DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20080152037) in view of Zhao (US 20140211882).
In regards to claims 1, 11 and 21, Kim discloses a method, a wireless station and a wireless access point comprising: receiving an input signal at a signal path (Kim Fig. 1, 2 Item 101);
evaluating a memory effect (Kim paragraph 0030, 0033, 0034, 0049) of the input signal on a Volterra series model (Kim paragraph 0051); adjusting coefficients of the Volterra series model (Kim paragraph 0051) based at least in part on the memory effect;
generating a compensation signal (Kim Fig. 2 paragraph 0030, 0033, 0034, 0049, 0051) using the Volterra series model on the input signal; and
generating a pre-distorted signal (Kim paragraph 0005) by applying a shiftable finite impulse response (FIR) (Kim Fig. 1, 2 paragraph 0007, 0034) to the compensation signal.
Kim fails to teach Volterra kernel coefficients. However, Zhao discloses Volterra kernel coefficients (Zhao paragraph 0028-0030). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zhao’s discloses Volterra kernel coefficients in Kim’s method for improving converging speed (Zhao paragraph 0008).
In regards to claims 2, 12 and 22, Kim in view of Zhao discloses a method, a wireless station and a wireless access point as described above. Kim in view of Zhao further discloses evaluating the memory effect includes evaluating the memory effect of the pre-distorted signal using Volterra kernels of the Volterra series model (Kim paragraph 0005, 0049 note: pre-distorted signal reads on PD).
In regards to claims 3, 13 and 23, Kim in view of Zhao discloses a method, a wireless station and a wireless access point as described above. Kim in view of Zhao further discloses the shiftable FIR is programmed to filter lower out-of-band signal frequency distortions (Kim Fig. 5 note: this reads on (d) or (e) regions) associated with the input signal.
In regards to claims 4, 14 and 24, Kim in view of Zhao discloses a method, a wireless station and a wireless access point as described above. Kim in view of Zhao further discloses the shiftable FIR is programmed to filter upper out-of-band signal frequency distortions (Kim Fig. 5 note: this reads on (b) or (c) regions) associated with the input signal (Kim Fig. 1, 2 Item 101).
In regards to claims 5, 15 and 25, Kim in view of Zhao discloses a method, a wireless station and a wireless access point as described above. Kim in view of Zhao further discloses the shiftable FIR is programmed to filter in-band signal frequency distortions (Kim paragraph 0003) associated with the input signal.
In regards to claims 6, 16 and 26, Kim in view of Zhao discloses a method, a wireless station and a wireless access point as described above. Kim in view of Zhao further discloses the input signal (Kim Fig. 1, 2 Item 101) and a reconstructed output signal (Kim Fig. 1, 2 Item 105) associated with the input signal are used to evaluate the memory effect.
In regards to claims 7, 17 and 27, Kim in view of Zhao discloses a method, a wireless station and a wireless access point as described above. Kim in view of Zhao further discloses Volterra kernels of the Volterra series model (Zhao claim 1) are selected based, at least in part, on a power amplifier (Kim paragraph 0003) amplifying the pre-distorted signal.
In regards to claims 8, 18 and 28, Kim in view of Zhao discloses a method, a wireless station and a wireless access point as described above. Kim in view of Zhao further discloses transmitting the pre-distorted signal to a power amplifier (Kim paragraph 0003, Zhao abstract); and producing, by the power amplifier, an amplified output signal of the pre-distorted signal having a suppressed non-linear distortion (Zhao claim 1) at a specific band.
In regards to claims 9, 19 and 29, Kim in view of Zhao discloses a method, a wireless station and a wireless access point as described above. Kim in view of Zhao further discloses transmitting the pre-distorted signal to a power amplifier (Zhao Fig. 2 Item 204); producing, by the power amplifier, an amplified output signal of the pre-distorted signal having a suppressed non-linear distortion (Zhao abstract) at a specific band; applying the amplified output signal to the Volterra series model; evaluating and updated memory effect of the amplified output signal on the Volterra series model; and adjusting the Volterra kernel coefficients of the Volterra series model based, at least in part, on the updated memory effect (Zhao claim 1).
In regards to claims 10, 20 and 30, Kim in view of Zhao discloses a method, a wireless station and a wireless access point as described above. Kim in view of Zhao further discloses the input signal is a wireless packet (Zhao paragraph 0022, 0023 note: this reads on CDMA, GSM and cellular network).
Conclusion
/HSINCHUN LIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641