DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claim’s amendment dated 6/1/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “the bracket recesses” in claim 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Suggestion – “the at least one bracket recess...”
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12, 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Froese et al. U.S. Patent 11,258,163 (hereinafter D1).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display (104; figure 1A) positioned on a first side (upper side) of the electronic device (100; figure 1B);
a rear cover (106b; figure 1A) positioned on a second side (back side) of the electronic device opposite to the first side;
a bracket (502; figure 5C) disposed between the display (104) and the rear cover (106b) to support at least a portion of the display and having a bracket end surface (see above annotated figure 5C);
and an outer cover (114; figure 5C) having a first cover surface (see above annotated figure 5C) and a second cover surface (see above annotated figure 5c) opposite to the first cover surface, and the second cover surface facing (see above annotated figure 5C) the bracket end surface, covering the bracket; and
a buffer member filling (material inside above annotated groove; figure 5C) wherein the bracket and the outer cover are assembled together to form a buffer groove (see above annotated figure 5C) formed between (see above figure 5C) the bracket end surface of the bracket and at least a portion of the second cover surface of the outer cover, and the outer cover covering (see above figure 5C) the bracket, which face (see above figure 5C) each other, wherein the buffer groove is at least partly filled (see above figure 5C) with a buffer member that comprises a buffer material (see above figure 5C).
Regarding claim 3, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the bracket comprises at least one bracket recess (see above annotated figure 5C) formed in a direction opposite to a direction from the bracket end surface toward the second cover surface.
Regarding claim 4, D1 the electronic device of claim 3, including a plurality of bracket recesses (see above annotated figure 5C), wherein the bracket further comprises at least one bracket rib (see above annotated figure 5C) formed between the bracket recesses, and wherein at least a portion of the bracket rib is in contact (indirect contact via the buffer material; see figure 5C) with the second cover surface.
Regarding claim 5, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the bracket further comprises at least one bracket jaw (see above annotated figure 5C) formed at a point (upper and lower point/side of the bracket jaw; see figure 5C) where the bracket recesses end, and wherein at least a portion of the bracket jaw is in contact (indirect contact via the buffer material) with the second cover surface.
Regarding claim 6, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the buffer member (see figure 5C; the material filled in spaces 522, 524 and 526) is filled in a space formed between the bracket recess and the second cover surface.
Regarding claim 10, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a spacing (see figure 5C; space 522, 524 or 526) is formed between the bracket end surface and the second cover surface.
Regarding claim 12, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the buffer member comprises at least one or a combination of polyurethane (see column 26, lines 12-16), epoxy, or an ultraviolet (UV) coating agent.
Regarding claim 14, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the buffer groove is disposed on at least one (see figure 5C) of a plurality of edges (see figures 1-3) of the electronic device.
Regarding claim 15, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the outer cover extends (see figure 5C) from an edge (see below annotated figure 5C) of the display to an edge (see below annotated figure 5C) of the rear cover.
Regarding claim 16, D1 teaches a frame module including a frame surrounding an outer edge of an electronic device, the frame module comprising:
a bracket (502; figure 5C) comprising a bracket end surface (see above annotated figure 5C); and
an outer cover (114; figure 5C) comprising a first cover surface (see above annotated figure 5C) and a second cover surface (see above annotated figure 5C) opposite to the first cover surface, and the second cover surface facing (see figure 5C) the bracket end surface;
wherein the bracket and the outer cover are coupled to form a buffer groove (see above annotated figure 5C) between the bracket end surface of the bracket and at least a portion of the second cover surface of the outer cover, and the outer cover enclosing (see figure 5C) the bracket,
wherein the buffer groove is at least partly filled with a buffer member (material inside above annotated groove; figure 5C) that comprises a buffer material (material inside above annotated groove; figure 5C) having a shock-absorbing effect (see column 26, lines 11-18; “polyurethane” inherently has shock-absorbing property/effect), and wherein the bracket and the outer cover are coupled (see figure 5C) by the buffer member.
Regarding claim 18, D1 teaches the frame module of claim 16, wherein the buffer groove comprises at least one bracket recess (see above annotated figure 5C) formed in a direction opposite (see above figure 5C) to a direction from the bracket end surface toward the second cover surface.
Regarding claim 19, D1 teaches the frame module of claim 18, including a plurality of bracket recesses (see above annotated figure 5C), wherein the bracket further comprises: at least one bracket rib (see above annotated figure 5C) formed between (see above annotated figure 5C) the bracket recesses; and at least one bracket jaw (see above annotated figure 5C) formed at a point where the bracket recesses end (see above annotated figure 5C), and wherein the bracket rib and at least a portion of the bracket jaw are in contact (indirect contact via the buffer material) with the second cover surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Watanabe U.S. Patent 9,654,166 (hereinafter D2).
Regarding claim 2, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
However, D1 does not specifically teach wherein the bracket end surface and the second cover surface are inclined in directions facing each other and configured to settle the buffer member in the buffer groove.
D2 shows a buffer groove (127; figure 10)having inclined direction (see figure 10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the bracket end surface and the second cover surface of D1 such that they would be inclined in directions facing each other and configured to settle the buffer member in the buffer groove, as suggested by D2, for the ease of filling said groove with the buffer material.
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above, D1 teaches the frame module of claim 16.
However, D1 does not specifically teach wherein the bracket end surface, the second cover surface, or a combination of the bracket end surface and the second cover surface are inclined in directions facing each other and configured to settle the buffer member in the buffer groove.
D2 shows a buffer groove (127; figure 10)having inclined direction (see figure 10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the bracket end surface and the second cover surface of D1 such that they would be inclined in directions facing each other and configured to settle the buffer member in the buffer groove, as suggested by D2, for the ease of filling said groove with the buffer material.
10. Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Even though, D1 does not specifically teach wherein a maximum width of the buffer groove is greater than 0.3 millimeters, however, it would have been obvious to derive a maximum width of said buffer groove to be greater than 0.3 millimeters, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
Even though, D1 does not specifically teach a depth of the buffer groove set in a direction from the display toward the rear cover is larger than a maximum width of the buffer groove, however, it would have been obvious to derive such depth, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
11. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Chung et al. U.S. Patent 10,495,909 (hereinafter D3).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above, D1 teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the bracket and the outer cover are coupled by the buffer member.
However, D1 does not specifically teach the buffer member is filled by jetting.
D3, shows jetting method (see column 6, lines 6-15) has been commonly known for filling.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use jetting method for filling the buffer member of D1, as suggested by D3, to form said buffer member.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest an electronic device, in combination with all the positively recited elements of claim 20, wherein the outer cover comprises a plurality of cover recesses formed in a direction opposite to a direction from the second cover surface toward the bracket end surface, and wherein the buffer groove is formed in a space between the bracket recess and the cover recesses.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNG Q DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841