DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 07/23/2026 claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 16 are independent. No claims are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in pages 10-15 of the Remarks dated 07/23/2026 that Wei fails to disclose the claimed invention.
Applicant argues that Is2 equates to a “continuous, always-active current clamping circuit” or that the system “does not measure the current, compare it against a threshold, and issue a command to halt all charging and discharging upon detecting that the current is below the threshold”, however the examiner respectfully disagrees. ¶[23] of Wei characterizes Is2 as a threshold value applied to the current Is after an SOC threshold check is performed. Specifically, the Is2 value has a threshold value for charging and a threshold value for discharging which are applied to the measured current Is so that Is does not exceed the positive set value (e.g., charge max) and the negative set value (e.g., discharge max).
Furthermore, the applicant argues that Wei does not explicitly teach utilizing this Is2 value as a determination for stopping charging or discharging of the battery. The applicant argues that stopping charging and charging is based on the power storage ratio D1. The applicant states that Is2 is solely relied upon to prevent the output current from damaging hardware. Even if the prior art did not recognize that the Is2 value could be used in for determining when to stop charging or discharging of the battery, the arrangement of using D1 and Is2 as criteria for determination would have been obvious. Discovering an additional benefit or mechanism does not necessarily make the arrangement nonobvious. In this case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the importance of considering utilizing the value of Is2 as a criteria for determining to stop charging or discharging the battery in order to prevent damaging hardware as a matter of design choice.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the disclosure of applicant’s ¶[90] in the bottom of page 14 and top of page 15 in the Remarks) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (Chinese Patent CN-103944157-A; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and cited in the Written Opinion of the International Search Authority).
With respect to independent claims 1 and 16, Wei teaches an energy system (Fig. 1; a power supply system), comprising an energy storage battery (Fig. 1; energy storage system 80); and a charging and discharging control apparatus connected to the energy storage battery (Fig. 1; controller 100 connected to the energy storage system 80).
Wei teaches obtain a battery level of the energy storage battery (¶[23]; the energy storage ratio (i.e., SOC) of the energy storage system 80 is obtained).
Wei teaches obtain a charging current of the energy storage battery or a discharging current of the energy storage battery (¶[23]; the charging and discharging currents of the energy storage system 80 are obtained).
Wei teaches control, when the battery level is not greater than a discharging level threshold, the energy storage battery to stop charging and discharging; and control, when the battery level is not less than a charging level threshold, the energy storage battery to stop charging and discharging (¶[48]; “When the energy storage ratio D1 of the energy storage medium is lower than the first energy storage threshold, the energy storage system stops discharging; when the energy storage ratio D1 of the energy storage medium is higher than the second energy storage threshold, the energy storage system 80 stops charging.”).
Wei teaches the charging current of the energy storage battery is less than a charging current threshold and the discharging current of the energy storage battery is less than a discharging current threshold (¶[23]; “The input of the second limiting unit is the intermediate variable I----s2, and the output is the charging and discharging current Is. Its main function is to limit the amplitude of the charging and discharging current IS so that it does not exceed the design value of the charging and discharging current IS … The second limiting unit must limit the value of the charging and discharging current IS to not exceed its positive set value, and also limit the value of IS to not be less than its negative set value. That is, it must limit both the maximum charging current of the charging and discharging current IS and the maximum discharging current of the charging and discharging current IS…”).
However, Wei fails to explicitly teach when an electric quantity and a current simultaneously meet threshold value requirements, an energy storage battery stops charging and discharging.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Wei in order to stop charging and discharging of the energy storage battery when an electric quantity and a current simultaneously meet threshold value requirements as a matter of design choice. The advantage of this being that ensuring charging and discharging start and stop criteria is met by utilizing multiple threshold limits thus increasing feedback efficiency and system reliability.
Claims 2-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei and further in view of Lee (USPGPN 20120176088).
With respect to dependent claims 2 and 17, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 16, respectively. Further, Wei teaches receive charging electric energy, and control, when the battery level is not greater than the discharging level threshold, charging of the energy storage battery by using the charging electric energy (¶[48]; one of ordinary skill understands that charging occurs as long as the second energy threshold has not been passed thereby when the system is below the first energy threshold it will charge the energy storage system 80).
However, Wei fails to explicitly teach control, when a power of the charging electric energy is not less than a charging power threshold, charging of the energy storage battery by using the charging electric energy.
Lee teaches control, when a power of the charging electric energy is not less than a charging power threshold, charging of the energy storage battery by using the charging electric energy (¶[20]; “…operate in the charge mode to charge the battery when the value of the first power is greater than the first threshold value…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s power threshold consideration for charging and discharging to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
With respect to dependent claims 3 and 18, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 16, respectively. Further, Wei teaches receive charging electric energy and control, when the battery level is continuously not greater than the discharging level threshold, charging of the energy storage battery using the charging electric energy (¶[48]; one of ordinary skill understands that charging occurs as long as the second energy threshold has not been passed thereby when the system is below the first energy threshold it will charge the energy storage system 80 continuously).
However, Wei fails to explicitly teach control, in a second time period, when a power of the charging electric energy is continuously not less than a charging power threshold, charging of the energy storage battery using the charging electric energy.
Lee teaches control, in a second time period, when a power of the charging electric energy is continuously not less than a charging power threshold, charging of the energy storage battery using the charging electric energy (¶[80]; if Ppv (i.e., amount of power generated) remains higher than Pr (i.e,. the preset power) after a preset time, then the converter charges).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s time-based power threshold consideration for charging and discharging to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
With respect to dependent claim 4, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. However, Wei fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 4.
Lee teaches wherein the charging electric energy comprises alternating current (AC) power (Fig. 1; grid 3 is AC thus charging electrical energy comprises AC power).
Lee teaches wherein the charging and discharging control apparatus is configured to connect to an AC power grid (Fig. 1; the integrated controller 15 and the inverter 13 are connected to the grid 3); receive AC electric energy from the AC power grid (Fig. 1; controller 15 and inverter 13 receive AC electrical energy from the grid 3); perform AC to direct current (DC) conversion on the AC electric energy in order to obtain DC charging electric energy (Fig. 1; controller 15 and inverter 13 perform AC to DC conversion via the inverter’s integrated rectifier circuit, see ¶[53]); and output the DC charging electric energy to the energy storage battery (Fig. 1; the DC output of the inverter 13 provides DC charging to the battery 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s threshold based grid-connected power system to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
With respect to dependent claim 5, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. However, Wei fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 5.
Lee teaches further comprising a photovoltaic panel connected to the charging and discharging control apparatus, wherein the photovoltaic panel is configured to convert received photon energy into DC photovoltaic electric energy (Fig. 2; power generation system 2 may be a photovoltaic power generation system, see ¶[44]. One of ordinary skill understands photovoltaic power generation systems comprise photovoltaic panels which convert photon energy into DC photovoltaic electric energy).
Lee teaches output a first part of the DC photovoltaic electric energy, and output a second part of the DC photovoltaic electric energy, wherein the charging and discharging control apparatus is further configured to perform DC to AC conversion on the first part to obtain AC electric energy, output the AC electric energy to an AC power grid, and output the second part to the energy storage battery as the charging electric energy (Fig. 1; ¶[47]; the energy storage system supplies power generated by the power generation system 2 to the grid 3 (i.e., first part of the DC photovoltaic energy) and stores power generated by the power generation system 2 to the battery 30 (i.e., the second part of the DC photovoltaic energy) wherein DC to AC conversion is done by the inverter 13 so that AC electric energy is output to the grid 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s solar charging grid-connected power system to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
With respect to dependent claim 6, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. However, Wei fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 6.
Lee teaches comprising a photovoltaic panel configured to convert received photon energy into DC photovoltaic electric energy, wherein the charging electric energy comprises at least a portion of photovoltaic electric energy output by the photovoltaic panel (Fig. 2; power generation system 2 may be a photovoltaic power generation system, see ¶[44]. One of ordinary skill understands photovoltaic power generation systems comprise photovoltaic panels which convert photon energy into DC photovoltaic electric energy).
Lee teaches wherein the energy system further comprises a photovoltaic inverter configured to convert AC electric energy from an AC power grid into DC power grid electric energy, wherein the charging electric energy comprises the DC power grid electric energy (Fig. 1; inverter 13 which includes rectifier circuit that rectifies the AC voltage of the grid into a DC voltage, see ¶[53]).
Lee teaches wherein the charging and discharging control apparatus is further configured to perform DC to DC conversion on the charging electric energy to obtain a voltage of a converted charging electric energy that adapts to the energy storage battery, and output the converted charging electric energy to the energy storage battery (Fig. 1; converter 14 performs DC-DC conversion of the DC voltage output of the inverter 13 and adapts it into a voltage level demanded by the battery 30, see ¶[55]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s solar charging grid-connected power system to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
With respect to dependent claims 7 and 19, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 16, respectively. Further, Wei teaches control, when the battery level is not greater than a discharging level threshold, the energy storage battery to stop charging and discharging (¶[48]; “When the energy storage ratio D1 of the energy storage medium is lower than the first energy storage threshold, the energy storage system stops discharging; when the energy storage ratio D1 of the energy storage medium is higher than the second energy storage threshold, the energy storage system 80 stops charging.”).
Wei teaches the charging current of the energy storage battery is less than a charging current threshold (¶[23]; “The input of the second limiting unit is the intermediate variable I----s2, and the output is the charging and discharging current Is. Its main function is to limit the amplitude of the charging and discharging current IS so that it does not exceed the design value of the charging and discharging current IS … The second limiting unit must limit the value of the charging and discharging current IS to not exceed its positive set value, and also limit the value of IS to not be less than its negative set value. That is, it must limit both the maximum charging current of the charging and discharging current IS and the maximum discharging current of the charging and discharging current IS…”).
However, Wei fails to explicitly teach when an electric quantity and a current simultaneously meet threshold value requirements, an energy storage battery stops charging and discharging; and a time period to determine starting and stopping charging and discharging.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Wei in order to stop charging and discharging of the energy storage battery when an electric quantity and a current simultaneously meet threshold value requirements as a matter of design choice. The advantage of this being that ensuring charging and discharging start and stop criteria is met by utilizing multiple threshold limits thus increasing feedback efficiency and system reliability.
However, Wei fails to explicitly teach a time period to determine starting and stopping charging and discharging.
Lee teaches a time period to determine starting and stopping charging and discharging (¶[23-25]; a time period is considered when determining to start and stop charging and discharging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s time-based power threshold consideration for charging and discharging to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
With respect to dependent claims 8 and 20, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 16, respectively. Further, Wei teaches wherein the charging and discharging control apparatus is further configured to control, when the battery level is not less than the charging level threshold, discharging of the energy storage battery (¶[48]; one of ordinary skill understands that discharging occurs as long as the first energy threshold has not been passed).
However, Wei fails to explicitly teach control, when and a power of battery electric energy is not less than a discharging power threshold, discharging of the energy storage battery.
Lee teaches, considering MPEP 2144.04 VI. A. Reversal of Parts below, control, when and a power of battery electric energy is not less than a discharging power threshold, discharging of the energy storage battery (¶[20]; “… to operate in the discharge mode to discharge the battery when the value of the first power is less than the second threshold value…” using a Reversal of Parts it would operate in the discharge mode when not less than the second threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s power threshold consideration for charging and discharging to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
MPEP 2144.04 VI. A. Reversal of Parts
In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.).
With respect to dependent claim 9, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Wei teaches control, in a third time period, when the battery level is continuously not less than the charging level threshold, discharging of the energy storage battery (¶[48]; one of ordinary skill understands that discharging occurs as long as the first energy threshold has not been passed).
However, Wei fails to explicitly teach control, in a third time period, when a power of battery electric energy is continuously not less than a discharging power threshold, discharging of the energy storage battery.
Lee teaches, considering MPEP 2144.04 VI. A. Reversal of Parts below, control, in a third time period, when a power of battery electric energy is continuously not less than a discharging power threshold, discharging of the energy storage battery (¶[78-80]; after a preset time the system operates in a discharge mode based on the power level with respect to the threshold. Considering Reversal of Parts, when the power is not less than the discharge threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s time-based power threshold consideration for charging and discharging to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
MPEP 2144.04 VI. A. Reversal of Parts
In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.).
With respect to dependent claim 10, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. However, Wei fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 10.
Lee teaches connect to an AC power grid (Fig. 1; the integrated controller 15 and the inverter 13 are connected to the grid 3); perform DC to AC conversion on the battery electric energy in order to obtain AC electric energy (Fig. 1; controller 15 and inverter 13 perform DC to AC conversion); and output the AC electric energy to the AC power grid (¶[53]; converts battery 30 DC voltage to AC voltage and outputs it to the grid 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s threshold based grid-connected power system to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
With respect to dependent claim 11, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. However, Wei fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 11.
Lee teaches further comprising a photovoltaic panel connected to the charging and discharging control apparatus, wherein the photovoltaic panel is configured to convert received photon energy into DC photovoltaic electric energy (Fig. 2; power generation system 2 may be a photovoltaic power generation system, see ¶[44]. One of ordinary skill understands photovoltaic power generation systems comprise photovoltaic panels which convert photon energy into DC photovoltaic electric energy).
Lee teaches wherein the charging and discharging control apparatus is further configured to control when a power of the DC photovoltaic electric energy is less than a target power of an AC power grid, discharging of the energy storage battery, and wherein the power of the battery electric energy is equal to a difference between the power of the DC photovoltaic electric energy and the target power (¶[78]; when the power generated by the power generation system 2 is less than an amount of power demanded by the inverter 13 (i.e., by the grid 3) wherein the difference Pr-Ppv is discharged from the battery 30 to supplement Ppv).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s solar charging grid-connected power system to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
With respect to dependent claim 12, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. However, Wei fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 12.
Lee teaches a photovoltaic panel configured to convert received photon energy into DC photovoltaic electric energy (Fig. 2; power generation system 2 may be a photovoltaic power generation system, see ¶[44]. One of ordinary skill understands photovoltaic power generation systems comprise photovoltaic panels which convert photon energy into DC photovoltaic electric energy).
Lee teaches a photovoltaic inverter connected to the photovoltaic panel and the charging and discharging control apparatus separately (Fig. 2; an inverter 13 connected to the power generation system 2 and to the integrated controller 15 separately).
Lee teaches wherein the charging and discharging control apparatus is further configured to perform, when a power of the DC photovoltaic electric energy is less than a target power of an AC power grid, DC to DC conversion on the battery electric energy to obtain converted battery electric energy that adapts to the photovoltaic inverter (¶[78]; when the power generated by the power generation system 2 is less than an amount of power demanded by the inverter 13 (i.e., by the grid 3), DC to DC conversion is performed by converter 14 on the battery electrical energy to adapt to the inverter 13 as illustrated by Fig. 1).
Lee teaches wherein the power of the battery electric energy is equal to a difference between the power of the DC photovoltaic electric energy and the target power (¶[78]; the difference Pr-Ppv is discharged from the battery 30 to supplement Ppv).
Lee teaches wherein the photovoltaic inverter is configured to
perform DC to AC conversion on at least one of the DC photovoltaic electric energy or the battery electric energy to obtain AC electric energy (Fig. 1; controller 15 and inverter 13 perform DC to AC conversion); and
output the AC electric energy to the AC power grid (¶[53]; converts battery 30 DC voltage to AC voltage and outputs it to the grid 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s solar power threshold based grid-connected power system to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
With respect to dependent claim 13, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Wei teaches control, when the battery level is continuously not less than the charging level threshold, the energy storage battery to stop charging and discharging (¶[48]; “When the energy storage ratio D1 of the energy storage medium is lower than the first energy storage threshold, the energy storage system stops discharging; when the energy storage ratio D1 of the energy storage medium is higher than the second energy storage threshold, the energy storage system 80 stops charging.”).
Wei teaches the discharging current of the energy storage battery is continuously less than the discharging current threshold (¶[23]; “The input of the second limiting unit is the intermediate variable I----s2, and the output is the charging and discharging current Is. Its main function is to limit the amplitude of the charging and discharging current IS so that it does not exceed the design value of the charging and discharging current IS … The second limiting unit must limit the value of the charging and discharging current IS to not exceed its positive set value, and also limit the value of IS to not be less than its negative set value. That is, it must limit both the maximum charging current of the charging and discharging current IS and the maximum discharging current of the charging and discharging current IS…”).
However, Wei fails to explicitly teach when an electric quantity and a current simultaneously meet threshold value requirements, an energy storage battery stops charging and discharging; and a time period to determine starting and stopping charging and discharging.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Wei in order to stop charging and discharging of the energy storage battery when an electric quantity and a current simultaneously meet threshold value requirements as a matter of design choice. The advantage of this being that ensuring charging and discharging start and stop criteria is met by utilizing multiple threshold limits thus increasing feedback efficiency and system reliability.
However, Wei fails to explicitly teach a time period to determine starting and stopping charging and discharging.
Lee teaches a time period to determine starting and stopping charging and discharging (¶[23-25]; a time period is considered when determining to start and stop charging and discharging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Lee’s time-based power threshold consideration for charging and discharging to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being reducing frequent changes in operating mode of the power system thus improving the lifespan of the battery and the converter (see ¶[07] of Lee).
With respect to dependent claim 14, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Wei teaches wherein the charging and discharging control apparatus is further configured to obtain a state of charge (SOC) of the energy storage battery, wherein when the SOC is not greater than a first SOC threshold, the SOC indicates that the battery level is not greater than the discharging level threshold, and wherein when the SOC is not less than a second SOC threshold, the SOC indicates that the battery level is not less than the charging level threshold (¶[23]; “… where the energy storage ratio is the percentage of stored energy relative to the fully charged capacity… “ thus one of ordinary skill understands the energy ratios D0 and D1 are SOC values).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei and further in view of Kim et al. (USPGPN 20120249078).
With respect to dependent claim 15, Wei teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Wei fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 15.
Kim teaches wherein the charging and discharging control apparatus is further configured to obtain a battery voltage of the energy storage battery, wherein when the battery voltage is not greater than a first battery voltage threshold, the battery voltage indicates that the battery level is not greater than the discharging level threshold, and wherein when the battery voltage is not less than a second battery voltage threshold, the battery voltage indicates that the battery level is not less than the charging level threshold (¶[15-16]; “The charge limit value and the discharge limit value may be voltage values. The battery management system may include a voltage measurement unit that measures a voltage of the battery module, wherein it is determined whether the battery module reaches the charge limit value or the discharge limit value according to the voltage measured by the voltage measurement unit.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s voltage threshold consideration for charging and discharging to Wei’s power supply system. The advantage of this being the battery management unit varies a charge limit value for stopping the charging of the battery module and a discharge limit value for stopping the discharging of the battery module. Accordingly, a lifetime of the battery module is extended. (see the abstract of Kim).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859