute layer, and inputs one fully connected layer after residual chaining and normalization,"
Further, see GONG in [0105-0106] describe "(2) And then converted to word embedding. Processing NLP task by means of neural network model, it is often necessary to map words into a vector in a high-dimensional dense space, and express semantic relation between corresponding words by cosine distance between each vector, which is word embedding." See [0020-0023] where GONG describes “step 2-3: inputting the preprocessed data into a sequence labeling model to obtain a label sequence; step 2-4: extracting relationship elements from the tag sequence; step 2-5: converting the relationship elements into database query statements.” Here, GONG teaches the BERT model contains decoders in [0090-0091], and later GONG describes converting the text sentence from word embedding (i.e. intermediate representation) into expressing semantic relation between corresponding words, and later labeling those relationship elements by tags which relates to named entity. From the specification note in [0018] describe “In the specific example of FIG. 1 , the input text 100 includes certain named entities, illustrated with bold text, including a personal name, “Ms. Green,” an organization's name, “LIRR,” and a location name, “Manhattan.” Each of these named entities has an associated type: person, organization, or location. A given corpus of training data may be labeled, such that each named entity may be associated with one or more such types.” Note the examiner construes ‘named’ to mean any label or category of a text or word (viewed as ‘entity’).
Further, see GONG in [0112] describe “(3) And calculating in the network, performing softmax transformation …, taking the obtained maximum probability, and taking the corresponding sequence tag as the tag corresponding to the token. And obtaining a label sequence corresponding to the sentence.” Using named entity means to label an item or text with a name by a tag or other labels. Here, GONG has named or labeled the data containing words into a labeled sequence of the words from [0105-0106], and later obtain a label sequence that corresponds to a sentence in [0112], which relates to named entity from the input sentence.
Further, GONG teaches “and fine-tuning a language model …”
See GONG in [0028] describe " the training method comprises the following steps: performing word segmentation processing on data in the training data set, converting the data into word embedding, and inputting the word embedding into a model for training; [0029] finally, fine tuning is carried out on the encoder representation model of the bidirectional Transformer." Here, GONG shows details in fine-tuning a model of the bidirectional transformer model for word segmentation in language processing. Further details, see GONG in [0018-0019].
However, GONG did not teach
“wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate noun phrases from the input sentence and the noun phrases are scored by relevance,
knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences;
Encoding … the top-k … sentences,
filtering the named entity by selecting named entities from the input sentence that are of a type specified by the prompt;”
“and fine-tuning a language model based on the filtered named entity,”
In an analogous field, OVERELL teaches “retrieves candidate noun phrases … and noun phrases … by relevance, ”
See OVERELL mention in paragraph [0088] “Smart generators can be used to generate facts sourced from an external source or database by accessing this external source and converting the knowledge so retrieved into facts matching its pattern. Smart generators can also be used to do inference where at least one calculation step is needed to generate the new facts.” Here, OVERELL mentions facts matching its pattern to retrieve phrases by relevance.
Also, see OVERELL in [0024] note “according to one class of embodiments, methods, systems, and computer program products are provided for extracting structured knowledge from unstructured text for use in a knowledge representation system. The knowledge representation system includes a knowledge base that represents knowledge using a structured, machine-readable format. The structured, machine-readable format includes fact triples. Each fact triple includes two entity objects and a relationship object expressing a relationship between the two entity objects. Sentences are identified in the unstructured text. Each of a subset of the sentences is converted to one or more simplified assertion statements of the form: subject noun phrase, verb phrase, object noun phrase.” Here, OVERELL mentions extracting information in different forms, such as noun phrases, in fact triples. These fact triples are construed to be a form of candidate phrases, which include candidate noun phrases. See figure 49 for details.
Further, OVERELL teaches “filtering the named entity by selecting named entities from the input sentence that are of a type specified by the prompt;”
See OVERELL in [0169, 0171] describe "One method for finding the principal class of an object is first to identify the classes of which the object is a member, i.e. a query is done looking for objects to which the entity has the relation [is an instance of]. The resulting class objects are then ordered using the [is a subclass of] relation and the most specific class labelled as a principal class is then considered the PC for the object … A similar check is done while adding a new object when prompting the user entity for a class of which the object is a member. After prompting the user entity for a class, both this class and the classes to which this class is on the right in the relation [is a subclass of] are retrieved from the knowledge base and again they are ordered. The most specific class labelled as a PC is taken as the object's PC. If one is not found using this method the user entity is prompted for a more specific class, e.g. the string “policeman” will find [human being] as the principal class (the class of policemen is a subclass of the PC [human being]) but “living thing” will result in the user being prompted to be more specific." Here, OVERELL describes class as a type of the entity, where class is a certain category of the text the user has input into their query (i.e. input sentence). OVERELL shows that the prompt asks the user to label a text by a class (i.e. type). For example, if the user enters policeman, the prompt will specify the class (i.e. type), which is a human being. When OVERELL mentions “The most specific class labelled as a PC is taken as the object's PC. If one is not found using this method the user entity is prompted for a more specific class,” this means that if a prompt does not recognize the term entered, then the prompt will ask to specify what is the type of item or entity. If the user enters a living thing, then the prompt asks the user to specify the term. For example, living thing is a broad term, whereas policeman is a type of human being. In this case, OVERELL shows the prompt ask or clarify the type of entity the user wants to know about.
See OVERELL mention in [1195] that “The POS Tagger (4808), takes sentences (marked up or otherwise) as input, and generates lists of Tokens. A token is a word, part-of-speech tuple. A list of tokens is essentially the initial sentence with parts-of-speech tags stored in parallel, e.g., “The cat sat on the mat” becomes “The/DT cat/NN sat/VB on/ON the/DT mat/NN”. The POS Tagger employed in a particular embodiment is the Stanford POS Tagger (see http://nlp.stanford.edu/software/tagger.shtml) with the left3words-wsj-0-18 language model.” OVERELL shows take sentences as input, and identifies each type of the part of speech, such as nouns or verb within the sentence.
Also, see OVERELL note in [1193] that “The Sentence Markup may (and is not required to) mark up entities of the following type: dates, currencies, quantities, named entities. Named Entities may not only be identified and/or linked to an external Knowledge Base but can also be classified and/or linked within the document being processed either within sentences or across multiple sentences (i.e., Anaphora Resolution). In a particular embodiment the GATE Information Extraction engine (open source software available via http://gate.ac.uk/) is used for Named Entity identification and Anaphora resolution. An alternative embodiment could use Open Calais to perform Named Entity identification and Anaphora resolution (http://www.opencalais.com/).” Here, OVERELL shows identifying or labelling entities of specific types like dates, quantities, or other formats.
Further, see OVERELL in [0283] note “Subsequent lines in the query may filter the objects found (i.e. the line may include only a variable used to generate the objects on a previous line so when reached it substitutes the previously found objects in and only ones which can be justified survive). Before proceeding to execute subsequent lines, the completeness status is checked (step 520).” Here, OVERELL shows a form of filtering of the objects found. See OVERELL in figure 49 illustrate selecting the named entities by different types.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base reference of GONG and incorporate into the teachings of OVERELL because both references teach retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base, and encoding and decoding steps for a language model.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating OVERELL’s framework into the methods of GONG, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve a goal of “many advantages in terms of efficient processing of the query,” (OVERELL, [0239]), and has “instructions thus providing the user with a mechanism to correct and improve the problem for all users,” (OVERELL, [0948]).
However, GONG in view of OVERELL did not teach “wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate … phrases from the input sentence and the … phrases are scored by relevance, … knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences;” or “Encoding … the top-k … sentences, and fine-tuning a language model based on the filtered named entity,”
In an analogous art, Wang teaches “wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate … phrases from the input sentence and the … phrases are scored by relevance, … knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences;” and “Encoding … the top-k … sentences,
See Wang in page 1801, section 2 Framework, note "Given a sentence of n tokens x = {x1,··· ,xn}, the input sentence is fed into a search engine as a query. The search engine returns the top k relevant texts {ˆx1, · ·· , ˆxk}. " Here, Wang describes a system to retrieves top k relevant text or phrases.
Further, see Wang in page 1801 note "The contributions of this paper are: 1. We propose a simple and straight-forward way to improve the contextual representation of an input sentence through retrieving related texts using a search engine. We take the retrieved texts together with the input sentence as a new retrieval-based view..." Retrieving related text shows phrases are retrieved by relevance. Contextual representation means encoding the sentences.
Later, Wang mentions in page 1801 of “BERTScore is a language generation metric that calculates a sum of cosine similarity between token representations of two sentences. Therefore, it is more likely that the search query and the retrieved texts have strong semantic relations when BERTScore is large.” Here, Wang shows using a relevance score of BERT Score from the filtered text to see if there is similarity or relevance.
See also Figure 1 where Wang illustrates retrieving named entities highlighted here as named entities in different colors.
See Wang in page 1800, Introduction note “When professional annotators annotate ambiguous named entities in such cases, they usually rely on domain knowledge for disambiguation. This kind of knowledge can often be found through a search engine.” Here, Wang shows using domain knowledge, which is construed to be information from a knowledge base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references of GONG and OVERELL of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base, and encoding and decoding steps for a language model, with Wang’s teaching of retrieving phrases with top k scores by relevance.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating Wang’s framework into the methods of GONG and OVERELL, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve “Results in Table 4 show that the accuracy of both input views can be improved especially for the input without external contexts, which shows the effectiveness of CL in semi-supervised learning,” (see Wang in page 1806, section 3.4 Semi-supervised Cooperative Learning).
However, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, did not teach “and fine-tuning a language model based on the filtered named entity,”
In an analogous field, Kang teaches “and fine-tuning a language model based on the filtered named entity,”
See Kang in page 19 note "Figure 10: Performance improvements of our KALA from simple fine-tuning, with varying the number of entities and facts in the context on Named Entity Recognition tasks." Here, Kang shows fine tuning a language model based on the named entity.
Also, see Kang in figure 2 describe "Figure 2:Concepts (Left). (a) Adaptive Pre-training updates whole parameters of the PLM through further pre-training on the domain corpus. (b) Our method KALA integrates the external knowledge so that the PLM adapts to the target domain only with fine-tuning, which is realized by the affine transformation on the intermediate feature. Visualization of the contextualized representation from the PLM for seen and unseen entities (Right)."
Here, Kang shows the language model is fine-tuned with seen entities (viewed as filtered entities from figure 2’s highlighted words) unseen entities to learn to improve its performance.
Also, see Kang in page 14, appendix A. Details on KG Construction, note “Relation extraction is the way how we obtain the factual knowledge from the text of the target dataset. To do so, we first need to extract entities and their corresponding mentions from the text, and then link it to the existing entities in wikidata Vrandecic and Krötzsch (2014).” See footnote in page 14 where Kang describes “Therefore, we instead use a trained neural network to effectively extract the relations between entities, instead of direct querying to obtain facts.” Here, Kang mentions relation extraction if construed to be a form of filtering in extracting entities and connect them with existing entities in wikidata information. See Kang in table 7 and figure 7 for details.
See page 6 where Kang notes the named entity is filtered using the method described as neighborhood aggregation scheme.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the of GONG, OVERELL, and Wang of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base, and encoding and decoding steps for a language model, and incorporate with Kang’s teaching of fine-tuning a language model based on the filtered named entity.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating Kang’s framework into the methods of GONG, OVERELL, and Wang, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve a method that “As shown in Figure 10, while there are no obvious patterns, performance improvements from the baseline are consistent across a varying number of entities and facts. This result suggests that our KALA is indeed beneficial when entities and facts are given to the model,” (see Kang in page 19, section C.3 Effects of the Number of Entity and Fact).
Claim 2:
Regarding claim 2, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, teach the limitations in claim 1.
Further, GONG teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein retrieving the knowledge sentence includes searching a knowledge base for entities in the input sentence,”
See GONG describe in [0013 - 0015] in "step 1-2: describing a relationship between two entities using the relationship based on a knowledge graph; step 1-3: and establishing a relational database. More preferably, the relationship between the two entities in step 1-2 is described by two elements, namely, the occurrence time of the relationship and the type of the relationship." Here, GONG shows using a knowledge graph to describe a relationship between two entities. See GONG in [0039] for details.
Further, see GONG in [0003] describe “The general information retrieval-based question-answering system works in two steps: question resolution and answer retrieval. Problem analysis is a natural language understanding task, and the main work of the problem analysis is to extract useful information from a question set by a user so as to guide subsequent retrieval. The answer retrieval is to find the answer from the constructed domain knowledge base.” Here, GONG describes the method in which the question-answering system works. First, the system obtains a question (i.e. input sentence) from a user, then uses a knowledge base to find the response to the user’s question, which relates to searching a knowledge base for entities in input sentence. See GONG in [0109-0112] for more information.
Claim 9:
Regarding claim 9, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, teach the limitations in claim 1. Further, OVERELL teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the prompt specifies a type of entity to be identified,”
See OVERELL in [0169, 0171] describe "One method for finding the principal class of an object is first to identify the classes of which the object is a member, i.e. a query is done looking for objects to which the entity has the relation [is an instance of]. The resulting class objects are then ordered using the [is a subclass of] relation and the most specific class labelled as a principal class is then considered the PC for the object … A similar check is done while adding a new object when prompting the user entity for a class of which the object is a member. After prompting the user entity for a class, both this class and the classes to which this class is on the right in the relation [is a subclass of] are retrieved from the knowledge base and again they are ordered. The most specific class labelled as a PC is taken as the object's PC. If one is not found using this method the user entity is prompted for a more specific class, e.g. the string “policeman” will find [human being] as the principal class (the class of policemen is a subclass of the PC [human being]) but “living thing” will result in the user being prompted to be more specific." OVERELL describes class as a type of the entity. Here, OVERELL describes that the system prompts a user to be more specific when entering a specific class or type for an object (which is viewed as an entity). For example, OVERELL classifies the policeman entity to be a human being type, however, the system will prompt the user to be more specific in the input when the input is “living thing”. OVERELL shows that the prompt asks the user to label a text by a class (i.e. type). For example, if the user enters policeman, the prompt will specify the class (i.e. type), which is a human being. When OVERELL mentions “The most specific class labelled as a PC is taken as the object's PC. If one is not found using this method the user entity is prompted for a more specific class,” this means that if a prompt does not recognize the item entered, then the prompt will ask for more details on what is the type of item. If the user enters a living thing, then the prompt asks the user to specify the item. The prompt specifies the class (i.e. type) of an item to be identified illustrated by identifying a policeman as a type of human being. The prompt, similar to the query, identifies ‘the entity has the relation [is an instance of]’, where [is an instance of] also let the prompt specify an instance (i.e. type) of entity to be identified later, and follows a similar format as the above policeman example.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base reference of GONG, and incorporate with the reference of OVERELL, by using the teachings of GONG of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base to later fine-tune a language model, with OVERELL’s teaching of having a prompt specifying a type of entity.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating OVERELL’s framework into the methods of GONG, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve the goal of “many advantages in terms of efficient processing of the query,” (OVERELL, [0239]), and has “instructions thus providing the user with a mechanism to correct and improve the problem for all users,” (OVERELL, [0948]).
Claim 11:
Regarding claim 11, GONG teaches “A system for training a language model,…”
See GONG in [0003] describe "This presents two tasks to the question and-answer system: natural language understanding and the construction of knowledge bases. “ Here, GONG describes a system for understanding natural language.
See GONG in [0106] describe "Processing NLP task by means of neural network model, 768-dimensional word embedding codes for each token are generated by means of a BERT pre-training model. " Here, GONG describes pre-training a BERT model for NLP task.
Further, GONG teaches “retrieve a knowledge sentence, related to an input sentence, from a knowledge base;”
See GONG in [0003] describe “The general information retrieval-based question-answering system works in two steps: question resolution and answer retrieval. Problem analysis is a natural language understanding task, and the main work of the problem analysis is to extract useful information from a question set by a user so as to guide subsequent retrieval. The answer retrieval is to find the answer from the constructed domain knowledge base.” Here, GONG explains retrieving an answer which is in a form of a natural language.
Further, see GONG in [0004] specify “The problem analysis method adopts two sequence tagging technologies of named entity identification and part of speech tagging, which are also called slot filling. The sequence tagging is to regard an input sentence as an input sequence, and tag each word in the input sequence, so as to tag important elements in the sentence.” Here, GONG describes the input sequence is similar to a question, and using the answer retrieval step involves finding an answer also in a form of a sentence from a knowledge base. This relates to retrieving a knowledge sentence, where the knowledge sentence is construed to mean the sentence, where after retrieving the relevant information from a knowledge base, generates an answer to a user prompt to a language model.
Further, GONG teaches “encode the input sentence, the knowledge sentence, and a prompt into an intermediate representation;”
See GONG in [0039] describe “the method for realizing the question-answering system is used in a specific field, a field knowledge base is designed by considering the characteristics of knowledge in the field, the structure of the knowledge base is considered, two sequence tagging tasks of named body recognition and part of speech tagging are completed based on a bidirectional transducer encoder representation technology (BERT), sentence information is extracted in a targeted manner,” Here, GONG describes BERT, a model that is specifically designed to encode two sequence tasks: 1. the extracted sentence information (i.e. input sentence) as well as the 2. sequence task extracted from a knowledge base (i.e. knowledge sentence), into contextualized numeric representations called embeddings or label text sequence with tags in this case. GONG mentions BERT model has an encoder and transducer, and performs the process of encoding.
Further, see GONG in paragraphs [0103-0106], describe "The specific training method comprises the following steps: (1) and performing participlization on the corpus data training set labeled above, namely dividing the question text into separate participles (tokens)... (2) And then converted to word embedding. Processing NLP task by means of neural network model, it is often necessary to map words into a vector in a high-dimensional dense space, and express semantic relation between corresponding words by cosine distance between each vector, which is word embedding. " Here, GONG describes labeling the question text or prompt into word embeddings, which shows encoding the prompt into an intermediate representation. Note the examiner construes intermediate representation to mean any vector representation in space, which includes embeddings, from the specification [0023] stating “the encoder encodes the inputs together and generates an intermediate representation, for example as a vector in a latent space.”
Further, see GONG in paragraphs [0110-0111, 0114-0116] describe “ (1) the method includes inputting question texts, simply screening the text lengths, ... (2) And performing participlization and converting into word embedding. …(1) Extracting relation elements contained in the question from the labeled result; (2) converting relational elements into database query statements (3) And giving corresponding prompts for the conditions of inquiring or not inquiring answers.” Here, GONG describes using the process of viewing the question text, converting this into word embeddings (i.e. intermediate representation), extracting relation elements from the question (this step implies using information from a knowledge base), then giving prompts that correspond with the content of the question. The term corresponding prompts means prompts that relate to the original text content, which was converted into word embeddings. Since the prompt is originally part of the text, which is converted to word embeddings, this means the prompt also was converted into intermediate representation.
Further, see GONG in [0020 - 0023] describe “step 2-2: obtaining a question sentence of a user, screening according to the length of the text, and then preprocessing the screened text; step 2-3: inputting the preprocessed data into a sequence labeling model to obtain a label sequence; step 2-4: extracting relationship elements from the tag sequence; step 2-5: converting the relationship elements into database query statements;” Here, GONG describes the process after getting a question sentence from a user, the method helps preprocess data into sequence labeling model, which refers to the BERT model, and labels the sequence (which includes input sentence). See GONG in [0025-0030] for details.
Further, GONG teaches “decode the intermediate representation to generate a named entity from the input sentence;”
See GONG in [0090 - 0091] describe "The encoder representation model (BERT) of a bidirectional Transformer is composed of a number of bidirectional Transformer modules, each of which comprises a concatenation of a number of encoders and decoders. A single decoder or encoder has one attribute layer, and inputs one fully connected layer after residual chaining and normalization,"
Further, see GONG in [0105-0106] describe "(2) And then converted to word embedding. Processing NLP task by means of neural network model, it is often necessary to map words into a vector in a high-dimensional dense space, and express semantic relation between corresponding words by cosine distance between each vector, which is word embedding." See [0020-0023] where GONG describes “step 2-3: inputting the preprocessed data into a sequence labeling model to obtain a label sequence; step 2-4: extracting relationship elements from the tag sequence; step 2-5: converting the relationship elements into database query statements.” Here, GONG teaches the BERT model contains decoders in [0090-0091], and later GONG describes converting the text sentence from word embedding (i.e. intermediate representation) into expressing semantic relation between corresponding words, and later labeling those relationship elements by tags which relates to named entity.
From the specification note in [0018] describe “In the specific example of FIG. 1 , the input text 100 includes certain named entities, illustrated with bold text, including a personal name, “Ms. Green,” an organization's name, “LIRR,” and a location name, “Manhattan.” Each of these named entities has an associated type: person, organization, or location. A given corpus of training data may be labeled, such that each named entity may be associated with one or more such types.” Note the examiner construes ‘named’ to mean any label or category of a text or word (viewed as ‘entity’).
Further, see GONG in [0112] describe “(3) And calculating in the network, performing softmax transformation …, taking the obtained maximum probability, and taking the corresponding sequence tag as the tag corresponding to the token. And obtaining a label sequence corresponding to the sentence.” Using named entity means to label an item or text with a name by a tag or other labels. Here, GONG has named or labeled the data containing words into a labeled sequence of the words from [0105-0106], and later obtain a label sequence that corresponds to a sentence in [0112], which relates to named entity from the input sentence.
Further, GONG teaches “and fine-tune a language model …”
See GONG in [0028] describe " the training method comprises the following steps: performing word segmentation processing on data in the training data set, converting the data into word embedding, and inputting the word embedding into a model for training; [0029] finally, fine tuning is carried out on the encoder representation model of the bidirectional Transformer;" Here, GONG shows details in fine-tuning a model of the bidirectional transformer model for word segmentation in language processing. Further details, see GONG in [0018-0019].
However, GONG did not teach However, GONG did not teach “comprising: a hardware processor; and a memory that stores a computer program which, when executed by the hardware processor, causes the hardware processor to…”
“wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate noun phrases from the input sentence and the noun phrases are scored by relevance,
knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences;
Encode … the top-k … sentences,
filter the named entity by selecting named entities from the input sentence that are of a type specified by the prompt;”
“and fine-tuning a language model based on the named entity,”
In an analogous field, OVERELL teaches “comprising: a hardware processor; and a memory that stores a computer program which, when executed by the hardware processor, causes the hardware processor to…”
See OVERELL in [0126] mention “As used herein, a “static knowledge base” is the term for a computer-accessible persistent store comprising knowledge represented in structured form. A persistent store could be a memory or memories of any type capable of holding the knowledge long term. For speed, various embodiments may hold the data in a long term store but temporarily cache it in a fast non-persistent memory such as RAM for access by other components of the system.” Here, OVERELL shows using a memory as part of the computer accessible system.
See also OVERELL in [0013] note “Knowledge in structured form is knowledge stored in a form designed to be directly processable to a computer. It is designed to be read and processed automatically. Structured form means that it is not stored as natural language. It is knowledge stored in a pre-determined format readable and processable by the computer.” Here, OVERELL describes using a computer, which inherently is a hardware system, and see OVERELL in [0024] for details.
See also OVERELL in paragraph [1191] note “In the depicted embodiment the Parser includes 4 stages: Processing, Part of Speech Tagging (POS Tagging), Sentence Parsing and Sentence Transformation. The Processor takes unstructured text as input and outputs sentences. The Processor in addition to splitting sentences may be configured to mark up entities occurring in sentences as described above. In a particular embodiment the Processor includes two parts: Sentence Splitting and Sentence Markup.” Here, OVERELL mentions using a processor, which is part of the system described in [0013].
Further, OVERELL teaches “retrieves candidate noun phrases … and noun phrases … by relevance, ”
See OVERELL mention in paragraph [0088] “Smart generators can be used to generate facts sourced from an external source or database by accessing this external source and converting the knowledge so retrieved into facts matching its pattern. Smart generators can also be used to do inference where at least one calculation step is needed to generate the new facts.” Here, OVERELL mentions facts matching its pattern to retrieve phrases by relevance.
Also, see OVERELL in [0024] note “according to one class of embodiments, methods, systems, and computer program products are provided for extracting structured knowledge from unstructured text for use in a knowledge representation system. The knowledge representation system includes a knowledge base that represents knowledge using a structured, machine-readable format. The structured, machine-readable format includes fact triples. Each fact triple includes two entity objects and a relationship object expressing a relationship between the two entity objects. Sentences are identified in the unstructured text. Each of a subset of the sentences is converted to one or more simplified assertion statements of the form: subject noun phrase, verb phrase, object noun phrase.” Here, OVERELL mentions extracting information in different forms, such as noun phrases, in fact triples. These fact triples are construed to be a form of candidate phrases, which include candidate noun phrases. See figure 49 for details.
In an analogous field, OVERELL teaches “filter the named entity by selecting named entities from the input sentence that are of a type specified by the prompt;”
See OVERELL in [0169, 0171] describe "One method for finding the principal class of an object is first to identify the classes of which the object is a member, i.e. a query is done looking for objects to which the entity has the relation [is an instance of]. The resulting class objects are then ordered using the [is a subclass of] relation and the most specific class labelled as a principal class is then considered the PC for the object … A similar check is done while adding a new object when prompting the user entity for a class of which the object is a member. After prompting the user entity for a class, both this class and the classes to which this class is on the right in the relation [is a subclass of] are retrieved from the knowledge base and again they are ordered. The most specific class labelled as a PC is taken as the object's PC. If one is not found using this method the user entity is prompted for a more specific class, e.g. the string “policeman” will find [human being] as the principal class (the class of policemen is a subclass of the PC [human being]) but “living thing” will result in the user being prompted to be more specific." Here, OVERELL describes class as a type of the entity, where class is a certain category of the text the user has input into their query (i.e. input sentence). OVERELL shows that the prompt asks the user to label a text by a class (i.e. type). For example, if the user enters policeman, the prompt will specify the class (i.e. type), which is a human being. When OVERELL mentions “The most specific class labelled as a PC is taken as the object's PC. If one is not found using this method the user entity is prompted for a more specific class,” this means that if a prompt does not recognize the term entered, then the prompt will ask to specify what is the type of item or entity. If the user enters a living thing, then the prompt asks the user to specify the term. For example, living thing is a broad term, whereas policeman is a type of human being. In this case, OVERELL shows the prompt ask or clarify the type of entity the user wants to know about.
Also, see OVERELL mention in [1195] that “The POS Tagger (4808), takes sentences (marked up or otherwise) as input, and generates lists of Tokens. A token is a word, part-of-speech tuple. A list of tokens is essentially the initial sentence with parts-of-speech tags stored in parallel, e.g., “The cat sat on the mat” becomes “The/DT cat/NN sat/VB on/ON the/DT mat/NN”. The POS Tagger employed in a particular embodiment is the Stanford POS Tagger (see http://nlp.stanford.edu/software/tagger.shtml) with the left3words-wsj-0-18 language model.” OVERELL shows take sentences as input, and identifies each type of the part of speech, such as nouns or verb within the sentence.
Also, see OVERELL note in [1193] that “The Sentence Markup may (and is not required to) mark up entities of the following type: dates, currencies, quantities, named entities. Named Entities may not only be identified and/or linked to an external Knowledge Base but can also be classified and/or linked within the document being processed either within sentences or across multiple sentences (i.e., Anaphora Resolution). In a particular embodiment the GATE Information Extraction engine (open source software available via http://gate.ac.uk/) is used for Named Entity identification and Anaphora resolution. An alternative embodiment could use Open Calais to perform Named Entity identification and Anaphora resolution (http://www.opencalais.com/).” Here, OVERELL shows identifying or labelling entities of specific types like dates, quantities, or other formats.
Further, see OVERELL in [0283] note “Subsequent lines in the query may filter the objects found (i.e. the line may include only a variable used to generate the objects on a previous line so when reached it substitutes the previously found objects in and only ones which can be justified survive). Before proceeding to execute subsequent lines, the completeness status is checked (step 520).” Here, OVERELL shows a form of filtering of the objects found. See OVERELL in figure 49 illustrate selecting the named entities by different types.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base reference of GONG and incorporate into the teachings of OVERELL because both references teach retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base, and encoding and decoding steps for a language model.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating OVERELL’s framework into the methods of GONG, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve a goal of “many advantages in terms of efficient processing of the query,” (OVERELL, [0239]), and has “instructions thus providing the user with a mechanism to correct and improve the problem for all users,” (OVERELL, [0948]).
However, GONG in view of OVERELL did not teach “wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate … phrases from the input sentence and the … phrases are scored by relevance, … knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences;” or “Encode … the top-k … sentences,” and “fine-tune a language model based on the named entity,”
In an analogous art, Wang teaches “wherein a sentence parser retrieves candidate … phrases from the input sentence and the … phrases are scored by relevance, … knowledge base entries with top-k scores are selected to retrieve top-k knowledge sentences;” and “Encode … the top-k … sentences,”
See Wang in page 1801, section 2 Framework, note "Given a sentence of n tokens x = {x1,··· ,xn}, the input sentence is fed into a search engine as a query. The search engine returns the top k relevant texts {ˆx1, · ·· , ˆxk}. " Here, Wang describes a system to retrieves top k relevant text or phrases.
Further, see Wang in page 1801 note "The contributions of this paper are: 1. We propose a simple and straight-forward way to improve the contextual representation of an input sentence through retrieving related texts using a search engine. We take the retrieved texts together with the input sentence as a new retrieval-based view..." Retrieving related text shows phrases are retrieved by relevance. Contextual representation means encoding the sentences.
Later, Wang mentions in page 1801 of “BERTScore is a language generation metric that calculates a sum of cosine similarity between token representations of two sentences. Therefore, it is more likely that the search query and the retrieved texts have strong semantic relations when BERTScore is large.” Here, Wang shows using a relevance score of BERT Score from the filtered text to see if there is similarity or relevance.
See also Figure 1 where Wang illustrates retrieving named entities highlighted here as named entities in different colors.
See Wang in page 1800, Introduction note “When professional annotators annotate ambiguous named entities in such cases, they usually rely on domain knowledge for disambiguation. This kind of knowledge can often be found through a search engine.” Here, Wang shows using domain knowledge, which is construed to be information from a knowledge base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references of GONG and OVERELL of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base, and encoding and decoding steps for a language model, with Wang’s teaching of retrieving phrases with top k scores by relevance.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating Wang’s framework into the methods of GONG and OVERELL, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve “Results in Table 4 show that the accuracy of both input views can be improved especially for the input without external contexts, which shows the effectiveness of CL in semi-supervised learning,” (see Wang in page 1806, section 3.4 Semi-supervised Cooperative Learning).
However, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, did not teach “and fine-tuning a language model based on the named entity,”
In an analogous field, Kang teaches “and fine-tuning a language model based on the named entity,”
See Kang in page 19 note "Figure 10: Performance improvements of our KALA from simple fine-tuning, with varying the number of entities and facts in the context on Named Entity Recognition tasks." Here, Kang shows fine tuning a language model based on the named entity.
Also, see Kang in figure 2 describe "Figure 2:Concepts (Left). (a) Adaptive Pre-training updates whole parameters of the PLM through further pre-training on the domain corpus. (b) Our method KALA integrates the external knowledge so that the PLM adapts to the target domain only with fine-tuning, which is realized by the affine transformation on the intermediate feature. Visualization of the contextualized representation from the PLM for seen and unseen entities (Right)."
Here, Kang shows the language model is fine-tuned with seen entities (viewed as filtered entities from figure 2’s highlighted words) unseen entities to learn to improve its performance.
Also, see Kang in page 14, appendix A. Details on KG Construction, note “Relation extraction is the way how we obtain the factual knowledge from the text of the target dataset. To do so, we first need to extract entities and their corresponding mentions from the text, and then link it to the existing entities in wikidata Vrandecic and Krötzsch (2014).” See footnote in page 14 where Kang describes “Therefore, we instead use a trained neural network to effectively extract the relations between entities, instead of direct querying to obtain facts.” Here, Kang mentions relation extraction if construed to be a form of filtering in extracting entities and connect them with existing entities in wikidata information. See Kang in table 7 and figure 7 for details.
See page 6 where Kang notes the named entity is filtered using the method described as neighborhood aggregation scheme.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the of GONG, OVERELL, and Wang of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base, and encoding and decoding steps for a language model, and incorporate with Kang’s teaching of fine-tuning a language model based on the filtered named entity.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating Kang’s framework into the methods of GONG, OVERELL, and Wang, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve a method that “As shown in Figure 10, while there are no obvious patterns, performance improvements from the baseline are consistent across a varying number of entities and facts. This result suggests that our KALA is indeed beneficial when entities and facts are given to the model,” (see Kang in page 19, section C.3 Effects of the Number of Entity and Fact).
Further, JIANG teaches “comprising: a hardware processor; and a memory that stores a computer program which, when executed by the hardware processor, causes the hardware processor to…”
See JIANG in [n0054] describe "electronic devices can be any device with computing capabilities, such as personal computers (PCs), mobile terminals, servers, etc. Mobile terminals can be hardware devices with various operating systems, touch screens and/or displays, such as mobile phones, tablets." Here, JIANG mentions a hardware device.
Further, see JIANG in [n0141] describe "this disclosure also provides an electronic device, which may include the broadcaster client or server in the above embodiments. The electronic device may include at least one processor and a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor. The memory stores instructions that can be executed by the at least one processor, and the instructions are executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to execute the model pre training method..." Here, JIANG shows a device (that includes hardware) and a memory that enables at least one processor to run a pre-training method on a model. See [n0019] in JIANG for details.
Claim 12:
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 2 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2 using similar teachings and rationale.
Claim 19:
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 9 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 9 using similar teachings and rationale.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over GONG, in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, and further in view of Jiang, W. et al., (Pub. No. CN113641830A), published on November 12, 2021, (hereafter, JIANG).
Claim 3:
Regarding claim 3, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, teach the limitations in claim 2. However, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, did not teach “The method of claim 2, wherein retrieving the knowledge sentence further includes retrieving relations from the knowledge base.”
Further, JIANG teaches “The method of claim 2, wherein retrieving the knowledge sentence further includes retrieving relations from the knowledge base,”
See JIANG in [n0117-n0118] describe "The process of retrieving knowledge subgraphs from a knowledge graph based on text data can employ simple character matching or utilize mature basic tools such as entity recognition and entity chaining. Furthermore, the retrieved knowledge subgraph can be expanded into a larger knowledge subgraph along the edges connecting the edge nodes. This extension enables the learned knowledge to enhance the pre-trained model, allowing it to not only characterize relevant knowledge for the input information, but also related knowledge. Whether to perform subgraph expansion and what kind of subgraph expansion to perform depends on the specific upper-level artificial intelligence task being addressed. " JIANG refers to retrieving a knowledge sentence when describing the “characterizing relevant knowledge for input information”.
Further, JIANG describes in [n0058] “For example, the input information can be sentences, phrases, or passages, or combinations of these language units, to be compatible with different higher-level artificial intelligence tasks.” Here, JIANG describes the process of retrieving information based on text data or input information (which includes sentences). When JIANG describes “related knowledge”, JIANG refers to retrieving relations from a knowledge base to help classify input sentences.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references GONG, OVERELL, Wang, and Kang and incorporate with the teachings of JIANG by using the teachings of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, and Kang of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base, encoding and decoding steps to generate a named entity, to later fine-tune a language model, with JIANG’s teaching of retrieving the knowledge sentence further includes retrieving relations from the knowledge base.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating JIANG’s framework into the methods of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, and Kang, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve a method that “provides a pre trained model for knowledge enhancement that achieves effective knowledge utilization while maintaining ease of use,” (JIANG, [n0120]).
Claim 13:
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 3 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 3 using similar teachings and rationale.
Claims 4, 10, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over GONG, in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, further in view of Kang, further in view of JIANG, and further in view of Ya, J. et al., in “A compare-aggregate model with external knowledge for query-focused summarization”, published on October 21, 2020, available at https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-030-62008-0_5 , (hereafter, YA).
Claim 4:
Regarding claim 4, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, and further in view of JIANG, teach the limitations in claim 3. Further, OVERELL teaches “The method of claim 3, wherein retrieving the knowledge sentence further includes generating a set of knowledge sentences from the entities and the relations and selecting a percentage with a highest relevance to the input sentence,”
See OVERELL in [0088] describe “Knowledge generation is implemented in the preferred embodiment via a collection of “generators” which comprise a pattern of the facts which they can generate in combination with one or more mechanisms to generate facts which match this pattern. Some generators achieve this by providing a query linked to the pattern which if answered provides values for unknowns in the pattern thus enabling the generation of the facts.” Here, OVERELL shows that a collection of generators shows a set of items are created from a knowledge base that has entities and relations.
Further, see OVERELL in [1192] describe "The Sentence Splitter (4804) takes unstructured text as input and generates a list of sentences." Later, see OVERELL in [1193] describe "The Sentence Markup may … mark up entities of the following type: dates, currencies, quantities, named entities. Named Entities may not only be identified and/or linked to an external Knowledge Base but can also be classified and/or linked within the document being processed either within sentences or across multiple sentences." Here, OVERELL explains that the set contain sentences that has labeled entities and relations, classified from a knowledge base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base reference of GONG, and incorporate with the reference of OVERELL, by using the teachings of GONG of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base to later fine-tune a language model, with OVERELL’s teaching of generating a set of knowledge sentences from the entities and the relations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating OVERELL’s framework into the methods of GONG, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve the goal of “many advantages in terms of efficient processing of the query,” (OVERELL, [0239]), and has “instructions thus providing the user with a mechanism to correct and improve the problem for all users,” (OVERELL, [0948]).
However, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, and further in view of JIANG, did not teach “The method of claim 3, wherein retrieving the knowledge sentence further includes generating a set of knowledge sentences from the entities and the relations and selecting a percentage with a highest relevance to the input sentence.”
In an analogous field, YA teaches “The method of claim 3, wherein retrieving the knowledge sentence further includes generating a set of knowledge sentences from the entities and the relations and selecting a percentage with a highest relevance to the input sentence,”
See YA in page 72, section 3.1 Problem Formulation, describe “Sentence Tokenizer decomposes the input document into sentences… Sentence Relevance Scorer quantifies the relevance matching between query and each sentence with a score Score(Q, Si). Sentence Selector selects sentences with high relevance scores and little redundancy to output a query-focused summary that meets the requirement.”
Also, see YA in page 76, section 3.3 Sentence selection, describe “A summary is expected to provide both relevant and non-redeemable information. Our proposed approach focuses on sentence scoring. We employ a simple greedy algorithm used in previous work [4] to select sentences which can be chosen as summary. We sort the sentences in descending order according to the derived relevance matching scores. And, we iteratively dequeue the top-ranked sentence, and append it to the current summary if it is non-redundant. A sentence is considered non-redundant if it contains significantly new bi-grams compared with the current summary content. We set the threshold of the new bi-gram ratio to 0.5.” Here, YA describes calculating relevance scores between a query and a sentence from an input document (i.e. input sentence), and select sentences that have high relevance scores, and provides an example of 0.5 as a relevance score threshold, showing a percentage relevance.
See page 79, section 5.1 Unsupervised Methods where YA describes “Graph-based models played a leading role in the extractive summarization area, due to its ability to reflect various sentence relationships. For example, Wan et al. [21] adopted manifold ranking to make use of the within-document sentence relationships, the cross-document sentence relationships and the sentence-to-query relationships. In a graph, nodes are sentences and the edge scores reflect the similarity between sentences, each node is given a relevance weight based on its relevance to the query.” Here, YA shows that scores and relevance weights are calculated for sentences to determine how a particular sentence is relevant to the query.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, Kang, and JIANG, and incorporate with the teachings of YA by using the teachings of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, Kang, and JIANG, of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base to later fine-tune a language model, with YA’s teaching of selecting a percentage with a highest relevance to the input sentence.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating YA’s framework into the methods of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, Kang, and JIANG, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve the goal of “finding out such words and enhancing the weights of them can help to make a more effective summary related to the query,” (see YA in page 69, paragraph 5, Introduction section).
Claim 10:
Regarding claim 10, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, teach the limitations in claim 1.
Further, OVERELL teaches “wherein encoding includes aggregating a representation of the input sentence with a representation of the knowledge sentence, based on the prompt,”
See OVERELL in [1135] describe “The preferred embodiment is operable to receive the request data via an HTTP (or HTTPS) request where the request data is encoded using HTTP request variables.” Under broadest reasonable interpretation, encoding is construed to be inputting information from one format into another format, which OVERELL shows by encoding the information. Further, see OVERELL in [0747] mention “For example, when adding a new object to the knowledge base, the user may be prompted for the name of a class to which this object belongs. If the user tries to specify a class which does not yet appear in the system, they may choose to add the class, opening the “add class” process as a sub-process.” Here, OVERELL shows this method relates to using a knowledge base to apply information for a prompt.
Further, OVERELL shows in [1195] “The POS Tagger (4808), takes sentences (marked up or otherwise) as input, and generates lists of Tokens.” Here, OVERELL shows a method that takes sentences as input. From [0747], OVERELL shows taking input sentence and extracting information from a knowledge base, and adding information that was not part of the knowledge base. Later, see OVERELL in [0094] for more details.
Later, OVERELL shows in [0687] "In an example authentication interaction with the system, the system first prompts the user to say who he/she is (step 1902). The user responds by entering his/her name (e.g. “Michael Smith”). The system then looks up this natural language string in the knowledge base [“michael smith”] to see which entities it could denote. If it only denotes one entity, the system moves immediately on to prompting for a password". Here, OVERELL illustrates the process of first using a prompt to ask information from a user (that has been encoded in http request format from [1135]) that contains input sentence (from the example is entering the user’s name) with a knowledge sentence (from the example of looking up in natural language string in the knowledge base), then based on the prompt, the system asks the user to confirm credentials with entering a password.
However, OVERELL did not teach “encoding includes aggregating a representation of the input sentence with a representation of the knowledge sentence, based on the prompt”
In an analogous art, YA teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein encoding includes aggregating a representation of the input sentence with a representation of the knowledge sentence, based on the prompt,”
See YA in page 75, section 3.2 Sentence relevance scorer, External Conceptual Knowledge describe “construct a subgraph which is derived from ConceptNet based on the concepts mentioned in the input query and document by mapping words to concepts in the external knowledge graph. This subgraph includes connections between the concepts mentioned in the query and each sentence in document, via concepts available in ConceptNet. Such subgraph enhances the concepts mentioned in the query and document with additional information and can improve the performance of relevance matching in our task.”
Further, see YA in page 74, section 3.2, subsection Comparison, describe “. The goal of the comparison layer is to match each
s
-
j
(the j-th word in sentence S and its context in document) with
h
j
s
(a weighted version of query Q that best matches
s
-
j
). A comparison function is used to match each word in the query and sentence to a corresponding attention-applied vector representation:
where denotes element-wise multiplication.”
Here, YA shows that the
s
-
j
in sentence S shows a representation of the input sentence, and
h
j
s
shows a representation of the knowledge sentence.
Later, YA describes in page 75, section 3.2, sub section Aggregation that “ In the aggregation layer, we apply a comparison function to each pair of
s
-
j
and
h
j
s
to obtain a series of vectors. Finally, we aggregate these vectors using a one-layer CNN [18] with n-types of filters and calculate the relevance score for each sentence S.”
Later, YA shows in section 3.2 that the
s
-
j
and
h
j
s
, are both aggregated to obtain a series of vectors. These vectors are combining both the representations from input sentence and knowledge sentence.
Further, see YA in page 69, Introduction section, paragraphs 6-7, describe “To address the above problem caused by sentence-level attention, we introduce a fine-grained and interactive word-by-word attention to the query-focused extractive summarization system. In that way, we can capture the real intent of query. Specifically, we utilize a Compare-Aggregate framework to implement the idea. Furthermore, to fill the expression gap between query and document, we leverage conceptual knowledge to enrich the model.” See figure 2 in YA for details.
Here, YA shows using a query-focused (i.e. based on prompt) feature and incorporate into an aggregation method called compare-aggregate framework. See YA in page 76, section 4.1 Experimental Setup, paragraph 2, for more details.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine reference GONG, OVERELL, Wang, and Kang, and incorporate with the teachings of YA by using the teachings of GONG, OVERELL, Wang and Kang, of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base to later fine-tune a language model, with YA’s teaching of the method of aggregating a representation of the input sentence with a representation of the knowledge sentence.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating YA’s framework into the methods of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, and Kang, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve the goal of “finding out such words and enhancing the weights of them can help to make a more effective summary related to the query,” (see YA in page 69, paragraph 5, Introduction section).
Claim 14:
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 4 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 4 using similar teachings and rationale.
Claim 20:
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 10 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 10 using similar teachings and rationale.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over GONG, in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, further in view of Kang, further in view of JIANG, and further in view of YA, and further in view of Li, J. et al., in “A Survey on Deep Learning for Named Entity Recognition,” available at https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/abstract/document/9039685 , (hereafter, LI).
Claim 5:
Regarding claim 5, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, and further in view of JIANG, and further in view of YA, teach the limitations in claim 4.
However, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, further in view of JIANG, and further in view of YA, did not teach “The method of claim 4, wherein the set of knowledge sentences include sentences of the form <entity> is a <type>.”
In an analogous field, LI teaches “The method of claim 4, wherein the set of knowledge sentences include sentences of the form <entity> is a <type>.”
See LI in page 51, section 2 Background, subsection 2.1 What is NER? describe "given a sequence of tokens s=⟨w1,w2,…,wN⟩, NER is to output a list of tuples ⟨Is,Ie,t⟩, each of which is a named entity mentioned in s. Here, Is∈[1,N] and Ie∈[1,N] are the start and the end indexes of a named entity mention; t is the entity type from a predefined category set. Fig. 1 shows an example where a NER system recognizes three named entities from the given sentence. When NER was first defined in MUC-6 [10], the task is to recognize names of people, organizations, locations, and time, currency, percentage expressions in text. Note that the task focuses on a small set of coarse entity types and one type per named entity. We call this kind of NER tasks as coarse-grained NER [10], [11]."
Here, LI mentions a model that recognizes entities by their type or if that entity belongs to a predefined category. See figure 1 in LI for details.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, Kang, JIANG and YA and incorporate with the teachings of LI by using the teachings of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, Kang, JIANG, and YA, of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base to later fine-tune a language model, with LI’s teaching of the knowledge sentences being in the form of <entity> is a <type>.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating LI’s framework into the methods of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, Kang, JIANG and YA, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve the goal of “integrating or fine-tuning pre-trained language model embeddings is becoming a new paradigm for neural NER. When leveraging these language model embeddings, there are significant performance improvements,” (see LI in section 3.5 Summary of DL-based NER, page 61 ).
Claim 15:
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 5 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 using similar teachings and rationale.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over GONG, in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, and further in view of Zhu, C. et al, (US PG Pub. No. US20220230625A1), published on July 21, 2022, (hereafter, ZHU).
Claim 6:
Regarding claim 6, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, teach the limitations in claim 2.
However, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, did not teach “The method of claim 2, wherein the knowledge base is a multilingual knowledge graph.”
In an analogous art, ZHU teaches “The method of claim 2, wherein the knowledge base is a multilingual knowledge graph,”
See ZHU in [0181-0182] describe "Additionally, … the knowledge module 1312 is also configured to generate knowledge-based entity representations (e.g., knowledge information 1318) in the first language based on the second knowledge graph. In such embodiments, the multi-lingual integrated knowledge-language module 1330 is trained to perform semantic analysis in the first language based on knowledge learned from entities and entity relations in the second language. The language module 1314 is also configured to provide context information 1316 to the knowledge module 1312. The first language knowledge graph 1320 and second language knowledge graph 1322 are optionally language or textual-based knowledge graphs corresponding to the same or different languages. Accordingly, methods and systems are provided for obtaining electronic content comprising a first set of speech transcriptions in the first language and applying the electronic content as input to the knowledge-language module, wherein the first set of speech transcriptions is translated into a second set of speech transcriptions in the second language using the integrated knowledge-language module.” Here, ZHU teaches using knowledge graphs that correspond to either the same or different languages, and they are translated from one language to another language.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references of GONG, OVERELL, Wang and Kang, and incorporate with the teachings of ZHU by using the teachings of GONG, OVERELL, Wang and Kang, of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base to later fine-tune a language model, with ZHU’s teaching of a knowledge base is a multilingual knowledge graph.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating ZHU’s framework into the methods of GONG, OVERELL, Wang and Kang, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve a method to “train a model (e.g., for a specific query or specific task) to increase accuracy, efficiency, and efficacy of that model in the desired natural language understanding application,” (ZHU, [0049]).
Claim 16:
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 6 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 using similar teachings and rationale.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over GONG, in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, and further in view of Meftah, S. et al., in “Neural Transfer Learning for Domain Adaptation in Natural Language Processing,” available at https://theses.hal.science/tel-03206378/, (hereafter, MEFTAH), and further in view of Sedinkina, M. in “Domain adaptation in Natural Language Processing,”, published on 2021, available at https://edoc.ub.uni-muenchen.de/27831/7/Sedinkina_Marina.pdf, (hereafter, SEDINKINA).
Claim 7:
Regarding claim 7, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, teach the limitations in claim 1.
However, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, did not teach “The method of claim 1, further comprising pre-training the model with labeled training data from a source domain, wherein the input sentence includes labeled entities from a second domain.”
In an analogous art, MEFTAH teaches “The method of claim 1, further comprising pre-training the model with labeled training data from a source domain, wherein the input sentence includes labeled entities from a second domain.”
See MEFTAH in page iii, abstract describe the study “propose two methods to transfer the knowledge encoded in the neural representations of a source model– pretrained on large labelled datasets from the source domain– to the target model.” Here, MEFTAH shows that the pre-training process in the source domain involves using labelled datasets.
Further, see MEFTAH in page 12, section 2.2 Formalisation, describe “The aim behind using transfer learning is to improve the learning of the predictive target function fT by leveraging the knowledge gained from DS and TS. Generally, in a transfer learning scheme, labelled training examples from the source domain DS = {(x iS ,y iS ) ∈ XS ×YS : i ∈(1,...,nS)} are abundant.” Here, MEFTAH teaches that training examples from a source domain are labelled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references GONG, OVERELL, Wang and Kang, and incorporate with the teachings of MEFTAH by using the teachings of GONG, OVERELL, Wang and Kang, of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base to later fine-tune a language model, with MEFTAH’s teaching of pre-training the model with labeled training data from a source domain.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating MEFTAH’s framework into the methods of GONG, OVERELL, Wang and Kang, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve a method to “detecting proper nouns in the POS tagging task would hopefully help to better identify named entities in Named Entity Recognition (NER) task... when tasks are related, the efficiency of MTL is significant for many evidences. First, MTL allows augmenting training data, implicitly, which begets a better regularisation and thus avoids over-fitting. Second, MTL allows an “eavesdropping” process, which means that when two tasks ‘A’ and ‘B’ are jointly trained, in some cases, a set of features that are important for task ‘A’ can be easier to learn by task ‘B’, ” (See MEFTAH in page 22, section 2.5.2. Multi-task learning).
However, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, further in view of MEFTAH, did not teach “The method of claim 1, further comprising pre-training the model with labeled training data from a source domain, wherein the input sentence includes labeled entities from a second domain.”
In an analogous art, SEDINKINA teaches “The method of claim 1, further comprising pre-training the model with labeled training data from a source domain, wherein the input sentence includes labeled entities from a second domain.”
See SEDINKINA in page 63, section 5.2, Overview of methods, describe “During pre-training, the model learns a general-purpose representation of inputs, and during fine-tuning (adaptation), the representation is transferred to a new task. Diverse context-sensitive models have been successfully applied on various downstream NLP tasks, ranging from question-answering to sentiment analysis... That is why this model is beneficial for sequence labeling problems such as NER and POS tagging... Due to this architecture, it achieves state-of-the-art performance on a large suite of sentence-level and token-level tasks, such as question-answering, paraphrasing, POS tagging and sentiment analysis.” Here, SEDINKINA mentions the model learns raw data such as input from text at a sentence-level (i.e. input sentence) that captures essential features usable across many different, often unseen, downstream tasks.
Further, SEDINKINA in page 59, section 5.2, describes “domain adaptation (DA) techniques have been proposed to facilitate the transfer of knowledge from one domain (source) to a specialized domain (target). They have been successfully applied for different NLP tasks such as sentiment analysis (Glorot, Bordes, and Bengio, 2011; Pan et al., 2010b; Sarma, Liang, and Sethares, 2019), POS tagging (Astudillo et al., 2015; Schnabel and Schütze, 2014) or Named Entity Recognition (NER) (Newman-Griffis and Zirikly, 2018).” Here, SEDINKINA mentions that using domain adaptation methods apply to named entity recognition, which classifies unstructured text into pre-defined categories (i.e. labeled entities) like person names, organizations, locations, and dates. This classification, as SEDINKINA describes, is a transfer of knowledge from one source domain to a specialized target domain (i.e. second domain).
From table 13, under the supervised domain adaptation setting, the method SEDINKINA discusses use of labeled data for the target domain (i.e. second domain).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, Kang, and MEFTAH and incorporate with the teachings of SEDINKINA by using the teachings of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, Kang, and MEFTAH of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base to later fine-tune a language model, with SEDINKINA’s teaching of labeled entities from a second domain.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating SEDINKINA’s framework into the methods of GONG, OVERELL, Wang, Kang, and MEFTAH, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve a method that “improve the performance especially for tasks involving a longer text sequence. Hence, the authors demonstrate consistent improvement over BERT on a wide spectrum of problems including language understanding, reading comprehension text classification, and document ranking tasks,” (see SEDINKINA in page 16, third full paragraph, from section 2.2.2 Contextualized Embedding-based Methods, Transformer-based).
Claim 17:
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 7 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7 using similar teachings and rationale.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over GONG, in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, and further in view of Liu, X. et al., (Pub. No. CN114860915A), published on August 5, 2022, (hereafter, LIU).
Claim 8:
Regarding claim 8, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, teach the limitations in claim 1.
Further, GONG teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein encoding uses an attention function:
where l designates an attention layer, Q, K, and V are query, key, and value parameters of the attention layer, respectively… and d is a dimension size”
See GONG in paragraphs [0092-0095, 0097] describe “For a single attribute, represented by self-attribute, the input sequence (represented by matrix X) is cross-multiplied with the weight matrix to obtain three matrices of Q (query), Key (Key) and Value, and finally, for each row of the V matrix, softmax weighted average of inner product of Q and K is taken as output Z of the attribute layer.
[0093] Q=X x WQ
[0094] K=X x WK
[0095] V=X x WV … The Attention calculation process largely uses matrix operation, and can maximally utilize the computer to optimize the matrix operation.”
See GONG in [0096] show equation
Here, GONG shows the softmax attention function where output Z includes the query Q, key K, and value V parameters of the function, and includes dimension size dk.
However, GONG in view of OVERELL, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Kang, did not teach “ϕk and ϕv are prompt parameters corresponding to K and V, and ⋅:⋅ denotes a concatenation operation,”
In an analogous field, LIU teaches “ϕk and ϕv are prompt parameters corresponding to K and V, and ⋅:⋅ denotes a concatenation operation...”
See LIU in [n0083-n0086] describe " the pre-trained language model is subjected to cue learning using the parameter update amount in this round, including: Step S131: Modify the attention matrix in the Transformer class model according to the parameter update amount in this round to obtain the modified attention matrix… implementation of step S131 above is as follows: The basic calculation operation process of the Transformer class model has been described above. Since the size of each head of each layer of K<sup>(h)</sup>(x<sub>i</sub>) and V<sup>(h)</sup>(x<sub>i</sub>) is exactly the same, for ease of understanding, the following explanation uses one head of one layer as an example. Assume that the prompt matrix is represented as P<sub>k</sub>, P<sub>q</sub> and/or P<sub>v</sub> (the prompt matrix can be randomly initialized at the beginning, and then the prompt matrix is determined by the parameter update amount in the current round). Here, the prompt matrix P<sub>k</sub> is used to modify the key matrix (K) in the attention matrix, the prompt matrix P<sub>q</sub> is used to modify the query matrix (Q) in the attention matrix, and the prompt matrix P<sub>v</sub> is used to modify the numerical matrix (V) in the attention matrix. In practice, the prompt matrix can be used to modify any one matrix (Q, K, or V), any two matrices (Q and K, or K and V, or Q and V), or all three matrices (Q, K, and V)." Here, LIU shows the parameters are updated within the attention function of the model, where "prompt matrix is determined by the parameter update amount" shows updating prompt parameters in the function. Note the prompt parameters are construed by examiner to include any parameters that modifies the attention matrix for a language model.
Further, see LIU in [n0057] describe "then, the first attention matrix and the second attention matrix are concatenated along the h dimension to obtain the concatenated matrix. Finally, the concatenated matrix is linearly projected again to obtain the output data of multi-head attention. " Here, LIU mentions a concatenation operation on the attention function.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references GONG, OVERELL, Wang and Kang, and incorporate with the teachings of LIU by using the teachings of GONG, OVERELL, Wang and Kang, of retrieving knowledge sentences based on a knowledge base to later fine-tune a language model using an attention function, with LIU’s teaching of prompt parameters and using a concatenation operation on the attention function.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating LIU’s framework into the methods of GONG, OVERELL, Wang and Kang, one with ordinary skill in the art would achieve a method to “optimize the prompt learning process of the pre-trained language model, and effectively accelerating the prompt learning efficiency of the pre-trained language model,” ([n0005], LIU).
Claim 18:
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 8 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 8 using similar teachings and rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WenWei Zeng/Examiner, Art Unit 2146
/USMAAN SAEED/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2146