DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the remarks filed 01/13/2026. Claims 1-6 and 15-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
Invention I. Claims 1-6 and 15-20, drawn to determining if an object is a hazard and emitting a projection beam to illuminate the object.
Invention II. Claims 7-14, drawn to determining if an apparatus is moving and emitting a projection beam indicating a moving direction based on the moving data.
Applicant’s election of Invention I, claims 1-6 and 15-20 in the reply filed 01/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP §818.01(a)). The restriction is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2023, 03/07/2024, and 11/26/2025 have been entered and considered. Initialed copies of the PTO-1449 by the examiner are attached.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 16-17 and 19 recite limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 6; recites the limitation, “controller configured to ……,”.
Claims 2 and 16; recites the limitation, “image capture device ……,”.
Claims 2, 5, 16, and 19; recites the limitation, “image projection device ……,”.
Claims 3, 17; recites the limitation, “alarm device ......,”.
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claims 1-3, 5-6, 16-17 and 19:
“Controller” (Fig. 3, #306. Paragraph [0114]- “The person support apparatus 1100 further includes a controller 1306 including one or more processors 1308 and one or more memory modules 1310. Each of the one or more processors 1308 may be any device capable of executing machine readable and executable instructions.”. thus, have sufficient structure or material wherein is any kind processor.).
“image capture device” (Fig. 2, #216. Paragraph [0041]- “The image capture device 216 may be a camera or the like configured to capture image data reflected by the mirrored dome 204 within a field of view of the image capture device 216. In some embodiments, the image capture device 216 may include one or more optical components, such as a mirror, fish-eye lens, or any other type of lens. In some embodiments, the image capture device 216 includes one or more imaging sensors configured to operate in the visual and/or infrared spectrum to sense visual and/or infrared light. Additionally, while the particular embodiments described herein are described with respect to hardware for sensing light in the visual and/or infrared spectrum, it is to be understood that other types of sensors are contemplated. For example, the sensors described herein could include one or more LIDAR sensors, radar sensors, sonar sensors, or other types of sensors and that such data could be integrated into or supplement the data collection described herein.”. thus, have sufficient structure or material wherein is any kind camera, LIDAR, RADAR, SONAR sensor).
“image projection device” (Fig. 2, #218. Paragraph [0043]- “The image projection device 218 may be a projector, such as a digital light processing (DLP) projector, liquid-crystal display (LCD) projector, light-emitting diode (LED) projector, liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) projector, laser projector, or the like, capable of projecting an image onto the floor surface of the room around the person support apparatus 100.”. thus, have sufficient structure or material wherein is any DLP, LCD, LED, LCOS, laser projector, etc.).
“alarm device” (Fig. 1, #116, Fig. 13, #1318. Paragraph [0035]- “The alarm device 116 may include an audio emitting device for emitting an audible alert when an alarm condition is satisfied, such as when a potential hazard or other another potentially hazardous condition is detected, as described herein. In embodiments, one or more of a frequency and volume of the audible alert may increase as a function of time after a potential hazard is first detected. In embodiments, the alarm device 116 may also include a visual alarm device for displaying a visual alert when the alarm condition is satisfied. The visual alert may include flashing lights, text indicating a potential hazard and/or a location of the potential hazard.”. thus, have sufficient structure or material wherein is any audio emitting device, such as a speaker).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 15 and its dependent claim(s) 2-6 and 16-20:
Step 1 analysis: Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus which falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A prong 1 analysis: Claim 1 recites, in part:
“analyze image data within an area; determine an object is present in the area based on the image data; determine if the object is a potential hazard based on the image data”
The limitations as shown above, as drafted, are processes that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover the performance of the limitations in the mind which fall within the “Mental Process” grouping of abstract ideas. The limitations of:
“analyze image data within an area;”, “determine an object is present in the area based on the image data;”, and “determine if the object is a potential hazard based on the image data” recite steps that the human mind can perform through an observation and evaluation, such as the human mind can look at an area and through evaluation of objects within the area, determine if there is a potential hazard such as, for example, a spilled drink may be a potential hazard for a person walking to slip on.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2 analysis: this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In
particular, the claim recites the following additional element(s) –
“emitting a projection beam onto a surface of the area to illuminate the object”
The step of “emitting a projection beam” is recited to merely constitute post-solution activities after a determination of a hazard being present. That is, the emitting step is recited at a high level of generality and merely produces a projection beam as a generic output after a determination. The limitation does not impose any limits on how the beam is projected or require any particular components that are used to produce a specific projection beam.
Step 2B analysis: the claims do not include additional elements that either alone nor in combination are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the extent that, e.g., “a controller” is claimed, is generic, well-known, and conventional data gathering computing elements. As evidence that these are generic, well-known, and conventional data gathering computing elements, Applicant’s specification discloses these in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification need not to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a). Furthermore, the claimed “controller,” as described in paragraph [0114] discloses the following: “The person support apparatus 1100 further includes a controller 1306 including one or more processors 1308 and one or more memory modules 1310. Each of the one or more processors 1308 may be any device capable of executing machine readable and executable instructions.” These elements are reasonably interpreted as generic computer and generic computer components which provides no details of anything beyond ubiquitous standard equipment. As such the claimed limitations of “a controller” is reasonably understood as not providing anything significantly more and the claim(s) as a whole is not patent eligible under 101 analysis. Therefore, claim 1 does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101 under 101 analysis.
Independent claim 15 does not provide elements that overcome the 101 deficiencies as discussed in claim 1 as discussed above. Therefore, claim 15 does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101 under 101 analysis.
Dependent claims 2-6:
Claim 2, recites, in part, “a support frame having a bottom surface; and a mirrored dome mounted on the bottom surface of the support frame, wherein the image capture device and the image projection device are mounted on the person support apparatus below the mirrored dome and have a field of view directed upward toward the mirrored dome.” In such limitation as drafted, the eligibility of the claim is self-evident when viewed as a whole, does not recite an abstract idea and thus is not directed to a judicial exception. The claim recites a combination of additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception by requiring unique material and structure for constructing the apparatus such as a mirrored dome mounted at the bottom surface of the support frame. Accordingly, claim 2 qualifies as eligible subject matter.
Corresponding dependent claims 3-6 are patent eligible under 101 analysis on virtue of dependency.
Dependent claims 16-20:
Claim 16, recites, in part, “a field of view of the image capture device and a field of view of the image projection device is directed upward toward a mirrored dome mounted on a bottom surface of a support frame of the person support apparatus.” In such limitation as drafted, the eligibility of the claim is self-evident when viewed as a whole, does not recite an abstract idea and thus is not directed to a judicial exception. The claim recites a combination of additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception by requiring unique material and structure for constructing the apparatus such as a mirrored dome mounted at the bottom surface of the support frame. Accordingly, claim 16 qualifies as eligible subject matter.
Claim 17, recites, in part, “operating an alarm device to provide an audible alert in response to determining the object classified as the potential hazard is present”. The step of “operating an alarm to provide an audible alert” is recited to merely constitute post-solution activities after a determination of a hazard being present. That is, the audible alert step is recited at a high level of generality and merely produces a sound as a generic output after a determination. The limitation does not impose any limits on how the sound is produced or require any particular components that are used to produce a specific audible alert. As such the claimed limitations of “alarm device” is reasonably understood as not providing anything significantly more and the claim(s) as a whole is not patent eligible under 101 analysis. Therefore, claim 17 does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101 under 101 analysis.
Claim 18, recites, in part, “increasing one or more of a frequency and volume of the audible alert as a function of time since the object classified as the potential hazard is detected.” The step of “increasing a frequency and volume of the audible alert” is recited to merely constitute post-solution activities after a determination of a hazard being present. That is, the audible alert step is recited at a high level of generality and merely produces a sound as a generic output after a determination. The limitation does not impose any limits on how the sound is produced or require any particular components that are used to produce the audible alert. As such the claimed limitations of “alarm device” is reasonably understood as not providing anything significantly more and the claim(s) as a whole is not patent eligible under 101. Therefore, claim 18 does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101 under 101 analysis.
Claim 19, recites, in part, “operating an image projection device to emit a second projection beam onto the surface of the area to indicate a path for the person to avoid the potential hazard, the surface being a floor surface.” In such limitation as drafted, the eligibility of the claim is self-evident when viewed as a whole, does not recite an abstract idea and thus is not directed to a judicial exception. The claim recites a combination of additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception by requiring unique material and structure for constructing the apparatus such as using a specific image projection device. Applicant’s specification discloses an “image projection device” in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a). Furthermore, the claimed “Image projection device,” as described in paragraph [0043] discloses the following: “The image projection device 218 may be a projector, such as a digital light processing (DLP) projector, liquid-crystal display (LCD) projector, light-emitting diode (LED) projector, liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) projector, laser projector, or the like, capable of projecting an image onto the floor surface of the room around the person support apparatus 100”. As such the claimed limitations of “image projection device” is reasonably understood as providing significantly more and the claim as a whole is patent eligible under 101 analysis. Accordingly, claim 19 qualifies as eligible subject matter.
Corresponding dependent claim 20 are patent eligible under 101 analysis on virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Criado-Perez et al. (US 20190385430 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Perez”).
Regarding claim 1, Perez discloses an apparatus comprising: a controller configured to (“the hazard detection server 104 are computing devices with one or more non-transitory computer readable media, one or more central processing units (CPUs), and one or more network interfaces.” Perez, [0034]): analyze image data within an area (“The imaging processor module is configured to analyze the digital image from the imaging device to determine whether a hazard condition is present in the digital image by determining a probability that an object is present in the digital image.” Perez, [0075]); determine an object is present in the area based on the image data (“ the object comprises any suitable item or set of items that can be used to identify a hazardous condition either by the object's presence or absence.” Perez, [0075]); determine if the object is a potential hazard based on the image data (“The hazard detection program includes an imaging processor module configured to analyze the digital image from the imaging device to determine whether a hazard condition is present in the digital image by determining a probability that an object is present in the digital image... The hazard detection program includes a notification module configured, in response to the imaging processor module determining the probability exceeds a threshold, to send an electronic alert message to at least one recipient. The electronic alert message is configured to alert the recipient that the hazard condition is present at the location site according to the digital image.” Perez, [0011]); and in response to determining the object is a potential hazard, emitting a projection beam onto a surface of the area to illuminate the object (“The hazard detection processor 158 can be programmed to transmit the command signal when it calculates the probability of the existence of a hazard condition that exceeds a predetermined threshold. The projector 195 is configured to project an illumination in response to receiving the command signal. In embodiments, any suitable projector can be used. In embodiments, the projector 195 can be positionably controlled via the hazard detection processor 158 to adjust the location of the illumination projected by the projector 195 such that the illumination can be projected near the location of the hazard condition as determined by the hazard detection processor 158.” Perez, [0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Perez discloses a method for detecting hazardous objects proximate a person support apparatus comprising: capturing image data within an area (“The imaging device is configured to generate a digital image of a region of the location site. The processor is in operable arrangement with the camera to receive the digital image” Perez, [0010]); analyzing the captured image data (“The imaging processor module is configured to analyze the digital image from the imaging device to determine whether a hazard condition is present in the digital image by determining a probability that an object is present in the digital image.” Perez, [0075]); determining an object is present in the area based on captured image data (“ the object comprises any suitable item or set of items that can be used to identify a hazardous condition either by the object's presence or absence.” Perez, [0075]); determining if the object is a potential hazard based on the captured image data (“The hazard detection program includes an imaging processor module configured to analyze the digital image from the imaging device to determine whether a hazard condition is present in the digital image by determining a probability that an object is present in the digital image... The hazard detection program includes a notification module configured, in response to the imaging processor module determining the probability exceeds a threshold, to send an electronic alert message to at least one recipient. The electronic alert message is configured to alert the recipient that the hazard condition is present at the location site according to the digital image.” Perez, [0011]); and in response to determining the object is a potential hazard, emitting a projection beam onto a surface of the area to illuminate the object (“The hazard detection processor 158 can be programmed to transmit the command signal when it calculates the probability of the existence of a hazard condition that exceeds a predetermined threshold. The projector 195 is configured to project an illumination in response to receiving the command signal. In embodiments, any suitable projector can be used. In embodiments, the projector 195 can be positionably controlled via the hazard detection processor 158 to adjust the location of the illumination projected by the projector 195 such that the illumination can be projected near the location of the hazard condition as determined by the hazard detection processor 158.” Perez, [0066]).
Regarding claim 17, Perez discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising operating an alarm device to provide an audible alert in response to determining the object classified as the potential hazard is present (“If a hazardous condition is detected, the messaging system 114 provides a warning alert... In embodiments, the warning alert can be configured to be visually displayed on a display device and/or audibly emitted through a speaker.” Perez, [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Criado-Perez et al. in view of Chen et al. (CN 110522576 A, English translation- hereinafter referred to as “Chen”).
Regarding claim 18, Perez discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising the object classified as the potential hazard is detected (“If a hazardous condition is detected, the messaging system 114 provides a warning alert... In embodiments, the warning alert can be configured to be visually displayed on a display device and/or audibly emitted through a speaker.” Perez, [0032]).
Perez discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching increasing one or more of a frequency and volume of the audible alert as a function of time. However, 2nd ref in the same field of endeavor teaches increasing one or more of a frequency and volume of the audible alert as a function of time (“the general controller will send out an alarm after analysis, including warning sound and warning light. At the same time, the warning sound will gradually increase with time. Suddenly and the volume increases” Chen, bottom of pg. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Perez and Chen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to provide auditory warnings for protection and early warning systems of patients (Chen, pg. 2). This motivation for the combination of Perez and Chen is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Criado-Perez et al. in view of Glatfelter et al. (US 20170337820 A1, - hereinafter referred to as “Glatfelter”).
Regarding claim 19, Perez discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching determining that a person is present in the area; and in response to determining the person is present in the area, operating an image projection device to emit a second projection beam onto the surface of the area to indicate a path for the person to avoid the potential hazard, the surface being a floor surface. However, Glatfelter in the same field of endeavor teaches determining that a person is present in the area (multiple objects 106 and/or individuals 110 may be monitored with the anticipatory collision avoidance system 200” Glatfelter, [0027]); and in response to determining the person is present in the area, operating an image projection device to emit a second projection beam onto the surface of the area to indicate a path for the person to avoid the potential hazard, the surface being a floor surface (“the projection device 114 may be configured as a light emitting device disposed proximate to a floor pathway in the facility 202 for illuminating a portion of the floor pathway in response to the output signal, to provide warning indicia at the intersection region of the movable objects.” Glatfelter, [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Perez and Glatfelter before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to identify and warn individuals of potential conditions that could result in impact of the individual with a moving object (Glatfelter, [0004]). This motivation for the combination of Perez and Glatfelter is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 20, Perez and Glatfelter disclose the method of claim 19, further comprising determining a location of the person support apparatus within the area (“The controller of the collision avoidance system 200 may be programmed with a control algorithm as will be described herein that senses the physical location (e.g., three-dimensional location) in proximity to the objects (such as the mass) and determines potential collisions using one or more collision threshold algorithms” Glatfelter, [0033]; wherein the object may be a person as described at [0027]).
Therefore, combining Perez and Glatfelter would meet the claim limitations for the same reasons as previously discussed in claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-6 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eulloqui et al. (US 20190043331 A1) discloses method for providing smart mobility assistance by monitoring an area surrounding a user for hazards and sending feedback alerts to user.
Inquiries
/EMMANUEL SILVA-AVINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673