DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on August 25, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 202222244614 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Paragraph [0041] of the specification describes what is shown in Figures 7 and 8, are references adhesive part 3 and step portion 4. However, neither Figure 7 or 8 includes reference numbers 3 or 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract filed with the application on August 23, 2023 is not a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the application. The application is directed to a blind rivet nut for fixation and sealing, while the abstract is directed to a semiconductor package. The abstract appears to be identical to the abstract of US Patent Application 18/746,135. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “cross-portional (cross-section)” should be replaced with “cross section”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: At line 14, “can” should be replaced with “is configured to”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. CN 114046308 A) in view of Chen (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. CN 209671382 U).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a blind rivet nut for fixation and sealing, comprising a shank (20) (Figs 1 and 2; paragraphs [0033], [0038], [0039] and [0044])); a flange (30) disposed at one end of the shank (20) and fixedly connected thereto (Figs 1 and 2; paragraphs [0040] and [0044]); and a step portion (50) disposed around the shank (20) and at a first side of the flange (30) that is adjacent to the shank (20), wherein the step portion (50) is fixedly connected to the shank (20), wherein the step portion (50) has an outer diameter greater than that of the shank (20) (Fig 1; paragraphs [0042] and [0044]).
Lin discloses the claimed invention except for an adhesive part is disposed at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the step portion.
Chen is directed to a rivet nut structure with sealing property. Chen specifically discloses an adhesive part (sealing rubber) is disposed at the first side of the flange (3) that is adjacent to the shank (4) (Fig 1; paragraph [0016]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Lin to include an adhesive part disposed at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the step portion as taught by Chen, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to rivet nuts. As disclosed by Chen, it is well known for a rivet nut to include an adhesive part at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the shank. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to include an adhesive part disposed at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the step portion as taught by Chen, as such a modification would improve the sealing performance of the nut after fastening (paragraph [0016] of Chen).
Regarding claim 2, Lin further discloses wherein the shank (20) has a hexagonal shape (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Lin further discloses wherein the step portion (50) has a hexagonal cross-section shape in a radial direction of the blind rivet nut (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Lin further discloses wherein the shank has a first threaded portion (90) at its inside and below the flange (30), the first threaded portion (90) is formed around an axial direction of the blind rivet nut, and a deformable portion (91) is formed above the first threaded portion (90) (Fig 3; paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Lin further discloses wherein the step portion (50) has a transition surface that is formed between an end of the step portion (50) that is away from the flange (30) and the shank (20) (Fig 1 – the slope of the step portion 50 from the lower side of the step portion to the shank).
Regarding claim 6, Chen further discloses wherein the adhesive part (sealing rubber) has a thickness that decreases gradually from a first position close to the shank (4) to a second position close to an edge of the flange (3), and the adhesive part is a flexible sealing adhesive (Chen discloses a sealing rubber, and rubber is flexible). Upon modifying Lin by the teachings of Chen, the adhesive part would have a thickness that decreases gradually from a first position close to the shank (20) to a second position close to an edge of the flange (30).
Regarding claim 7, Lin as modified by Chen does not specifically disclose wherein the adhesive part has a thickness at a position close to the step portion equal to a height of the step portion. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the adhesive to have a thickness at a position close to the step portion equal to the height of the step portion, as such a modification would improve the sealing performance of the nut after fastening by providing a sealing between the upper surface of the top plate and the lower surface of the flange, as well as between the inner diameter wall of the hole of the upper plate that the nut passes through and the outer wall of the step portion.
Regarding claim 8, Lin as modified by Chen does not specifically disclose wherein the flange has a sealing gasket disposed at a second side of the flange that is away from the step portion. However, it is conventionally known to one of skilled in the art to include a sealing gasket at the upper portion of a flange of a blind rivet nut, as including a sealing gasket would improve the sealing performance of the nut after fastening.
Regarding claim 9, Lin further discloses wherein the blind rivet nut further comprises a boss (40) disposed around and fixedly connected to the shank (20), and wherein the boss (40) is disposed at a second side of the flange (30) that is away from the step portion (50), and abuts against an end surface of the flange (30) (Fig 1; paragraphs [0041] and [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Lin as modified by Chen does not specifically disclose wherein the boss further comprises a sealing ring disposed around its outer edge. However, it is conventionally known to one of skilled in the art to include a sealing ring around the outer edge of a boss of a blind rivet nut, as including a sealing ring would improve the sealing performance of the nut after fastening.
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses a blind rivet mechanism for fixation and sealing, comprising a first plate (70), a second plate (80), and a nut (10) connecting the first plate (70) with the second plate (80), wherein the first plate (70) has a first opening (71), the second plate (80) has a second opening (81) (Figs 1 and 3; paragraph [0046]), and the nut (10) comprises a shank (20) (Figs 1 and 2; paragraphs [0033], [0038], [0039] and [0044])); a flange (30) disposed at one end of the shank (20) and fixedly connected thereto (Figs 1 and 2; paragraphs [0040] and [0044]); and a step portion (50) disposed around the shank (20) and at a first side of the flange (30) that is adjacent to the shank (20), wherein the step portion (50) is fixedly connected to the shank (20), wherein the step portion (50) has an outer diameter greater than that of the shank (20) (Fig 1; paragraphs [0042] and [0044]) wherein the flange (30) has an outer diameter greater than that of the first opening (71) and the second opening (72) (Fig 3), the step portion (50) is clearance-fitted with the first opening (71), and the shank (20) is clearance-fitted with the second opening (81) (Fig 3; paragraph [0046]); and wherein the nut (10) has a first threaded portion (90) matable with a second threaded portion on an riveting tool, such that a deformable portion (91) above the first threaded portion (90) can undergo a flow in a radial direction of the nut to form a protrusion part (92) that abuts against a bottom of the second plate (80), thereby combining/merging the step portion (50) with the first opening (71) and combining/merging the shank (20) with the second opening (81) to connect the first plate (70) with the second plate (80) (Fig 3).
Lin discloses the claimed invention except for an adhesive part is disposed at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the step portion.
Chen is directed to a rivet nut structure with sealing property. Chen specifically discloses an adhesive part (sealing rubber) is disposed at the first side of the flange (3) that is adjacent to the shank (4) (Fig 1; paragraph [0016]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Lin to include an adhesive part disposed at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the step portion as taught by Chen, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to rivet nuts. As disclosed by Chen, it is well known for a rivet nut to include an adhesive part at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the shank. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to include an adhesive part disposed at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the step portion as taught by Chen, as such a modification would improve the sealing performance of the nut after fastening (paragraph [0016] of Chen).
Regarding claim 12, Lin further discloses wherein the step portion (50) has a height smaller that that of the first opening (71) (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses a device formed by the blind rivet mechanism of claim 11 (see the above rejection of claim 11), wherein the bottom of the flange (30) abuts against an end face of the first plate (70), a sidewall of the first opening (71) is tightly connected to the step portion (50), a sidewall of the second opening (81) is tightly connected to the shank (20), a lower end face of the first plate (70) is connected to an upper end face of the second plate (80), and the deformation portion (91) is connected to a lower end face of the second plate (80) (Fig 3 of Lin).
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses a device formed by the blind rivet mechanism of claim 12 (see the above rejection of claim 12), wherein the bottom of the flange (30) abuts against an end face of the first plate (70), a sidewall of the first opening (71) is tightly connected to the step portion (50), a sidewall of the second opening (81) is tightly connected to the shank (20), a lower end face of the first plate (70) is connected to an upper end face of the second plate (80), and the deformation portion (91) is connected to a lower end face of the second plate (80) (Fig 3 of Lin).
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wille (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2008/0206011 A1) in view of Chen (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. CN 209671382 U).
Regarding claim 1, Wille discloses a blind rivet nut for fixation and sealing, comprising a shank (5) (Figs 1 and 4; paragraphs [50]); a flange (9) disposed at one end of the shank (5) and fixedly connected thereto (Figs 1 - 5; paragraph [0050] – the flange 9 is fixedly connected to the shank 5 via screw 7. Alternatively, the flange 9 and shank 5 could be integrally formed. It has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965)); and a step portion (4) disposed around the shank (5) and at a first side of the flange (9) that is adjacent to the shank (5), wherein the step portion (4) is fixedly connected to the shank (5), wherein the step portion (4) has an outer diameter greater than that of the shank (5) (Figs 1 - 5; paragraphs [0050] - [0052]).
Wille discloses the claimed invention except for an adhesive part is disposed at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the step portion.
Chen is directed to a rivet nut structure with sealing property. Chen specifically discloses an adhesive part (sealing rubber) is disposed at the first side of the flange (3) that is adjacent to the shank (4) (Fig 1; paragraph [0016]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Wille to include an adhesive part disposed at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the step portion as taught by Chen, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to fastening devices. As disclosed by Chen, it is well known for a rivet nut to include an adhesive part at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the shank. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wille to include an adhesive part disposed at the first side of the flange that is adjacent to the step portion as taught by Chen, as such a modification would improve the sealing performance of the fastening device after fastening (paragraph [0016] of Chen).
Regarding claim 2, Wille further discloses wherein the shank (5) has a hexagonal shape (paragraph [0053] which discloses that the shank has a polygon shape, and a hexagon is a polygon).
Regarding claim 3, Wille further discloses wherein the step portion (4) has a hexagonal cross-section shape in a radial direction of the blind rivet nut (paragraph [0053] which discloses that the shank has a polygon shape, and a hexagon is a polygon).
Regarding claim 4, Wille further discloses wherein the shank (5) has a first threaded portion at its inside and below the flange (7), the first threaded portion is formed around an axial direction of the blind rivet nut, and a deformable portion (6) is formed above the first threaded portion (the first threaded portion is at the lower portion of shank 5, and the threads are formed by thread 21 while screwing in screw 7) (Figs 1, 4, and 5; paragraphs [0050] – [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Wille further discloses wherein the step portion (4) has a transition surface that is formed between an end of the step portion (4) that is away from the flange (9) and the shank (5) (Fig 1 – the bottom of the step portion 4).
Regarding claim 6, Chen further discloses wherein the adhesive part (sealing rubber) has a thickness that decreases gradually from a first position close to the shank (4) to a second position close to an edge of the flange (3), and the adhesive part is a flexible sealing adhesive (Chen discloses a sealing rubber, and rubber is flexible). Upon modifying Wille by the teachings of Chen, the adhesive part would have a thickness that decreases gradually from a first position close to the shank (5) to a second position close to an edge of the flange (9).
Regarding claim 7, Lin as modified by Chen does not specifically disclose wherein the adhesive part has a thickness at a position close to the step portion equal to a height of the step portion. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the adhesive to have a thickness at a position close to the step portion equal to the height of the step portion, as such a modification would improve the sealing performance of the nut after fastening by providing a sealing between the upper surface of the top plate and the lower surface of the flange, as well as between the inner diameter wall of the hole of the upper plate that the nut passes through and the outer wall of the step portion.
Regarding claim 8, Wille as modified by Chen does not specifically disclose wherein the flange has a sealing gasket disposed at a second side of the flange that is away from the step portion. However, it is conventionally known to one of skilled in the art to include a sealing gasket at the upper portion of a flange of a blind rivet nut, as including a sealing gasket would improve the sealing performance of the nut after fastening.
Regarding claim 9, Wille further discloses wherein the blind rivet nut further comprises a boss (11) disposed around and fixedly connected to the shank (5), and wherein the boss (11) is disposed at a second side of the flange (9) that is away from the step portion (4), and abuts against an end surface of the flange (9) (Fig 1; paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 10, Wille as modified by Chen does not specifically disclose wherein the boss further comprises a sealing ring disposed around its outer edge. However, it is conventionally known to one of skilled in the art to include a sealing ring around the outer edge of a boss of a blind rivet nut, as including a sealing ring would improve the sealing performance of the nut after fastening.
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614