DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the August 27th, 2025 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”).
Response to Amendments
In response to the amendments received in the Remarks on August 27th, 2025:
Claims 1-2, 5-16, and 18-23 are pending in the current application. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 11-16 and 18-20 stand withdrawn. Claims 3-4 and 17 have been cancelled.
The previous objection to the claims has been overcome in light of the amendment.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are as necessitated by the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Remarks on August 27th, 2024 with respect to claims 1-2, 5-10, and 21-23 are based on the claims as amended. While Applicant’s arguments are acknowledged, they are found to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, presented below, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the Claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-10, and 21-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 22, the phrase "substantially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear to what degree limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. For example, is a second edge that is “substantially perpendicular” to a first edge form a 90 degree angle, a 45 degree angle, a 120 degree angle, and/or any specific value between 0 and 180 degrees? Further clarification is required.
Claims 2, 5-10, 21, and 23 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Prior Art
Lim US PG Publication 2019/0379028 (“Lim”)
Previously cited Han US PG Publication 2017/0125764 (“Han”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-10, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim US PG Publication 2019/0379028.
Regarding Claim 1, Lim discloses an electrode assembly (apparatus) ([0010], entire disclosure dependent upon) comprising:
an electrode [layer] 100 (Annotated Fig. 1, [0010], [0033]) having:
a first edge (as defined by a width direction of electrode 100) (Annotated Fig. 1, [0033]),
a second edge perpendicular to the first edge (as defined by a height direction of the electrode 100) (Annotated Fig. 1, [0033]);
a coating portion (coated region) 110 having an edge that is parallel to the first edge of the electrode layer 100 (the coating region edge and the first edge of the electrode 100 overlap) (Annotated Fig. 1, [0033]), and
a plurality of uncoated extensions (i.e. foil tabs 111 on which the active material is not applied) spaced apart along the first edge of the electrode layer 100 and extending beyond the edge of the coated region 110 (Annotated Fig. 1, [0033]); and
a non-coating portion (uncoated region) 120, separate from the plurality of uncoated extensions, along the second edge of the electrode layer 100, wherein the uncoated region 120 is configured to be coupled to a tab member 121 (Annotated Fig. 1, [0033]),
wherein a first one of the plurality of uncoated extensions 111 has a first size and wherein a second one of the uncoated extensions 111 has a second size different from the first size, wherein the first size comprises a first length (height) along a direction perpendicular to the edge of the coated region, and wherein the second size comprises a second length (height) along the direction perpendicular to the edge of the coated region such that the heights of the uncoated extensions 111 gradually increase from a center of the electrode 100 toward the outside (Annotated Fig. 1, [0015], [0033], [0055]).
Annotated Figure 1 of Lim
Regarding Claim 2, Lim teaches the instantly claimed apparatus according to Claim 1, and Lim discloses wherein the first size further comprises a first width along a direction parallel to the edge of the coated region 110 and wherein the second size further comprises a second width along the direction parallel to the edge of the coated region 110 (Annotated Fig. 1, [0015], [0033]).
Regarding Claim 9, Lim teaches the instantly claimed apparatus according to Claim 1, and Lim discloses wherein the electrode layer 100 comprises a negative electrode (anode layer) or a positive electrode (cathode layer) for a battery cell ([0019]).
Regarding Claim 10, Lim teaches the instantly claimed apparatus according to Claim 1, and Lim discloses wherein the electrode layer 100 is implemented in a battery cell for an apparatus such as electric vehicle and portable electric appliances ([0008]).
Regarding Claim 21, Lim teaches the instantly claimed apparatus according to Claim 1, and Lim discloses the apparatus further comprising the tab 121 coupled to the uncoated region 120 along the second edge of the electrode layer 100 (Annotated Fig. 1, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 22, Lim teaches the instantly claimed apparatus according to Claim 21, and Lim discloses wherein the tab 121 extends in a direction parallel to the second edge of the electrode layer 100 and beyond the first edge of the electrode layer 100, and wherein the plurality of uncoated extensions 111 are configured to be folded over into contact with the tab 121 when the electrode layer 100 is wound (in a rolled configuration) ([0056]).
Regarding Claim 23, Lim teaches the instantly claimed apparatus according to Claim 1, and Lim discloses wherein the uncoated region 120 extends between the coated region 110 and the second edge of the electrode layer 100 and does not extend beyond the first edge of the electrode layer 100 (Annotated Fig. 1, [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim US PG Publication 2019/0379028, as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Han US PG Publication 2017/0125764.
Regarding Claim 5, Lim teaches the instantly claimed apparatus according to Claim 1, and Lim discloses wherein the apparatus further comprises the tab 121 connected to the uncoated region 120 of the electrode layer 100, wherein the first one of the plurality of uncoated extensions 111 is a nearest uncoated extension to the tab 121, wherein the second one of the plurality of uncoated extensions 111 is spaces apart from the first one of the plurality of uncoated extensions by a first distance, and wherein a third of one the plurality of uncoated extensions 111 is spaced apart from the second one of the plurality of uncoated extensions 111 by a second distance (Annotated Fig. 1, [0033]).
Lim fails to disclose wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance.
However, Han discloses an apparatus (i.e. rechargeable battery) (Abstract), comprising: an electrode layer (i.e. first electrode 11) having a coated region 11a and a plurality of uncoated extensions 11b spaced apart along an edge of the coated region (Fig. 1, [0050]-[0052], [0056]), wherein a first one of the plurality of uncoated extensions has a first size and a second one of the uncoated extensions has a second size (Fig. 5, [0091]), wherein the first size comprises a first height along a direction perpendicular to the edge of the coated region (Fig. 5, [0091]), and wherein the second size comprises a second height along the direction perpendicular to the edge of the coated region (Fig. 5, [0091]). And Han discloses wherein the apparatus further comprises a tab (i.e. first lead tab 21) connected to an uncoated region 11b of the electrode layer 11 (Fig. 1, [0089]), wherein the second one of the plurality of uncoated extensions is spaced apart from the first one of the plurality of uncoated extensions by a first distance L1 (Fig. 5, [0066]), and wherein a third one of the plurality of uncoated extensions is spaced apart from the second one of the plurality of uncoated extensions by a second distance L2 (Fig. 5, [0066]).
Han teaches that when the second distance L2 is greater than the first distance L1 such that when the electrode is wound the uncoated regions can align with one another (Figs. 4-5, [0062]-[0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the apparatus of Lim such that the second distance is greater than the first distance in order for the plurality of uncoated extensions to align with one another when the electrode layer is wound, as taught by Han.
Regarding Claim 6, Lim teaches the instantly claimed apparatus to Claim 1, and Lim teaches the apparatus further comprising the tab 121 connected to the uncoated region 120 of the electrode layer 100 and wherein the first one of the plurality of uncoated extensions 111 and the second one of the plurality of uncoated extensions 111 are disposed on a first side of the electrode layer 100 with respect to the tab 121 (Annotated Fig. 1, [0033]).
Lim fails to disclose wherein the plurality of uncoated extensions further comprise on a second side of the electrode layer with respect to the tab, a third one of the plurality of uncoated extensions having the first size and a fourth one of the uncoated extensions having the second size.
However, Han discloses an apparatus (i.e. rechargeable battery) (Abstract), comprising: an electrode layer (i.e. first electrode 11) having a coated region 11a and a plurality of uncoated extensions 11b spaced apart along an edge of the coated region (Fig. 1, [0050]-[0052], [0056]), wherein a first one of the plurality of uncoated extensions has a first size and a second one of the uncoated extensions has a second size (Fig. 5, [0091]), wherein the first size comprises a first height along a direction perpendicular to the edge of the coated region (Fig. 5, [0091]), and wherein the second size comprises a second height along the direction perpendicular to the edge of the coated region (Fig. 5, [0091]).
Han teaches the use of a second electrode which mirrors the first electrode, including the uncoated extensions spacing and sizing, that is stacked on top of the first electrode such that when the electrodes are wound together to form an electrode assembly the uncoated extensions align with their corresponding size uncoated extension on the other electrode ([0060]-[0063]) thereby allowing the active material layers of each of the electrodes to align ([0070]) and improve the relative capacity of the battery ([0077]-[0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the apparatus of Lim to include a plurality of uncoated extensions on a second side of the electrode layer by stacking the electrode layer with a corresponding second electrode layer that mirrors the dimensions of the original electrode layer such that a third one of the plurality of uncoated extensions having the first size and a fourth one of the uncoated extensions having the second size mirror those of the first and second plurality of uncoated extensions such that the active material layers of the original and second electrode layers can align and thereby improve the relative capacity of the battery, as taught by Han.
Regarding Claim 7, Lim teaches the instantly claimed apparatus according to Claim 1.
Lim fails to disclose wherein the plurality of uncoated extensions are spaced apart along the edge of the coated region by increasing distances.
However, Han discloses an apparatus (i.e. rechargeable battery) (Abstract), comprising: an electrode layer (i.e. first electrode 11) having a coated region 11a and a plurality of uncoated extensions 11b spaced apart along an edge of the coated region (Fig. 1, [0050]-[0052], [0056]), wherein a first one of the plurality of uncoated extensions has a first size and a second one of the uncoated extensions has a second size (Fig. 5, [0091]), wherein the first size comprises a first height along a direction perpendicular to the edge of the coated region (Fig. 5, [0091]), and wherein the second size comprises a second height along the direction perpendicular to the edge of the coated region (Fig. 5, [0091]). And Han discloses wherein the apparatus further comprises a tab (i.e. first lead tab 21) connected to an uncoated region 11b of the electrode layer 11 (Fig. 1, [0089]), wherein the second one of the plurality of uncoated extensions is spaced apart from the first one of the plurality of uncoated extensions by a first distance L1 (Fig. 5, [0066]), and wherein a third one of the plurality of uncoated extensions is spaced apart from the second one of the plurality of uncoated extensions by a second distance L2 (Fig. 5, [0066]).
Han teaches that when the second distance L2 is greater than the first distance L1 such that when the electrode is wound the uncoated regions can align with one another (Figs. 4-5, [0062]-[0066]) ]) and improve the relative capacity of the battery ([0077]-[0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the apparatus of Lim such that the plurality of uncoated extensions are spaced apart along the edge of the coated region by increasing distances configured to align the plurality of uncoated extensions with each other when the electrode layer is in a rolled configuration in order to improve the relative capacity of the battery, as taught by Han.
Regarding Claim 8, Lim in view of Han teaches the instantly claimed apparatus according to Claim 7, and Lim discloses wherein the plurality of uncoated extensions 111 are configured to be folded over in contact with each other when the electrode layer 100 is the rolled configuration ([0056]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729