DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed March 27, 2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1-2, 11, 16 have been amended and claims 19-20 were previously withdrawn. As such, claims 1-18 remain under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiner et al. (US 2022/0039847), hereinafter “Shiner”.
Regarding claim 1, Shiner discloses a periprosthetic proximal femur plate (700, FIG. 13), comprising: a head portion (204) comprising eight first polyaxial screw holes (240a-240h), wherein each first polyaxial screw hole comprises a cone of angulation from twenty-five to forty-five degrees (¶121); and a shaft portion (202), having a first lateral plate edge (206) and a second lateral plate edge (208), connected to the head portion, the shaft portion having a plurality of rows of second polyaxial screw holes (230) located at an angle from the first lateral plate edge and the second lateral plate edge of about thirty degrees to about seventy degrees (FIGS. 4, 13).
Regarding claim 4, Shiner discloses the periprosthetic proximal femur plate according to Claim 1, wherein the plurality of rows of the second polyaxial screw holes includes at least three rows (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 5, Shiner discloses the periprosthetic proximal femur plate according to Claim 1, wherein the second polyaxial screw holes include a series of second polyaxial screw holes in a three-hole pattern (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 6, Shiner discloses the periprosthetic proximal femur plate according to Claim 1, wherein the plurality of rows of second polyaxial screw holes are located at an angle from the first lateral plate edge and the second lateral plate edge of about forty degrees to about sixty degrees (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 7, Shiner discloses the periprosthetic proximal femur plate according to Claim 1, wherein the plurality of rows of second polyaxial screw holes are located at an angle from the first lateral plate edge and the second lateral plate edge of about thirty-five degrees to about fifty-five degrees (FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 8, Shiner discloses the periprosthetic proximal femur plate according to Claim 1, wherein the head portion includes at least one orientation feature (244) and at least one screw hole (702) for connection with another plate.
Regarding claim 9, Shiner discloses the periprosthetic proximal femur plate according to Claim 1, further comprising a plurality of k-wire/suture openings (242).
Regarding claim 10, Shiner discloses the periprosthetic proximal femur plate according to Claim 1, further comprising at least one polyaxial screw hole (240i) capable of accepting a properly configured articulated tension device (ATD) located at an end of the shaft portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiner.
Shiner discloses the periprosthetic proximal femur plate according to claim 1, wherein the first polyaxial screw holes have a cone of angulation in a range from about thirty degrees to about forty degrees (¶121). However, Shiner is silent regarding the second polyaxial screw holes having a cone of angulation in a range from about thirty degrees to about forty degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention, to form the second polyaxial screw holes having a cone of angulation in a range from about thirty degrees to about forty degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-18 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLIVIA C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775