DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keating et al. (US 2022/0011396; Cited in IDS) in view of Caporal Del Barrior et al. (US 2023/0017529).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Keating discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first wireless device (Fig. 1 user device 12) and a method of wireless communication at the first wireless device, the method comprising:
receiving a configuration message comprising a configuration to measure a first set of positioning signals associated with a first antenna and to measure a second set of positioning signals associated with a second antenna (paragraphs [0051], [0055]; e.g., the user device 12 is provided with three antenna panels that can receive position reference signals (PRS)) and (paragraph [0056];e .g., If multiple antenna panels are available at the user device, the relative spatial relationship may be used to determine which antenna to use for communications between a user device and a particular network node);
receiving the first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and the second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna (paragraphs [0054]-[0055], [0062]; e.g., the first network node 14a transmits a first position reference signal (PRS1), a second position reference signal (PRS2), a third position reference signal (PRS3) and a fourth position reference signal (PRS4) in different directions (and may transmit further positioning reference signals in other directions);
measuring the first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and the second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna (paragraphs [0056]-[0057], [0070]; e.g., If multiple antenna panels are available at the user device, the relative spatial relationship may be used to determine which antenna to use for communications between a user device and a particular network node).
Keating discloses the UE selects the best beam per received multiples PRSs (paragraphs [0058], [0060]), but fails to specifically disclose transmitting a set of report messages comprising a first indicator of a first subset of the measured first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and a second indicator of a second subset of the measured second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna.
However, Caporal Del Barrior discloses transmitting a set of report messages comprising a first indicator of a first subset of the measured first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and a second indicator of a second subset of the measured second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna (Claim 4; paragraphs [0008], [0076]; e.g., selecting an alternative antenna array for the positioning signal transmission and the positioning report transmission and the serving antenna array for positioning signal reception).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to transmitting a set of report messages comprising a first indicator of a first subset of the measured first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and a second indicator of a second subset of the measured second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna for advantages of selecting which one of one or more alternative antenna arrays and the serving antenna panel is to be used for transmitting at least a positioning signal to the transmission-reception point (Caporal Del Barrior: Abstract).
Regarding claims 19 and 30, Keating discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Fig. 1 network nodes 14) and a method of wireless communication at the network entity, the method comprising:
transmitting a first configuration message comprising a first configuration to measure a first set of positioning signals associated with a first antenna and to measure a second set of positioning signals associated with a second antenna (paragraphs [0051], [0055]; e.g., the user device 12 is provided with three antenna panels that can receive position reference signals (PRS)) and (paragraph [0056];e .g., If multiple antenna panels are available at the user device, the relative spatial relationship may be used to determine which antenna to use for communications between a user device and a particular network node);
transmitting a second configuration message comprising a second configuration to transmit the first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and to transmit the second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna (paragraphs [0054]-[0055], [0062]; e.g., the first network node 14a transmits a first position reference signal (PRS1), a second position reference signal (PRS2), a third position reference signal (PRS3) and a fourth position reference signal (PRS4) in different directions (and may transmit further positioning reference signals in other directions); and
Keating discloses the UE selects the best beam for transmission per received multiples PRSs (paragraphs [0058], [0060]), but fails to specifically disclose receiving, based on the first configuration, a set of report messages comprising a first indicator of a first set of measurements of the first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and a second indicator of a second set of measurements of the second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna.
However, Caporal Del Barrior discloses receiving, based on the first configuration, a set of report messages comprising a first indicator of a first set of measurements of the first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and a second indicator of a second set of measurements of the second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna (Claim 4; paragraphs [0008], [0076]; e.g., selecting an alternative antenna array for the positioning signal transmission and the positioning report transmission and the serving antenna array for positioning signal reception).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to receiving, based on the first configuration, a set of report messages comprising a first indicator of a first set of measurements of the first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and a second indicator of a second set of measurements of the second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna for advantages of selecting which one of one or more alternative antenna arrays and the serving antenna panel is to be used for transmitting at least a positioning signal to the transmission-reception point (Caporal Del Barrior: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 19, wherein, to receive the first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and the second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: receive the first set of positioning signals via the first antenna and the second set of positioning signals via the second antenna, wherein the first wireless device comprises the first antenna and the second antenna; or receive the first set of positioning signals from the first antenna and the second set of positioning signals from the second antenna, wherein a second wireless device comprises the first antenna and the second antenna (Keating: paragraphs [0054]-[0055], [0062]; see receive position reference signals (PRS)) from plurality of communication nodes).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claims 2 and 19, wherein the second wireless device comprises a third antenna, wherein, to receive the first set of positioning signals via the first antenna and the second set of positioning signals via the second antenna, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: receive, via the first antenna, the first set of positioning signals from the third antenna; and receive, via the second antenna, the second set of positioning signals from the third antenna (Keating: paragraphs [0054]-[0055], [0062]).
Regarding claim 4, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the first wireless device comprises a third antenna, wherein, to receive the first set of positioning signals from the first antenna and the second set of positioning signals from the second antenna, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: receive, via the third antenna and the transceiver, the first set of positioning signals from the first antenna; and receive, via the third antenna and the transceiver, the second set of positioning signals from the second antenna (Keating: paragraphs [0056], [0093]).
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 19, wherein, to transmit the set of report messages comprising the first indicator of the first subset of the measured first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and the second indicator of the second subset of the measured second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination (Caporal Del Barrior: Claim 4; paragraphs [0008], [0076]), is configured to:
select, for the transmission of the set of report messages, at least one of the first subset of the measured first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna or the second subset of the measured second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna based on a time of arrival (ToA) satisfying a fourth threshold range (Keating: paragraphs [0080], [0082]); and
transmit the selected at least one of the first subset of the measured first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna or the second subset of the measured second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna (Caporal Del Barrior: paragraphs [0008], [0076])).
It is noted that limitation “the measured first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna or the second subset of the measured second set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna based on at least one of:
a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) satisfying a first threshold range;
a reference signal received power (RSRP) satisfying a second threshold range;
a line-of-sight (LOS) probability satisfying a third threshold range;
a reference signal time difference (RSTD) satisfying a fifth threshold range;
a delay spread satisfying a sixth threshold range; or
a Rician factor satisfying a seventh threshold range” is omitted to address due to alternation claimed such as “at least one of”.
Regarding claims 6 and 23, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claims 5 and 22, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a second configuration comprising at least one of: a third indicator of the first threshold range; a fourth indicator of the second threshold range; a fifth indicator of the third threshold range; a sixth indicator of the fourth threshold range; a seventh indicator of the fifth threshold range; an eighth indicator of the sixth threshold range; or a ninth indicator of the seventh threshold range (Caporal Del Barrior: Claim 4; paragraphs [0008], [0076]).
Regarding claims 9, 25, and 26, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 19, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit a capability message comprising a capability to transmit the set of report messages comprising the measured first set of positioning signals associated with the first antenna and the measured first set of positioning signals associated with the second antenna, wherein the configuration is based on the capability (Caporal Del Barrior: Claim 4; paragraphs [0008], [0076]).
Regarding claim 10, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a request message comprising a request for the capability, wherein the transmission of the capability message is in response to the reception of the request message (Keating: paragraphs [0067]-[0068]).
Regarding claim 11, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the capability comprises at least one of: a third indicator of a maximum number of antennas to include in a report message of the set of report messages; a fourth indicator of a set of ranking metrics to associate with the report message of the set of report messages; or a fifth indicator of a set of measurement types to associate with the report message of the set of report messages (Caporal Del Barrior: paragraphs [0049], [0055]; e.g., an alternative antenna array to the transmission-reception point, selected based on measurement results of different reference signals from transmission reception points).
Regarding claim 12, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the set of measurement types comprises at least one of:
a reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement;
a line-of-sight (LOS) measurement;
a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement;
a reference signal received power path (RSRPP) measurement;
an angle of departure (AoD) measurement;
a channel impulse response (CIR) measurement;
a channel frequency response (CFR) measurement;
a power delay profile (PDP) measurement; or
a delay profile measurement (Keating: paragraphs [0080]-[0081], [0084]; see the user device uses a selectBestNbeams algorithm which uses as input one or more of: time of arrival (TOA), reference signal received power (RSRP) per beam pair, line of sight (LOS) probability).
Regarding claim 13, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the capability message comprises a long-term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) message (Keating: paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claims 14 and 27, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 19, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive assistance data (AD) associated with the first set of positioning signals and the second set of positioning signals, wherein at least one of the measurement of the first set of positioning signals and the second set of positioning signals or the transmission of the set of report messages is based on the AD (Keating: paragraphs [0047], [0055], [0058]).
Regarding claims 15, 24, and 28, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claims 14 and 19, wherein the AD comprises at least one of: a third indicator of a set of transmission antennas and a set of reception antennas associated with the first set of positioning signals and the second set of positioning signals; a fourth indicator of a set of ranking metrics to associate with the set of report messages; a fifth indicator of a measurement gap associated with at least one of the first set of positioning signals and the second set of positioning signals; a sixth indicator of a periodicity associated with the set of report messages; a seventh indicator of a quantity associated with the set of report messages; an eighth indicator of an occasion associated with the set of report messages; or a ninth indicator of a measurement type associated with the set of report messages (Caporal Del Barrior: paragraphs [0008], [0076])).
Regarding claim 16, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit a request message comprising a request for the AD before the reception of the AD (Keating: paragraph [0067]) and (Caporal Del Barrior: paragraphs [0065], [0072]).
Regarding claim 17, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein receiving the AD comprises receiving a long-term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) message comprising the AD (Keating: paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, Keating in combination of Caporal Del Barrior discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of positioning signals and the second set of positioning signals comprise at least one of a positioning reference signal (PRS), a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS), a tracking reference signal (TRS), a synchronization signal block (SSB), or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (Keating: paragraphs [0047], [0054]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648