DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Independent Claim 1
Applicant argues the modification of Molnar in view of Kamiyama fails to disclose or suggest in combination: a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes, wherein each electrode of the first group of electrodes faces a first direction and each electrode of the second group of electrodes faces a second direction different from the first direction.
Specifically, Applicant argues that Kamiyama fails to disclose or suggest respective groups of electrodes that face in a common direction, and would not have provided a basis to a person of ordinary skill in the art starting with Molnar to couple electrodes that face in a common direction to a common conductor, as set forth in claim 1. Examiner notes that Molnar was relied upon to disclose a first group of electrodes and a second group of electrodes; wherein each electrode of the first group of electrodes faces a first direction and each electrode of the second group of electrodes faces a second direction different from the first direction ([0148]; Fig. 13B). Kamiyama was relied upon to teach a plurality of conductors comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of a first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of a second group of electrodes [0050]. Examiner maintains it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the groups of electrodes facing different directions as taught by Molnar with a plurality of conductors comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of a first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of a second group of electrodes as taught by Kamiyama. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes (Kamiyama, [0050]) as well as lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. Applicant further argues that the motivation discussed above is not supported by a rational underpinning and cannot sustain a rejection of claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that rationally, it would be desirable to one having ordinary skill in the art to lower production costs while maintain the ability to steer or focus the stimulation being delivered in order to strategically form scar tissue.
Applicant further argues that Kamiyama fails to disclose or suggest electrodes that face in a common direction. Examiner notes that Molnar was relied upon to disclose a first group of electrodes and a second group of electrodes; wherein each electrode of the first group of electrodes faces a first direction and each electrode of the second group of electrodes faces a second direction different from the first direction ([0148]; Fig. 13B). Applicant further argues that the Office has failed to provide a sufficient explanation with rational underpinning as to why it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Molnar in view of Kamiyama to arrive at the subject matter of claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that it would have been an obvious modification to one having ordinary skill in the art since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered and lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. By precisely focusing/steering the stimulation current, the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation can be reduced and strategically formed. Rationally, it would be desirable to one having ordinary skill in the art to reduce production costs as well as steer or focus the stimulation being delivered in order to strategically form scar tissue. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant further argues that Molnar already has the ability to steer/focus stimulation since Molnar discloses “electrodes…may be selected as stimulation electrodes and two or more different electrodes of the member may be selected as sense electrodes of a sense electrode combination that is symmetrically arranged relative to the one or more selected stimulation electrodes of the member in a predetermined direction (e.g., a direction substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of [a] member”. Examiner agrees that Molnar suggests the ability to steer stimulation using symmetrically arranged electrodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to couple the symmetrically arranged sense electrodes to a common conductor and the symmetrically arranged stimulation electrodes to a common conductor in order to steer the stimulation being delivered. Kamiyama discloses a plurality of conductors comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of a first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of a second group of electrodes [0050]. Examiner respectfully maintains that it would have been an obvious modification to one having ordinary skill in the art since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing the user with the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered and lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. By precisely focusing/steering the stimulation current, the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation can be reduced and strategically formed.
Applicant argues that Molnar does not suggest the ability to dedicate electrodes as either sensing electrodes or stimulation electrodes and that one having ordinary skill in the art would understand Molnar to suggest the ability to select and switch between which electrodes are sense and stimulation electrodes. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Molnar specifically teaches symmetrically arranged electrode configurations [0003] and one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the ability to select symmetrically arranged sensing electrodes and symmetrically arranged stimulation electrodes provides the ability to dedicate the groups of electrodes as sense or stimulation electrodes.
Applicant also argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have understood the cited portions of Molnar to have disclosed or suggested “an elongated body configured to be introduced in a blood vessel of a patient”. To this point, Applicant further argues that the claim language “an elongated body configured to be introduced in a blood vessel of a patient” results in a structural difference that distinguishes claim 1 from Molnar and also argues that the Office has fails to show that “an elongated body configured to be introduced into a blood vessel of a patient” is an inherent characteristic on Molnar. Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that the structural limitation of “an elongated body” is explicitly taught by Molnar ([0147] lead body 100 as shown in Fig. 13A). There appears to be no structural difference between the lead disclosed by Molnar [0147] and “an elongated body configured to be introduced in a blood vessel of a patient”. Examiner maintains that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Independent Claim 15
Similar to the arguments regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Kamiyama fails to disclose or suggest respective groups of electrodes that face in a common direction, and would not have provided basis to a person of ordinary skill in the art starting with Opie to couple electrodes that face in a common direction to a common conductor. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Kamiyama was not relied upon to teach respective groups of electrodes that face in a common direction. Instead, Opie was relied on to teach a plurality of electrodes disposed along the elongated body, the plurality of electrodes comprising a first group of electrodes and a second group of electrodes ([0099] a plurality of electrodes 131 coupled to the stent 101; See annotated Fig. 38A); and
Annotated Fig. 38A: Three groups of electrodes 131 have been encircled
wherein when the distal portion of the elongated body is in the deployed configuration, each electrode of the first group of electrodes faces a first direction and each electrode of the second group of electrodes faces a second direction different from the first direction (See annotated Fig. 38A which shows groups of electrodes facing different directions), and
wherein the plurality of electrodes is configured to deliver electrical stimulation to tissue of a brain of the patient or sense a patient parameter from a location within the blood vessel (0114] ability of the electrodes 131 to stimulate or record from medium).
Kamiyama was relied on to teach a plurality of conductors (conducting wires 6) comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes ([0050] some of the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to one of the conducting wires 6, other electrodes among the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to another conducting wire 6).
Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Opie with a plurality of conductors comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes as taught by Kamiyama. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes (Kamiyama, [0050]) as well as lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. Dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes which would provide the user with the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered. By precisely focusing/steering the stimulation current, the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation can be reduced and strategically formed.
Applicant further argues that the reason provided by the Office as to why a person of ordinary skill in the art would modify Opie with Kamiyama is not supported by a rational underpinning and is based on impermissible hindsight reasoning.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Opie with a plurality of conductors comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes as taught by Kamiyama. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes (Kamiyama, [0050]) as well as lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. Dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes which would provide the user with the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered. By precisely focusing/steering the stimulation current, the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation can be reduced and strategically formed. Rationally, it would have been desirable to one having ordinary skill in the art to lower production costs while maintaining the ability to strategically form scar tissue during stimulation.
Applicant further argues that the Office has failed to provide support for the assertion that reducing scar tissue or strategically forming scar tissue in the context of the system and method described by Opie would be advantageous. Examiner notes that Opie discloses that scar formation surrounding electrodes can result in signal deterioration [0005]. Therefore, it would be advantageous to reduce scar tissue or strategically form it in order to ensure longevity and efficacy of recorded and induced signals.
Applicant further argues that the office has failed to provide support for the assertion that dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes would provide the user with the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered which would also provide the ability to strategically form and reduce the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation. Examiner notes that delivering electrical stimulation to tissue can result in scar tissue, so having the ability to precisely direct/target a particular therapy site would limit the amount of tissue exposed to the stimulation which would necessarily reduce the amount of scar tissue formed otherwise.
Independent Claim 24
Applicant notes that arguments discussed with respect to claim 1 regarding the modification of Molnar in view of Kamiyama also apply to claim 24, but are not repeated. For the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1, Examiner maintains the rejection.
Applicant further argues that Dafni fails to disclose a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes based on a sensed parameter, the electrodes and the elongated body being positioned within a blood vessel of a patient, wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes. These arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ranu et al (US 2015/0005846) and John et al (US 2019/0038438).
Claim Objections
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 29, line 3 should be amended to recite, “…deliver electrical stimulation to a target tissue…”. Appropriate correction is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molnar et al (US 2012/0053659) hereinafter Molnar in view of Kamiyama et al (US 2021/0038859) hereinafter Kamiyama.
Regarding claim 1, Molnar discloses an endovascular device ([0031] Fig. 1: IMD 16) comprising:
an elongated body (lead body 100) configured to be introduced in a blood vessel of a patient [0147];
a plurality of electrodes (segmented electrodes 102) disposed along the elongated body [0147],
the plurality of electrodes comprising a first group of electrodes (electrodes 102A) and a second group of electrodes (electrodes 102B; [0148] each of the levels of electrodes 102 includes three segmented electrodes 102A, 102B, 102C (shown in FIG. 13B) distributed around the outer perimeter of lead body 100);
wherein each electrode of the first group of electrodes faces a first direction and each electrode of the second group of electrodes faces a second direction different from the first direction ([0148] Each level of electrodes 102 includes a plurality of segmented electrodes positioned at different angular positions around the circumference of lead body 100),
wherein each electrode of the plurality of electrodes is a segmented electrode or a partial ring electrode ([0148] electrodes 102 includes a plurality of segmented electrodes), and
wherein the plurality of electrodes is configured to deliver electrical stimulation to tissue of a brain of the patient or sense a patient parameter from a location within the blood vessel ([0150] at least some of the segmented electrodes 102A-102C may be configured to both sense bioelectrical brain signals and deliver electrical stimulation to brain 28).
Molnar fails to disclose a plurality of conductors comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes. However, Kamiyama discloses a plurality of conductors (conducting wires 6) comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes ([0050] some of the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to one of the conducting wires 6, other electrodes among the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to another conducting wire 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Molnar with a plurality of conductors comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes as taught by Kamiyama. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes (Kamiyama, [0050]) as well as lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. Dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes which would provide the user with the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered. By precisely focusing/steering the stimulation current, the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation can be reduced and strategically formed.
Regarding claim 2, Molnar discloses wherein the plurality of electrodes further comprises a third group of electrodes (electrodes 102C; [0148] each of the levels of electrodes 102 includes three segmented electrodes 102A, 102B, 102C (shown in FIG. 13B)),
wherein each electrode of the third group of electrodes faces a third direction different from the first direction and the second direction ([0148] Each level of electrodes 102 includes a plurality of segmented electrodes positioned at different angular positions around the circumference of lead body 100).
Molnar fails to disclose wherein the plurality of conductors further comprises a third conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the third group of electrodes. However, Kamiyama discloses a plurality of conducting wires connecting different groups of electrodes in series ([0050] some of the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to one of the conducting wires 6, other electrodes among the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to another conducting wire 6). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the third group of electrodes as taught by Molnar with a connecting a group of electrodes in series via a conducting wire as taught by Kamiyama. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes (Kamiyama, [0050]) as well as lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. Dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes which would provide the user with the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered. By precisely focusing/steering the stimulation current, the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation can be reduced and strategically formed.
Regarding claim 3, Molnar discloses wherein the first group of electrodes, the second group of electrodes, and the third group of electrodes are independently activatable ([0150] selectively activate one or more segmented electrodes of levels of electrodes 102 as stimulation electrodes and a different subset of two or more segmented electrodes as sense electrodes (to define a sense electrode combination)).
Regarding claim 4, Molnar discloses wherein each electrode of the first group of electrodes is circumferentially aligned along the elongated body (Figs. 13A-13B),
wherein each electrode of the second group of electrodes is circumferentially aligned along the elongated body, and wherein each electrode of the third group of electrodes is circumferentially aligned along the elongated body ([0148] Each level of electrodes 102 includes a plurality of segmented electrodes positioned at different angular positions around the circumference of lead body 100).
Regarding claim 5, Molnar discloses wherein the first group of electrodes comprises three or more electrodes, the second group of electrodes comprises three or more electrodes, and the third group of electrodes comprises three or more electrodes (Figs. 13A-13B show three or more electrodes for each group of 102A-102C).
Regarding claim 6, Molnar discloses wherein a first electrode of the first group of electrodes, a first electrode of the second group of electrodes, and a first electrode of the third group of electrodes are disposed on the elongated body at a first distance from a distal-most end of the elongated body (Figs. 13A-13B which show three groups of electrodes 102 disposed along an elongated body 100 at a first distance from distal end 98A),
wherein a second electrode of the first group of electrodes, a second electrode of the second group of electrodes, and a second electrode of the third group of electrodes are disposed on the elongated body at a second distance from the distal-most end of the elongated body (Fig 13A shows three or more electrodes for each group of electrodes 102A-C), and
wherein a third electrode of the first group of electrodes, a third electrode of the second group of electrodes, and a third electrode of the third group of electrodes are disposed on the elongated body at a third distance from the distal-most end of the elongated body (Fig 13A shows three or more electrodes for each group of electrodes 102A-C; [0148] Levels of electrodes 102 are positioned on lead body 100 at different axial positions along lead 98).
Regarding claim 7, Molnar discloses a medical lead (lead body 100) comprising the elongated body [0147].
Regarding claim 9, Molnar discloses wherein the endovascular device is configured to be operated in a trial mode for a trial period to determine an efficacy of the electrical stimulation or sensing ([0066] During a trial stage in which IMD 16 is evaluated to determine whether IMD 16 provides efficacious therapy to patient 12, a plurality of therapy programs may be tested and evaluated for efficacy).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molnar (US 2012/0053659) in view of Kamiyama (US 2021/0038859) and further in view of Opie et al (US 2018/0303595) hereinafter Opie.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Molnar discloses the system of claim 1 a discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the elongated body comprises an electrically insulative material,
wherein at least a portion of the electrically insulative material is removed to expose an electrically conductive material to define the plurality of electrodes.
However, Opie discloses wherein the elongated body comprises an electrically insulative material ([0115] insulated lead wire 141),
wherein at least a portion of the electrically insulative material is removed to expose an electrically conductive material to define the plurality of electrodes ([0115] electrodes 131 can be one or more exposed sections on the insulated lead wire 141).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the system as taught by Molnar with wherein the elongated body comprises an electrically insulative material, wherein at least a portion of the electrically insulative material is removed to expose an electrically conductive material to define the plurality of electrode as taught by Opie. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of preventing the lead wire from delivering unnecessary stimulation to the tissue by only delivering stimulation at the electrodes.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molnar (US 2012/0053659) in view of Kamiyama (US 2021/0038859) and further in view of Dubrow et al (US 2006/0204738) hereinafter Dubrow.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Molnar discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, but fails to disclose one or more surface textures or coatings configured to promote endothelization within the blood vessel. However, Dubrow discloses one or more surface textures or coatings configured to promote endothelization within the blood vessel ([0183] Coatings such as endothelial cell linings found in autologous vessels, polymers, polysaccharides, etc. can provide a non-thrombogenic surface to increase endothelial cell proliferation). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the system as taught by Molnar with one or more surface textures or coatings configured to promote endothelization within the blood vessel as taught by Dubrow. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of minimizing thrombogenicity [0183].
Claim(s) 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molnar (US 2012/0053659) in view of Kamiyama (US 2021/0038859) and further in view of Ranu et al (US 2015/0005846) hereinafter Ranu.
Regarding claim 11, Molnar discloses processing circuitry (processor 40) configured to control therapy delivery via the plurality of electrodes ([0088] Processor 40 controls stimulation generator 44), but fails to disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to detect a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes within the blood vessel based on a sensed parameter, wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes.
However, Ranu discloses processing circuitry configured to control therapy delivery via the plurality of electrodes ([0057] SCS system 10 can perform a correction or other action, such as programming the electrodes 26 with new stimulation parameters),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to detect a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes within the blood vessel based on a sensed parameter ([0057] the analysis may involve comparing the impedance values acquired at the respective frequencies for each electrode 26 to known impedance values at those frequencies as a function of the buildup of fibrous collagen (scar tissue), and making a determination of the extent of the encapsulation based on the comparison),
wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes ([0057] as a function of the buildup of fibrous collagen (scar tissue)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the system as taught by Molnar with processing circuitry being configured to detect a level of endothelization proximate a plurality of electrodes within a blood vessel based on a sensed parameter, wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes as taught by Ranu. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of determining an extent of electrode encapsulation in order to determine stimulation lead stability (Ranu, [0014] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Molnar disclose the system of claim 11 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the sensed parameter is an impedance. However, Ranu discloses wherein the sensed parameter is an impedance ([0057] impedance values of tissue surrounding a stimulation lead can be measured at these frequencies and at various times in a controlled setting). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Molnar with the sensed parameter being an impedance as taught by Ranu. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of comparing impedance values in order to determine an extent of electrode encapsulation (Ranu, [0057]).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Molnar discloses the system of claim 11 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to select one or more electrical stimulation parameters values based on detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes. However, Ranu discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to select one or more electrical stimulation parameters values based on detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes ([0057] Once the state of the encapsulation process is determined, the SCS system 10 can perform a correction or other action, such as programming the electrodes 26 with new stimulation parameters). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Molnar with the processing circuitry being configured to select one or more electrical stimulation parameters values based on detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes as taught by Ranu. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of restoring the original therapy (Ranu, [0057]).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Molnar discloses the system of claim 13 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein one or more electrical stimulation parameters comprises one or more of a frequency, a power, or an amplitude of electrical stimulation. However, Ranu discloses wherein one or more electrical stimulation parameters comprises one or more of a frequency, a power, or an amplitude of electrical stimulation ([0057] Once the state of the encapsulation process is determined, the SCS system 10 can perform a correction or other action, such as programming the electrodes 26 with new stimulation parameters (e.g., increase or decrease the amplitude value)). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Molnar with one or more electrical stimulation parameters comprises one or more of a frequency, a power, or an amplitude of electrical stimulation as taught by Ranu. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of restoring the original therapy (Ranu, [0057]).
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Opie (US 2018/0303595) in view of Kamiyama (US 2021/0038859).
Regarding claim 15, Opie discloses an endovascular device ([0099] Fig. 5a: medical device 100) comprising:
an elongated body (stent 101) comprising a distal portion transformable between a relatively low-profile delivery configuration and a deployed configuration ([0099] a collapsible and expandable stent 101),
wherein the distal portion is configured to be introduced in a blood vessel of a patient ([0194] stent 101 having been deployed in a blood vessel 104);
a plurality of electrodes disposed along the elongated body, the plurality of electrodes comprising a first group of electrodes and a second group of electrodes ([0099] a plurality of electrodes 131 coupled to the stent 101; See annotated Fig. 38A); and
Annotated Fig. 38A: Three groups of electrodes 131 have been encircled
wherein when the distal portion of the elongated body is in the deployed configuration, each electrode of the first group of electrodes faces a first direction and each electrode of the second group of electrodes faces a second direction different from the first direction (See annotated Fig. 38A which shows groups of electrodes facing different directions), and
wherein the plurality of electrodes is configured to deliver electrical stimulation to tissue of a brain of the patient or sense a patient parameter from a location within the blood vessel (0114] ability of the electrodes 131 to stimulate or record from medium).
Opie further discloses there may be one or more electrodes 131 per wire strand 141 and there may be one or more strands 141 utilized per device 100 [0113], but fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of conductors comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes. However, Kamiyama discloses a plurality of conductors (conducting wires 6) comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes ([0050] some of the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to one of the conducting wires 6, other electrodes among the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to another conducting wire 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Opie with a plurality of conductors comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes as taught by Kamiyama. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes (Kamiyama, [0050]) as well as lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. Dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes which would provide the user with the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered. By precisely focusing/steering the stimulation current, the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation can be reduced and strategically formed.
Regarding claim 16, Opie discloses wherein the plurality of electrodes further comprises a third group of electrodes (See annotated Fig. 38A which shows three groups of electrodes),
wherein when the distal portion of the elongated body is in the deployed configuration, each electrode of the third group of electrodes faces a third direction different from the first direction and the second direction (See annotated Fig. 38A which shows three groups of electrodes facing different directions).
Opie further discloses there may be one or more electrodes 131 per wire strand 141 and there may be one or more strands 141 utilized per device 100 [0113], but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conductors further comprises a third conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the third group of electrodes.
However, Kamiyama discloses a plurality of conducting wires connecting different groups of electrodes in series ([0050] some of the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to one of the conducting wires 6, other electrodes among the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to another conducting wire 6). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the third group of electrodes as taught by Opie with a connecting a group of electrodes in series via a conducting wire as taught by Kamiyama. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes (Kamiyama, [0050]) as well as lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required.
Regarding claim 17, Opie discloses wherein in the relatively low-profile delivery configuration, each electrode of the plurality of electrodes is aligned along the elongated body (Annotated Fig. 38A shows rows (groups) of electrodes being aligned).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Opie (US 2018/0303595) in view of Kamiyama (US 2021/0038859) and further in view of Molnar (US 2012/0053659).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Opie discloses the system of claim 15 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the endovascular device is configured to be operated in a trial mode for a trial period to determine an efficacy of the electrical stimulation or sensing. However, Molnar discloses wherein the endovascular device is configured to be operated in a trial mode for a trial period to determine an efficacy of the electrical stimulation or sensing ([0066] During a trial stage in which IMD 16 is evaluated to determine whether IMD 16 provides efficacious therapy to patient 12, a plurality of therapy programs may be tested and evaluated for efficacy). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the system as taught by Opie with the endovascular device being configured to be operated in a trial mode for a trial period to determine an efficacy of the electrical stimulation or sensing as taught by Molnar. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of determining whether or not the device provides efficacious therapy to the patient (Molnar, [0066]).
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Opie (US 2018/0303595) in view of Kamiyama (US 2021/0038859) and further in view of Ranu (US 2015/0005846).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Opie discloses the system of claim 15 as discussed above, but fails to disclose processing circuitry configured to control therapy delivery via the plurality of electrodes, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to detect a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes within the blood vessel based on a sensed parameter, wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes.
However, Ranu discloses processing circuitry configured to control therapy delivery via the plurality of electrodes ([0057] SCS system 10 can perform a correction or other action, such as programming the electrodes 26 with new stimulation parameters),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to detect a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes within the blood vessel based on a sensed parameter ([0057] the analysis may involve comparing the impedance values acquired at the respective frequencies for each electrode 26 to known impedance values at those frequencies as a function of the buildup of fibrous collagen (scar tissue), and making a determination of the extent of the encapsulation based on the comparison),
wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes ([0057] as a function of the buildup of fibrous collagen (scar tissue)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the system as taught by Opie with processing circuitry configured to control therapy delivery via the plurality of electrodes, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to detect a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes within the blood vessel based on a sensed parameter, wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes as taught by Ranu. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of determining an extent of electrode encapsulation in order to determine stimulation lead stability (Ranu, [0014] and [0057]).
Claim(s) 24-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molnar (US 2012/0053659) in view of Kamiyama (US 2021/0038859) and of John et al (US 2019/0038438) hereinafter John and further in view of Ranu (US 2015/0005846).
Regarding claim 24, Molnar discloses processing circuitry (IMD 16) configured to control therapy delivery via a plurality of electrodes (electrodes 102) disposed along an elongated body ([0147] lead 98 containing electrodes 102 with which IMD 16 may deliver electrical stimulation),
wherein the elongated body is configured to be introduced in the blood vessel of the patient (Fig. 13B: lead 98)
wherein the plurality of electrodes comprises a first group of electrodes (electrodes 102A) and a second group of electrodes (electrodes 102B; [0148] each of the levels of electrodes 102 includes three segmented electrodes 102A, 102B, 102C (shown in FIG. 13B) distributed around the outer perimeter of lead body 100);
wherein each electrode of the first group of electrodes faces a first direction and each electrode of the second group of electrodes faces a second direction different from the first direction ([0148] Each level of electrodes 102 includes a plurality of segmented electrodes positioned at different angular positions around the circumference of lead body 100),
wherein each electrode of the plurality of electrodes is a segmented electrode or a partial ring electrode ([0148] electrodes 102 includes a plurality of segmented electrodes), and
wherein the plurality of electrodes is configured to deliver electrical stimulation to tissue of a brain of the patient or sense a patient parameter from a location within the blood vessel ([0150] at least some of the segmented electrodes 102A-102C may be configured to both sense bioelectrical brain signals and deliver electrical stimulation to brain 28).
Molnar fails to disclose wherein a first conductor is electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor is electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes. However, Kamiyama discloses a plurality of conductors (conducting wires 6) comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes ([0050] some of the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to one of the conducting wires 6, other electrodes among the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to another conducting wire 6). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Molnar with a first conductor being electrically coupled to each electrode of a first group of electrodes and a second conductor being electrically coupled to each electrode of a second group of electrodes as taught by Kamiyama. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes (Kamiyama, [0050]) as well as lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. Dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes which would provide the user with the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered. By precisely focusing/steering the stimulation current, the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation can be reduced and strategically formed.
Molnar fails to expressly disclose the electrodes and the elongated body being positioned within a blood vessel of a patient. However, John discloses electrodes ([0101] electrodes 131) and an elongated body ([0101] stent 101) being positioned within a blood vessel of a patient, wherein the elongated body is configured to be introduced in the blood vessel of the patient ([0313] stents 101 can access to deep structures suitable as targets for deep brain stimulation is viable through deep venous and arterial vessels in the brain). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method as taught by Molnar in view of Kamiyama with the electrodes and the elongated body being positioned within a blood vessel of a patient as taught by John. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of eliminating the need for craniotomies in order to deliver deep brain stimulation (John, [0313]).
Molnar fails to disclose detecting, via processing circuitry configured to control therapy delivery via a plurality of electrodes disposed along an elongated body, a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes based on a sensed parameter, wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes; and selecting, via the processing circuitry, one or more electrical stimulation parameter values based on detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes.
However, Ranu discloses detecting, via processing circuitry (SCS system 10) configured to control therapy delivery via a plurality of electrodes disposed along an elongated body (electrodes 26, leads 12), a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes based on a sensed parameter ([0057] SCS system 10 includes determining a state of the encapsulation process with respect to one or both of the stimulation leads 12, the analysis may involve comparing the impedance values acquired at the respective frequencies for each electrode 26 to known impedance values at those frequencies as a function of the buildup of fibrous collagen (scar tissue), and making a determination of the extent of the encapsulation based on the comparison),
wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which cells cover the plurality of electrodes ([0057] determination of the extent of the encapsulation); and
selecting, via the processing circuitry, one or more electrical stimulation parameter values based on detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes ([0057] Once the state of the encapsulation process is determined, the SCS system 10 can perform a correction or other action, such as programming the electrodes 26 with new stimulation parameters). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method as taught by Molnar in view of Kamiyama and John with detecting, via processing circuitry configured to control therapy delivery via a plurality of electrodes disposed along an elongated body, a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes based on a sensed parameter, wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes; and selecting, via the processing circuitry, one or more electrical stimulation parameter values based on detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes as taught by Ranu. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of determining an extent of electrode encapsulation in order to determine stimulation lead stability (Ranu, [0014] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 25, Molnar discloses wherein the plurality of electrodes further comprises a third group of electrodes (electrodes 102C; [0148] each of the levels of electrodes 102 includes three segmented electrodes 102A, 102B, 102C (shown in FIG. 13B)),
wherein each electrode of the third group of electrodes faces a third direction different from the first direction and the second direction ([0148] Each level of electrodes 102 includes a plurality of segmented electrodes positioned at different angular positions around the circumference of lead body 100).
Molnar fails to disclose wherein a third conductor is electrically coupled to each electrode of the third group of electrodes. However, Kamiyama discloses a plurality of conducting wires connecting different groups of electrodes in series ([0050] some of the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to one of the conducting wires 6, other electrodes among the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to another conducting wire 6). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the third group of electrodes as taught by Molnar with a conductor connecting a group of electrodes in series via a conducting wire as taught by Kamiyama. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes (Kamiyama, [0050]) as well as lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. Dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes which would provide the user with the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered. By precisely focusing/steering the stimulation current, the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation can be reduced and strategically formed.
Regarding claim 26, Molnar discloses selectively delivering electrical stimulation to tissue of the brain of the patient or selectively sensing the patient parameter via the first group electrodes and not delivering electrical stimulation to tissue of the brain of the patient or not sensing the patient parameter via the second group of electrodes or the third group of electrodes ([0063] electrodes may include dedicated sense electrodes that are configured to sense a physiological signal of patient 12, but not deliver stimulation, and dedicated stimulation electrodes that are configured to deliver stimulation to patient 12, but not sense a physiological signal).
Regarding claim 27, Molnar discloses wherein each electrode of the first group of electrodes is circumferentially aligned along the elongated body (Figs 13A-13B),
wherein each electrode of the second group of electrodes is circumferentially aligned along the elongated body, and wherein each electrode of the third group of electrodes is circumferentially aligned along the elongated body ([0148] Each level of electrodes 102 includes a plurality of segmented electrodes positioned at different angular positions around the circumference of lead body 100).
Regarding claim 28, Molnar discloses a plurality of electrodes ([0147] electrodes 102),
wherein the plurality of electrodes comprises a first group of electrodes (electrodes 102A) and a second group of electrodes (electrodes 102B; [0148] each of the levels of electrodes 102 includes three segmented electrodes 102A, 102B, 102C (shown in FIG. 13B) distributed around the outer perimeter of lead body 100),
each electrode of the first group of electrodes faces a first direction and each electrode of the second group of electrodes faces a second direction different from the first direction ([0148] Each level of electrodes 102 includes a plurality of segmented electrodes positioned at different angular positions around the circumference of lead body 100).
Molnar fails to disclose wherein a first conductor is electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes that face the first direction, and wherein a second conductor is electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes that face the second direction. However, Kamiyama discloses a plurality of conductors (conducting wires 6) comprising a first conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the first group of electrodes and a second conductor electrically coupled to each electrode of the second group of electrodes ([0050] some of the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to one of the conducting wires 6, other electrodes among the plurality of the electrodes 5 may be connected in series to another conducting wire 6). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Molnar with a first conductor being electrically coupled to each electrode of a first group of electrodes and a second conductor being electrically coupled to each electrode of a second group of electrodes as taught by Kamiyama. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes (Kamiyama, [0050]) as well as lowering production costs by reducing the amount of conductors required. Dedicating certain electrodes as sense electrodes and certain electrodes as stimulation electrodes which would provide the user with the ability to steer or focus the stimulation current being delivered. By precisely focusing/steering the stimulation current, the amount of scar tissue resulting from the stimulation can be reduced and strategically formed.
Molnar fails to disclose detecting, via processing circuitry and based on a sensed parameter from a plurality of electrodes positioned within a blood vessel of a patient, a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes, wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes; and selecting, via the processing circuitry, one or more electrical stimulation parameter values based on detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes.
However, John discloses electrodes ([0101] electrodes 131 coupled to stent 101) being positioned within a blood vessel of a patient ([0313] stents 101 can access to deep structures suitable as targets for deep brain stimulation is viable through deep venous and arterial vessels in the brain). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method as taught by Molnar in view of Kamiyama with the electrodes and the elongated body being positioned within a blood vessel of a patient as taught by John. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of eliminating the need for craniotomies in order to deliver deep brain stimulation (John, [0313]).
Ranu discloses detecting, via processing circuitry (SCS system 10) and based on a sensed parameter, a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes ([0057] SCS system 10 includes determining a state of the encapsulation process with respect to one or both of the stimulation leads 12, the analysis may involve comparing the impedance values acquired at the respective frequencies for each electrode 26 to known impedance values at those frequencies as a function of the buildup of fibrous collagen (scar tissue), and making a determination of the extent of the encapsulation based on the comparison),
wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which cells cover the plurality of electrodes ([0057] determination of the extent of the encapsulation); and
selecting, via the processing circuitry, one or more electrical stimulation parameter values based on detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes ([0057] Once the state of the encapsulation process is determined, the SCS system 10 can perform a correction or other action, such as programming the electrodes 26 with new stimulation parameters).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method as taught by Molnar in view of Kamiyama and John with detecting, via processing circuitry and based on a sensed parameter from a plurality of electrodes positioned within a blood vessel of a patient, a level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes, wherein the level of endothelization corresponds to an extent to which endothelial cells in the blood vessel cover the plurality of electrodes; and selecting, via the processing circuitry, one or more electrical stimulation parameter values based on detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes as taught by Ranu. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of determining an extent of electrode encapsulation in order to determine stimulation lead stability (Ranu, [0014] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 29, Molnar discloses automatically controlling, by the processing circuitry and based on the one or more electrical stimulation parameter values, the plurality of electrodes to deliver electrical stimulation to target tissue ([0082] Stimulation generator 44, under the control of processor 40, generates stimulation signals for delivery to patient 12 via a selected subset of electrodes 24, 26), but fails to expressly disclose delivering electrical stimulation to a target tissue from a location within the blood vessel.
John discloses delivering electrical stimulation to target tissue from a location within the blood vessel ([0313] one or more stents 101 can be used for an endovascular neural interface system for deep brain stimulation treatment). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Molnar with delivering electrical stimulation to target tissue from a location within the blood vessel as taught by John. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of eliminating the need for craniotomies in order to deliver deep brain stimulation (John, [0313]).
Regarding claim 30, the modified Molnar discloses the method of claim 28 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes includes detecting a change in the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes between a first time point and a second time point. However, Ranu discloses wherein detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes includes detecting a change in the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes between a first time point and a second time point ([0057] the analysis may involve comparing the impedance values acquired at the respective frequencies for each electrode 26 to known impedance values at those frequencies as a function of the buildup). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Molnar with detecting the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes includes detecting a change in the level of endothelization proximate the plurality of electrodes between a first time point and a second time point as taught by Ranu. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of determining an extent of electrode encapsulation in order to determine stimulation lead stability (Ranu, [0014] and [0057]).
Regarding claim 31, the modified Molnar discloses the method of claim 28 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the one or more electrical stimulation parameter values include a power value, an amplitude value, or a frequency value. However, Ranu discloses wherein the one or more electrical stimulation parameter values include a power value, an amplitude value, or a frequency value ([0057] Once the state of the encapsulation process is determined, the SCS system 10 can perform a correction or other action, such as programming the electrodes 26 with new stimulation parameters (e.g., increase or decrease the amplitude value)). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Molnar with the one or more electrical stimulation parameter values include a power value, an amplitude value, or a frequency value as taught by Ranu. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of restoring the original therapy (Ranu, [0057]).
Conclusion
/WILLOW GRACE WELCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796