An DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,14,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderford (10,450,708) in view of .
Regarding claim 1, Vanderford teaches an apparatus, comprising: a frame (12) configured to be supported by a plurality of ground-contacting motive elements (19); a tub (16) supported on the frame; a hopper (20) supported by the frame and having an upper opening positioned below the tub. Vanderford fails to teach a shock absorber. Arndt teaches a hopper and a shock absorber (74) interconnecting the hopper (87) and the frame (18) such that the hopper is movable relative to the frame in response to movement of the shock absorber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the connection between the frame and the hopper of Vanderford shock absorbers as taught by Arndt as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 2, Vanderford as modified by Arndt teaches the shock absorber comprises a fastener surrounded by a spring (74).
Regarding claim 3, Vanderford as modified by Arndt teaches the hopper moves vertically in response to movement of the shock absorber.
Regarding claim 14, Vanderford teaches a trench filling machine, comprising: a frame (12) supported by a plurality of ground-contacting motive elements (19) configured to move the frame along a ground surface; a tub (16) supported on the frame; a hopper (20) positioned below the tub and supported by the frame. Arndt teaches a hopper and a suspension system (74) interconnecting the hopper (87) and the frame (18) such that the suspension system configured to raise and lower the hopper in response to deviations in the ground surface as the machine moves along the ground surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the connection between the frame and the hopper of Vanderford suspension system as taught by Arndt as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 20, Vanderford as modified by Arndt teaches the hopper comprises a trench guide configured to be disposed within at least a portion of a narrow trench formed in the ground surface (bottom of hopper).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-13, 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the attached PTO-892. White teaches a trenching machine with a pivoting bracket.
/ABIGAIL A RISIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 May 16, 2026