DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are independent.
Priority
No priority has been claimed in the present application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 8/24/2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patarroyo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0077688) (hereinafter “Patarroyo”).
Regarding claim 1 and corresponding claim 11, Patarroyo teaches a control system to regulate frequency of an islanded microgrid, having at least one grid-tied renewable energy source, (Para. 373 - - microgrid frequency is regulated, where microgrid is in islanded mode; Fig. 1 - - grid-tied renewable energy resource is used)
comprising: a centralized H∞ controller to generate active and reactive power setpoints; (Para. 354 - - H-infinity controller is used for setpoints; Para. 68 - - active and reactive power values, i.e. setpoints, can be used to enhance the controller)
a multi-agent system integrated into the grid through a grid-tied inverter coupled with an LCL filter; (Para. 324 - - LCL filter is used in a grid-connected inverter; Fig. 1 - - multi-agent, i.e. multiple subsystems, are integrated with grid, where agents are subsystems as per Pg. 9 of Applicant’s Specification)
and a distributed control to control the multi-agent system and the grid-tied inverter to adjust output power of a multi-agent microgrid storage cooperatively so that they achieve consensus in the energy while providing inertial support. (Para. 321 - - microgrid is controlled in islanded mode connected to a grid; Para. 354 - - H-infinity controller is used for setpoints; Fig. 1 - - grid-tied renewable energy resource is used)
Regarding claim 2 and corresponding claim 12, Patarroyo teaches wherein the renewable energy source is a photovoltaic (PV) system. (Fig. 1 - - solar panel, i.e. PV system, can be used)
Regarding claim 3 and corresponding claim 13, Patarroyo teaches wherein the renewable energy source is a wind turbine system. (Fig. 1 - - wind turbine system can be used)
Regarding claim 4 and corresponding claim 14, Patarroyo teaches wherein the centralized H∞ controller regulates the frequency of an islanded microgrid. (Para. 373 - - microgrid frequency is regulated, where microgrid is in islanded mode)
Regarding claim 5 and corresponding claim 15, Patarroyo teaches wherein the centralized H∞ controller outputs feedback that minimizes the maximum gain of the output over disturbances. (Para. 121 - - control is used to reject, i.e. minimize, disturbances)
Regarding claim 6 and corresponding claim 16, Patarroyo teaches wherein the disturbances include power injections from the at least one grid-tied renewable energy source. (Fig. 1 - - renewable energy sources inject power to the grid)
Regarding claim 7 and corresponding claim 17, Patarroyo teaches a virtual inertial unit that receives the active and reactive power setpoints and enhances the centralized H∞ controller to exhibit damping and inertia properties of a synchronous generator. (Para. 68 - - generators exhibit synchronous machine behavior which is emulated, i.e. virtual unit, where active and reactive power values, i.e. setpoints, can be used to enhance the autonomous controller, i.e. the H∞ controller)
Regarding claim 9 and corresponding claim 19, Patarroyo teaches wherein the multi-agent system includes a group of battery energy storage devices, wherein the distributed control is a decentralized cooperative multi-agent control to synchronize the power and state of charge (SOCs) among the battery energy storage devices. (Fig. 1 - - charge controller controls charge in a group of battery energy storage devices)
Regarding claim 10 and corresponding claim 20, Patarroyo teaches wherein the multi-agent control operates according to a coordinated leader-follower multi-agent control strategy configured to balance the state of charge (SOC) of the battery energy storage devices, by adjusting output power of operative batteries to balance the SOC while providing inertial support to the microgrid, while ensuring that no battery is depleted when available capacity exists in remaining battery energy storage devices. (Fig. 1 - - charge controller controls charge in a group of battery energy storage devices)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim(s), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim(s) and any intervening claim(s).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119