DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 3/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/20/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Podolksky et al U.S Pat 8,579,985.
Claim 1: Podolksky et al disclose a trial femoral assembly for hip arthroplasty as best seen in figure 65, comprising: a head 5300; a neck 5200 connected to the head; and a stem 5110 or broach connected to the neck, wherein the neck is expandible and collapsible; regarding the intended use and other functional languages as in the underline phrase, a recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior arts in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior arts. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, Podolksky, figure 65 looks and functional similar to claim 1.
Claims 2-3: Podolksky et al disclose wherein the stem 5110 or broach can move laterally in relation to the longitudinal axis of the neck, see fig. 67; further comprising a notched rod (at the opening around the area 1502) located within a housing and within a circular lower neck portion 1504 having a tilted spiral cam (it is noted that the bore 1512 that has spiral thread) that interacts with the notched rod to provide movement involving extension or retraction of the neck.
Claims 5, 8: Podolksky et al disclose further comprising a bevel gear (beveled edges as best seen in figures 8a-c) located on an outer surface of the head that engages a screw 806 located inside the head to move the neck to provide extension or retraction (see col. 26, lines 46-64); wherein the coupling sleeve 912 is attached to the neck (see fig. 9a).
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Philippon et al U.S 2016/0143743
Claim 1: Philippon et al disclose a trial femoral assembly for hip arthroplasty as best seen in figures 1a,b, comprising: a head 105; a neck 102 connected to the head; and a stem 212 or broach connected to the neck, wherein the neck is expandible at fig. 1a and collapsible at fig. 1b; regarding the intended use and other functional languages as in the underline phrase, a recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior arts in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior arts. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, Philippon, figures 1a,b look and functional similar to claim 1.
Claim 2: Philippon et al disclose the stem can move laterally to a longitudinal axis of the neck (see paragraph 38).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,6-7,9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771