DETAILE ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6,16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6,16,10,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 9973513, hereinafter Li) in view of Sinha (US 20230300419, hereinafter Sinha) in further view of Gayaldo (US 20220272190)
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses a method performed by a second user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first UE, a message (Col. 1: Lines 63-67 and Col. 2: Lines 1-2; A communication change number change message sent by a contact logged into an instant messenger (IM) is received. The message includes an old communication number and a new communication number of the sending contact; Col. 4: Lines 55-64; The instant messenger (IM) refers to a communication tool with the ability to send and receive instant messages through the internet. It can be installed on a terminal such as a cell phone; Col. 5: Lines 1-16; The user account on the instant messenger may use communication services provided by a telecommunications service provider. The old and new communication numbers may correspond to the old and new number of the SIM card; Thus, because the IM used to receive the message may be installed and operated on a cell phone, the receiving terminal may correspond to a UE);
identifying that a first phone number of the first UE is not stored (Col. 1: Lines 63-67 and Col. 2: Lines 1-2; A communication change number change message sent by a contact logged into an instant messenger (IM) is received. The message includes an old communication number (second) and a new communication number (first) of the sending contact; Fig. 11; A message is received from a saved contact. The message is requesting access to change the phone number associated with a contact, to the contact’s new phone number (first); Thus, by identifying the new number in the message as the contact's new phone number to be used to update the existing stored contact information, the receiving device identifies the new phone number as a number not presently stored as the contact's existing phone number);
identifying that the message includes a second phone number of the first UE different from the first phone number (Col. 1: Lines 63-67 and Col. 2: Lines 1-2; A communication change number change message sent by a contact logged into an instant messenger (IM) is received. The message includes an old communication number and a new communication number of the sending contact; Fig. 11; A message is received from a saved contact. The message is requesting access to change the phone number associated with a contact, to the contact’s new phone number; Col. 2: Lines 2-7; The receiver of the message accesses a local address book associated with the IM to find the entry associated with the old number. The old number is updated to the new number; The message carries both the old (second) and the new (first) numbers. As seen in Fig. 7, the old number is identified by the contact (second). Accessing the address book to locate the entry of the old number also indicates the old number (second) is identified);
identifying that the message includes further information on a first usage state of the first phone number and second information on a second usage state of the second phone number (Col. 1: Lines 63-67 and Col. 2: Lines 1-2; A communication change number change message sent by a contact logged into an instant messenger (IM) is received. The message includes an old communication number and a new communication number of the sending contact; Fig. 11; A message is received from a saved contact. The message is requesting access to change the phone number associated with a contact, to the contact’s new phone number; Col. 9: Lines 27-43; The sender of the number change message may attach text is the message body to be displayed to the notified party. For example the message can include information such as “no longer in service”; the identification of the new communication number as the contact's new number, together with the descriptive information indicating whether the old communication number remains in service, provides information regarding the respective usage of the new and old communication numbers).
identifying that the first usage state of the first phone number which is not stored is one a permanent state, a temporary state, or an invalid state (Col. 1: Lines 63-67 and Col. 2: Lines 1-2; A UE receives a communication number change message from a different UE. The communication number change message includes the old and new (permanent) communication number of the sending UE; Col. 5: Lines 1-16; The user account on the instant messenger may use communication services provided by a telecommunications service provider. The old and new communication numbers may correspond to the old and new number of the SIM card; Col. 9: Lines 8-10; The new communication number is added to the entry of the old number; Fig. 11; A message is received from a saved contact. The message is requesting access to change the phone number associated with a contact, to the contact’s new phone number; Thus, the receiving device identifies the number after the change as the contact’s new, currently used communication number to be added to the contact entry, corresponding to a number intended for continued rather than one-time use);
in case that the first usage state is the permanent state indicating that the first phone number is for permanent usage (Col. 1: Lines 63-67 and Col. 2: Lines 1-2; A UE receives a communication number change message from a different UE. The communication number change message includes the old and new communication number of the sending UE; Col. 5: Lines 1-16; The user account on the instant messenger may use communication services provided by a telecommunications service provider. The old and new communication numbers may correspond to the old and new number of the SIM card; Fig. 11; A message is received from a saved contact. The message is requesting access to change the phone number associated with a contact, to the contact’s new phone number; Thus, the new communication number is identified as the contact's currently used number and is presented to the receiving user for acceptance as the contact's updated phone number, corresponding to a number for continued use);
storing the first phone number of the first UE, based on the first usage state (Col. 1: Lines 63-67 and Col. 2: Lines 1-7 A UE receives a communication number change message from a different UE. The communication number change message includes the old and new communication number of the sending UE. The old communication number is found in the address book. The old communication number is updated by adding the new communication number in the address book; The new (permanent) number is stored as the communication number);
and merging the first phone number to a contact in the second UE including the second phone number (Col. 1: Lines 63-67 and Col. 2: Lines 1-7 A UE receives a communication number change message from a different UE. The communication number change message includes the old and new communication number of the sending UE. The old communication number is found in the address book. The old communication number is updated by adding the new communication number in the address book; The new (permanent) number is stored as the communication number),
wherein, in the case that the first usage state is the temporary state indicating that the first phone number is for one-time usage, the first phone number of the UE is not stored for the second UE (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or” regarding the usage state of the first phone number).
Li discloses a communication number change message but does not disclose the message is a SIP message.
Sinha, however, discloses sending information from a calling UE to a called UE via an SIP message (Par. 18: Lines 10-17; SIP Invite message is sent from calling UE to a called UE with information about the calling UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Li wo use the SIP messages as taught by Sinha, since SIP is a known protocol for transmitting information thereby achieving improved network interoperability, standardized message formatting, and extensible session control without introducing proprietary overhead.
Li in view of Sinha does not disclose displaying the second phone number.
Gayaldo, however, discloses displaying the second (current calling) phone number (Par. 50: Lines 1-5; The name and number of the originating calling device can be displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li in view of Sinha to display the second phone number as taught by Gayaldo, since Gayaldo teaches displaying both the name and the phone number of a calling device. Incorporating this feature would allow the receiving UE to present complete caller identification information to the user, including both the name and the associated phone number, thereby improving the clarity and usefulness of the displayed call information. Such modification merely applies a known caller identification display technique to the combined system and would have yielded the predictable result of enabling the receiving UE to display the phone number associated with the caller in addition to any corresponding name information.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 6 addresses the limitations presented in claim 16. Therefore, the limitations of claim 16 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 6, Li in view of Sinha in view of Gayaldo, as detailed in the rejection of claim 1, disclose a SIP message comprising a first and second phone number but do not disclose based on the SIP including message including the second phone number, updating, based on the second phone number, contacts in the second UE.
Li , however, further discloses based on the message including the second phone number, updating, based on the second phone number, contact in the UE (Col. 1: Lines 63-67 and Col. 2: Lines 1-7 A UE receives a communication number change message from a different UE. The communication number change message includes the old and new communication number of the sending UE. The old communication number is found in the address book. The old communication number is updated by adding the new communication number in the address book; The new (permanent) number is stored as the communication number).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Li in view of Sinha in view of Gayaldo to update contacts in the second UE based on the second phone number included in the SIP message, as taught by Li, in order to automatically maintain accurate and up-to-date contact information while reducing the manual effort required to update stored contact information after a phone number change.
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 16, the rejection of claim 10 addresses the limitations presented in claim 20. Therefore, the limitations of claim 20 have been addressed.
Claims 7,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 9973513, hereinafter Li) in view of Sinha (US 20230300419, hereinafter Sinha) in further view of Gayaldo (US 20220272190) in further view of Kazami (JP 2009088734)
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 6, Li in view of Sinha in further view of Gayaldo discloses a SIP message comprising a first and second phone number, as disclosed in claim 1, but does not disclose deactivating a function of blocking an unstored phone number based on the SIP message including the second phone number.
Kazami, however, teaches deactivating a function of blocking an un-stored phone number based on a message including the second phone number (Par. 0075; If a first UEs calling phone number is not registered in the address book of a receiving UE, an alternate number associated with the first UE will be analyzed (i.e. first number was not blocked). This is done to avoid the problem of a caller rejecting a call due it originating from an unknown number (i.e. blocking function)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Li in view of Sinha in further view of Gayaldo to deactivate a function of blocking an unstored phone number based on the SIP message including the second phone number, as taught by Kazami, in order to avoid rejecting legitimate calls originating from previously unstored phone numbers when another phone number associated with the caller is available for identification.
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 16, the rejection of claim 7 addresses the limitations presented in claim 17. Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 have been addressed.
Claims 8,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 9973513, hereinafter Li) in view of Sinha (US 20230300419, hereinafter Sinha) in further view of Gayaldo (US 20220272190) in further view of in further view of Ryou et al. (US 20100329241, hereinafter Ryou).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 6, Li in view of Sinha in further view of Gayaldo teach a UE receiving multiple cellular identifiers (i.e. phone numbers) in an SIP message. The combination of references does not teach identifying whether the unique phone number of the first UE is included in a black list; based on the SIP message including at least one phone number different from the unique phone number of the first UE, identifying whether the at least one phone number is included in the black list; and based on the at least one phone number being included in the black list, blocking a call from the first UE.
Ryou, however, teaches the ability to determine whether a number is in a black list, and blocking the number based on it being in a black list (Par. 0078: If the calling phone number is included in a blacklist, the call connection request is rejected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of that claimed invention to have combined the SIP message from a calling UE to a called UE including multiple phone numbers of Li in view of Sinha in further view of Gayaldo, with the ability to block a phone number if it is included in a blacklist of Ryou. Doing so would predictably prevent calls from blacklisted numbers when multiple identifiers are sent in a message, thereby improving call security.
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 16, the rejection of claim 8 addresses all the limitations of claim 18. Therefore, the limitations of claim 18 are addressed.
Claims 9,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 9973513, hereinafter Li) in view of Sinha (US 20230300419, hereinafter Sinha) in further view of Gayaldo (US 20220272190) in further view of Bharrat et al. (US 20210184917, hereinafter Bharrat), in further view of Kim et al. (KR 100665819, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 6, Li in view of Sinha in further view of Gayaldo discloses being able to send and receive an SIP message from a calling UE to a called UE including multiple phone numbers. Li in view of Sinha in further view of Gayaldo does not disclose a key corresponding to the at least one phone number, and deleting a phone number corresponding to an invalid key in a list including the at least one phone number.
Bharrat, however, discloses a key, corresponding to the at least one phone number (Par. 0013: Lines 1-4; Key values corresponding to the calling party are included in a SIP message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of that claimed invention to have modified the combined teachings of Li in view of Sinha in further view of Gayaldo with the key-based SIP signaling of Bharrat. Doing so would provide a mechanism for associating identifiers with SIP messages, thereby improving message integrity and enabling the receiving UE to authenticate and properly process the call setup.
Li in view of Sinha in further view of Gayaldo in further view of Bharrat does not disclose deleting a phone number corresponding to an invalid key in a list including the at least one phone number.
Kim, however, discloses the ability to delete an invalid phone number from a phone book (Summary: Lines 7-11; When a phone number is deemed to be invalid, it is deleted from the user’s phone book that lists the invalid numbers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of that claimed invention to have modified the message sent from a first UE to a second UE including multiple phone numbers with associated keys of Li in view of Sinha in further view of Gayaldo in further view of Bharrat, with the ability to delete invalid phone numbers from a phone book of Kim. Doing so would ensure accurate, up to date contact records, and a more reliable phone book.
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 16, the rejection of claim 9 addresses all the limitations of claim 19. Therefore, the limitations of claim 19 are addressed.
Conclusion
/FABIAN BOTELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648