DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 10-13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toong et al. (US 20210001122- Previously cited), hereinafter Toong, and further in view of Ma et al. (Combined unsupervised-supervised machine learning for phenotyping complex diseases with its application to obstructive sleep apnea -2021), hereinafter Ma.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, Toong teaches a system, method, and non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions, comprising detecting an treating an occurrence of an apnea event during a sleep period of a user (see abstract), the system and method comprising:
affixing a patch externally on a dermis of the user, the patch comprising a flexible substrate, an adhesive on a first side adapted to adhere to the dermis of the user, a processor directly coupled to the substrate, and one or more sensors directly coupled to the substrate;
receiving biometric data corresponding to the user (¶ [0279], “The audio sensing device detects the sounds of snoring”);
determining an SpO2 level of the user using the one or more sensors (¶[0277-9,0312], “The oximeter monitors the saturation of peripheral oxygen (SpO2)”);
based at least on the determined SpO2 level, detecting the apnea event (¶0277,0279], “respiration monitoring device 3020 measures other biometric attributes of the user 3100 to determine the beginning of an apnea episode”);
in response to the detecting, treating the apnea event (¶ [0246,0276], “the patch is used to detect and then reduce/treat the number of apnea or hypopnea episodes during sleep”),
and in response to detecting and based on the biometric data and the determined SpO2 level, using a trained machine learning to predict sleep apnea severity and associated conditions, wherein the trained model includes population data and tuned for the user using data from sleep periods of the user (¶[0294], “OSA suppression and detection systems 3000 use AI techniques such as correlation analysis to correlate real-time data recordings of the user with larger population databases to produce comparative or predictive analyses. In some examples, machine-learning algorithms are employed to build up the user's sleep history and provide specific predictors of sleep apnea severity and associated conditions” (emphasis added))
Toong fails to explicitly teach in response to the detecting and based on the biometric data and the determining SpO2 level, using a trained machine learning model to predict a probabilistic onset of one or more comorbidities of the user, wherein the trained machine learning model is trained using population polysomnography data including marked apnea events and corresponding SpO2 monitoring data and is tuned for the user using data from sleep periods of the user.
Ma teaches a combined unsupervised-supervised machine learning for phenotyping key features that show comorbidity development for OSA-related cardio-neuro-metabolic diseases (abstract). The data input into the model is based on PSG data (abstract). 18 features, including number of apnea events and oxygen saturation, account for 95% of the total importance in predicting comorbidity outcomes (Fig. 4 and pg. 5, “Among 43 PSG features, 18 features accounted for 95% of the total importance in predicting comorbidity outcomes”). The trained model is then used to predict a probability of one or more comorbidities (pg. 5 and 9-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Toong, to use a trained machine learning model to predict a probabilistic onset of one or more comorbidities of the user and where the model is trained using population polysomnography data including marked apnea events and corresponding SpO2 monitoring data, as taught by Ma, to include important elements in the diagnosis OSA patients for better prognosis of associated comorbidities (pg. 2 of Ma).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Toong teaches treating comprising using an external hypoglossal nerve stimulator (¶ [0163,0247], “The TNSS creates an action potential through an externally applied electric field from outside the body” and “stimulating the hypoglossal nerve to relieve apnea to provide a closed-loop system”).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Toong teaches treating comprising using an internal hypoglossal nerve stimulator system (¶ [0165,0247], “electric fields capable of causing action potentials can be generated by electronic stimulators connected to electrodes that are implanted surgically . . . . Such devices may be used instead of implants and/or with implants”, and “stimulating the hypoglossal nerve to relieve apnea to provide a closed-loop system”).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Toong teaches treating comprising using a positive airway pressure device (¶ [0336], “Use of OSA system 3000 avoids awakening the user to administer CPAP to observe the effects of treatment”).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Tong teaches the patch in wireless communication with a smart device (¶ [0064,0073], the patch communicates with a smart phone).
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 20, Toong fails to teach the using the trained machine learning model comprising training the machine learning model using input PSG recordings.
Ma teaches using all PSG data is important in diagnosing OSA patients, thus better prognosis of associated comorbidities (pg. 2),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the method of Toong, to use a trained machine learning model to predict a probabilistic onset of one or more comorbidities of the user and where the model is trained using population polysomnography data including marked apnea events and corresponding SpO2 monitoring data, as taught by Ma, to aid in diagnosing OSA patients for better prognosis of associated comorbidities (pg. 2 of Ma).
Claims 6, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toong in view of Ma, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Apte et al. (US 20120286520- Previously cited), hereinafter Apte.
Regarding claims 6, 15, and 21, Toong fail to teach wherein the biometric data comprises at least one of obesity, restless leg syndrome, periodic leg movement disorder, or bruxism. However, Ma does teach that one of the PSG features obtained includes periodic leg movement, but still distinct from the disorder (Table 1 of Ma).
Apte teaches a system for characterizing one or more sleep related conditions and determining one or more therapies based on the characterization (abstract). The system is configured to perform cross-condition analyses for a plurality of sleep related conditions, e.g., determining comorbidities (¶[0019]). The sleep related conditions that are obtained include apnea, bruxism, restless legs syndrome, etc. (¶[0022]). Therefore, Apte’s system requires obtaining biometrics to determine comorbidities which are then used to provide therapy (¶[0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Toong-Ma, such that biometric data comprises at least one of obesity, restless leg syndrome, periodic leg movement disorder, or bruxism, as taught by Apte, to aid in characterizing one or more sleep related conditions and providing therapy based on the characterization.
Claims 8, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toong in view of Ma, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Danilov et al. (US 8849407- Previously cited), hereinafter Danilov.
Regarding claims 8, 17, and 22, Toong-Ma fail to teach wherein the patch comprises a first portion adapted to be placed on a bridge of a nose of the user and at least one second portion adapted to be placed on a cheek of the user.
Danilov teaches an electrode patch in the form of a mask or single patch that comprises a plurality of portions (figs. 1-3, mask 12). The mask/patch comprise a plurality of electrodes that cover all of the nose and cheeks to aid in monitoring the user’s conditions without the need for intrusive measures or other burdensome or painful procedures (col. 2-3 and 4, ln. [65-67;1-11;14-25]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Toong-Ma, such that wherein the patch comprises a first portion adapted to be placed on a bridge of a nose of the user and at least one second portion adapted to be placed on a cheek of the user, at taught by Danilov, to aid in monitoring the user’s conditions without the need for intrusive measures or other burdensome or painful procedures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended independent claims have been considered but are moot because amendments require new grounds of rejection in view of Ma.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kahlert et al. a sensor arrangement for detecting physiological parameters of a subject, a detection system for detecting a sleeping position of the subject and an alert system for instructing a change in sleep position of the subject. From the monitored physiological parameters, fluid accumulation is identified in a region of the body of the subject. The alert system is controlled to instruct a change in sleep position thereby to reverse the fluid accumulation. US 20220203063
Shelly et al. a method for assisting a patient in avoiding obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) or for weaning from a PAP therapy includes: receiving in a controller health related data of the patient obtained from the patient by one or more electronic devices associated with the patient; analyzing the health related data with the controller; determining in the controller from the analyzing of the health related data, an OSA risk factor having a correlation to OSA severity in the patient; and providing the OSA risk factor to the patient. US 20220016371
/MARTIN NATHAN ORTEGA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791