DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenji (JP 2001174757 A) in view of Endo (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0355535 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 2, 13, Kenji discloses a projector (fig.4) comprising: a light source (see 3) configured to emit first light, which is non-linearly polarized light; a polarization conversion unit (200 in fig.7 or 8) configured to convert the first light made incident from the light source into predetermined linearly polarized light; a light modulation device (see 45, 53, 49 in fig.4) including a liquid crystal panel (see 45, 53, and 49), the light modulation device modulating the predetermined linearly polarized light converted by the polarization conversion unit (see the operation 200 in fig.7); and a superimposing optical system (21 in fig.4) configured to superimpose, on the liquid crystal panel, the predetermined linearly polarized light made incident from the polarization conversion unit (see operation in fig.7), wherein the polarization conversion unit includes: a polarizing separator (201a) configured to separate the first light into second light and third light based on polarized light components (see S and P light in fig.7); and a phase difference plate (203 in fig.7) configured to align polarization directions of the second light and the third light, the polarizing separator includes a polarizing separation plate (see 201 and 201a ) comprising a glass substate (see 201a) and a dielectric multilayer film (see para.: “a dielectric multilayer film”) formed on the glass substrate (201a ) and a reflection plate (see 202a and 202b) comprising a film formed on a substrate surface (201: “The reflection film 202b is made of, for example, a metal deposition film of silver or the like on the surface of the plate member 202a. ”), the polarizing separation plate (see 201a and 201) and the reflection plate (see 202a and 202b) being disposed with a gap between and opposed to each other, the polarizing separation plate (the tilt of 201a and 201) is provided in a tilted state with respect to a principal ray of the first light and separates the first light by transmitting a first linearly polarized light component in the first light toward the superimposing optical system as the second light and reflecting (see fig.7), as the third light, a second linearly polarized light component in a polarization direction different from a polarization direction of the first linearly polarized light component in the first light (see the operation of fig.7), and the reflection plate reflects the third light made incident from the polarizing separation plate toward the superimposing optical system (23 in fig.7), wherein the phase difference plate is configured by a half wave plate and provided in an optical path of the third light reflected by the reflection plate (see 203 in fig.8), wherein the first light emitted from the light source is white light (3 in fig.4).
But Kenji does not disclose a reflection plate (see 202a and 202b) comprising a dielectric multilayer film formed on a substrate surface and the polarizing separation plate and the reflection plate form an angle of 350 to 550 with respect to the first light.
Endo discloses the polarizing separator includes a polarizing separation plate comprising a dielectric multilayer film (see 43a; see para.[0073]: “The center side polarization separation film 43a is formed of, for example, a dielectric multilayer film.”) on a glass substrate (see glass: [0065] :In the present embodiment, the first optical block 41 has a rectangular solid shape. The first optical block 41 is formed of, for example, glass.) and a reflection plate (45a) comprising a dielectric multilayer film on a substrate surface (see para.[0066]: “The reflecting film is not particularly limited as long as the reflecting film is a member capable of reflecting the light input from the polarization separation film, and a metal film, a dielectric multilayer film, and so on can be used.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the projector of Kenji with the teaching of Endo so to enhance the flexibility and reflective capacity of the reflection layer by utilizing a dielectric multilayer film; furthermore it would been obvious to modify the projector of Kenji with the teaching of Endo, since a metal film and dielectric film in the context of reflection are art recognized equivalence as disclosed above in para.[0066] of Endo.
With respect to claims 7 and 8, Kenji in view of Endo disclose the projector of claim 1, but Kenji does not explicitly disclose wherein the polarizing separation plate includes a light incident surface on which the first light is made incident, the reflection plate includes a light reflection surface that reflets the third light and is parallel to the light incident surface, and an angle formed by the light incident surface and the light reflection surface and a principal ray of the first light is 45°, wherein a pair of the polarization conversion units is disposed to be symmetrical with respect to an imaginary axis extending along an optical axis of the light source, and in each of the pair of polarization conversion units, the polarizing separation plate is disposed closer to the imaginary axis than the reflection plate.
Endo discloses a projector (see fig.1) wherein the polarizing separation plate (see the incident surface of 43a) includes a light incident surface on which the first light is made incident, the reflection plate (43a) includes a light reflection surface that reflects the third light and is parallel to the light incident surface (see the incident surfaces of 45a and 43a), and an angle formed by the light incident surface and the light reflection surface and a principal ray of the first light is 45° (see para.[0076]: “The center side reflecting film 45a is disposed in parallel to the center side polarization separation film 43a, namely so as to be tilted 45° with respect to the first light incidence surface 41a.”), wherein a pair of the polarization conversion units is disposed to be symmetrical with respect to an imaginary axis extending along an optical axis of the light source (see fig.3 and fig.1), and in each of the pair of polarization conversion units (see units disclosed to the left and right of the axis of symmetry in fig.1), the polarizing separation plate (see 43a) is disposed closer to the imaginary axis than the reflection plate (45a and 46a in fig.3 ), wherein the first light emitted from the light source is white light (see fig.2: also see disclosure in para.[0052]: the white light WL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the projector of Kenji in view of Endo with the teaching of Endo so that the polarizing separation plate includes a light incident surface on which the first light is made incident, the reflection plate includes a light reflection surface that reflets the third light and is parallel to the light incident surface, and an angle formed by the light incident surface and the light reflection surface and a principal ray of the first light is 45°, wherein a pair of the polarization conversion units is disposed to be symmetrical with respect to an imaginary axis extending along an optical axis of the light source, and in each of the pair of polarization conversion units, the polarizing separation plate is disposed closer to the imaginary axis than the reflection plate to enhance polarization conversion and reduce optical stress.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenji (JP 2001174757 A) in view of Endo (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0355535 A1) and Mitsutake (United States Patent Publication 5, 566, 367).
With respect to claim 3, Kenji in view of Endo disclose the projector of claim 1, but Kenji does not explicitly disclose wherein the phase difference plate is configured by a half wave plate and provided in an optical path of the second light transmitted by the polarizing separation plate.
Mitsutake disclose wherein the phase difference plate (36 in fig.8) is configured by a half wave plate (see the operation of fig.8) and provided in an optical path of the second light transmitted by the polarizing separation plate (see 34 and 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of Kenji in view of Endo with the teaching Mitsutake so that the phase difference plate is configured by a half wave plate and provided in an optical path of the second light transmitted by the polarizing separation plate to enhance polarization conversion and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenji (JP 2001174757 A)\) in view of Endo (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0355535 A1) and Maeda (JP 2008203293 A).
With respect to claims 4 and 6, Kenji in view of Endo discloses the projector of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the polarizing separation plate includes a light incident surface on which the first light is made incident, and the phase difference plate is configured by a half wave plate and provided on the light incident surface of the polarizing separation plate, wherein the polarizing separation plate includes a light incident surface on which the first light is made incident and a light emission surface from which the second light is emitted, and the phase difference plate is configured by a half wave plate and provided on the light emission surface of the polarizing separation plate.
Maeda discloses the phase difference plate (3) is configured by a half wave plate and provided on the light incident surface of the polarizing separation plate (see the configuration of 1b), wherein the phase difference plate (3) is configured by a half wave plate and provided in an optical path of the third light reflected by the polarizing separation plate (see the configuration 1), wherein the polarizing separation plate (3) includes a light incident surface on which the first light is made incident and a light emission surface from which the second light is emitted (see the configuration of 1a), and the phase difference plate is configured by a half wave plate and provided on the light emission surface of the polarizing separation plate (see the placement of 1 and 3 in fig.1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kenji in view of Endo with the teaching of Maeda so that the polarizing separation plate includes a light incident surface on which the first light is made incident, and the phase difference plate is configured by a half wave plate and provided on the light incident surface of the polarizing separation plate, wherein the polarizing separation plate includes a light incident surface on which the first light is made incident and a light emission surface from which the second light is emitted, and the phase difference plate is configured by a half wave plate and provided on the light emission surface of the polarizing separation plate to make the polarization conversion system more compact.
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamura (United States Patent Publication 6, 144, 492 A) in view of Endo (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0355535 A1).
With respect to claims 1 and 5, Iwamura discloses a projector (fig.7) comprising: a light source (see 10) configured to emit first light, which is non-linearly polarized light (see the arc lamp of 10a); a polarization conversion unit (see 1 in fig.7 and see fig.6) configured to convert the first light made incident from the light source into predetermined linearly polarized light (see the operation of fig.6); a light modulation device including a liquid crystal panel (17, 21, 26 in fig.7), the light modulation device modulating the predetermined linearly polarized light converted by the polarization conversion unit (see disclosed by the operation of 17, 21, and 26 in fig.7); and a superimposing optical system (see 13 in fig.7) configured to superimpose, on the liquid crystal panel (see the position of 13 and 17,21, and 26 in fig.7), the predetermined linearly polarized light made incident from the polarization conversion unit (see the arrangement in fig.7), wherein the polarization conversion unit (see fig.6) includes: a polarizing separator (see 3L) configured to separate the first light into second light (see the P light transmitted through L) and third light (see the S light reflected from 3L) based on polarized light components; and a phase difference plate (7B) configured to align polarization directions of the second light and the third light, the polarizing separator includes a polarizing separation plate (see 3L) and a reflection plate (see 7A) comprising on a substrate surface (see substrate of 7L), the polarizing separator (see 3L) and the reflection plate (see 7L) being disposed to being separate plate members disposed with a gap therebetween and opposed to each other (see the configuration in fig.6) , the polarizing separation plate (see 3L) is provided in a tilted state with respect to a principal ray of the first light and separates the first light by transmitting a first linearly polarized light component in the first light toward the superimposing optical system as the second light and reflecting (see the operation in fig.6), as the third light, a second linearly polarized light component in a polarization direction different from a polarization direction of the first linearly polarized light component in the first light (see the operation of 3L), and the reflection plate reflects the third light made incident from the polarizing separation plate toward the superimposing optical system (see the operation in fig.6 and the position of the superimposing system 13 in fig.7), wherein the reflection plate (see 7A) includes a light reflection surface that reflects the third light (see the operation of 7A), and the phase difference plate (see 7B) is configured by a quarter wave plate and provided on the light reflection surface of the reflection plate (see the disposition of 7Bon 7A).
But Iwamura does not disclose a polarizing separation plate comprising a dielectric multilayer film on a glass substrate and a reflection plate comprising a dielectric multilayer film, and the polarizing separator and the reflection plate form an angle of 350 to 550 with respect to the first light.
Endo discloses a projector (see fig.1) comprising: a light source (2) configured to emit first light, which is non-linearly polarized light; a polarization conversion unit (40) configured to convert the first light made incident from the light source into predetermined linearly polarized light; a light modulation device (see 4RGB) including a liquid crystal panel, the light modulation device modulating the predetermined linearly polarized light converted by the polarization conversion unit; and a superimposing optical system (see 10RGB and 50) configured to superimpose, on the liquid crystal panel, the predetermined linearly polarized light made incident from the polarization conversion unit, wherein the polarization conversion unit (see 43a, 47a, and 45a) includes: a polarizing separator (see 43a ) configured to separate the first light into second light and third light based on polarized light components; and a phase difference plate (47a) configured to align polarization directions of the second light and the third light, the polarizing separator includes a polarizing separation plate comprising a dielectric multilayer film (see 43a; see para.[0073]: “The center side polarization separation film 43a is formed of, for example, a dielectric multilayer film.”) on a glass substrate (see glass: [0065] :In the present embodiment, the first optical block 41 has a rectangular solid shape. The first optical block 41 is formed of, for example, glass.) and a reflection plate (45a) comprising a dielectric multilayer film on a substrate surface (see para.[0066]: “The reflecting film is not particularly limited as long as the reflecting film is a member capable of reflecting the light input from the polarization separation film, and a metal film, a dielectric multilayer film, and so on can be used.”), the polarizing separator and the reflection plate (see 45a) being disposed to be separated from and opposed to each other (see the position of 45a and 43a), the polarizing separator and the reflection plate form an angle of 350 to 550 with respect to the first light (see para.[0072]: “The center side polarization separation film 43a is disposed so as to be tilted 45° with respect to the first light incidence surface 41a”; see para.[0076]: “The center side reflecting film 45a is disposed in parallel to the center side polarization separation film 43a, namely so as to be tilted 45° with respect to the first light incidence surface 41a”), the polarizing separation plate (see 43a) is provided in a tilted state with respect to a principal ray of the first light and separates the first light by transmitting a first linearly polarized light component in the first light toward the superimposing optical system as the second light and reflecting, as the third light (see fig.4), a second linearly polarized light component in a polarization direction different from a polarization direction of the first linearly polarized light component in the first light (see the light that is transmitted through 43a in fig.4), and the reflection plate reflects (45a) the third light made incident from the polarizing separation plate toward the superimposing optical system, wherein the phase difference plate (47a) is configured by a half wave plate (see the operation of 47a) and provided in an optical path of the third light reflected by the reflection plate (45a), wherein the phase difference plate (47a) is configured by a half wave plate and provided in an optical path of the third light reflected by the polarizing separation plate (see the location of 47a, which is located in the optical path of the light reflected by 43a), wherein the polarizing separation plate (see the incident surface of 43a) includes a light incident surface on which the first light is made incident, the reflection plate (43a) includes a light reflection surface that reflects the third light and is parallel to the light incident surface (see the incident surfaces of 45a and 43a), and an angle formed by the light incident surface and the light reflection surface and a principal ray of the first light is 45° (see para.[0076]: “The center side reflecting film 45a is disposed in parallel to the center side polarization separation film 43a, namely so as to be tilted 45° with respect to the first light incidence surface 41a.”), wherein a pair of the polarization conversion units is disposed to be symmetrical with respect to an imaginary axis extending along an optical axis of the light source (see fig.3 and fig.1), and in each of the pair of polarization conversion units (see units disclosed to the left and right of the axis of symmetry in fig.1), the polarizing separation plate (see 43a) is disposed closer to the imaginary axis than the reflection plate (45a and 46a in fig.3 ), wherein the first light emitted from the light source is white light (see fig.2: also see disclosure in para.[0052]: the white light WL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Iwamura with the teaching of Endo so that a polarizing separation plate comprising a dielectric multilayer film on a glass substrate and a reflection plate on a substrate surface, the polarizing separation plate and the reflection plate being separate plate members disposed with a gap therebetween and opposed to each other, the polarizing separator and the reflection plate form an angle of 350 to 550 with respect to the first light to efficiently polarize the light and to reduce cost of manufacture by using well known and inexpensive optical components.
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dennis (CA 2247435 A1) in view of Endo (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0355535 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 10 and 11, Dennis discloses a projector (fig.2 and 5) comprising: a light source (12) configured to emit first light, which is non-linearly polarized light; a polarization conversion unit (20, 18 and 16 in fig.2) configured to convert the first light made incident from the light source into predetermined linearly polarized light; a light modulation device including a liquid crystal panel (26), the light modulation device modulating the predetermined linearly polarized light converted by the polarization conversion unit; and a superimposing optical system (22: see 48 in fig.5) configured to superimpose, on the liquid crystal panel, the predetermined linearly polarized light made incident from the polarization conversion unit, wherein the polarization conversion unit (see fig.1, 20, 18 and 16) includes: a polarizing separator (16 and 18 in fig.1) configured to separate the first light into second light and third light based on polarized light components; and a phase difference plate (20) configured to align polarization directions of the second light and the third light, the polarizing separator includes a polarizing separation plate (16) and a reflection plate (18) being separate plate members disposed with a gap therebetween and opposed to each other (see fig.2), the polarizing separation plate (see the configuration in fig.1) is provided in a tilted state with respect to a principal ray of the first light and separates the first light by transmitting a first linearly polarized light component in the first light toward the superimposing optical system as the second light (see the light transmitted) and reflecting, as the third light (see the light reflected by 16), a second linearly polarized light component in a polarization direction different from a polarization direction of the first linearly polarized light component in the first light, and the reflection plate reflects the third light made incident from the polarizing separation plate toward the superimposing optical system (see the operation of in fig.2), wherein the superimposing optical system includes: a first optical member (see lower segment of 48 in fig.5) on which the second light emitted from the polarization conversion unit is made incident; and a second optical member (see upper segment of 48 in fig.5) on which the third light emitted from the polarization conversion unit is made incident, and a principal ray of the second light emitted from the first optical member and a principal ray of the third light emitted from the second optical member come closer to each other toward the light modulation device (see the operation of 48 in fig.5), wherein the superimposing optical system is configured by a Fresnel lens (see 48 in fig.5).
But Dennis does not disclose a polarizing separation plate comprising a dielectric multilayer film on a glass substrate and a reflection plate comprising a dielectric multilayer film and the polarizing separator and the reflection plate form an angle of 350 to 550 with respect to the first light.
Endo discloses a projector (see fig.1) comprising: a light source (2) configured to emit first light, which is non-linearly polarized light; a polarization conversion unit (40) configured to convert the first light made incident from the light source into predetermined linearly polarized light; a light modulation device (see 4RGB) including a liquid crystal panel, the light modulation device modulating the predetermined linearly polarized light converted by the polarization conversion unit; and a superimposing optical system (see 10RGB and 50) configured to superimpose, on the liquid crystal panel, the predetermined linearly polarized light made incident from the polarization conversion unit, wherein the polarization conversion unit (see 43a, 47a, and 45a) includes: a polarizing separator (see 43a ) configured to separate the first light into second light and third light based on polarized light components; and a phase difference plate (47a) configured to align polarization directions of the second light and the third light, the polarizing separator includes a polarizing separation plate comprising a dielectric multilayer film (see 43a; see para.[0073]: “The center side polarization separation film 43a is formed of, for example, a dielectric multilayer film.”) on a glass substrate (see glass: [0065] :In the present embodiment, the first optical block 41 has a rectangular solid shape. The first optical block 41 is formed of, for example, glass.) and a reflection plate (45a) comprising a dielectric multilayer film on a substrate surface (see para.[0066]: “The reflecting film is not particularly limited as long as the reflecting film is a member capable of reflecting the light input from the polarization separation film, and a metal film, a dielectric multilayer film, and so on can be used.”), the polarizing separator and the reflection plate (see 45a) being disposed to be separated from and opposed to each other (see the position of 45a and 43a), the polarizing separator and the reflection plate form an angle of 350 to 550 with respect to the first light (see para.[0072]: “The center side polarization separation film 43a is disposed so as to be tilted 45° with respect to the first light incidence surface 41a”; see para.[0076]: “The center side reflecting film 45a is disposed in parallel to the center side polarization separation film 43a, namely so as to be tilted 45° with respect to the first light incidence surface 41a”), the polarizing separation plate (see 43a) is provided in a tilted state with respect to a principal ray of the first light and separates the first light by transmitting a first linearly polarized light component in the first light toward the superimposing optical system as the second light and reflecting, as the third light (see fig.4), a second linearly polarized light component in a polarization direction different from a polarization direction of the first linearly polarized light component in the first light (see the light that is transmitted through 43a in fig.4), and the reflection plate reflects (45a) the third light made incident from the polarizing separation plate toward the superimposing optical system, wherein the phase difference plate (47a) is configured by a half wave plate (see the operation of 47a) and provided in an optical path of the third light reflected by the reflection plate (45a), wherein the phase difference plate (47a) is configured by a half wave plate and provided in an optical path of the third light reflected by the polarizing separation plate (see the location of 47a, which is located in the optical path of the light reflected by 43a), wherein the polarizing separation plate (see the incident surface of 43a) includes a light incident surface on which the first light is made incident, the reflection plate (43a) includes a light reflection surface that reflects the third light and is parallel to the light incident surface (see the incident surfaces of 45a and 43a), and an angle formed by the light incident surface and the light reflection surface and a principal ray of the first light is 45° (see para.[0076]: “The center side reflecting film 45a is disposed in parallel to the center side polarization separation film 43a, namely so as to be tilted 45° with respect to the first light incidence surface 41a.”), wherein a pair of the polarization conversion units is disposed to be symmetrical with respect to an imaginary axis extending along an optical axis of the light source (see fig.3 and fig.1), and in each of the pair of polarization conversion units (see units disclosed to the left and right of the axis of symmetry in fig.1), the polarizing separation plate (see 43a) is disposed closer to the imaginary axis than the reflection plate (45a and 46a in fig.3 ), wherein the first light emitted from the light source is white light (see fig.2: also see disclosure in para.[0052]: the white light WL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Dennis with the teaching of Endo so that the polarizing separator includes a polarizing separation plate comprising a glass substrate and a dielectric multilayer film on formed on the glass substrate, and a reflection plate comprising a dielectric multilayer film formed on a substrate surface, the polarizing separation plate and the reflection plate being separate plate members disposed with a gap therebetween, the polarizing separator and the reflection plate form an angle of 350 to 550 with respect to the first light to efficiently polarize the light and to reduce cost of manufacture by using well known and inexpensive optical components.
With respect to claim 9, Dennis in view of Endo discloses the projector according to claim 1, Dennis further comprising an optical system (see 20) provided between the superimposing optical system (see 46) and the light modulation device and configured to control light emitted from the superimposing optical system, wherein the optical system is configured by a Fresnel lens (see written disclosure wherein: the negative cylinder lens 50 can be continuous or of the Fresnel type.) and discloses wherein 22 in fig.1 and fig.3 collimate the light before modulator in fig.1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the light exiting 50 is collimated in fig.5.
However , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the projector of fig.5 of Dennis in view of Endo with the operational feature of collimating as implemented in figs.1 and 3 so that the Fresnel system is a collimating optical system to increase the flexibility of the optical chain and enhance brightness and uniformity.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dennis (CA 2247435 A1) in view of Endo (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0355535 A1) and Nakayama (JP H07181392 A).
With respect to claim 12, Dennis in view of Endo discloses the projector according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the liquid crystal panel includes a color filter.
Nakayama discloses teaches a modulator wherein the liquid crystal panel includes a color filter (see under para. for Figs.12A and 12B: “in the single-panel system in which a color image is displayed by mounting three color filters on the pixels of one liquid crystal pane”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid crystal panel of Dennis in view of Endo with the teaching of Nakayama as taught by so that the liquid crystal panel includes a color filter to enhance the versatility of the modulator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882