DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0404795 (Rodriguez) (cited by Applicant) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0016362 (Kim) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0001655 (Blom).
Claim 1:
The cited prior art describes a computer-implemented method for monitoring decomposition of materials, the computer-implemented method comprising: (Rodriguez: “The present invention relates generally to the field of three-dimensional (3D) printing, and more particularly to an early notification system of degradation of 3D printed parts.” Paragraph 0001; “The present invention may be a system, a method, and/or a computer program product. The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium (or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present invention.” Paragraph 0045)
Rodriguez does not explicitly describe determining decomposable materials or adjusting a design as described below. However, Kim teaches the determining decomposable materials and Blom teaches the adjusting a design as described below.
determining one or more materials, for a three-dimensional (3D) printed object, that are decomposable in an environment; (Kim: “the controller may control the display unit to display a select window for selecting any one of the material of a solid object” paragraph 0016; “In particular, a constituent element constituting a solid object according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a decomposable material allowing the solid object to be decomposed according to the flow of time and a decomposition agent assisting decomposition.” Paragraph 0153; “Furthermore, the display unit 151 display a first select window 511 for selecting a criteria for modularizing the solid object, for example, a canvas criteria, an object criteria, a material criteria, an assembly criteria, a height criteria, and the like.” Paragraph 0175)
generating a computer-aided design of the 3D printed object utilizing the determined one or more materials; (Kim: “The controller 180 controls the display unit 151 to display a first and a second virtual print image 331, 332 showing print status according to the print direction in consideration of at least one of an amount of material and a print time. The first and the second virtual image 331, 332 display virtual images of the solid object, an amount of material and a print time when printed in different directions.” Paragraph 0185)
creating the 3D printed object utilizing the generated computer-aided design and the determined one or more decomposable materials; (Kim: see the 3D printer 200 and the control signals to print the components S304 as illustrated in figures 1D, 2A and as described in paragraph 0170; “a controller configured to control the wireless communication unit to transmit a control signal to the 3D printer so as to print at least one selected from the plurality of modules based on a control command applied to the display unit” paragraph 0011)
deploying the 3D printed object in the environment to cause a decomposition process of the 3D printed object to be initiated; (Rodriguez: “In step 205, degradation notification program 112 identifies that a 3D printed part has been installed into a unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 identifies that a 3D printed part has been installed into a unit, i.e., placed into operation in a system, e.g., a mechanical unit. The 3D printed part is printed using a multi-material print. . . Responsive to the 3D printed part being completed, inspected, and placed into operation, degradation notification program 112 identifies that the 3D printed part has been installed into a unit.” Paragraph 0026)
monitoring the decomposition process of the 3D printed object in the environment; and (Rodriguez: “In step 225, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses of the unit in operation to measure backscatter. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses (i.e., preset scans) of the 3D printed part in operation within the unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs the scans using the same backscatter techniques to identify any deltas (i.e., changes) which may indicate a defect in the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0030)
adjusting a design of subsequent 3D printed objects based on the monitored decomposition process. (see the monitored decomposition process in Rodriguez and the updated build file for the next part in Blom) (Blom: see the generate an updated build file based on adjustments 1110 as illustrated in figure 11; “Feedforward control computer device 602 transmits the updated build parameters in build file 210 to system 10, so that system 10 may use those updated build parameters the next time that it has to build 212 that geometry in building part 28.” Paragraph 0087) (Rodriguez: “In step 225, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses of the unit in operation to measure backscatter. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses (i.e., preset scans) of the 3D printed part in operation within the unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs the scans using the same backscatter techniques to identify any deltas (i.e., changes) which may indicate a defect in the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0030)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Rodriguez, namely, a 3D printing system, with the known techniques of Kim, namely, a 3D printing system, and the known techniques of Blom, namely, an additive manufacturing system, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Rodriguez to monitor degradation of 3D printed parts with the teachings of Kim to configure and print a 3D printed part and the teachings of Blom to update a design of a 3D printed part based on a previously 3D printed part would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved 3D printing system. In other words, the combination of the references provides for a 3D printing system that enables the selection of material (Kim), the monitoring of material degradation of the 3D printed part (Rodriguez), and the updating of a 3D printed part design based on data (Blom) in a 3D printing system.
Claim 2:
The cited prior art describes the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a current decomposition rate of the 3D printed object based on monitoring the decomposition process; (Rodriguez: see the perform scheduled pulses 225 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0030)
comparing a historical decomposition rate of the 3D printed object and the current decomposition rate; (Rodriguez: see the determine if measurement is within baseline delta 230 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0031)
determining a difference between the historical decomposition rate and the current decomposition rate; and (Rodriguez: “If degradation notification program 112 determines the measurement taken is not within the baseline delta, degradation notification program 112 proceeds to step 240” paragraph 0033)
updating the historical decomposition rate, based on the current decomposition rate, (Rodriguez: see the initial scan 210 and second scan 215 based on the current scan 225 being outside of the baseline delta 230 as illustrated in figure 2)
Rodriguez does not explicitly describe adjusting a design as described below. However, Blom teaches the adjusting a design as described below.
wherein the updated historical decomposition rate is to adjust the design of the subsequent 3D printed objects. (see the monitored decomposition process in Rodriguez and the updated build file for the next part based on differences in Blom) (Blom: see the generate an updated build file based on adjustments 1110 and the determine adjustments based on the differences 1108 as illustrated in figure 11; “Feedforward control computer device 602 transmits the updated build parameters in build file 210 to system 10, so that system 10 may use those updated build parameters the next time that it has to build 212 that geometry in building part 28.” Paragraph 0087) (Rodriguez: “In step 225, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses of the unit in operation to measure backscatter. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses (i.e., preset scans) of the 3D printed part in operation within the unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs the scans using the same backscatter techniques to identify any deltas (i.e., changes) which may indicate a defect in the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0030)
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 4:
Rodriguez does not explicitly describe a camera as described below. However, Blom teaches the camera as described below.
The cited prior art describes the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein monitoring the decomposition process comprises: monitoring the decomposition process using one or more monitoring devices, wherein the one or more monitoring devices comprise a camera device. (see the monitoring decomposition in Rodriguez and the camera sensor monitoring of a complete build in Blom) (Blom: see receiving sensor information of a complete build 1104 as illustrated in figure 11; “Sensors 310 are adapted to measure a parameter of interest, such as temperature, distributed temperature, pressure, electric current, magnetic field, electric field, chemical properties, dimensions, size, shape, or a combination thereof. Some sensors 310 may include optical system 20 (shown in FIG. 1), and may further include, for example and without limitation, a photomultiplier tube, a photodiode, an infrared camera, a charged-couple device (CCD) camera, a CMOS camera, a pyrometer, or a high-speed visible-light camera.” Paragraph 0073) (Rodriguez: “In step 225, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses of the unit in operation to measure backscatter. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses (i.e., preset scans) of the 3D printed part in operation within the unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs the scans using the same backscatter techniques to identify any deltas (i.e., changes) which may indicate a defect in the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0030)
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 5:
The cited prior art describes the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein monitoring the decomposition process comprises: monitoring the decomposition process using one or more monitoring devices, wherein the one or more monitoring devices comprise a sensor device. (Rodriguez: “For example, one backscatter technique uses an antenna to transmit data by reflecting radio signals emitted by a Wi-Fi® router or another device. Information embedded in the reflected radio signals can then be decoded by a Wi-Fi® receiver. The antenna is contained in a 3D printed object made of conductive printing filament that mixes plastic with copper. Embodiments of the present invention that utilize this technique must baseline the 3D printed part prior to setup to ensure that the backscatter reflection is absorbed by the amount of surface coating of nonconductive material.” Paragraph 0009)
Claim 7:
The cited prior art describes the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein deploying the 3D printed object in the environment comprises: configuring the 3D printed object to initiate the decomposition process based on environmental conditions of the environment. (Rodriguez: “After some time, if the 3D printed part shows some tear and wear, the metallic filaments of the 3D printed part will be exposed causing a different reading in contrast with the baseline. Therefore, this baseline delta between backscatter readings is what degradation notification program 112 uses to determine that there is some defects caused by time, wear, and tear on the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0029)
Claim 8:
Examiner notes that the specification defines computer readable storage media/medium as not including transitory signals (paragraph 0078).
The cited prior art describes a computer program product comprising: (Rodriguez: “The present invention relates generally to the field of three-dimensional (3D) printing, and more particularly to an early notification system of degradation of 3D printed parts.” Paragraph 0001; “The present invention may be a system, a method, and/or a computer program product. The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium (or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present invention.” Paragraph 0045)
one or more computer readable storage media, and (Rodriguez: “The present invention relates generally to the field of three-dimensional (3D) printing, and more particularly to an early notification system of degradation of 3D printed parts.” Paragraph 0001; “The present invention may be a system, a method, and/or a computer program product. The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium (or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present invention.” Paragraph 0045)
program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions comprising: (Rodriguez: “The present invention relates generally to the field of three-dimensional (3D) printing, and more particularly to an early notification system of degradation of 3D printed parts.” Paragraph 0001; “The present invention may be a system, a method, and/or a computer program product. The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium (or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present invention.” Paragraph 0045)
Rodriguez does not explicitly describe determining decomposable materials or adjusting a design as described below. However, Kim teaches the determining decomposable materials and Blom teaches the adjusting a design as described below.
program instructions to obtain, from a data store, material information identifying one or more materials, for a first three-dimensional (3D) printed object, that are decomposable in an environment; (Kim: “the controller may control the display unit to display a select window for selecting any one of the material of a solid object” paragraph 0016; “In particular, a constituent element constituting a solid object according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may include a decomposable material allowing the solid object to be decomposed according to the flow of time and a decomposition agent assisting decomposition.” Paragraph 0153; “Furthermore, the display unit 151 display a first select window 511 for selecting a criteria for modularizing the solid object, for example, a canvas criteria, an object criteria, a material criteria, an assembly criteria, a height criteria, and the like.” Paragraph 0175)
program instructions to design the first 3D printed object based on the material information; (Kim: “The controller 180 controls the display unit 151 to display a first and a second virtual print image 331, 332 showing print status according to the print direction in consideration of at least one of an amount of material and a print time. The first and the second virtual image 331, 332 display virtual images of the solid object, an amount of material and a print time when printed in different directions.” Paragraph 0185)
program instructions to create the first 3D printed object utilizing the one or more materials; (Kim: see the 3D printer 200 and the control signals to print the components S304 as illustrated in figures 1D, 2A and as described in paragraph 0170; “a controller configured to control the wireless communication unit to transmit a control signal to the 3D printer so as to print at least one selected from the plurality of modules based on a control command applied to the display unit” paragraph 0011)
program instructions to configure the first 3D printed object to initiate a decomposition process of the first 3D printed object in the environment; (Rodriguez: “In step 205, degradation notification program 112 identifies that a 3D printed part has been installed into a unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 identifies that a 3D printed part has been installed into a unit, i.e., placed into operation in a system, e.g., a mechanical unit. The 3D printed part is printed using a multi-material print. . . Responsive to the 3D printed part being completed, inspected, and placed into operation, degradation notification program 112 identifies that the 3D printed part has been installed into a unit.” Paragraph 0026)
program instructions to monitor the decomposition process of the first 3D printed object in the environment; and (Rodriguez: “In step 225, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses of the unit in operation to measure backscatter. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses (i.e., preset scans) of the 3D printed part in operation within the unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs the scans using the same backscatter techniques to identify any deltas (i.e., changes) which may indicate a defect in the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0030)
program instructions to adjust a design of a second 3D printed object based on the monitored decomposition process. (see the monitored decomposition process in Rodriguez and the updated build file for the next part in Blom) (Blom: see the generate an updated build file based on adjustments 1110 as illustrated in figure 11; “Feedforward control computer device 602 transmits the updated build parameters in build file 210 to system 10, so that system 10 may use those updated build parameters the next time that it has to build 212 that geometry in building part 28.” Paragraph 0087) (Rodriguez: “In step 225, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses of the unit in operation to measure backscatter. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses (i.e., preset scans) of the 3D printed part in operation within the unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs the scans using the same backscatter techniques to identify any deltas (i.e., changes) which may indicate a defect in the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0030)
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 9:
Rodriguez does not explicitly describe utilizing decomposable materials as described below. However, Kim teaches the utilizing decomposable materials as described below.
The cited prior art describes the computer program product of claim 8, wherein the program instructions to design the first 3D printed object comprise: program instructions to generate a computer-aided design of the 3D printed object utilizing the one or more materials, wherein the first 3D printed object is created further utilizing the generated computer-aided design. (Kim: “The controller 180 controls the display unit 151 to display a first and a second virtual print image 331, 332 showing print status according to the print direction in consideration of at least one of an amount of material and a print time. The first and the second virtual image 331, 332 display virtual images of the solid object, an amount of material and a print time when printed in different directions.” Paragraph 0185; see the 3D printer 200 and the control signals to print the components S304 as illustrated in figures 1D, 2A and as described in paragraph 0170; “a controller configured to control the wireless communication unit to transmit a control signal to the 3D printer so as to print at least one selected from the plurality of modules based on a control command applied to the display unit” paragraph 0011)
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 10:
The cited prior art describes the computer program product of claim 8, wherein the program instructions to adjust design of the second 3D printed object comprise:
program instructions to update the material information using information regarding the monitored decomposition process; and (Rodriguez: see the initial scan 210 and second scan 215 based on the current scan 225 being outside of the baseline delta 230 as illustrated in figure 2)
Rodriguez does not explicitly describe adjusting a design as described below. However, Blom teaches the adjusting a design as described below.
program instructions to adjust the design of the second 3D printed object using the updated material information. (see the monitored decomposition process in Rodriguez and the updated build file for the next part based on differences in Blom) (Blom: see the generate an updated build file based on adjustments 1110 and the determine adjustments based on the differences 1108 as illustrated in figure 11; “Feedforward control computer device 602 transmits the updated build parameters in build file 210 to system 10, so that system 10 may use those updated build parameters the next time that it has to build 212 that geometry in building part 28.” Paragraph 0087) (Rodriguez: “In step 225, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses of the unit in operation to measure backscatter. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses (i.e., preset scans) of the 3D printed part in operation within the unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs the scans using the same backscatter techniques to identify any deltas (i.e., changes) which may indicate a defect in the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0030)
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 12:
The cited prior art describes the computer program product of claim 8, wherein the program instructions to configure the first 3D printed object to initiate the decomposition process comprise: program instructions to configure the first 3D printed object to initiate the decomposition process through a reaction with environmental conditions of the environment. (Rodriguez: “After some time, if the 3D printed part shows some tear and wear, the metallic filaments of the 3D printed part will be exposed causing a different reading in contrast with the baseline. Therefore, this baseline delta between backscatter readings is what degradation notification program 112 uses to determine that there is some defects caused by time, wear, and tear on the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0029)
Claims 3, 6, 11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0404795 (Rodriguez) (cited by Applicant) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0016362 (Kim) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0001655 (Blom) and
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0337277 (Dikovsky).
Claim 3:
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom do not explicitly describe obtaining material information based on the environment as described below. However, Dikovsky teaches the obtaining material information based on the environment as described below.
The cited prior art describes the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining the one or more materials comprises:
identifying the environment; and (Dikovsky: “This figure presents an example of printing of tray consisting of 100 slices and containing degradable support structure.” Paragraph 0093; “3D printing of multiple materials, using for example Connex.TM.500 system, allows the design of materials at the voxel level, where for example a degradable material solution and a disintegrating solution may be digitally combined, meaning that a software file will describe the material structure at the voxel level.” Paragraph 0080; “Such support material or degradable material having overall, physical properties, jetting behavior, polymerization kinetics and gel properties comparable to those of a conventional support material that is currently used in Objet printers, e.g., FullCure.RTM. 705.” Paragraph 0078; “a computer program that uses the specific print job data, including tray size, object size and print speed” paragraph 0092)
obtaining, from a data store, material information identifying one or more materials based on the environment. (Dikovsky: “The mixing ratio (degradable material solution:disintegrating agent solution) is between 10000:1 and 100:1. The optimal ratio depends on the desired degradation rate, as described hereinafter according to the required time or rate of degradation (depending on specific object/printing tray print time, the nature of the degradable material solution, the nature of the disintegrating agent solution, the pH of the disintegrating agent solution, the type of enzyme and its activity, and the like).” Paragraph 0084; “a computer program that uses the specific print job data, including tray size, object size and print speed, as well as degradation kinetics data, namely a calibration curve that correlates between disintegrating agent solution concentration and the time that takes for the material to reach its performance limit, to calculate the required disintegrating agent solution concentration” paragraph 0092; “The stiffness of the first slice (Slice 1) should remain above the performance limit for the whole print duration, therefore it should contain low enzyme concentration that will reduce its stiffness slowly (moderate slop at the figure). The last slice (Slice 100), on the other hand, does not require a prolonged performance period, and therefore it should contain the highest possible enzyme concentration that will cause a steep reduction of its stiffness over time.” Paragraph 0093) (Rodriguez: “Database 114 operates as a repository for data received, used, and/or output by degradation notification program 112.” Paragraph 0019)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Rodriguez, namely, a 3D printing system, with the known techniques of Kim, namely, a 3D printing system, and the known techniques of Blom, namely, an additive manufacturing system, and the known techniques of Dikovsky, namely, a 3D printing system, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Rodriguez to monitor degradation of 3D printed parts with the teachings of Kim to configure and print a 3D printed part and the teachings of Blom to update a design of a 3D printed part based on a previously 3D printed part and the teachings of Dikovsky to use various degradable materials for use in 3D printing would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved 3D printing system. In other words, the combination of the references provides for a 3D printing system that enables the selection of material (Kim) using material information (Dikovsky), the monitoring of material degradation of the 3D printed part (Rodriguez), and the updating of a 3D printed part design based on data (Blom) in a 3D printing system.
Claim 6:
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom do not explicitly describe initiating decomposition at a specific date and time as described below. However, Dikovsky teaches the initiating decomposition at a specific date and time as described below.
The cited prior art describes the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein deploying the 3D printed object in the environment comprises: configuring the 3D printed object to initiate the decomposition process at a specific date and time. (Dikovsky: see the scheduling of degradation at a particular time as illustrated in figure 4 and as described in paragraph 0093)
Rodriguez, Kim, Blom, and Dikovsky are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 11:
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom do not explicitly describe initiating decomposition using an embedded machine as described below. However, Dikovsky teaches the initiating decomposition using an embedded machine as described below.
The cited prior art describes the computer program product of claim 8, wherein the program instructions to configure the first 3D printed object to initiate the decomposition process comprise: program instructions to configure the first 3D printed object to initiate the decomposition process using a machine embedded within the first 3D printed object. (Dikovsky: “FIG. 2: schematically describes a system wherein the degradable material solution (3) and the disintegrating agent solution (4), found initially in cartridges (7) and pumped therefrom via pumps (5) and (6), are mixed in a dedicated mixing chamber (11) immediately before entering the printing head (1) for deposition, thereby preparing the printed object (9) on printing tray (10). As shown in FIG. 1, computer (8) regulates the pumping of degradable material solution (3) and the disintegrating agent solution (4) from cartridges (7) via pumps (5) and (6) into mixing chamber (11);” paragraph 0032; “FIG. 3: schematically describes a system wherein the degradable material solution together with the encapsulated disintegrating agent (12) are mixed within the cartridge (7). They are then pumped via pump (5) from cartridge (7) to printing head (1), wherefrom they are deposited on printing tray (10), thereby preparing printed object (9);” paragraph 0033)
Rodriguez, Kim, Blom, and Dikovsky are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 13:
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom do not explicitly describe decomposition rates of different materials as described below. However, Dikovsky teaches the decomposition rates of different materials as described below.
The cited prior art describes the computer program product of claim 8,
wherein the material information identifies a decomposition rate of the one or more materials, and (Dikovsky: “The mixing ratio (degradable material solution:disintegrating agent solution) is between 10000:1 and 100:1. The optimal ratio depends on the desired degradation rate, as described hereinafter according to the required time or rate of degradation (depending on specific object/printing tray print time, the nature of the degradable material solution, the nature of the disintegrating agent solution, the pH of the disintegrating agent solution, the type of enzyme and its activity, and the like).” Paragraph 0084; “a computer program that uses the specific print job data, including tray size, object size and print speed, as well as degradation kinetics data, namely a calibration curve that correlates between disintegrating agent solution concentration and the time that takes for the material to reach its performance limit, to calculate the required disintegrating agent solution concentration” paragraph 0092; “The stiffness of the first slice (Slice 1) should remain above the performance limit for the whole print duration, therefore it should contain low enzyme concentration that will reduce its stiffness slowly (moderate slop at the figure). The last slice (Slice 100), on the other hand, does not require a prolonged performance period, and therefore it should contain the highest possible enzyme concentration that will cause a steep reduction of its stiffness over time.” Paragraph 0093) (Rodriguez: “Database 114 operates as a repository for data received, used, and/or output by degradation notification program 112.” Paragraph 0019)
wherein the program instructions further comprise: program instructions to design the first 3D printed object based on the decomposition rate. (Kim: “The controller 180 controls the display unit 151 to display a first and a second virtual print image 331, 332 showing print status according to the print direction in consideration of at least one of an amount of material and a print time. The first and the second virtual image 331, 332 display virtual images of the solid object, an amount of material and a print time when printed in different directions.” Paragraph 0185) (Dikovsky: “The mixing ratio (degradable material solution:disintegrating agent solution) is between 10000:1 and 100:1. The optimal ratio depends on the desired degradation rate, as described hereinafter according to the required time or rate of degradation (depending on specific object/printing tray print time, the nature of the degradable material solution, the nature of the disintegrating agent solution, the pH of the disintegrating agent solution, the type of enzyme and its activity, and the like).” Paragraph 0084; “a computer program that uses the specific print job data, including tray size, object size and print speed, as well as degradation kinetics data, namely a calibration curve that correlates between disintegrating agent solution concentration and the time that takes for the material to reach its performance limit, to calculate the required disintegrating agent solution concentration” paragraph 0092; “The stiffness of the first slice (Slice 1) should remain above the performance limit for the whole print duration, therefore it should contain low enzyme concentration that will reduce its stiffness slowly (moderate slop at the figure). The last slice (Slice 100), on the other hand, does not require a prolonged performance period, and therefore it should contain the highest possible enzyme concentration that will cause a steep reduction of its stiffness over time.” Paragraph 0093) (Rodriguez: “Database 114 operates as a repository for data received, used, and/or output by degradation notification program 112.” Paragraph 0019)
Rodriguez, Kim, Blom, and Dikovsky are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 14:
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom do not explicitly describe decomposition rates of different materials as described below. However, Dikovsky teaches the decomposition rates of different materials as described below.
The cited prior art describes the computer program product of claim 8,
wherein the data stores (Rodriguez: “Database 114 operates as a repository for data received, used, and/or output by degradation notification program 112.” Paragraph 0019)
first information identifying different materials and (Dikovsky: see the various materials as described in paragraphs 0016, 0017, 0018, 0035, 0036)
second information identifying decomposition rates of the different materials in different environments. (Dikovsky: “The mixing ratio (degradable material solution:disintegrating agent solution) is between 10000:1 and 100:1. The optimal ratio depends on the desired degradation rate, as described hereinafter according to the required time or rate of degradation (depending on specific object/printing tray print time, the nature of the degradable material solution, the nature of the disintegrating agent solution, the pH of the disintegrating agent solution, the type of enzyme and its activity, and the like).” Paragraph 0084; “a computer program that uses the specific print job data, including tray size, object size and print speed, as well as degradation kinetics data, namely a calibration curve that correlates between disintegrating agent solution concentration and the time that takes for the material to reach its performance limit, to calculate the required disintegrating agent solution concentration” paragraph 0092; “The stiffness of the first slice (Slice 1) should remain above the performance limit for the whole print duration, therefore it should contain low enzyme concentration that will reduce its stiffness slowly (moderate slop at the figure). The last slice (Slice 100), on the other hand, does not require a prolonged performance period, and therefore it should contain the highest possible enzyme concentration that will cause a steep reduction of its stiffness over time.” Paragraph 0093) (Rodriguez: “Database 114 operates as a repository for data received, used, and/or output by degradation notification program 112.” Paragraph 0019)
Rodriguez, Kim, Blom, and Dikovsky are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 15:
The cited prior art describes a system comprising: (Rodriguez: “The present invention relates generally to the field of three-dimensional (3D) printing, and more particularly to an early notification system of degradation of 3D printed parts.” Paragraph 0001; “The present invention may be a system, a method, and/or a computer program product. The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium (or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present invention.” Paragraph 0045)
one or more devices configured to: (Rodriguez: “Distributed data processing environment 100 includes server 110, 3D printed part 120, and user computing device 130 interconnected over network 105.” Paragraph 0016)
Rodriguez does not explicitly describe designing an object, adjusting a design, or decomposition rate as described below. However, Kim teaches the designing an object, Blom teaches the adjusting a design, and Dikovsky teaches the decomposition rate as described below.
obtain, from a data store, material information identifying a decomposition rate of one or more materials in an environment; (Dikovsky: “The mixing ratio (degradable material solution:disintegrating agent solution) is between 10000:1 and 100:1. The optimal ratio depends on the desired degradation rate, as described hereinafter according to the required time or rate of degradation (depending on specific object/printing tray print time, the nature of the degradable material solution, the nature of the disintegrating agent solution, the pH of the disintegrating agent solution, the type of enzyme and its activity, and the like).” Paragraph 0084; “a computer program that uses the specific print job data, including tray size, object size and print speed, as well as degradation kinetics data, namely a calibration curve that correlates between disintegrating agent solution concentration and the time that takes for the material to reach its performance limit, to calculate the required disintegrating agent solution concentration” paragraph 0092; “The stiffness of the first slice (Slice 1) should remain above the performance limit for the whole print duration, therefore it should contain low enzyme concentration that will reduce its stiffness slowly (moderate slop at the figure). The last slice (Slice 100), on the other hand, does not require a prolonged performance period, and therefore it should contain the highest possible enzyme concentration that will cause a steep reduction of its stiffness over time.” Paragraph 0093) (Rodriguez: “Database 114 operates as a repository for data received, used, and/or output by degradation notification program 112.” Paragraph 0019)
design a first object for additive manufacturing based on the decomposition rate; (Kim: “The controller 180 controls the display unit 151 to display a first and a second virtual print image 331, 332 showing print status according to the print direction in consideration of at least one of an amount of material and a print time. The first and the second virtual image 331, 332 display virtual images of the solid object, an amount of material and a print time when printed in different directions.” Paragraph 0185) (Dikovsky: “a computer program that uses the specific print job data, including tray size, object size and print speed, as well as degradation kinetics data, namely a calibration curve that correlates between disintegrating agent solution concentration and the time that takes for the material to reach its performance limit, to calculate the required disintegrating agent solution concentration” paragraph 0092)
create the first object utilizing the one or more materials and an additive manufacturing printer after designing the object; (Kim: see the 3D printer 200 and the control signals to print the components S304 as illustrated in figures 1D, 2A and as described in paragraph 0170; “a controller configured to control the wireless communication unit to transmit a control signal to the 3D printer so as to print at least one selected from the plurality of modules based on a control command applied to the display unit” paragraph 0011)
configure the first object to initiate a decomposition process of the object in the environment; (Rodriguez: “In step 205, degradation notification program 112 identifies that a 3D printed part has been installed into a unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 identifies that a 3D printed part has been installed into a unit, i.e., placed into operation in a system, e.g., a mechanical unit. The 3D printed part is printed using a multi-material print. . . Responsive to the 3D printed part being completed, inspected, and placed into operation, degradation notification program 112 identifies that the 3D printed part has been installed into a unit.” Paragraph 0026)
monitor the decomposition process of the first object in the environment; and (Rodriguez: “In step 225, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses of the unit in operation to measure backscatter. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses (i.e., preset scans) of the 3D printed part in operation within the unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs the scans using the same backscatter techniques to identify any deltas (i.e., changes) which may indicate a defect in the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0030)
adjust a design of a second object based on the monitored decomposition process. (see the monitored decomposition process in Rodriguez and the updated build file for the next part in Blom) (Blom: see the generate an updated build file based on adjustments 1110 as illustrated in figure 11; “Feedforward control computer device 602 transmits the updated build parameters in build file 210 to system 10, so that system 10 may use those updated build parameters the next time that it has to build 212 that geometry in building part 28.” Paragraph 0087) (Rodriguez: “In step 225, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses of the unit in operation to measure backscatter. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs scheduled pulses (i.e., preset scans) of the 3D printed part in operation within the unit. In an embodiment, degradation notification program 112 performs the scans using the same backscatter techniques to identify any deltas (i.e., changes) which may indicate a defect in the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0030)
Rodriguez, Kim, Blom, and Dikovsky are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 16:
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 15,
wherein the first object is a three-dimensional (3D) object, and (Rodriguez: see the 3d printed part 120 as illustrated in figure 1)
wherein the additive manufacturing printer is a 3D printer. (Rodriguez: see the 3d printer printing a new part 245 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0018)
Claim 17:
Rodriguez, Ki, and Blom do not explicitly describe 4D as described below. However, Dikovsky teaches the 4D as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 15,
wherein the first object is a four-dimensional object, and (Dikovsky: see the printed object 9 as illustrated in figures 1, 2, 3)
wherein the additive manufacturing printer is a 4D printer. (Dikovsky: see the 4D printer as illustrated in figures 1, 2, 3)
Rodriguez, Kim, Blom, and Dikovsky are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 18:
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 15,
wherein the decomposition rate is a historical decomposition rate, and (Rodriguez: see the initial scan 210 and second scan 215 along with determine baseline delta 220 as illustrated in figure 2)
wherein the one or more devices are further configured to:
determine a current decomposition rate of the one or more materials based on monitoring the decomposition process; (Rodriguez: see the perform scheduled pulses 225 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0030)
determine that the current decomposition rate is different than the historical decomposition rate; and (Rodriguez: see the determine if measurement is within baseline delta 230 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0031)
update the material information, in the data store, using the current decomposition rate. (Rodriguez: see the initial scan 210 and second scan 215 based on the current scan 225 being outside of the baseline delta 230 as illustrated in figure 2)
Claim 19:
Rodriguez, Kim, and Blom do not explicitly describe obtaining material information based on the environment as described below. However, Dikovsky teaches the obtaining material information based on the environment as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 15, wherein, to obtain the material information, the one or more devices are configured to: obtain, from the data store, the material information based on information identifying the environment. (Dikovsky: “The mixing ratio (degradable material solution:disintegrating agent solution) is between 10000:1 and 100:1. The optimal ratio depends on the desired degradation rate, as described hereinafter according to the required time or rate of degradation (depending on specific object/printing tray print time, the nature of the degradable material solution, the nature of the disintegrating agent solution, the pH of the disintegrating agent solution, the type of enzyme and its activity, and the like).” Paragraph 0084; “a computer program that uses the specific print job data, including tray size, object size and print speed, as well as degradation kinetics data, namely a calibration curve that correlates between disintegrating agent solution concentration and the time that takes for the material to reach its performance limit, to calculate the required disintegrating agent solution concentration” paragraph 0092; “The stiffness of the first slice (Slice 1) should remain above the performance limit for the whole print duration, therefore it should contain low enzyme concentration that will reduce its stiffness slowly (moderate slop at the figure). The last slice (Slice 100), on the other hand, does not require a prolonged performance period, and therefore it should contain the highest possible enzyme concentration that will cause a steep reduction of its stiffness over time.” Paragraph 0093) (Rodriguez: “Database 114 operates as a repository for data received, used, and/or output by degradation notification program 112.” Paragraph 0019)
Rodriguez, Kim, Blom, and Dikovsky are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 20:
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 15, wherein the one or more devices, to configure the first object to initiate the decomposition process, are further configured to: configure the first object to initiate the decomposition process through a reaction with environmental conditions of the environment. (Rodriguez: “After some time, if the 3D printed part shows some tear and wear, the metallic filaments of the 3D printed part will be exposed causing a different reading in contrast with the baseline. Therefore, this baseline delta between backscatter readings is what degradation notification program 112 uses to determine that there is some defects caused by time, wear, and tear on the 3D printed part.” Paragraph 0029)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0341248 describes a real time adaptive control for additive manufacturing.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0001658 describes an advanced additive manufacturing system.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0242495 describes correcting build parameters in an additive manufacturing process.
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117