DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16, 17 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen (US. Pub. No. 2015/0341941 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0074893 A1; hereinafter “ZHANG").
Regarding claim 1, Nguyen teaches a first network node (see Nguyen, fig. 12) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (see Nguyen, fig. 12, para. [0078]); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see Nguyen, fig. 12, para. [0078]), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the first network node to:
receive resource status information associated with a second network node (see Nguyen, fig. 14, 1404, throughput of the micro cell); and
perform a power amplifier backoff adaptation based on the resource status information (see Nguyen, para. [0060,80-82], increase/decrease ABS subframes).
Nguyen is silent to teaching that wherein the power amplifier backoff adaptation includes one of: reconfiguring a power supplied to a power amplifier to reduce a transmit power from an antenna controlled by the power amplifier, or reducing a power amplifier backoff to increase a power output from the power amplifier.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHANG teaches a device wherein the power amplifier backoff adaptation includes one of: reconfiguring a power supplied to a power amplifier to reduce a transmit power from an antenna controlled by the power amplifier, or reducing a power amplifier backoff to increase a power output from the power amplifier (see ZHANG, para. [0036,0043-45], fig. 6, 108,110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen with the teaching of ZHANG in order to reduce interference and maintain signal quality (see ZHANG, para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Nguyen and ZHANG teaches the first network node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the first network node to receive additional resource status information associated with at least one additional network node, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first network node to perform the power amplifier backoff adaptation, are individually or collectively configured to cause the first network node to perform the power amplifier backoff adaptation based on the additional resource status information (see Nguyen, fig. 8, micro 2, para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Nguyen and ZHANG teaches the first network node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause a disruptive interference to counter in-band and out-of-band emissions that result in interference to at least one of: an affected user equipment, an affected frequency, an affected cell, or an affected beam (see ZHANG, para. [0019-20]).
Regarding claim 27, Nguyen teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first network node, comprising:
receiving resource status information associated with a second network node (see Nguyen, fig. 14, 1404, throughput of the micro cell); and
performing a power amplifier backoff adaptation based on the resource status information (see Nguyen, para. [0060,80-82], increase/decrease ABS subframes).
Nguyen is silent to teaching that wherein the power amplifier backoff adaptation includes one of: reconfiguring a power supplied to a power amplifier to reduce a transmit power from an antenna controlled by the power amplifier, or reducing a power amplifier backoff to increase a power output from the power amplifier.
In the same field of endeavor, ZHANG teaches a device wherein the power amplifier backoff adaptation includes one of: reconfiguring a power supplied to a power amplifier to reduce a transmit power from an antenna controlled by the power amplifier, or reducing a power amplifier backoff to increase a power output from the power amplifier (see ZHANG, para. [0036,0043-45], fig. 6, 108,110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen with the teaching of ZHANG in order to reduce interference and maintain signal quality (see ZHANG, para. [0003]).
Claim(s) 18, 25 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Choi et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0360419 A1; hereinafter “CHOI”)
Regarding claim 18, Nguyen teaches a second network node for wireless communication (see Nguyen, fig. 5, micro 504), comprising:
one or more memories (see Nguyen, fig. 12, para. [0078]); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see Nguyen, fig. 12, para. [0078]), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the second network node to:
detect an occurrence of a trigger condition for providing resource status information associated with a power amplifier backoff adaptation corresponding to a first network node (see Nguyen, fig. 13, 1302, para. [0079]); and
transmit the resource status information based on the occurrence of the trigger condition (see Nguyen, fig. 13, 1304, para. [0079]).
Nguyen is silent to teaching that wherein the resource status information indicates an acceptance by the second network node that is associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation, and the acceptance is limited to at least one of: one or more beams, one or frequencies, one or more time periods, or one or more user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, CHOI teaches a device wherein the resource status information indicates an acceptance by the second network node that is associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see CHOI, fig. 5, 505, para. [0110]), and the acceptance is limited to at least one of: one or more beams, one or frequencies, one or more time periods, or one or more user equipment (see CHOI, fig. 6, 603, selected mobile device, para. [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen with the teaching of CHOI in order to provide high quality transmission in high density environment (see CHOI, para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Nguyen and CHOI teaches the second network node of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the second network node to detect the occurrence of the trigger condition, are individually or collectively configured to cause the second network node to detect that no user equipment is connected to a cell that is susceptible to interference associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see Nguyen, fig. 9, para. [0072,74], 0% utilization of ABS by the micro).
Regarding claim 29, Nguyen teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a second network node, comprising:
detecting an occurrence of a trigger condition for providing resource status information associated with a power amplifier backoff adaptation corresponding to a first network node (see Nguyen, fig. 13, 1302, para. [0079]); and
transmitting the resource status information based on the occurrence of the trigger condition (see Nguyen, fig. 13, 1304, para. [0079]).
Nguyen is silent to teaching that wherein the resource status information indicates an acceptance by the second network node that is associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation, and the acceptance is limited to at least one of: one or more beams, one or frequencies, one or more time periods, or one or more user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, CHOI teaches a method wherein the resource status information indicates an acceptance by the second network node that is associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see CHOI, fig. 5, 505, para. [0110]), and the acceptance is limited to at least one of: one or more beams, one or frequencies, one or more time periods, or one or more user equipment (see CHOI, fig. 6, 603, selected mobile device, para. [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen with the teaching of CHOI in order to provide high quality transmission in high density environment (see CHOI, para. [0003]).
Claim(s) 2-9, 19-21, 28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen, ZHANG and CHOI as applied to claims 1, 18, 27 and 29 above, and further in view of Pang et al. (US. Pub. NO. 2013/0044704 A1; hereinafter “Pang”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nguyen and ZHANG teaches the first network node of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the first network node to transmit a resource status request communication (see Nguyen, fig. 1402).
The combination of Nguyen and ZHANG is silent to teaching that wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to receive the resource status information based on the resource status request communication.
In the same field of endeavor, Pang teaches a device wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to receive the resource status information based on the resource status request communication (see Pang, fig. 1, resource status reporting request, para. [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen and ZHANG with the teaching of Pang in order to provide adequate and efficient ABS algorithms (see Pang, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Nguyen, ZHANG and Pang teaches the first network node of claim 2, wherein the resource status request communication comprises an indication associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see Nguyen, fig. 14, 1402, allocated ABS pattern).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nguyen, ZHANG and Pang teaches the first network node of claim 2, wherein the resource status request communication indicates a time period corresponding to the power amplifier backoff adaptation (See Nguyen, fig. 5, ABS 514, 516, para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nguyen, ZHANG and Pang teaches the first network node of claim 2, wherein the resource status request communication indicates at least one time resource corresponding to the power amplifier backoff adaptation (See Nguyen, fig. 5, ABS 514, 516, para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nguyen, ZHANG and Pang teaches the first network node of claim 2, wherein the resource status request communication comprises an indication of a power amplifier backoff adaptation pattern associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (See Nguyen, fig. 5, ABS 514, 516, para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Nguyen, ZHANG and Pang teaches the e first network node of claim 6, wherein the indication of the power amplifier backoff adaptation pattern indicates a plurality of time resources associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (See Nguyen, fig. 5, ABS 514, 516, para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Nguyen, ZHANG and Pang teaches the first network node of claim 6, wherein the indication of the power amplifier backoff adaptation pattern indicates power amplifier backoff adaptation information associated with at least one time resource position of a set of time resource positions, wherein the set of time resource positions comprises a pattern to be applied to at least one set of time resources (See Nguyen, fig. 5, ABS 514, 516, para. [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Nguyen, ZHANG and Pang teaches the first network node of claim 6, wherein the indication of the power amplifier backoff adaptation pattern indicates at least one power amplifier backoff adaptation value associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see Nguyen, para. [0068]).
Regarding claims 19-21, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2, 6 and 4, respectively.
Regarding claims 28 and 30, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 2.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen and ZHANG as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CHOI.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Nguyen and ZHANG teaches the first network node of claim 1.
The combination of Nguyen and ZHANG is silent to teaching that wherein the resource status information indicates an acceptance by the second network node that is associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation.
In the same field of endeavor, CHOI teaches a device wherein the resource status information indicates an acceptance by the second network node that is associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see CHOI, fig. 5, 505, para. [0110]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen and ZHANG with the teaching of CHOI in order to provide high quality transmission in high density environment (see CHOI, para. [0003]).
Claim(s) 10, 11, 13-15, 23, 24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen, ZHANG, CHOI and Pang/Kim as applied to claims 1, 6, 12 and 18 above, and further in view of Haghighat et al. (US. Pub. No. 2013/0194950 A1; hereinafter “Haghighat”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Nguyen, ZHANG, CHOI and Pang teaches the first network node of claim 6.
The combination of Nguyen and Pang is silent to teaching that wherein the indication of the power amplifier backoff adaptation pattern indicates at least one beam associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation pattern.
In the same field of endeavor, Haghighat teaches a device wherein the indication of the power amplifier backoff adaptation pattern indicates at least one beam associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation pattern (see Haghighat, fig. 9, para. [0075,125-7], fig. 20, para. [0133-136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen, ZHANG, CHOI and Pang/Kim with the teaching of Haghighat in order to provide spectrum sharing efficiently and reduce interference (see Haghighat, para. [0002]).
Regarding claims 11 and 13, the dependent claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 10.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Nguyen, ZHANG, CHOI and Kim teaches the first network node of claim 12, wherein the resource status information indicates a rejection by the second network node that is associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see Kim, fig. 14, S1400, para. [0236-7], increase/decrease).
The combination of Nguyen, ZHANG, CHOI and Kim is silent to teaching that wherein the resource status information indicates at least one beam associated with the rejection.
In the same field of endeavor, Haghighat teaches a device wherein the resource status information indicates at least one beam associated with the rejection (see Haghighat, fig. 9, para. [0075,125-7], fig. 20, para. [0133-136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen, ZHANG, CHOI and Pang/Kim with the teaching of Haghighat in order to provide spectrum sharing efficiently and reduce interference (see Haghighat, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Nguyen, ZHANG, CHOI and Kim teaches the first network node of claim 12.
The combination of Nguyen, ZHANG, CHOI and Kim is silent to teaching that wherein the resource status information indicates a cell deactivation associated with a duration associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation.
In the same field of endeavor, Haghighat teaches a device wherein the resource status information indicates a cell deactivation associated with a duration associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see Haghighat, fig. 18, para. [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen, ZHANG, CHOI and Pang/Kim with the teaching of Haghighat in order to provide spectrum sharing efficiently and reduce interference (see Haghighat, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Nguyen and CHOI teaches the second network node of claim 18.
The combination of Nguyen and CHOI is silent to teaching that wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the second network node to refrain from scheduling a downlink communication corresponding to a beam associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation.
In the same field of endeavor, Haghighat teaches a device wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the second network node to refrain from scheduling a downlink communication corresponding to a beam associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see Haghighat, fig. 9, para. [0075,125-7], fig. 20, para. [0133-136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen and CHOI with the teaching of Haghighat in order to provide spectrum sharing efficiently and reduce interference (see Haghighat, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Nguyen and CHOI teaches the second network node of claim 18.
The combination of Nguyen and CHOI is silent to teaching that wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the second network node to refrain from scheduling a downlink communication corresponding to a user equipment that is susceptible to interference associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation.
In the same field of endeavor, Haghighat teaches a device wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to cause the second network node to refrain from scheduling a downlink communication corresponding to a user equipment that is susceptible to interference associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see Haghighat, fig. 9, para. [0075,125-7], fig. 20, para. [0133-136]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen and CHOI with the teaching of Haghighat in order to provide spectrum sharing efficiently and reduce interference (see Haghighat, para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Nguyen and CHOI teaches the second network node of claim 18.
The combination of Nguyen and CHOI is silent to teaching that wherein the one or more processors, to cause the second network node to detect the occurrence of the trigger condition, are individually or collectively configured to cause the second network node to detect deactivation of a cell that is susceptible to interference associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation
In the same field of endeavor, Haghighat teaches a device wherein the one or more processors, to cause the second network node to detect the occurrence of the trigger condition, are individually or collectively configured to cause the second network node to detect deactivation of a cell that is susceptible to interference associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation (see Haghighat, fig. 18, para. [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen and CHOI and Pang/Kim with the teaching of Haghighat in order to provide spectrum sharing efficiently and reduce interference (see Haghighat, para. [0002]).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen and CHOI as in claim 18 and, further in view of Stirling-Gallacher et al. (US. Pub. No. 2016/0183232 A1; hereinafter “STIRLING”)
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Nguyen and CHOI teaches the second network node of claim 18.
The combination of Nguyen and CHOI is silent to teaching that wherein the resource status information indicates at least one of:
one or more beams associated with the acceptance;
one or more beams associated with a rejection associated with the power amplification backoff adaptation;
one or more beams for which the power amplifier backoff adaptation is disapproved;
a rejection of the power amplifier backoff adaptation associated with at least one of: one or more frequencies, one or more time periods, or one or more user equipment; or
a cell deactivation associated with a duration associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation.
In the same field of endeavor, STIRLING teaches a device wherein the resource status information indicates at least one of:
one or more beams associated with the acceptance (see STIRLING, fig. 10, 1020, para. [0061], beam blanking);
one or more beams associated with a rejection associated with the power amplification backoff adaptation;
one or more beams for which the power amplifier backoff adaptation is disapproved;
a rejection of the power amplifier backoff adaptation associated with at least one of: one or more frequencies, one or more time periods, or one or more user equipment; or
a cell deactivation associated with a duration associated with the power amplifier backoff adaptation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Nguyen and CHOI with the teaching of STIRLING in order to improve communication quality and reduce interference (see STIRLING, para. [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 and 23-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hong (US. Pub. No.2020/0205087 A1) teaches wireless communication systems.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648