Claims 1-9 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 8 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the cited prior art, Provost et al. (US 11,545,173 B1), fails to disclose the limitation “calculate an emotion feature based on the extracted medium features and an emotion feature extraction model associated with a target user, the emotion feature extraction model denoting a standard for the medium features of the target user”.
In response, the examiner points out that Provost teaches utilizing a trained machine learning model to predict a mood of a particular user based on extracted acoustic features (see Fig.1 (122), Fig.6 (606,608) and Col.25, Line 65 – Col.26, Line 20, a set of acoustic features are applied to a machine learning model associated with a particular user). Provost further teaches that the trained machine learning could be an individual-specific model used to detect mood irregularities for a particular user or clinical patient (see Fig.1 (122) and Col.28, Line 13-23, linguistic and acoustic analysis could be applied with a trained machine learning model that is individual-specific for detecting mood irregularities and depression). Therefore, Provost suggests an apparatus configured to “calculate an emotion feature based on the extracted medium features and an emotion feature extraction model associated with a target user, the emotion feature extraction model denoting a standard for the medium features of the target user”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Provost et al. (US 11,545,173 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, 8 and 9, Provost teaches an emotion estimation apparatus (see Fig.1 (120), Fig.5, Col.6, Line 26-29 and Col.23, Line 13-20), comprising processing circuitry (see Fig.5 (506) and Col.23, Line 13-24) configured to:
acquire medium data of a target user in which a medium of the target user is recorded (see Fig.1 (102,108), Fig.6 (602) and Col.25, Line 20-25, recorded audio data or conversation with a user);
extract medium features from the medium data of the target user (see Fig.6 (604) and Col.25, Line 44-51);
calculate an emotion feature based on the extracted medium features and an emotion feature extraction model associated with a target user (see Fig.1 (122), Fig.6 (606,608) and Col.25, Line 65 – Col.26, Line 20, a set of acoustic features are applied to a machine learning model associated with a particular user), the emotion feature extraction model denoting a standard for the medium features of the target user (see Fig.1 (122) and Col.28, Line 13-23, linguistic and acoustic analysis could be applied with a trained machine learning model that is individual-specific for detecting mood irregularities and depression);
and estimate an emotion of the target user based on the calculated emotion feature (see Fig.1 (120), Fig.6 (608) and Col.26, Line 7-13).
Regarding Claim 6, Provost further teaches wherein the processing circuitry receives medium data acquired by the medium data acquisition device and target user information for specifying the target user (see Fig.5 (502,506), Col.12, Line 31-37, Col.24, Line 8-15 and Col.24, Line 29-46, remote device 506 acquires recorded audio data and a trained user ID machine learning model), and extracts the medium data of the target user from the received medium data based on the received target user information (see Fig.5 (502,506), Col.24, Line 8-15 and Col.24, Line 29-46, extracting data for user identification).
Regarding Claim 7, Provost further teaches wherein the medium includes speech (see Fig.6 (602) and Col.25, Line 20-27, recorded telephone call).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost et al. (US 11,545,173 B1) in view of Ostrand et al. (US Patent 12,148,443 B1).
Regarding Claim 2, Provist teaches the apparatus of Claim 1 but fail to teach acquiring the emotion feature extraction model associated with a target user from a database storing one or more emotion feature extraction models associated with one or more users.
Provist, however, teaches acquiring an emotion feature extraction model associated with a particular user for predicting a mood of the user based on extracted acoustic features (see Fig.1 (122), Fig.6 (606,608) and Col.25, Line 65 – Col.26, Line 20).
Ostrand teaches querying a database for a speaker-specific acoustic model and retrieving the acoustic model from the database (see Fig.4 (452), Fig.7 (710,711,713) and Col.14, Line 4-23).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the application to configure Provost’s apparatus to acquire an emotion feature extraction model associated with a target user from a database storing one or more emotion feature extraction models associated with one or more users. The motivation would be to acquire an individual-specific emotion feature extraction model from a storage data structure that stores the emotion feature extraction models for multiple individuals.
Regarding Claim 3, Provost teaches training the emotion feature extraction model based on the medium data of a target user (see Fig.5 (502B), Col.11, Line 63-67 and Col.21, Line 54-59), but fail to teach determining whether or not the emotion feature extraction model exists in the model database; acquiring the emotion feature extraction model from the model database if the emotion feature extraction model exists in the model database; and registering a trained emotion feature extraction model in the database.
Ostrand, however, teaches querying a database for a speaker-specific acoustic model and retrieving the acoustic model from the database (see Fig.4 (452), Fig.7 (710,711,713) and Col.14, Line 4-23); and creating a profile of a speaker and storing the profile in the database if a speaker-specific acoustic model of a particular user does not exist (see Fig.7 (710,711,712) and Col.14, Line 4-23).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to configure emotion estimation apparatus to determine whether or not the emotion feature extraction model exists in the model database; acquire the emotion feature extraction model from the model database if the emotion feature extraction model exists in the model database; and register a trained emotion feature extraction model in the database. The motivation would be to train and store new emotion feature extraction models for new target users.
Regarding Claim 4, Provost further teaches wherein the processing circuitry generates the emotion feature extraction model by calculating a statistic of medium features extracted from at least a part of the medium data of the target user (see Fig.6 (606), Col.25, Line 65 – Col.26, Line 20 and Col.26, Line 32-44).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provost et al. (US 11,545,173 B1) in view of Sasaki et al. (US Patent 11,422,527 B2).
Regarding Claim 5, Provost teaches the processing circuitry is configured to: calculate, for each processing unit in which emotion estimation is to be performed, a statistic of the extracted medium features (see Fig.6 (606), Col.25, Line 65 – Col.26, Line 20 and Col.26, Line 32-44), but fails to teach calculating, for each processing unit, the emotion feature based on a difference between the calculated statistic of the extracted medium features and the emotion feature extraction model.
Sasaki, however, teaches calculating a degree of difference between the extracted features from a feature extraction unit and the learning results of normal sounds to determine whether a sound input is normal or abnormal (see Fig.1 (17) and Col.5, Line 17-34).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to configure emotion estimation apparatus to calculate, for each processing unit, the emotion feature based on a difference between the calculated statistic of the extracted medium features and the emotion feature extraction model. The motivation would be to perform classification on the medium data based on eth difference of the extracted features and the learned training data of the features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VU B HANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654