DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
As directed by the amendment, claims 1 and 14 have been amended and claim 3 has been cancelled. Claims 11-13 and 16-20 were previously withdrawn. As such, claims 1-2, 4-10, 14-15 remain under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koay et al. (US 2018/0256221), hereinafter “Koay”, in view of Lorenz et al. (US 2010/0234896), hereinafter "Lorenz".
Regarding claim 1, Koay discloses a periprosthetic plate (100), comprising: a proximal segment (102 with 136) having a top portion (120) and an end portion (108) with at least two curved hooks (106) that are capable of passing through a patient's abductor muscles and rest medially on a tip of a patient's greater trochanter (GT) (¶12, 14), wherein the proximal segment includes a plurality of recessed bone screw holes (110, 114, 116, 118) for attachment to a patient's femur with bone screws, and wherein each of the two curved hooks has a distal end that tapers to a point (FIG. 3), and wherein the plurality of recessed bone screw holes are polyaxial (¶16). However, Koay is silent regarding wherein the plurality of recessed bone screw holes are beveled so that any inserted bone screws do not extend above the top portion of the proximal segment. Lorenz discloses a periprosthetic plate (120, FIGS. 14-19) comprising a proximal segment with at least two curved hooks (121, 122), wherein the proximal segment includes a plurality of recessed bone screw holes wherein the plurality of recessed bone screw holes are beveled (¶40) so that any inserted bone screws do not extend above the top portion of the proximal segment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine beveled bone screw holes with the bone screw holes of Koay, so that bone screws do not extend above the top portion of the plate. In this case, one would utilize beveled bone screw holes in the plate of Koay.
Regarding claim 2, Koay as modified by Lorenz teach the periprosthetic plate according to Claim 1, and Koay further discloses wherein the proximal segment includes a hook portion (102) having the at least two curved hooks and an attachment portion (136).
Regarding claim 4, Koay as modified by Lorenz teach the periprosthetic plate according to Claim 1, and Koay further discloses wherein the plurality of recessed bone screw holes are in sets of two recessed bone screw holes that are parallel to each other (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Koay as modified by Lorenz teach the periprosthetic plate according to Claim 4, and Koay further discloses wherein the plurality of recessed bone screw holes are in two sets of at least two recessed bone screw holes that are parallel to each other (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Koay as modified by Lorenz teach the periprosthetic plate according to Claim 1, and Koay further discloses a distal segment or shaft (138) that is attached to or is integral with the proximal segment (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Koay as modified by Lorenz teach the periprosthetic plate according to Claim 6, and Koay further discloses wherein the proximal segment includes a hook segment (102) attached to the at least two curved hooks and an attachment segment (136).
Regarding claim 8, Koay as modified by Lorenz teach the periprosthetic plate according to Claim 7, and Koay further discloses wherein the hook segment includes a first plurality of recessed bone screw holes (110), the attachment segment includes a second plurality of recessed bone screw holes (114, 116, 118), and the distal segment or shaft includes a third plurality of recessed bone screw holes (142).
Regarding claim 9, Koay as modified by Lorenz teach the periprosthetic plate according to Claim 8, and Koay further discloses wherein the first plurality of recessed bone screw holes are in sets of two and parallel to each other (FIG. 2), the second plurality of recessed bone screw holes are in sets of two and parallel to each other (FIG. 2) and the third plurality of recessed bone screw holes are staggered from side-to-side along the longitudinal length of the distal segment or shaft (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Koay as modified by Lorenz teach the periprosthetic plate according to Claim 9, and Lorenz further discloses wherein the first plurality of recessed bone screw holes, the second plurality of recessed bone screw holes, and the third plurality of recessed bone screw holes are beveled so that any inserted bone screws do not extend above the top portion of the proximal segment.
Regarding claims 14-15, Koay discloses a periprosthetic plate (100), comprising: a hook segment (102) having a top portion (120) and an end portion (108) with at least two curved hooks (106), each curved hook tapering to a point (FIG. 3), the at least two curved hooks are capable of passing through a patient's abductor muscles and rest medially on a tip of a patient's greater trochanter (GT) (¶12), wherein the hook segment includes a first plurality of recessed bone screw holes (110) that are in sets of two recessed bone screw holes that are parallel to each other (FIG. 2); and an attachment segment (136) that is attached or integral to the hook segment and includes a second plurality of polyaxial (¶16) recessed bone screw holes (114, 116, 118) that are in sets of two and parallel to each other (FIG. 2) and are in sets of two recessed bone screw holes that are parallel to each other (FIG. 2), further comprising a distal segment or shaft (138) that is attached to or integral with the attachment segment and includes a third plurality of recessed bone screw holes (142) that are staggered from side-to-side along the length of the distal segment or shaft (FIG. 2). However, Koay is silent regarding the bone screw holes being beveled. Lorenz discloses a periprosthetic plate (120, FIGS. 14-19) comprising a proximal segment with at least two curved hooks (121, 122), wherein the proximal segment includes a plurality of recessed bone screw holes wherein the plurality of recessed bone screw holes are beveled (¶40) so that any inserted bone screws do not extend above the top portion of the proximal segment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine beveled bone screw holes with the bone screw holes of Koay, so that bone screws do not extend above the top portion of the plate. In this case, one would utilize beveled bone screw holes in the plate of Koay.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. Additionally, as the bone screws are not positively recited, low profile or otherwise properly configured bone screws could be selected such that they do not extend above the top portion of the proximal segment. The newly presented rejection was necessitated by the amendments to the claims of April 7, 2026.
Conclusion
/OLIVIA C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775