Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 08/14/2026 has been fully considered and made of record.
Status of Claims
Applicant states that claims 2-6 and 8-9, directly or indirectly, depend from claim 1 and requests rejoinder of claims 2-6 and 8-9. In addition, Applicant has amended claim 8 to directly depend from claim 7. As such, claim 8 is being examined. However, as previously stated (see Office action mailed 04/15/2026), claims 2-6 and 9 are directed to non-elected species of tool head and will remain withdrawn until the independent claim 1 becomes allowable.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, line 2, the limitation “the face cutter and the peripheral cutter” may need to be amended to - - the face cutters and the peripheral cutters - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid et al. (US 20200086404A1, hereinafter “Schmid”) or over Schmid et al. (US 20200086404A1, hereinafter “Schmid”) in view of Honda et al. (WO 2021060271A1 or English equivalent US 20220371109A1, hereinafter “Honda ‘109”).
As applied to claim 1, Schmid teaches a milling tool (10) with a tool head (14) and an exchangeable cutting carrier (replaceable ring 18 including collar 36 and support disc 30 having a toothed rim contour 32), wherein the tool head (14) is configured to be coupled to a tool holder (intended use limitation as the tool head of Schmid is capable of being coupled to a tool holder) and the cutter carrier comprises a plurality of cutting edges distributed around a periphery/circumference (cutting inserts 16), each cutter comprising a front facing face cutter (42, Fig. 7) and a peripheral cutter (46) extending at an angle thereto. Schmid teaches that the cutter carrier has a nominal diameter of 100 mm with a thickness (paragraph [0038]) but does not explicitly teach wherein the cutting carrier has a thickness of at most 10 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schmid and choose any diameter and thickness for the cutter carrier depending on the size of the tool and cutting operational requirements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Alternatively, Honda ‘109 teaches a milling tool having an exchangeable cutting carrier (11), with the cutting carrier (11) comprises a plurality of cutting edges distributed around a periphery/circumference, each cutter comprising a front facing face (front-side planar) cutting edge (121) and a circumferential cutting edge (122) running at an angle thereto (paragraphs [0023]-[0027]), wherein the cutting carrier (3), including the cutting edges, for a diameter of at least 50 mm (79 mm, paragraph [0031]) has a thickness of at most 10 mm (5 mm, paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the cutter carrier of Schmid with a thickness of at most ten mm for a diameter of at least fifty mm, as taught by Honda ‘109, as a matter of use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (see MPEP 2143, KSR, Rationale “C”). The resulting tool would reasonably expected to perform in the same manner taught by Schmid without modification of the principles of operation of Schmid, because Schmid does not dissuade one of ordinary skill in the art from forming the cutting carrier from a material having thickness in the claimed range for having the diameter of the claimed range and thus understood to permit any conventional cutter carrier having desired thickness and diameter.
As applied to claim 7, Schmidt in view of Honda ‘109 teaches the invention cited including Schmid teaches a centering ring (20) formed on base body (body of tool 10, Fig. 1) and projecting in the axial direction for centering a cutter carrier (replaceable ring 18 including collar 36 and support disc 30 having a toothed rim contour 32) on the base body.
Claim(s) 10-13, 15-17 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid et al. (US 20200086404A1, hereinafter “Schmid”) or over Schmid et al. (US 20200086404A1, hereinafter “Schmid”) in view of Honda et al. (WO 2021060271A1 or English equivalent US 20220371109A1, hereinafter “Honda ‘109”) and Nagata et al. (US 20220203463A1, hereinafter “Nagata”).
As applied to claim 10, 15 and 18, Schmid teaches a milling tool (10) with a tool head (14) and an exchangeable cutting carrier (replaceable ring 18 including collar 36 and support disc 30 having a toothed rim contour 32), wherein the tool head (14) is configured to be coupled to a tool holder (intended use limitation as the tool head of Schmid is capable of being coupled to a tool holder) and the cutter carrier comprises a plurality of cutting edges distributed around a periphery/circumference (cutting inserts 16), each cutter comprising a front facing face cutter (42, Fig. 7) and a peripheral cutter (46) extending at an angle thereto. Schmid teaches that the cutter carrier has a nominal diameter of 100 mm with a thickness (paragraph [0038]) but does not explicitly teach wherein the cutting carrier has a thickness of at most 10 mm (as in claim 10) and a thickness in an axial direction of at most 10 mm (as in claim 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schmid and choose any diameter and thickness for the cutter carrier depending on the size of the tool and cutting operational requirements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Alternatively, Honda ‘109 teaches a milling tool having an exchangeable cutting carrier (11), with the cutting carrier (11) comprises a plurality of cutting edges distributed around a periphery/circumference, each cutter comprising a front facing face (front-side planar) cutting edge (121) and a circumferential cutting edge (122) running at an angle thereto (paragraphs [0023]-[0027]), wherein the cutting carrier (3), including the cutting edges, for a diameter of at least 50 mm (79 mm, paragraph [0031]) has a thickness of at most 10 mm (5 mm, paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the cutter carrier of Schmid with a thickness of at most ten mm for a diameter of at least fifty mm, as taught by Honda ‘109, as a matter of use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (see MPEP 2143, KSR, Rationale “C”). The resulting tool would reasonably expected to perform in the same manner taught by Schmid without modification of the principles of operation of Schmid, because Schmid does not dissuade one of ordinary skill in the art from forming the cutting carrier from a material having thickness in the claimed range for having the diameter of the claimed range and thus understood to permit any conventional cutter carrier having desired thickness and diameter.
In addition, Schmid teaches coolant distribution channels (40) distributed over the annular collar 36 of the cutter carrier (18, paragraph [0035]) and Honda teaches the body may have a cutting-fluid supply path of which an outlet for supplying a cutting fluid opens at the body-side groove (paragraph [0025]) but the combination does not explicitly teach the cooling grooves are on an end face (as in claim 10) and a frontal end face (as in claim 15) running in a radial direction.
Nagata teaches a milling tool (paragraphs [0001] and [0002]) wherein radial grooves (54) are formed in a front end face to provide the cutting fluid to the cutters during operation of the tool on a workpiece (paragraph [0043], Figs. 6 and 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the cutter carrier of Schmid and Honda with radial grooves on a front end face , as taught by Nagata, based on specific design requirements and as an effective means of machining external grooves rather than forming more difficult radial interior passages in the front end face of the carrier member (see Nagata, paragraph [0043]).
As applied to claim 11, Schmidt in view of Honda ‘109 and Nagata teaches the invention cited including Schmid teaches that it is well-known that a main body of milling tool is made of steel and aluminum (paragraph [0003]) and that the cutting edges are made of polycrystalline diamond cutting material (PCD) or cubic boron nitride (CBN, paragraph [0039]) or hard metal and cermet (paragraph [0040]). Honda ‘109 teaches alloy tool steel is used as material of the blade-body portion (11, paragraph [0031]).
As applied to claim 12, Schmidt in view of Honda ‘109 and Nagata teaches the invention cited including forming a cutter carrier and the face cutters and the peripheral cutters but does not explicitly teach the cutter carrier is a single piece and the face cutter and peripheral cutters are formed on the cutter carrier.
However, the court has held that making a one piece construction instead of a multi-piece assembly would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice (see PMEP 2144.04, paragraph V-B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the cutter carrier with the face and peripheral cutters of Schmid as modified by Honda ‘109 and Nagata from a single piece depending on the specific design requirement and further to ensure that the cutters will not be deboned from the cutter carriers during operation of tool.
As applied to claim 13 and 19, Schmidt in view of Honda ‘109 and Nagata teaches the invention cited including Schmid teaches wherein the face cutter and the peripheral cutter are each formed on cutting elements, and the cutting elements are attached to the cutter carrier with a material bond (cutting inserts 16 soldered into the recesses 44 of ring 18, paragraphs [0019]-[0021] and [0039]). Schmid further teaches the cutting element (16) protrude in the axial direction by 0.005 mm (paragraph [0039], Fig. 3, which meets the limitation of “less than 3 mm” as in claim 19). In addition, Honda teaches the cutting element (tip 12) protrudes on a front-end surface (111) side of the blade-body portion (11, paragraph [0033]).
As applied to claims 16 and 17, Schmidt in view of Honda ‘109 and Nagata teaches the invention cited including the cutter carrier made of a flat, annular plate with coolant grooves. Honda further teaches the cutter carrier has fastening holes with screw head receptacles (holes and counterbores 119 for flat-head bolts 30, Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the cutter carrier of Schmid with fastening holes and screw head receptacles formed thereon, as taught by Honda, as an effective means of coupling the cutter carrier to the base body of the tool.
As applied to claim 20, Schmidt in view of Honda ‘109 and Nagata teaches the invention cited including Schmid teaches that it is well-known that a main body of milling tool is made of steel and aluminum (paragraph [0003]) and that the cutting edges are made of polycrystalline diamond cutting material (PCD) or cubic boron nitride (CBN, paragraph [0039]) or hard metal and cermet (paragraph [0040]). Honda ‘109 teaches alloy tool steel is used as material of the blade-body portion (11, paragraph [0031]). Schmid further teaches wherein the face cutter and the peripheral cutter are each formed on cutting elements, and the cutting elements are attached to the cutter carrier with a material bond (cutting inserts 16 soldered into the recesses 44 of ring 18, paragraphs [0019]-[0021] and [0039]). The combination teaches coolant channels and including Schmid teaches coolant distribution channels (40) distributed over the annular collar 36 of the cutter carrier (18, paragraph [0035]) and Honda teaches the body may have a cutting-fluid supply path of which an outlet for supplying a cutting fluid opens at the body-side groove (paragraph [0025]). The combination teaches the cutter carrier made of a flat, annular plate with coolant grooves (see Fig. 3 of Schmid, Fig. 4 of Honda). Honda further teaches the cutter carrier has fastening holes with screw head receptacles (holes and counterbores 119 for flat-head bolts 30, Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the cutter carrier of Schmid with fastening holes and screw head receptacles formed thereon, as taught by Honda, as an effective means of coupling the cutter carrier to the base body of the tool.
The combination of Schmid and Honda does not explicitly teach the cooling grooves are on a frontal end face running in a radial direction.
Nagata teaches a milling tool (paragraphs [0001] and [0002]) wherein radial grooves (54) are formed in a front end face to provide to cutting fluid to the cutters during operation of the tool on a workpiece (paragraph [0043], Figs. 6 and 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the cutter carrier of Schmid and Honda with radial grooves on a front end face , as taught by Nagata, based on specific design requirements and as an effective means of machining external grooves rather than forming more difficult radial interior passages in the front end face of the carrier member (see Nagata, paragraph [0043]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (claims 7 and 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the milling tool with a base body and a centering ring formed on the base body with the centering ring formed as a rib projecting in an axial direction for centering the cutter placed on the base body with a radial outer surface of the centering ring as an outer cone, the centering ring being compressed when the cuter carrier is fitted and by the cutter carrier being formed on a corresponding inner surface as an inner cone and in combination with the rest of the claim limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims and explanation regarding the term “hard metal” are accepted and as such, the objection to the claims and rejection under 112(b) as outlined in the Office action mailed 04/15/2026 have been withdrawn.
Regarding rejection of claim 1 over Schmid, Applicant argues that modifying Schmid would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as such modification to the replaceable ring would weaken the structure of Schmid. The examiner respectfully disagrees with such argument. The argument of weakening the structure is speculative and the examiner has never stated that such modification is the necessarily an optimum design. The examiner only took the position that such modification to arrive at the claimed ranges for the diameter of the cutter/cutter carriers would have been within the privy of one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the type of operation and workpiece been operated on.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 under Schmid in view of Honda, Applicant argues that Honda is concerned with mechanical stability and actually teaches against the use of such a thin cutting carrier when starting from the Schmid tool. The examiner respectfully disagrees with such argument. The motivation to combine Honda with Schmid does not necessarily arrives from Honda’s preference or desire to be combined with Schmid. On the contrary, the motivation comes from the one of ordinary skill in the art’s desire to improve Schmid’s tool by using Honda’s specific cutting carrier thickness. It appears that Applicant is arguing that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to start with Honda’s tool and modify it by Schmid. However, the Office relies on Schmid’s tool as primary art and only relies on specific limitation from Honda’s tool to be incorporated into Schmid’s tool.
Regarding the amended claim 10 which now includes the subject of previously rejected dependent claim 14 (and claim 15), the Office relies on the combination of Schmid, Honda and Nagata to reject newly amended claim 10 and 15. Applicant’s main argument is that Nagata’s front face is the cover plate (31) which covers the radial grooves (54) and as such, cannot be relied on to modify Schmid and Honda with a coolant grooves on an end face/frontal end face. The examiner once again respectfully disagrees with such argument. The examiner, considering the broadest reasonable claim interpretation, considers the distal end face (30b) of the tool head (30) as shown in Figs. 1, 6 and 7 to read on the claim “an end face and frontal end face.” Nagata in paragraph [0043] explicitly teaches the radial grooves (54) are located along the distal end face (30b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARANG AFZALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729 10/27/2026