DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 14 recite “second guide” at the end, which lacks proper antecedent basis. For examining purposes the limitation will be interpreted as --second guide slope--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (Chinese Patent Publication CN112161499A, “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a heat sink (figs 1-5), adapted for dissipating heat from a heat source (page 1, lines 27-39), wherein the heat sink comprises:
a heat dissipating plate (2), comprising an inlet region (see annotated fig 4 below), an outlet region (see annotated fig 4 below) and a vaporization region (see annotated fig 4 below), wherein the vaporization region is located between the inlet region and the outlet region, and the vaporization region is disposed corresponding to the heat source (page 1, lines 45-58); and
a cover plate (1), covering the heat dissipating plate, wherein a space between the cover plate and the heat dissipating plate forms a channel with an inlet (11) and an outlet (12),
wherein a cooling liquid flows into the channel from the inlet, the cooling liquid is heated and vaporized into gas when passing through the vaporization region, and the vaporized gas dissipates outside the channel through the outlet (page 1, lines 45-58).
Regarding claim 2, Yang further discloses wherein microstructures (222, page 1, lines 45-58) are disposed on a surface of the vaporization region of the heat dissipating plate (2).
Regarding claim 3, Yang further discloses at least one heat dissipation fin group (222) disposed in the outlet region (see annotated fig 4 above).
Regarding claim 4, Yang further discloses wherein heat dissipation fin groups (221, 222) are disposed in the inlet region and the outlet region (see annotated fig 4 above), and a distance (D1) between heat dissipation fins of the heat dissipation fin group located in the inlet region is less than a distance (D3) between heat dissipation fins of the heat dissipation fin group located in the outlet region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang alone.
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses a cooling system (figs 1-5), comprising:
a heat sink, contacting a heat source to dissipate heat from the heat source (page 1, lines 27-39), wherein the heat sink comprises:
a heat dissipating plate (2), comprising an inlet region (see annotated fig 4 below), an outlet region (see annotated fig 4 below) and a vaporization region (see annotated fig 4 below), wherein the vaporization region is located between the inlet region and the outlet region, and the vaporization region is disposed corresponding to the heat source (page 1, lines 45-58); and
a cover plate (1), covering the heat dissipating plate, wherein a space between the cover plate and the heat dissipating plate forms a channel with an inlet (11) and an outlet (12),
wherein a cooling liquid flows into the channel from the inlet, the cooling liquid is heated and vaporized into gas when passing through the vaporization region, and the vaporized gas dissipates outside the channel through the outlet (page 1, lines 45-58).
Yang, does not explicitly disclose a circuit board with a heat source. However, the Examiner takes official Notice that it is old and well known in the art of micro-coolers to have heat sources with circuit boards and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yang to provide such a heat source.
Regarding claim 9, Yang further discloses wherein microstructures (222, page 1, lines 45-58) are disposed on a surface of the vaporization region of the heat dissipating plate (2).
Regarding claim 10, Yang further discloses wherein the heat sink further comprises at least one heat dissipation fin group (222) disposed in the outlet region (see annotated fig 4 above).
Regarding claim 11, Yang further discloses wherein heat dissipation fin groups (221, 222) are disposed in the inlet region and the outlet region (see annotated fig 4 above), and a distance (D1) between heat dissipation fins of the heat dissipation fin group located in the inlet region is less than a distance (D3) between heat dissipation fins of the heat dissipation fin group located in the outlet region.
Regarding claim 15, Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the heat source is a graphics processing unit (GPU) or a central processing unit (CPU). However, the Examiner takes official Notice that it is old and well known in the art of micro-coolers to have heat sources of GPUs or CPUs and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yang to provide such a heat source.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Kulkarni et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0206764, “Kulkarni”).
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein a diameter of the inlet is less than a diameter of the outlet. Kulkarni, however, discloses a cooling system (fig 4) wherein a diameter of an inlet (262) is less than a diameter of an outlet (263). Kulkarni teaches that this facilitates one way flow by providing less flow resistance at the outlet (¶0055). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yang to provide the outlet and inlet sizes of Kulkarni in order to facilitate one way flow.
Regarding claim 12, Yang, as modified, discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein a diameter of the inlet is less than a diameter of the outlet. Kulkarni, however, discloses a cooling system (fig 4) wherein a diameter of an inlet (262) is less than a diameter of an outlet (263). Kulkarni teaches that this facilitates one way flow by providing less flow resistance at the outlet (¶0055). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yang, as modified, to provide the outlet and inlet sizes of Kulkarni in order to facilitate one way flow.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Nakao et al. (Japanese Patent Publication JP2004048489A, “Nakao”).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the vaporization region is not on the same level as at least one of the inlet region and the outlet region. Nakao, however, discloses a cooling system (fig 1) wherein a vaporization region is lower than condensing regions (see annotated fig 1 below). Nakao teaches that this configuration allows for liquid coolant to be biased to the vaporization region even when the system is tilted (¶0007-0008). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yang to provide the lower vaporization level of Nakao in order to allow for better cooling efficiency when the system is tilted.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yang and Nakao discloses all previous claim limitations. Yang, as modified, further discloses wherein a first guide slope is disposed between the vaporization region and the inlet region, a second guide slope is disposed between the vaporization region and the outlet region, and an extension of the first guide slope intersects an extension of the second guide slope (see annotated fig 1 below of Nakao).
Regarding claim 13, Yang, as modified, discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein the vaporization region is not on the same level as at least one of the inlet region and the outlet region. Nakao, however, discloses a cooling system (fig 1) wherein a vaporization region is lower than condensing regions (see annotated fig 1 below). Nakao teaches that this configuration allows for liquid coolant to be biased to the vaporization region even when the system is tilted (¶0007-0008). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yang to provide the lower vaporization level of Nakao in order to allow for better cooling efficiency when the system is tilted.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yang and Nakao discloses all previous claim limitations. Yang, as modified, further discloses wherein a first guide slope is disposed between the vaporization region and the inlet region, a second guide slope is disposed between the vaporization region and the outlet region, and an extension of the first guide slope intersects an extension of the second guide slope (see annotated fig 1 below of Nakao).
Conclusion
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763