DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kueny et al. (WO 2019/152572).
With respect to claim 1, Kueny et al. teach a movable body moving in the underground space (Fig. 7, 770);
a camera mounted on the movable body to photograph a first image containing at least one object placed in the underground space (Fig. 7, 771);
an object detection terminal (Fig. 7, 700); configured to receive the first image (para [0046], computer 700 to send and receive data to remote devices) and correct the first image (para [0025], processes the collected pipe inspection data to format it appropriately for AR display. By way of example, a laser scan image of the interior of the pipe may be formed into a cylindrical length of pipe) so as to detect a first object that is a preset object and is comprised in the at least one object and a second object that is different from the first object, is a preset object, and is comprised in the at least one object within a corrected second image (para [0032], The features (surface or subterranean) may be detected and identified automatically, e.g., using computer vision or pattern matching techniques to identify such features; para [0025], e.g., sediment buildup or erosion/cracks in the pipe wall); and
a communication network configured to enable network communication between the movable body and the object detection terminal (Fig. 7, 720; para [0046], computer 700 may communicate data with and between a pipe inspection robot 770).
With respect to claim 2, Kueny et al. teach each of the first object and the second object comprises at least one of person, a vehicle, or an underground facility (para [0025], e.g., sediment buildup or erosion/cracks in the pipe wall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kueny et al. (WO 2019/152572) in view of Xue et al. (“Learning to Calibrate Straight Lines for Fisheye Image Rectification”, arXiv:1904.09856v2 [cs.CV] 1 May 2019).
With respect to claim 3, Kueny et al. teach all the limitations of claim 1 as applied above from which claim 4 respectively depend.
Kueny et al. do not teach expressly that the first image comprises a distorted image.
Xue et al. teaches the first image comprises a distorted image.
(Introduction, Fisheye image).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use fisheye image that have distorted in the method of Kueny et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that fisheye image have large field of view (FOV), however it requires correction for promising performances.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xue et al. with Kueny et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
With respect to claim 4, Xue et al. teach the camera comprises a wide- angle camera (Introduction, Fisheye camera).
With respect to claim 5, Xue et al. teach the wide-angle camera uses at least one of a wide-angle lens or an ultra-wide-angle lens (Introduction, Fisheye camera with fisheye lens).
With respect to claim 6, Kueny et al. teach that the object detection terminal is configured to detect a plurality of objects comprising the first object and the second object (para [0025], e.g., sediment buildup or erosion/cracks in the pipe wall).
Claims 7, 9, 10, 12-14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kueny et al. (WO 2019/152572) in view of Xue et al. (“Learning to Calibrate Straight Lines for Fisheye Image Rectification”, arXiv:1904.09856v2 [cs.CV] 1 May 2019) and in further view of 이준 et al. (KR 102924781).
With respect to claim 7, Kueny et al. teach all the limitations of claim 1 as applied above from which claim 7 respectively depend.
Kueny et al. also teach a communication unit configured to communicate with the moving object and receive the first image acquired by being captured by the camera (Fig. 7, 720; para [0046], computer 700 may communicate data with and between a pipe inspection robot 770).
Kueny et al. do not teach expressly that a convolution filter generation unit configured to generate a convolution filter that matches a distortion shape of the camera;
a main control unit configured to correct the distortion by applying the convolutional filter to the first image;
a feature extraction unit configured to calculate a feature map through a convolution operation so as to infer a region from the second image corrected by the main control unit;
an object classification module configured to receive the feature map as an input so as to classify the first object and the second object contained in the inferred region.
Xue et al. teach the first image comprises a convolution filter generation unit configured to generate a convolution filter that matches a distortion shape of the camera (Page 3, 2. General Fisheye Camera Model, distortion effect of fisheye images can be rectified once we can get the parameters; 3. Deep Calibration and Rectification Model, exploit the relationship between scene geometry of distorted lines and the corresponding distortion parameters of fisheye images by CNNs)
a main control unit configured to correct the distortion by applying the convolutional filter to the first image (Fig. 2, rectified image);
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to generate a convolution filter and correct the distortion in the method of Kueny et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been when specified geometric objects in fisheye images can be accurately detected.
이준 et al. teach a feature extraction unit configured to calculate a feature map through a convolution operation so as to infer a region from image (Page 5, 2nd para, bounding box are inferred directly through a fully connected layer and output as output data; Fig. 6, bounding box + confidence)); an object classification module configured to receive the feature map as an input so as to classify the first object and the second object contained in the inferred region (fig. 6, final detection)
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to calculate a feature map and classify objects in the system of Kueny et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that use well known method to classify a plurality of objects included in the image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine 이준 et al. and Xue et al. with Kueny et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
With respect to claim 9, 이준 et al. teach the main control unit is configured to infer regions with high probability, in which at least one of the first object and the second object exists, from the feature map calculated by the feature extraction unit (Page 5, 2nd para, bounding box are inferred directly through a fully connected layer and output as output data; Fig. 6, bounding box + confidence))
With respect to claim 10, 이준 et al. teach the main control unit is configured to infer an object region by utilizing a plurality of different anchor boxes so as to detect the first object and the second object (Page 5, 2nd para, bounding box are inferred directly through a fully connected layer and output as output data; Fig. 6, bounding box + confidence))
With respect to claim 12, Xue et al. teach the convolutional filter generation unit is configured to generate a convolutional filter configured to correct distortion due to a parameter of the camera. (Page 3, Fig. 2, rectified image 3. Deep Calibration and Rectification Model)
With respect to claim 13, Xue et al. teach the parameter of the camera comprises at least one of a focal length of a lens used in the camera, an angle of view of the camera, and a relative aperture of the camera (Page 3, 2. General Fisheye Camera Model)
With respect to claim 14, Xue et al. teach the convolution filter generation unit is configured to generate a convolution filter configured to correct distortion due to a parameter of the camera, which comprises a focal length of a lens, an angle of view of the camera, and a relative aperture of the camera (Page 3, Fig. 2, rectified image 3. Deep Calibration and Rectification Model, exploit the relationship between scene geometry of distorted lines and the corresponding distortion parameters of fisheye images by CNNs).
With respect to claim 17, claim 17 is rejected same reason as claim 7 above.
With respect to claim 18, Xue et al. teach that the parameter of the camera is acquired by the object detection terminal before generating the convolutional filter (Page 3, 2. General Fisheye Camera Model, distortion effect of fisheye images can be rectified once we can get the parameters; 3. Deep Calibration and Rectification Model, exploit the relationship between scene geometry of distorted lines and the corresponding distortion parameters of fisheye images by CNNs).
Claims 8, 15, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kueny et al. (WO 2019/152572) in view of Xue et al. (“Learning to Calibrate Straight Lines for Fisheye Image Rectification”, arXiv:1904.09856v2 [cs.CV] 1 May 2019) and 이준 et al. (KR 102924781) and in further view of Simplilearn “Convolutional Neural Network Tutorial (CNN) | How CNN Works | Deep Learning Tutorial | Simplilearn”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jy9-aGMB_TE&t=18s, 6/19/2018).
With respect to claim 8, Kueny et al., Xue et al. and 이준 et al. teach all the limitations of claim 7 as applied above from which claim 8 respectively depend.
The convolutional filter described in claim 8 is ordinary filter used in CNN, however, Kueny et al., Xue et al. and 이준 et al. do not teach expressly.
Simplilearn teach convolutional filter that is equivalent to claim 8.
(timeline 9:58-11:56)
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use convolutional filter to calculate convolved feature in the system of Kueny et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that use well known method to extract feature in the image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Simplilearn with 이준 et al. , Xue et al. and Kueny et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
With respect to claim 15, claim 15 is rejected same reason as claim 8 above.
With respect to claim 16 Simplilearn teach
∆
P
n
=
∆
P
n
+
c
-
∆
P
c
(timeline 9:58-11:56, which is interpreted as next position of convolutional filter)
With respect to claim 19, claim 19 is rejected same reason as claim 8 above.
With respect to claim 20, claim 20 is rejected same reason as claim 16 above.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kueny et al. (WO 2019/152572) in view of Xue et al. (“Learning to Calibrate Straight Lines for Fisheye Image Rectification”, arXiv:1904.09856v2 [cs.CV] 1 May 2019) and 이준 et al. (KR 102924781) and in further view of Yoo et al. (US 2020/0294257).
With respect to claim 11, Kueny et al., Xue et al. and 이준 et al. teach all the limitations of claim 10 as applied above from which claim 11 respectively depend.
Kueny et al., Xue et al. and 이준 et al. do not teach expressly RPN algorithm.
Yoo et al. teach RPN algorithm (para [0034 and 0066]).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use RPN algorithm in the system of Kueny et al., Xue et al. and 이준 et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that use well known method to efficiently extract feature in the image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yoo et al. with 이준 et al. , Xue et al. and Kueny et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RANDOLPH I CHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667