DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated April 3, 2024.
Status of claims
Claims 7 -11 and 21 - 25 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s amendments filed April 3, 2024. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s cancelation of claims 1 – 6 and 12 - 20 and addition of a new claims 21 – 25.
Priority
This application is a CON of Application No. 18/147,128 filed December 28, 2022, which is a CON of Application No. 17/753,406 filed March 2, 2022, which is a 371 of PCT/EP2020/074602, filed on September 3, 2020, and claims benefit of priority to European Patent Application No. 19382751.6, filed on September 3, 2019, and European Patent Application No. 19382855.5, filed on October 3, 2019.
Drawings
Acknowledgement is made of the drawings received on August 24, 2023. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim.
Accordingly, claim 25 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 -11 and 21 - 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maes et al (WO 2019/025588 A1, hereinafter Maes).
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Instant claims are drawn to a method for treating autism spectrum disorder (ASD) in a human patient, wherein ASD is an adult autism spectrum disorder. The method is comprising administering to the patient a therapeutically effective amount of vafidemstat (
) (page 18, specification) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, wherein therapeutically effective amount of vafidemstat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof is orally administered.
Maes teaches a method for treating a behavior alteration in a patient (preferably a human), where the behavior alteration is social withdrawal associated with CNS disease, such as an autism spectrum disorder (ASD) (page 5, line 1). The method is comprising administering to the patient a therapeutically effective amount of 5-((((1R,2S)-2-(4-(benzyloxy)phenyl)cyclopropyl)amino)methyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-amine:
(vafidemstat) (page 9, lines 2 – 4), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, wherein therapeutically effective amount of vafidemstat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof is orally administered (page 22, lines 16 – 17).
Regarding the limitation of claim 10, which recites the method for treating an adult autism spectrum disorder, Maes teaches the method for treating a behavior alteration associated with ASD in a human patient in general, without specifying the age of a patient, which would indicate that human patient of any age including adult, can be treated with the described method.
Thus, the method of Maes would anticipate the method of claims 7 -11 and 21 – 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 -11 and 21 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muñoz et al (US 9,181,198 B2, hereinafter Muñoz) in view of Matsuda et al (Neuropsychopharmacology (2019) 44:1505–1512).
Instant claims are drawn to a method for treating autism spectrum disorder (ASD) in a human patient, wherein ASD is an adult autism spectrum disorder. The method is comprising administering to the patient a therapeutically effective amount of vafidemstat (
) (page 18, specification) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof, wherein therapeutically effective amount of vafidemstat or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof is orally administered.
Muñoz teaches a method of treating or preventing a disease or condition associated with LSD1, comprising administering to a patient (preferably a human) in need of treatment a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (I):
, such as compound
, 5-(((trans)-2-(4-(benzyloxy)phenyl)cyclopropylamino)methyl)-1,3,4-oxadiazol-2-amine (column 79, lines 17 – 30, ex.10). The compound of Formula (I) such as compound of ex.10 acts as LSD1 inhibitor (column 6, lines 3 – 6) and is suitable for oral formulations (column 54, line 31).
Although the image above shows (1S,2R) stereoisomer, whereas instantly claimed compound vafidemstat has (1R,2S) configuration of stereocenters, Muñoz explains that “trans” as a part of the name of the compound indicates that the compounds were synthesized in the Examples as mixtures having both configurations (1R, 2S) and (1S, 2R), and chiral separation was further performed (column 63, lines 8 – 12).
Regarding the limitation of claim 10, which recites the method for treating an adult autism spectrum disorder, Muñoz teaches the method for treating a disease or condition associated with LSD1 in a human patient in general, without specifying the age of a patient, which would indicate that human patient of any age, including adult, can be treated with the described method.
Muñoz does not teach that disease or condition associated with LSD1 is the autism spectrum disorder (ASD).
However, Matsuda teaches LSD1 inhibitor T-448, which ameliorated learning dysfunction in mice with N-methyl-D-aspartate receptor (NMDAR) hypofunction, a preclinical model of schizophrenia and ASD. Matsuda concludes that according to experimental evidence, LSD1 inhibitors may provide a novel therapeutic opportunity for central nervous system (CNS) diseases associated with epigenetic dysregulation such as schizophrenia and ASD (page 1506, left column 1st paragraph, and page 1511, left column 1st paragraph).
Thus, since Muñoz teaches a method for treating a disease or condition associated with LSD1, comprising administering to a patient LSD1 inhibitor such as vafidemstat, Matsuda teaches a method to treat ASD with LSD1 inhibitor, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to substitute LSD1 inhibitor in the method taught by Matsuda with another agent possessing the same mechanism of action (LSD1 inhibitor) to arrive at claimed method. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search of an effective method for treatment of ASD with the reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, taking all together, taught by prior art, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
Claims 7 -11 and 21 – 25 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/E.V.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/SAVITHA M RAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691