DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kong et al. (US 2023/0143086 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kong et al. teach a solid catalyst comprising magnesium, titanium, halide, dialkylurea such as N, N, N’, N’-tetramethylurea ([0010]-[0011]), internal electron donor of 1,3-diether([0015]), di-isobutyl phthalate (DiBP) (Table 1), alkyltrialkoxysilane such as isobutyltriethoxysilane ([0022]), (Abstract, Tables 1 and 3, [0033], and [0038]-[0039]).
Iso-butyltriethoxysilane taught by Kong et al. corresponds to the instant claimed Formula (I), wherein R as being iso-butyl, R1 as being ethyl group.
N, N, N’, N’-tetramethylurea taught by Kong et al. corresponds to the claimed Formula (II), wherein R2-5 as being methyl groups.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above, Kong et al. teach iso-butyltriethoxysilane as the instant claim ([0022]).
Regarding claims 4-5, as discussed above, Kong et al. teach N, N, N’, N’-tetramethylurea as the instant claims ([0012]).
Regarding claims 6-7, as discussed above, Kong et al. teach di-iso-butyl-phthalate as the instant claims ([0012]).
Regarding claims 8-9, as discussed above, Kong et al. teach 2-isopropyl 2-isopentyl dimethoxy propane as the instant claims ([0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, although Kong et al. does not specifically disclose the claimed compound of propyltriethoxysilane as per applicant claim 3, the embodiment disclosed by Kong et al. have overall appearances that are basically the same as the instant claim. They are all have the core structure of triethoxysilane and an alkyl group. The only structure difference between the claimed compound of propyltriethoxysilane and the iso-butyltriethoxysilane of Kong et al. is that the prior art compound has one additional CH2 group of the claimed compound.
The prior art compounds are true homologs of the claimed compounds, the similarity between the chemical structures and properties is sufficiently close that one on ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to make the claimed compounds in searching for new catalyst. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made See MPEP 2144.09 I-III.
Conclusion
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738