DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Georgiou et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20230100656) in view of Holmes et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20230408820).
Regarding Claim 1,
Georgiou et al. teach
an apparatus ([0008], FIG. 1-2, i.e. HMD device 100) comprising:
a lens layer ([0008], FIG. 1-2, i.e. visual assembly 104) comprising a transparent ([0008], FIG. 1-2, i.e. can be transparent) lens ([0013], FIG. 1-2, i.e. visual assembly 104 can include an optical layer 202; [0014], FIG. 1-2, i.e. optical layer 202 can include multiple optical components 204 … can be manifest as mirrors and/or lenses); and
an eye-tracking layer ([0008], FIG. 1-2, i.e. electronic components 116; [0009], FIG. 1-2, i.e. electronic components 116(1) … directed toward the eye box 112 to gain information about the user's eye 114) abutting ([0008], FIG. 1-2, i.e. 104 can also include side-by-side electronic components 116 … term side-by-side is used to indicate that the electronic components are positioned adjacent to one another on the electrical layer 108 either abutting …) the lens layer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and comprising:
one or more micro light emitting diodes (LEDs) ([0015], FIG. 1-2, i.e. 116(1) can entail … light emitting diode(s) (LED)) positioned on a transparent conductor film ([0025], FIG. 1-2, i.e. electrical layer 108 … can be made on a plastic (e.g., first) substrate with transparent wires).
However, Georgiou et al. do not explicitly teach
transparent metal mesh traces positioned on the transparent conductor film and connecting the one or more micro LEDs to an LED controller adjacent to the transparent lens.
In the same field of endeavor, Holmes et al. teach
transparent metal mesh traces ([0031], FIG. 1, i.e. electrical traces can be metal … can be formed from one or more transparent electrically conductive materials) positioned on the transparent conductor film ([0031], FIG. 1, i.e. transparent flexible substrate 104 ) and connecting the one or more micro LEDs ([0031], FIG. 1, i.e. to electrically power (e.g., carry current to and from) the LEDs 102) to an LED controller ([0080], FIG. 9, i.e. cable or wiring, may provide power and enable control by a processor of the panel 914 via traces 916 connected to electronics of the panel 914 that control the sparse LED arrays 912a, 912b) adjacent to the transparent lens ([0054], FIG. 1, i.e. visualization system 10 can optionally include one or more lenses 34).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Georgiou et al. teaching a HMD comprising lens and eye-tracking layer including LEDs with Holmes et al. teaching a HMD transparent metal traces connecting the LEDs and its controller to effectively power and drive pixels and/or illuminate user’s eyes for tracking purposes (Holmes et al.’s [0080]).
Regarding Claim 2,
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
Georgiou et al. teach
the one or more micro LEDs are positioned within the eye-tracking layer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) to correspond with a periphery of the lens layer ([0010], FIG. 1-2, i.e. eye tracking and depth sensing components around a periphery of the HMD device).
Regarding Claim 6,
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
Holmes et al. teach
the transparent metal mesh traces (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprise a width of less than 5µm ([0063], FIG. 5, i.e. thickness of the traces 514 may range from about 0.5 μm to about 10 μm, typically about 1 μm).
Regarding Claim 7,
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
Holmes et al. teach
the transparent metal mesh traces (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprise a thickness of less than 5µm ([0063], FIG. 5, i.e. thickness of the traces 514 may range from about 0.5 μm to about 10 μm, typically about 1 μm).
3. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Georgiou et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20230100656) and Holmes et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20230408820) in view of FOSTER et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20250004283).
Regarding Claim 3,
Georgiou et al. and Holmes et al. teach
the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Georgiou et al. and Holmes et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the transparent metal mesh traces connecting each LED to the LED controller are in a ladder configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, FOSTER et al. teach
wherein the transparent metal mesh traces ([0052], FIG. 2, i.e. transparent conductors 252, 254) connecting each LED to the LED controller ([0052], FIG. 2, i.e. light sources (e.g., mini-LEDs, micro-IR LEDs, and the like) ... The controller 250 may control and provide power to the light sources) are in a ladder configuration ([0052], FIG. 2, i.e. transparent conductors 252, 254 … metal grids).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Georgiou et al. and Holmes et al. teaching a HMD comprising lens, eye-tracking layer including LEDs, and transparent metal traces connecting the LEDs and its controller with FOSTER et al. teaching a HMD transparent metal grids configuration to effectively provide unobstructed view to user (FOSTER et al.’s [0052]).
4. Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmes et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20230408820) in view of Georgiou et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20230100656).
Regarding Claim 14,
Holmes et al. teach
a head-mounted display device ([0042], FIG. 2, i.e. visualization system 10 can include a wearable housing 12, such as a headset) comprising:
a pair of lenses ([0054], FIG. 2, i.e. one or more lenses 34 … light can be directed toward both eyes of the user) within the head-mounted display device configured to be positioned in front of a user’s eyes ([0054], FIG. 2, i.e. one or more lenses 34 … light can be directed toward both eyes of the user) when the head-mounted display device is worn by the user (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
a light emitting diode (LED) controller ([0080], FIG. 9, i.e. cable or wiring, may provide power and enable control by a processor of the panel 914 via traces 916 connected to electronics of the panel 914 that control the sparse LED arrays);
wherein each of the pair of lenses ([0141], FIG. 18, i.e. may be arranged in pairs) comprises:
transparent metal mesh traces ([0031], FIG. 1, i.e. electrical traces can be metal … can be formed from one or more transparent electrically conductive materials) positioned on the transparent conductor film ([0031], FIG. 1, i.e. transparent flexible substrate 104 ) and connecting the one or more micro LEDs ([0031], FIG. 1, i.e. to electrically power (e.g., carry current to and from) the LEDs 102) to the LED controller([0080], FIG. 9, i.e. cable or wiring, may provide power and enable control by a processor of the panel 914 via traces 916 connected to electronics of the panel 914 that control the sparse LED arrays 912a, 912b).
However, Holmes et al. do not explicitly teach
a lens layer comprising a transparent lens;
a display layer abutting the lens layer for displaying virtual content; and
an eye-tracking layer abutting the display layer and comprising:
one or more micro LEDs positioned on a transparent conductor film.
In the same field of endeavor, Georgiou et al. teach
a lens layer ([0008], FIG. 1-2, i.e. visual assembly 104) comprising a transparent ([0008], FIG. 1-2, i.e. can be transparent) lens ([0013], FIG. 1-2, i.e. visual assembly 104 can include an optical layer 202; [0014], FIG. 1-2, i.e. optical layer 202 can include multiple optical components 204 … can be manifest as mirrors and/or lenses);
a display layer ([0015], FIG. 1-2, i.e. RGB display module 206(1)) abutting (FIG. 2, i.e. 206 abutting 204 as shown by the figure) the lens layer for displaying virtual content ([0015], FIG. 1-2, i.e. RGB image generation); and
an eye-tracking layer ([0016], FIG. 1-2, i.e. eye tracking illumination module 208(1)) abutting (FIG. 2, i.e. 208 abutting 206 as shown by the figure) the display layer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and comprising:
one or more micro LEDs ([0015], FIG. 1-2, i.e. 116(1) can entail … light emitting diode(s) (LED)) positioned on a transparent conductor film ([0025], FIG. 1-2, i.e. electrical layer 108 … can be made on a plastic (e.g., first) substrate with transparent wires).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Georgiou et al. teaching a HMD comprising lens and eye-tracking layer including LEDs with Holmes et al. teaching a HMD transparent metal traces connecting the LEDs and its controller to effectively power and drive pixels and/or illuminate user’s eyes for tracking purposes (Holmes et al.’s [0080]).
Regarding Claim 15,
the head-mounted display device of claim 14, wherein
Georgiou et al. teach
the one or more micro LEDs are positioned within the eye-tracking layer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) to correspond with a periphery of the lens layer ([0010], FIG. 1-2, i.e. eye tracking and depth sensing components around a periphery of the HMD device).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim(s) 8-13 is/are allowed.
6. Claim(s) 4-5 and 16-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Georgiou et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20230100656) teach head mounted display devices. One example can include a housing configured to be positioned relative to a head and eye of a user and a transparent visual assembly positioned by the housing in front of the user's eye and comprising multiple eye tracking illuminators distributed across the transparent visual assembly and configured to emit non-visible light and multiple eye tracking detectors distributed across the transparent visual assembly and configured to detect the non-visible light reflected back from the eye of the user.
Holmes et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20230408820) teach a virtual reality (VR) headset, system, and method of fabrication are disclosed. The VR headset includes a frame, a transparent display that includes an array of light-emitting diodes (LEDs), and a darkening layer having a controllable opacity, and a processor controlling the display and darkening layer. A proximity sensor detects a potential collision, and the opacity is changed from opaque to transparent in response to detection of the potential collision. The opacity is changed in response to activation of a virtual user input or predetermined eye movement.
The subject matter of the claim(s) that could neither be found nor suggested obviously combinable in the prior arts of record. The subject matter was a HMD display device including
“…the apparatus further comprises a display layer comprising a waveguide for displaying virtual content; and
the ladder configuration is randomized in the eye-tracking layer to prevent interference between the transparent metal mesh traces of the eye-tracking layer and the waveguide of the display layer of the apparatus.” (Claim 4; Claim 16 is similar),
“…the transparent metal mesh traces comprise an aperture ratio and mesh density that make the transparent metal mesh traces invisible to a user.” (Claim 5),
“…the transparent metal mesh traces comprise a width of less than 5µm.” (Claim 6),
“…an eye-tracking and antenna layer abutting the lens layer and comprising:
one or more micro light emitting diodes (LEDs) positioned on a transparent conductor film;
transparent metal mesh traces positioned on the transparent conductor film and connecting the one or more micro LEDs to an LED controller adjacent to the transparent lens; and
one or more wireless metal mesh antenna elements adjacent to the one or more micro LEDs.” (Claim 8),
in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the device or apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628