DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 6-8, 10, 16-18, and 20 and the cancelation of claims 2-5 and 12-13.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 currently depends on canceled claim 2, to expedite prosecution the Examiner has examined the claim as depending on claim 1 as claim 1 has been amended to include the limitations from claim 2. The applicant is advised to amend the claim to properly depend on another claim, to amend the claim to be in proper independent form, or to cancel the claim.
Claim 16, lines 17-18 reads “and operating member is fixed relative to the spool in a direction of the central axis” should read “and the line-winding operating member is fixed relative to the spool in a direction of a central axis”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Automatic line release device” as recited in claim 1 (first, “device” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “configured to”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the phrase “automatic line release” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the automatic line release device).
“Line-winding operating member” as recited in claim 1 (first, “member” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “line-winding operating”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “operating” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the operating member).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-11, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 2022/0104431 A1) in view of Peng et al. (US 2021/0144914 A1) and Cholst et al. (US 11,122,735 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Guo teaches a string trimmer head (Guo, Figs. 1-4, 11), comprising:
a spool (Guo, Figs. 2-4 and 6, 112) around which a string trimmer line (Guo, Fig. 1, 15) is capable of being wound (Guo, P. 0047 and 0120);
a head housing (Guo, Figs. 1-4, 111) having an accommodation space (Guo, Fig. 2, 114) capable of accommodating at least part of the spool (Guo, Fig. 2, 112, P. 0127);
an automatic line release device (Guo, Figs. 3-4, 6-8 and 11-13, 113) configured to enable the spool and the head housing to generate a first relative rotation so that the string trimmer head releases the string trimmer line (Guo, P. 0123, “second equilibrium state”), wherein the string trimmer line has an effective length (Guo, Fig. 1, 15a) extending out of the accommodation space (Guo, P. 0121); and the automatic line release device is further configured to make the string trimmer head release the string trimmer line when the effective length of the string trimmer line is less than a preset value (Guo, P. 0121); and
a bottom member (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 2 (Guo) below) connected to the housing.
Guo does not teach a line-winding operating member configured to be operable by a user to drive the spool and the head housing to generate a second relative rotation so that the string trimmer line is wound around the spool, wherein the head housing is provided with a through hole along a central axis, part of the line-winding operating member penetrates through the through hole and enters the accommodation space of the head housing, the line-winding operating member rotates synchronously with the spool, and the line-winding operating member is fixed relative to the spool in a direction of the central axis.
Peng teaches a string trimmer head (Peng, Fig. 1, 10) comprising a line-winding operating member (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 14) configured to be operable by a user to drive the spool (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 12) and the head housing (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 13) to generate a second relative rotation so that the string trimmer line is wound around the spool (Peng, P. 0030), wherein the head housing (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 13) is provided with a through hole (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 13, P. 0039, “second through hole”, also see annotated image 1 of Fig. 17 (Peng) below) along a central axis (Peng, Fig. 2, 101), part of the line-winding operating member (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 14) penetrates through the through hole and enters the accommodation space of the head housing (Peng, P. 0039), the line-winding operating member (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 14) rotates synchronously with the spool (Peng, P. 0039). Such a configuration allows for the user to manually wind new line onto the spool without the need to open the head housing (Peng, P. 0030).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the trimming head taught by Guo to include a line-winding operating member like that one taught by Peng as doing so allows a user to wind trimmer line onto the spool manually and without the need to open the head housing.
Cholst teaches a string trimmer head (Cholst, Figs. 1-4, 10) comprising a spool (Cholst, Figs. 2-4 and 8, 18) and a line-winding operating member (Cholst, Figs. 1-4 and 7, 38), with a central axis (Cholst, Fig. 1, A) wherein the operating member is fixed relative to the spool in a direction of the central axis (Cholst, Col. 4, lines 52-63). This allows for the line-winding operating member to be bumped to pay out line when desired (Cholst, Col. 4 line 64 – Col. 5 line 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the string trimmer head taught by Guo to include a line-winding operating member fixed relative to the spool in a direction of the central axis like that operating member taught by Cholst as doing so to allow the device to bump feed line.
Regarding claim 6, Guo in view of Peng and Cholst teaches the string trimmer head according to claim 1, wherein the spool (Guo, Fig. 2, 112) is fixed relative to the head housing (Guo, Figs. 1-4, 111) in a direction of the central axis (Guo, Figs. 3-4, 101, P. 0129), as taught by Guo the spool moves only relative to the head housing in a rotational direction.
Regarding claim 7, Guo in view of Peng and Cholst teaches the string trimmer head according to claim 1, wherein, when the string trimmer head is in a state of the first relative rotation, the spool rotates about the central axis of the head housing and relative to the head housing along a first direction (Guo, P. 0123, “second equilibrium state”), or the head housing rotates about the central axis and relative to the spool along the first direction (Guo, P. 0123, “second equilibrium state”) and, when the string trimmer head is in a state of the second relative rotation, the spool rotates about the central axis and relative to the head housing along a second direction (Peng, P. 0030), or the head housing rotates about the central axis and relative to the spool along the second direction (Peng, P. 0030); wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction (Peng, P. 0030), Peng teaches that one direction may be clockwise while the other is counterclockwise which would be opposite.
Regarding claim 8, Guo in view of Peng and Cholst teaches the string trimmer head according to claim 1, wherein the line-winding operating member (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 14) comprises: an operating portion (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 141) for the user to hold (Peng, P. 0039); a contact portion (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 142) for being in contact with the ground when the string trimmer head is trimming grass (Peng, P. 0044) and rotatably connected to the operating member (Peng, P. 0044), and a connecting portion (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 13 (Peng) below) connected to the contact portion at one end.
Guo in view of Peng and Cholst as modified does not teach the contact portion fixedly connected to the operating portion and a connecting portion at least partially penetrating through the through hole and accommodated in the accommodation space of the head housing, wherein a first end of the connecting portion is fixedly connected to the contact portion, and a second end of the connecting portion is fixedly connected to the spool.
Cholst further teaches a string trimmer head (Cholst, Figs. 1-4, 10) comprising a line-winding operating member (Cholst, Figs. 1-4 and 7, 38), wherein the line-winding operating member comprises an operating portion (Cholst, Figs. 1-4, 104) and a contact portion (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Cholst) below) wherein the contact portion is fixedly connected to the operating portion, the operating member of Cholst is formed as a single piece and thus the operating portion and contact portion would be fixedly attached to each other, and a connecting portion (Cholst, Figs. 3-4, 98) at least partially penetrating through a through hole (Cholst, Figs. 3-4, 82) and accommodated in the accommodation space of the head housing (Cholst, Fig. 3, 114), wherein a first end of the connecting portion is fixedly connected to the contact portion (Cholst, Figs. 3-4, 98), the connecting portion is formed as part of the line-winding operating member and is thus fixedly attached to the contact portion, and a second end of the connecting portion is fixedly connected to the spool (Cholst, Figs. 3-4 and 7-8, 102 and 122, Col. 4, lines 52-63). Such an arrangement allows for the operating member to be directly connected to the spool and thus allow both to rotated together to allow new line to be wound onto the spool (Cholst, Col. 4 line 64 – Col. 5 line 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to, first, modify the line-winding operating member taught by Guo in view of Peng and Cholst such that the operating portion and contact portion of the operating member were fixedly connected as a single piece as further taught by Cholst as such a construction is an alternative to the two piece constructure taught by Peng and such changes in shape require only a routine level of skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)). Here going from a two piece construction to a single piece construction would not change the function of the structures and would provide a fixed connection between the contact portion and the operation portion. Second, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the connecting portion of the operating member taught by Guo in view of Peng and Cholst such that the connecting portion at least partially penetrating through the through hole and was accommodated in the accommodation space of the head housing and a second end of the connecting portion is fixedly connected to the spool as further taught by Cholst as such an arrangement allows for the operating member to directly connect to the spool and rotate the spool to allow new line to be wound onto the spool.
Regarding claim 9, Guo in view of Peng and Cholst teaches the string trimmer head according to claim 1.
Guo in view of Peng and Cholst as modified does not teach wherein the head housing comprises a first guide structure configured to guide the string trimmer line to penetrate through the head housing without entering the spool during threading, and the spool comprises a second guide structure configured to guide the string trimmer line to leave the first guide structure and be wound around the spool through the second relative rotation between the spool and the head housing during winding.
Peng further teaches a head housing (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 13) comprising a first guide structure (Peng, Figs. 3-6, 16) configured to guide the string trimmer line to penetrate through the had housing without entering the spool during threading (Peng, P. 0031-0032), and a spool (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 12) comprising a second guide structure (Peng, Figs. 7-9, 125) configured to guide the string trimmer line to leave the first guide structure and be wound around the spool through the second relative rotation between the spool and the head housing during winding (Peng, P. 0032). This allows the trimmer line to be passed through the head housing and wind trimmer line onto the spool manually without the need to open the housing and remove the spool (Peng, P. 0002 and 0032).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the head housing taught by Guo in view of Peng and Cholst such that it includes a first guide structure like that further taught by Peng and to modify the spool taught by Guo in view of Peng and Cholst to include a second guide structure like that further taught by Peng as such modification helps to guide trimmer line through the trimmer head to facilitate winding onto the spool manually without the need to open the head housing and remove the spool.
Regarding claim 10, Guo in view of Peng and Cholst teaches the string trimmer head according to claim 9, wherein the first guide structure (Peng, Figs. 3-6, 16) comprises: notches (Peng, Fig. 6, 161) for the string trimmer line to penetrate into or out of the head housing (Peng, P. 0034); and guide portions (Peng, Fig. 6, 169), used for guiding the string trimmer line to penetrate into the head housing (Peng, P. 0036), formed at the notches (Peng, P. 0036).
Regarding claim 11, Guo in view of Peng and Cholst teaches the string trimmer head according to claim 1, wherein the automatic line release device (Guo, Fig. 3-4, 6-8 and 11-13, 113) is configured to switch between an autonomous line release state for allowing a line release of the string trimmer head (Guo, P. 0124, “autonomous line-feeding”) and a trimming state for preventing the line release of the string trimmer head based on a change of the effective length of the string trimmer line (Guo, P. 0122, “working state”).
Regarding claim 14, Guo in view of Peng and Cholst teaches the string trimmer head according to claim 1, wherein the automatic line release device (Guo, Figs. 3-4, 6-8 and 11-13, 113) comprises a transmission member (Guo, Fig. 6, 113a) capable of switching between a first position and a second position (Guo, P. 0125), when the transmission member is at the first position, the automatic line release device prevents a relative rotation between the spool and the head housing (Guo, P. 0006), and, when the transmission member is at the second position, the automatic line release device allows the relative rotation between the spool and the head housing (Guo, P. 0006).
Regarding claim 16, Guo teaches a string trimmer (Guo, Fig. 1, 100), comprising a string trimmer head (Guo, Figs. 1-4, 11) and a motor (Guo, Fig. 1, 122) for driving the string trimmer head to rotate, wherein the string trimmer head comprises:
a spool (Guo, Figs. 2-4 and 6, 112) around which a string trimmer line (Guo, Fig. 1, 15) is capable of being wound (Guo, P. 0047 and 0120); and
a head housing (Guo, Figs. 1-4, 111) having an accommodation space (Guo, Fig. 2, 114) capable of accommodating at least part of the spool (Guo, Fig. 2, 112, P. 0127);
wherein the string trimmer head further comprises:
an automatic line release device (Guo, Figs. 3-4, 6-8 and 11-13, 113) configured to enable the spool and the head housing to generate a first relative rotation so that the string trimmer head releases the string trimmer line (Guo, P. 0123, “second equilibrium state”), wherein the string trimmer line has an effective length (Guo, Fig. 1, 15a) extending out of the accommodation space (Guo, P. 0121); and the automatic line release device is further configured to make the string trimmer head release the string trimmer line when the effective length of the string trimmer line is less than a preset value (Guo, P. 0121); and
Guo does not teach a line-winding operating member configured to be operable by a user to drive the spool and the head housing to generate a second relative rotation so that the string trimmer line is wound around the spool, wherein the line-winding operating member comprises an operating portion for the user to rotate to drive the spool to rotate and the line-winding operating member is fixed relative to the spool in a direction of a central axis.
Peng teaches a string trimmer head (Peng, Fig. 1, 10) comprising a line-winding operating member (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 14) configured to be operable by a user to drive the spool (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 12) and the head housing (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 13) to generate a second relative rotation so that the string trimmer line is wound around the spool (Peng, P. 0030), wherein the line-winding operating member (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 14) comprises an operating portion (Peng, Fig. 3, 141) for the user to rotate to drive the spool to rotate (Peng, P. 0039). This allows the user to manually wind new line onto the spool without the need to open the head housing (Peng, P. 0030).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, when building the device from the ground up, to modify the trimming head taught by Guo to include an operating member with an operating portion like that one taught by Peng as doing so allows a user to wind trimmer line onto the spool manually and without the need to open the head housing.
Cholst teaches a string trimmer head (Cholst, Figs. 1-4, 10) comprising a spool (Cholst, Figs. 2-4 and 8, 18) and a line-winding operating member (Cholst, Figs. 1-4 and 7, 38), with a central axis (Cholst, Fig. 1, A) wherein the operating member is fixed relative to the spool in a direction of the central axis (Cholst, Col. 4, lines 52-63). This allows for the line-winding operating member to be bumped to pay out line when desired (Cholst, Col. 4 line 64 – Col. 5 line 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the string trimmer head taught by Guo to include a line-winding operating member fixed relative to the spool in a direction of the central axis like that operating member taught by Cholst as doing so to allow the device to bump feed line.
Regarding claim 17, Guo in view of Peng and Cholst teaches the string trimmer according to claim 16, wherein the automatic line release device (Guo, Figs. 3-4, 6-8 and 11-13, 113) comprises a transmission member (Guo, Fig. 6, 113a) having, relative to the spool (Guo, Fig. 6, 112), a first position for preventing a relative rotation between the spool and the head housing (Guo, P. 0006, “first position”) and a second position for allowing the relative rotation between the spool and the head housing (Guo, P. 0006, “second position”), and, when the transmission member is at the first position, the string trimmer head is in a trimming state and the motor has a first rotational speed (Guo, P. 0006 and 0122, “working state”), when the transmission member is at the second position, the string trimmer head is in an autonomous line release state (Guo, P.0122), the motor has a second rotational speed with a difference from the first rotational speed (Guo, P.0122), and the spool and the head housing generate the first relative rotation to release the string trimmer line, when the effective length of the string trimmer line is greater than or equal to the preset value, the transmission member is at the first position (Guo, P. 0121), and, when the effective length of the string trimmer line is less than the preset value, the transmission member is at the second position (Guo, P. 0121).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 2022/0104431 A1) in view of Peng (US 2021/0144914 A1) and Cholst (US 11,122,735 B2) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Nolin (US 2017/0251594 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Guo in view of Peng and Cholst teaches the string trimmer head according to claim 14, wherein the transmission member (Guo, Fig. 6, 113a) rotates synchronously with the spool (Guo, Figs. 2-4 and 6, 112, P. 0124) and comprises a drive portion (Guo, Fig. 6, 113c) for driving the head housing (Guo, Figs. 1-4 and 7, 111) to rotate (Guo, P. 0006), the head housing (Guo, Figs. 1-4 and 7, 111) comprises a mating portion (Guo, Fig. 7, 111c) mating with the drive portion (Guo, Fig. 8, 113c, P. 0127), the head housing (Guo, Figs. 1-4 and 7, 111) comprises an upper housing (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Guo) below) and a lower housing (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Guo) below), and the mating portion (Guo, Fig. 7, 111c) is disposed on a upper side of the upper housing.
Guo in view of Peng and Cholst does not teach wherein the mating portion is disposed on a lower side of the upper housing.
Nolin teaches a head housing (Nolin, Figs. 1-3, 14) comprising an upper housing (Nolin, Figs. 2-3, 38) and lower housing (Nolin, Figs. 2-3, 42) and a mating portion (Nolin, Figs. 2-3, 46) disposed on a lower side of the upper housing and a spool (Nolin, Figs. 2-3, 22) comprising a transmission member (Nolin, Figs. 3, 54). This allows for the transmission member and mating member to be contained inside the housing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the head housing taught by Guo in view of Peng and Cholst such that the mating portion was located on a lower side of the upper housing as taught by Nolin instead of the mating portion located on a upper side of the upper housing as it may be desirable for the transmission member and mating portion to be located inside of the head housing instead of externally and as such rearrangement of parts only requires a routine level of skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). Here, changing the side of the upper housing to which the mating portion is formed would not change the function and operation of the mating portion and the transmission member, the only difference is to which side these structures would be mounted.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 2022/0104431 A1) in view of Peng (US 2021/0144914 A1) and Alliss (US 2005/0252009 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Guo teaches a string trimmer head (Guo, Figs. 1-4, 11), comprising:
a spool (Guo, Figs. 2-4 and 6, 112) around which a string trimmer line (Guo, Fig. 1, 15) is capable of being wound (Guo, P. 0047 and 0120);
a head housing (Guo, Figs. 1-4, 111) having an accommodation space (Guo, Fig. 2, 114) capable of accommodating at least part of the spool (Guo, Fig. 2, 112, P. 0127);
an automatic line release device (Guo, Figs. 3-4, 6-8 and 11-13, 113) configured to enable the spool and the head housing to generate a first relative rotation so that the string trimmer head releases the string trimmer line (Guo, P. 0123, “second equilibrium state”), wherein the string trimmer line has an effective length (Guo, Fig. 1, 15a)) extending out of the accommodation space (Guo, P. 0121); and the automatic line release device is further configured to make the string trimmer head release the string trimmer line when the effective length of the string trimmer line is less than a preset value (Guo, P. 0121).
a first guide structure formed on or connected to the head housing and configured to guide the string trimmer line to penetrate through the head housing without entering the spool during threading; and
a second guide structure formed on or connected to the spool and configured to guide the string trimmer line to leave the first guide structure and be wound around the spool through a relative rotation between the spool and the head housing during winding.
Guo does not teach a first guide structure formed on or connected to the head housing and configured to guide the string trimmer line to penetrate through the head housing without entering the spool during threading, and a second guide structure formed on or connected to the spool and configured to guide the string trimmer line to leave the first guide structure and be wound around the spool through the second relative rotation between the spool and the head housing during winding, and a line-winding operating member configured to be operable by a user to drive the spool and the head housing to generate a second relative rotation so that the string trimmer line is wound around the spool, wherein the line-winding operating member comprises an annular operating portion for the user to rotate to drive the spool to rotate and the annular operating portion is fixed relative to the head housing in a direction of the central axis
Peng teaches a first guide structure (Peng, Figs. 3-6, 16) connected to a head housing (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 13, P. 0034) and configured to guide the string trimmer line to penetrate through the had housing without entering the spool during threading (Peng, P. 0031-0032), and a second guide structure (Peng, Figs. 7-9, 125) formed on a spool (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 12) and comprising a second guide structure (Peng, Figs. 7-9, 125) configured to guide the string trimmer line to leave the first guide structure and be wound around the spool through the second relative rotation between the spool and the head housing during winding (Peng, P. 0032). This allows the trimmer line to be passed through the head housing and wind trimmer line onto the spool manually without the need to open the housing and remove the spool (Peng, P. 0002 and 0032).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the head housing taught by Guo such that it includes a first guide structure like that taught by Peng and to modify the spool taught by Guo to include a second guide structure like that taught by Peng as such modification helps to guide trimmer line through the trimmer head to facilitate winding onto the spool manually without the need to open the head housing and remove the spool.
Alliss teaches a string trimmer head (Alliss, Fig. 6, 116) comprising a head housing (Alliss, Fig. 6, 124), a spool (Alliss, Fig. 6, 134) and a line-winding operating member (Alliss, Fig. 6, 172) configured to be operable by a user to drive the spool and the head housing to generate a second relative rotation so that the string trimmer line is wound around the spool (Alliss, P. 0061), wherein the line-winding operating member (Alliss, Fig. 6, 172) comprises an annular operating portion (Alliss, Fig. 6, 174) for the user to rotate to drive the spool to rotate (Alliss, P. 0061) and the annular operating portion (Alliss, Fig. 6, 174) is fixed relative to the head housing in a direction of the central axis (Alliss, Fig. 6, A), as the annular operating portion taught by Alliss is an outer surface of the line-winding operating member and the line-winding operating member is directly secured to the housing by a bolt (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 6 (Alliss) below) the line-winding operating member taught by Alliss is fixed relative to the head housing in a direction of the central axis. Such structure helps to provide the torque required to wind trimmer line (Alliss, P. 0061) and allows for manual winding of trimmer line without the need to remove the spool (Alliss, P. 0060).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, when building the device from the ground up, to modify the string trimmer head taught by Guo such that it included a line-winding operating member comprising an annular operating portion is fixed relative to the head housing in a direction of the central axis like that one taught by Alliss as such structure helps to provide the torque required to wind trimmer line and allows for manual winding of trimmer line without the need to remove the spool from the housing.
Regarding claim 19, Guo in view of Peng and Alliss teaches the string trimmer head according to claim 18, wherein the first guide structure (Peng, Figs. 3-6, 16) and the second guide structure (Peng, Figs. 7-9, 125) are disposed on an upper side of the spool (Peng, Figs. 3-4, 12), and the automatic line release device (Guo, Figs. 3-4, 6-8 and 11-13, 113) is disposed on an upper side of the spool (Guo, Fig. 2, 112).
Guo in view of Peng as modified does not teach the first guide structure and the second guide structure are disposed on a lower side of the spool.
Peng further teaches a first guide structure (Peng, Figs. 13-14, 41) and a second guide structure (Peng, Fig. 14, 45) disposed on a lower side of a spool (Peng, Figs. 13-14, 43) capable of performing the same function as the first guide structure and second guide structure disposed on an upper side of the spool (P. 0049).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the position of the first guide structure and second guide structure disposed on an upper side of the spool taught by Guo in view of Peng such that the guide structures were disposed on a lower side of the spool as further taught by Peng as such a rearrangement of parts requires only a routine level of skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 20, Guo in view of Peng and Alliss teaches the string trimmer head according to claim 18, wherein the first guide structure (Peng, Figs. 3-6, 16) comprises: notches (Peng, Fig. 6, 161) for the string trimmer line to penetrate into or out of the head housing (Peng, P. 0034); and guide portions (Peng, Fig. 6, 169), used for guiding the string trimmer line to penetrate into the head housing (Peng, P. 0036), formed at the notches (Peng, P. 0036).
EXAMINER’S NOTE
To continue to promote clarity of record and to streamline prosecution the Examiner wishes to explain why Guo and Peng are considered prior art for the instant office action. The instant invention is a Continuation-in-Part of application 17/551,282 and draws foreign priority through this relationship with said application. After reviewing each of the instant independent claims the Examiner determined that each independent claim included content not disclosed in the priority of record or as part of the disclosure of application 17/551,282. As such, the instant independent claims and dependent claims are not solely disclosed by the disclosures of application 17/551,282 and the foreign priority, thus the effective filing date for the instant claims are the same as the effective filing date of the instant invention which is 08/23/2023 (see MPEP 2152.01(B)). As the Pre-Grant publication for application 17/551,282 was published as Guo US 2022/0104431 A1 on April 7, 2022 this U.S. patent application publication qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) when used as part of a obviousness type rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 (see MPEP 2152.02(b)) as the publication date is outside of the one year exception period for disclosures made by an inventor or a joint inventor (or have originated with the inventor). Further, Peng US 2021/0144914 A1 qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) was it was filed and published before the effective filing date of the instant invention and well outside of the one year exception period.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant asserts that the amendment to the specification and claims overcomes the drawing objection of record and the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) indefiniteness type rejection of record. The Examiner agrees and withdraws the drawing objection of record and indefiniteness type rejection of record.
The Applicant asserts that the structure of Guo referred to as an operating member by the Examiner is not an operating member. The Examiner agrees and now refers to the structure as a bottom member.
The Applicant asserts that as the bottom member of Guo is not an operating member claims 1, 16 and 18 are thus allowable. The Examiner disagrees, the Examiner did not rely on the bottom member to teach an operating member and instead, in the rejection of record, turned to Peng to teach such a member. As such the applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive.
The Applicant asserts that claims 1, 16 and 18 are allowable over the prior art of record due to the amendments to the claims. The Examiner disagrees, as the applicant has amended the claims the Examiner has provided updated prior art rejection. As such the applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT D CORNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724