DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, and 9 were amended and claim 8 was canceled (with its limitations being incorporated into claim 1 in the response filed 6/25/2026. Claims 1-7, 9, and 10 are pending.
Priority
The application was filed on 8/23/2023 and claims the benefit of priority to:
See filing receipt dated 10/3/2023. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on two applications filed in China (CN) on 4/13/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of either of the applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Withdrawn Objections
The drawings and substitute specification were received on 6/25/2026. Both are acceptable; therefore, the objections of record on p. 2-3 of the OA dated 4/1/2026 are withdrawn.
The Applicant’s amendments to claims 4 and 5 are also persuasive to overcome the objections to the claims on p. 3 of the 4/1/2026 OA.
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. See p. 3-17 of the OA dated 4/1/2026 for rejections of record. In the 6/25/2026 amendments, the Applicant canceled claim 8 and incorporated its limitations into claim 1. The Applicant also newly introduced the following limitation:
“and a volume of the first reaction vessel used to carry out addition reaction of the isopropenyl Grignard reagent with the carbon isotope-labeled carbon dioxide is different from a volume of a second reaction vessel used to carry out ozonization reaction, and the volume of the second reaction vessel used to carry out the ozonization reaction is larger that of the first reaction vessel used to carry out the addition reaction.”
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engell (US 2010/0087679, published on 4/8/2010) in view of Grignard (see full citation in previous OA), and Martinez (US 2008/0161593, published on 7/3/2008), and as evidenced by Ammonium Chloride (see full citation in previous OA) and Methacrylic Acid (see full citation in previous OA).
The Applicant claims:
A method for synthesizing a labeled pyruvic acid, comprising:
(S1) adding an isopropenyl Grignard reagent to a reaction vessel followed by cooling to a preset temperature;
(S2) adding a carbon isotope-labeled carbon dioxide to the reaction vessel followed by reaction with the isopropenyl Grignard reagent for a preset time;
(S3) adding an acid to a reaction system obtained in step (S2) and adjusting the reaction system to a preset temperature to quench the reaction;
(S4) subjecting a quenched reaction system to ozonization to obtain an ozonized product;
(S5) reducing the ozonized product obtained in step (S4) with a reducing agent to obtain a reduced product; and
(S6) removing impurities from the reduced product to obtain the labeled pyruvic acid.
Engell is directed toward a method for producing 13C1-alpha-keto acids and esters, in particular 13C1-pyruvic acid and esters thereof, which are 13C-enriched (isotopically enriched in carbon-13) at the C1-atom (carboxyl atom). See abstract. Engell teaches that one pathway towards the labeled pyruvic acid includes the production of intermediate methacrylic acid compound (II) from a 2-halopropene of formula (III):
. See [0053-0054]. The compound (II) is then subjected to ozonolysis to produce the labeled pyruvic acid (I):
. See [0057-0061]. Paragraphs [0062-0070] describe producing 13C1-pyruvic acid using the processes of reaction schemes 2 and 3 above. Specific experimental conditions are provided in Fig. 1 and the examples. Example 1a in [0073] corresponds to the reaction sequence in scheme 2 above and Examples 2 and 3 in [0075-0076] correspond to the reaction in scheme 3 above. Also see Fig. 1 from the top of the page until formation until bubble labeled “Methacrylic acid”.
Scheme 2 and Example 1a correspond to instantly claimed steps (S1)[Wingdings font/0xE0] (S2)[Wingdings font/0xE0] and (S3). Scheme 3 and Examples 2-3 correspond to instantly claimed steps (S4)[Wingdings font/0xE0](S5)[Wingdings font/0xE0](S6).
Regarding step (S1), the reaction of compound (III) of scheme 2 with Mg in reaction 2 corresponds to the in-situ preparation of an isopropenyl Grignard reagent (the intermediate compound of scheme 2) in a reaction vessel. Engell further teaches that the Grignard is formed under nitrogen gas (inert gas) in the presence of a stir-bar and cooling to a preset temperature of -70°C, which falls within the claimed range. See [0073] and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding step (S2), Engell teaches that carbon dioxide, including 13CO2 (13C labeled carbon dioxide-claim 6), is added to the reaction vessel comprising the Grignard reagent. The carbon dioxide and Grignard reagent were placed under heavy stirring and reacted until the temperature reached room temperature (such that the “preset time” is the time taken for the reaction to warm from -70°C to room temperature).
Regarding step (S3), Engell teaches that an acid, saturated ammonium chloride (see evidentiary Ammonium Chloride reference), is added to the reaction system at room temperature to quench (terminate) the reaction. Solvent and unreacted 2-halopropene is then removed in vacuo under heat (30°C), the remaining aqueous phase of the reaction mixture is further acidified with dilute hydrochloric acid (3M HCl, a second acid), and then the methacrylic acid product of formula (II) is extracted into dichloromethane (methylene chloride).
Regarding step (S4), Engell teaches that the methacrylic acid (II) can be optionally purified before ozonolysis. According to the “one-pot” and “two-step” preparations discussed on p.11-15 of the specification as filed, any mixture comprising the methacrylic acid product of step (S3); or the isolated methacrylic acid compound from step (S3) both meet the limitations of “a quenched reaction system”. Examples 2 and 3 of Engell teach that isolated methacrylic acid is dissolved in dichloromethane/methanol (to form a “quenched reaction system”) which is subjected to ozonolysis conditions to produce an unstable ozonized product (ozonoid).
Regarding step (S5), the unstable ozonoid is contacted with a reducing agent to obtain a reduced product comprising labeled pyruvic acid.
Regarding step (S6), the pyruvic acid generated at the end of the reduction can be purified to remove impurities and produce a purified labeled pyruvic acid product.
Regarding the requirement for different reaction vessels for steps (S2) and (S4), and also claims 3 and 5, Engell teaches that the quenched reaction system containing the methacrylic acid product is extracted with dichloromethane (3 x 50 mL), the three organic layers were combined, dried and evaporated to obtain an oily product. See [0073]. Examples 2 and 3 in [0075-0076] then teach that the oily product is transferred to another vessel and dichloromethane and methanol are added to the oil product, and the resulting system is cooled to -78°C (preset temperature) and contacted with ozone to carry out the ozonolysis until a blue color is observed (preset time).
Engell does not explicitly teach: adding an isopropenyl Grignard reagent to a reaction vessel followed by cooling to a pre-set temperature between -30 to -78°C (the Grignard reagent is instead formed in situ in the reaction vessel within the claimed temperature range) in step (S1); that the reaction time in step (S2) is 1 hour; “adjusting the reaction system temperature to a preset temperature between -30 to 0°C to quench the reaction” in step (S3); or that the ozonolysis reaction vessel of step (S4) has a larger volume relative to the volume of the Grignard reaction vessel of step (S2).
Grignard is an online general chemistry resource which details how to quench Grignard reactions. The paragraph on the page teaches that Grignard reagents are highly reactive toward water and that they should be quenched at lower temperatures, including 0°C, with dropwise addition of water and dilute acids. See whole document (single paragraph on a single page).
Martinez teaches an analogous process for producing labeled pyruvic acid. See abstract and claims. The process of Martinez also includes the reaction between a Grignard reagent and labeled CO2 to produce a methacrylic acid intermediate. See [0077-0084]. In [0128-0129] Martinez teaches a detailed experimental method:
. Martinez teaches that isopropenyl magnesium bromide (isopropenyl Grignard reagent) is added to an oven dried round bottom flask (RBF), stirred under argon (an inert gas) and cooled to -78°C with a dry ice/acetone bath. This temperature also falls within the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05. The 13CO2 was bubbled into the Grignard over 55 minutes at -78°C. After addition, the reaction was stirred for 15 minutes and then diluted HCl (dilute acid) was added as a steady stream over 10 minutes at -78°C. After acid addition, the cold bath was removed and replaced with water to warm the reaction to room temperature. Therefore, the process of Martinez teaches “adding an isopropenyl Grignard reagent to a reaction vessel” in instant step (S1) and “adding an acid to a reaction system obtained in step (S2) and adjusting the reaction system to a present temperature (room temperature) to quench the reaction” of instant step (S3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Engell, Grignard, and Martinez, to arrive at the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to add the Grignard reagent to the reaction vessel in instant step (S1), rather than form the reagent in situ as taught by Engell because Martinez explicitly teaches as much. Thus, the slight difference in the order of addition of the first reagent to the first reaction vessel does not appear to be critical. Also see MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C). Further, the skilled artisan would be motivated to use the order of addition in Martinez in order to optimize the process. A person of ordinary skill would understand that if a series of Grignard reactions are going to be carried out simultaneously using the same Grignard reagent, or if a commercial source of Grignard were used, that a larger batch of the Grignard reagent would be formed in one reaction vessel (or purchased) and then separated and fed to each individual reaction vessel of the series. This would avoid the need to carry out multiple identical Grignard formation reactions. Further, this would help to standardize all of the series of compounds for better comparison because the same source of Grignard would be used. Also see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding the time of reaction in (S2), Martinez teaches that the reaction is completed in about 70 minutes (55+15) when kept at -78°C. This value is so close to the claimed value of 60 minutes that a difference of 10 min would not be expected to drastically change the result of the reaction. Further, the time of reaction does not appear to be critical as long as it is long enough for the reaction to be complete. If the reaction is not complete the skilled artisan would predictably lengthen the time of reaction. Thus, the claimed time could also be arrived at through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to adjust the reaction system temperature to a preset temperature to quench the reaction in the quenching step of Engell (instant step (S3)) after the acid is added because Grignard advises caution when adding aqueous acids to quench Grignard reagents, which includes the use a slow and controlled rate of addition and carrying the quench out at a low temperature. Engell teaches that the quenching step is carried out at room temperature, though the reaction temperature of the carbon dioxide addition is at -70°C. Based on the teachings of Grignard, the skilled artisan would be motivated to add the quenching acid to a cold reaction system of Engell, before the reaction is warmed to room temperature, in order to increase the safety of the reaction. The skilled artisan could also envision that this might also enhance the selectivity and/or yield of the reaction because the quench is controlled at a lower temperature, as opposed to a “violent” quench at room temperature. Further, this sequence is explicitly taught in the process of Martinez, wherein the acid is added at -78°C, and the resulting mixture is then warmed to room temperature (the pre-set temperature) without adversely affecting the outcome of the reaction. Therefore, modifying the process of Engel to add the acid at a cooler temperature before the source of cooling is removed to allow the reaction to warm to room temperature, as suggested by Grignard and Martinez would predictably increase the safety of the quenching step. Also see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding the preset temperature of (S3), the skilled artisan would have been motivated to quench the reaction with the acid at a low temperature and then warm the reaction to complete the quench in order to predictably improve the safety of the quench. Martinez teaches that the reaction is gradually warmed from -78°C to room temperature, Engell teaches quench at room temperature, and Grignard teaches that the quench can be carried out at 0°C. Therefore, though the references do not explicitly teach adjusting the temperature of the claimed (S3) mixture to within the claimed range of -30 to 0°C, the combination of teachings indicates that the quench can take place anywhere in the range of -78°C to room temperature, which encompasses the claimed range. The skilled artisan could predictably arrive at the claimed temperature range through routine experimentation. If the quench proceeds too slowly, then the skilled artisan would raise the temperature. If the quench appears to be too reactive, then the skilled artisan would lower the temperature. There does not appear to be anything critical about the claimed range. Also see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding the volume of the vessel in step (S2) vs step (S4), a person of skill would have been motivated to use two different reaction vessels because such is explicitly taught by Engell. Regarding the relative size of the vessels, this appears to be an arbitrary design choice which the skilled artisan could arrive at through routine optimization. Engell and Martinez teach a continuous stream of ozone is bubbled through the product to be oxidized until the reaction turns blue, which indicates the end of the reaction. The size of the reaction vessel would not appear to impact the outcome of the reaction as long as the skilled artisan ensures that enough ozone is added to the reactant mixture and the two are sufficiently mixed. Alternatively, as it is also known from Engell and Martinez, the resulting ozonides can be unstable at high concentrations. Therefore, the skilled artisan may be motivated to choose a larger volume reaction vessel in the ozonolysis step in order to carry out the ozonolysis under more dilute conditions (i.e. more solvent). Also see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) regarding changes in relative proportions and MPEP 2144.05 regarding reaction optimization.
Regarding claim 2, Engell teaches that the ozonolysis can be carried out continuously for an amount of time (until the reaction turns blue). See “oxidation by ozonolysis” step of Fig. 1 and [0042], which refers back to a continuous Grignard reactor in [0036]. Also see examples 2-3 in [0075-0076] and [0057].
Regarding claim 4, both Engell [0073] and Martinez [0128-0129] teach adding dilute HCl until the aqueous phase is made acidic, and then extracting the desired product, methacrylic acid, into an organic layer. Though neither reference explicitly teaches a pH range, “acidic” encompasses that claimed. Further, as evidenced by Methacrylic Acid, the pKa of methacrylic acid is 4.65. Therefore, any pH below that will predictably protonate methacrylic acid to be extracted into the organic phase. Also see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Engell teaches that the reducing agent includes dimethyl sulfide. See [0057] and [0075-0076].
Regarding claim 10, Engell teaches that the reduced product (pyruvic acid) can be obtained by evaporating the solvent (removing an organic phase) followed by distillation (step S61). See [0057] and [0075-0076]. However, Engell teaches that the purification process is not limited to that embodiment. Engell teaches that after evaporation of the solvent, that water and a base can be added to the residue to produce a pyruvate salt, which may then be left for crystallization. See [0058]. Engell further teaches that the pyruvate can be converted into free pyruvic acid in a subsequent step and that the method for this conversion are known in the art. See [0059].
Engell does not explicitly teach that the aqueous alkaline product mixture (comprising pyruvate salt) is extracted and separated to produce multiple aqueous phases which are combined in step (S62). Nor does Engell explicitly teach steps (S63) and (S64). However, all of steps (S62), (S63), and (S64) describe routine reaction work-up steps that would be known to those of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, examples of all are present elsewhere in Engell and Martinez. For example, Example 1a in [0073] of Engell teaches steps (S63) and (S64), of acidifying the reaction mixture to produce an aqueous acidic phase which is extracted multiple times with an organic solvent, dried over magnesium sulfate and evaporated (concentrated) to give the title compound as an oil. As the magnesium sulfate is not present in the final product, the skilled artisan would understand that it has been removed. Paragraph [0077] specifically teaches that solids can be removed from liquids by filtration. Further, Martinez also describes extraction of an aqueous acidic phase with an organic solvent in [0100] to separate pyruvic acid. Martinez also teaches than a basic aqueous solution comprising a pyruvate salt can be extracted with an organic solvent multiple times and the aqueous layer separated and evaporated to dryness, which is analogous to instant step (S62).
Therefore, the steps set forth in claim 10 are all routine, predictable, and well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art. Though the references do not teach the specific sequence of (S62) to (S64), the skilled artisan could easily arrive at the claimed steps with a reasonable expectation of success based on Engell and Martinez. From the teachings of the references as a whole, it would be inferred by the skilled artisan that step (S61) would produce a crude residue containing inorganic impurities, organic impurities, and pyruvic acid, all expected from the ozonolysis reaction, especially if the intermediate methacrylic acid is not purified before ozonolysis; step (S62) would transform pyruvic acid to its salt which is soluble in the aqueous layer and would separate organic impurities from the pyruvic acid via extraction into the organic layer; step (S63) would convert the pyruvate back to pyruvic acid, soluble in the organic layer, which will separate the pyruvic acid from inorganic impurities; and that step (S64) is isolating the purified product from the twice extracted mixture. All of these techniques are discussed in the references and combining them in the order claimed would be a prima facie obvious and predictable substitute for the purification processes explicitly taught in the examples of the references. Also see MPEP 2144.05; MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C); and MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engell (US 2010/0087679, published on 4/8/2010) in view of Grignard (see full citation in previous OA), and Martinez (US 2008/0161593, published on 7/3/2008), and as evidenced by Ammonium Chloride (see full citation in previous OA) and Methacrylic Acid (see full citation in previous OA), as applied to claims 1-6, 9, and 10 above, and further in view of Jove (see full citation in previous OA) and Felton (see full citation in previous OA).
The Applicant claims the method of claim 6, wherein in step (S1), before the isopropenyl Grignard reagent is added to the reaction vessel, a magnetic stirring bar is added to the reaction vessel and argon is introduced into the reaction vessel, and the reaction is cooled to -30 to -78°C in an ethanol bath using a cryogenic recirculation pump and then reacted with the carbon isotope-labeled carbon dioxide for 1 hour in step (S2). The Applicant also claims that in step (S3), the temperature is -10 to 0°C.
Regarding step (S1), Engell teaches forming the Grignard in situ under nitrogen gas (inert gas) in the presence of a stir-bar and cooling to -70°C. See [0073]. Martinez teaches that the Grignard reagent is added to an oven-dried round bottom flask (RBF) containing a stirrer and under argon (inert gas) and cooled to -78°C. See [0129]. Thus, both Engell and Martinez teach cryogenic reaction temperatures.
Therefore, the combined process of Engell, Martinez, and Grignard meets all of the claimed limitations except that the cooling is performed in an ethanol bath using a cryogenic recirculation pump in (S1).
Regarding the cooling apparatus of (S1):
Felton is a product profile in a magazine for chemists which describes baths and circulators for heating and cooling reactions. See p. 49-50. Felton teaches that known apparatus include circulators which comprise pumps and can be used for heating or cooling by pumping a heating or cooling liquid out of a storage reservoir to laboratory instruments. See p. 49, bottom of second column to top of the third and Table on p. 50.
Jove is a review on conducting reactions below room temperature. See p. 1. Jove teaches that for temperatures down to -78°C, dry ice (CO2) baths in different solvents can be employed and that for temperatures below -78°C to -196°C that liquid nitrogen (liq. N2) can be employed as the coolant. See “principles” on p. 1. Table 2 on p. 2 and Table 3 on p. 3 list combinations of dry ice or nitrogen with various solvents for cooling baths and the temperatures which are produced. Both Table 2 and Table 3 teach that ethanol (ethyl alcohol) can be used as a cryogenic solvent. With dry ice, the temperature is about -72°C and with liquid nitrogen the temperature is about -116°C.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Engell, Grignard, Martinez, Felton, and Jove to arrive at the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to carry out step (S1) of the combined process of Engell, Grignard, and Martinez using the claimed apparatus because Felton teaches that pump recirculating coolers are known in the art and Jove teaches that ethanol is a suitable solvent to provide the cryogenic temperature requires for step (S1). Therefore, using known apparatus and solvents to predictably cool a reaction mixture to a desired temperature is prima facie obvious. Also see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Response to Arguments on p. 6-10 of the response filed 6/25/2026
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Engell never discloses a) a reaction temperature of -30 to 0°C; b) acid as the quenching agent; c) a reaction time of 1 hour at -30 to -78°C, and d) difference in reaction vessel volumes. Applicant argues that newly introduced element d) allows introduction of excess ozone to form a supersaturated state, thereby facilitating sufficient reaction of ozone with the oily product. Applicant argues Martinez also fails to disclose elements a), c), and d). Applicant argues Grignard does not cure the alleged deficiency of the quenching temperature because “Grignard does not teach the specific quenching temperature range of -30 to 0°C: ice bath only provides about 0°C, and does not mention active cooling to temperatures below 0°C, let alone down to -30°C. Achieving the claimed range of -30 to 04C requires active temperature control equipment, not merely placing a flask in an ice bath. Grignard also does not teach a reaction time of 1 hour at -30 to -78C and a difference in reaction vessel volumes.”
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding element a), as argued in the modified rejection above:
“a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to adjust the reaction system temperature to a preset temperature to quench the reaction in the quenching step of Engell (instant step (S3)) after the acid is added because Grignard advises caution when adding aqueous acids to quench Grignard reagents, which includes the use a slow and controlled rate of addition and carrying the quench out at a low temperature. Engell teaches that the quenching step is carried out at room temperature, though the reaction temperature of the carbon dioxide addition is at -70°C. Based on the teachings of Grignard, the skilled artisan would be motivated to add the quenching acid to a cold reaction system of Engell, before the reaction is warmed to room temperature, in order to increase the safety of the reaction. The skilled artisan could also envision that this might also enhance the selectivity and/or yield of the reaction because the quench is controlled at a lower temperature, as opposed to a “violent” quench at room temperature. Further, this sequence is explicitly taught in the process of Martinez, wherein the acid is added at -78°C, and the resulting mixture is then warmed to room temperature (the pre-set temperature) without adversely affecting the outcome of the reaction. Therefore, modifying the process of Engel to add the acid at a cooler temperature before the source of cooling is removed to allow the reaction to warm to room temperature, as suggested by Grignard and Martinez would predictably increase the safety of the quenching step. Also see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding the preset temperature of (S3), the skilled artisan would have been motivated to quench the reaction with the acid at a low temperature and then warm the reaction to complete the quench in order to predictably improve the safety of the quench. Martinez teaches that the reaction is gradually warmed from -78°C to room temperature, Engell teaches quench at room temperature, and Grignard teaches that the quench can be carried out at 0°C. Therefore, though the references do not explicitly teach adjusting the temperature of the claimed (S3) mixture to within the claimed range of -30 to 0°C, the combination of teachings indicates that the quench can take place anywhere in the range of -78°C to room temperature, which encompasses the claimed range. The skilled artisan could predictably arrive at the claimed temperature range through routine experimentation. If the quench proceeds too slowly, then the skilled artisan would raise the temperature. If the quench appears to be too reactive, then the skilled artisan would lower the temperature. There does not appear to be anything critical about the claimed range. Also see MPEP 2144.05”
Therefore, the Office respectfully disagrees with the Applicant that Grignard does not teach or suggest a temperature (0°C) which overlaps with the instant temperature range (0 to 30°C). Grignard explicitly recites an ice bath, which can only be at 0°C. Further, the Applicant does not address the Examiner’s rationale for why the skilled artisan would be motivated to modify this range at all. Nor has the Applicant provided any evidence that the claimed range is critical to the claimed process or produce unexpected results. Also see MPEP 2144.05 and MPEP 2145.
Regarding element b), ammonium chloride is an acid in an aqueous solution. See evidentiary “Ammonium Chloride” reference from the rejection, first sentence. The claim does not specify an acid strength or a specific pH that must be reached until claim 4. Regarding claim 4, both Engell [0073] and Martinez [0128-0129] teach adding dilute HCl until the aqueous phase is made acidic, and then extracting the desired product, methacrylic acid, into an organic layer. Though neither reference explicitly teaches a pH range, “acidic” encompasses that claimed. Further, as evidenced by Methacrylic Acid, the pKa of methacrylic acid is 4.65. Therefore, any pH below that will predictably protonate methacrylic acid to be extracted into the organic phase. Also see MPEP 2144.05. The Applicant has not provided evidence that the identity of the acid or pH of the quenched reaction is critical and/or unpredictable. Also see MPEP 2145.
Regarding element c), Martinez teaches that the reaction is completed in about 70 minutes (55+15) when kept at -78°C. This value is so close to the claimed value of 60 minutes that a difference of 10 min would not be expected to drastically change the result of the reaction. Further, the time of reaction does not appear to be critical as long as it is long enough for the reaction to be complete. If the reaction is not complete the skilled artisan would predictably lengthen the time of reaction. Thus, the claimed time could also be arrived at through routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05. The Applicant has not provided evidence that this reaction time is critical and/or unpredictable. Also see MPEP 2145.
Regarding newly introduced element d) Regarding the volume of the vessel in step (S2) vs step (S4), a person of skill would have been motivated to use two different reaction vessels because such is explicitly taught by Engell. Regarding the relative size of the vessels, this appears to be an arbitrary design choice which the skilled artisan could arrive at through routine optimization. Engell and Martinez teach a continuous stream of ozone is bubbled through the product to be oxidized until the reaction turns blue, which indicates the end of the reaction. The size of the reaction vessel would not appear to impact the outcome of the reaction as long as the skilled artisan ensures that enough ozone is added to the reactant mixture and the two are sufficiently mixed. Alternatively, as it is also known from Engell and Martinez, the resulting ozonides can be unstable at high concentrations. Therefore, the skilled artisan may be motivated to choose a larger volume reaction vessel in the ozonolysis step in order to carry out the ozonolysis under more dilute conditions (i.e. more solvent). Also see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) regarding changes in relative proportions and MPEP 2144.05 regarding reaction optimization. The Applicant has not provided evidence that this relative volume relationship between the two vessels is critical and/or unpredictable. Also see MPEP 2145.
Applicant also argues against Jove and Felton, however, neither of these references was applied to teach the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, the rejections of record are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY C BONAPARTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692