Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
First fixing member in claims 10 and 11,
Second fixing member in claim 11.
Prong 1: First fixing member (Generic place holder)
Prong 2: presses and fixes the heating member on the first wall. (Function)
Prong 3: no structure
Prong 1: Second fixing member (Generic place holder)
Prong 2: presses the second sealing member on the heating member (Function)
Prong 3: no structure
The specification recites “In some embodiments, the shakable milk warmer further comprises a second fixing member 160, the second fixing member 160 is mounted on the first fixing member 90 or the heating member 20, the second fixing member 160 is provided with a mounting groove, the second sealing member 80 is arranged in the mounting groove, the second fixing member 160 presses the second sealing member 80 on the heating member 20, and the rotating shaft 30 extends through the second sealing member 80 and the second fixing member 160.” In ¶0043 and Figure 4. The examiner interprets the first and second fixing member as common mounting brackets.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “and the cooperative connection is realized by at least one of the following methods:”, Claim 6 should read “and the cooperative connection is realized by at least one of the following:
For clarity applicant should not use a term such as “method” in an apparatus claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a positioning column” and “a positioning hole” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20160015209 A1 - Dunn.
Regarding claim 1, Dunn is directed towards an cooking robot. Dunn does teach a heating member (30), wherein the heating member is in heat transfer connection with an outer wall surface of the water bath chamber ([0072] Likewise, the control circuitry of the ECU 20 may be adapted to control the speed of the rotation of the basket 12 as a result the heat transfer from the heating elements 30 across the warming chamber 12 to an outer surface of the container 60 as will be described in more detail.), a rotating shaft (42), wherein the rotating shaft is rotatably arranged to extend through a bottom portion of the water bath chamber, a connecting member (55), wherein the connecting member is arranged at one end of the rotating shaft located in the water bath chamber; (Figure 9 and [0086] The interconnection mechanism 55 is provided between the shaft 42 of the motor 40 and the basket 50 that cooperates to rotate the basket 50.) and a cradle (80), wherein the cradle comprises: a clamping portion (82), the clamping portion comprises a plurality of elastic sheets arranged on an inner side wall of the cradle in a circumferential direction ([0062] The snap-fit basket 80 includes a generally cylindrical outer surface 86 having a plurality of inwardly extending ribs 82.), and the elastic sheets are configured for abutting against an inner side wall of a milk bottle to clamp the milk bottle ([0062] As shown in FIGS. 20-22, the extending ribs 82 are inward biased and adapted to restrictively flex outward in order to grab the outer surface of the container 60 between the inward biased ribs 82 and secure the container 60 via a friction fit.), the shakable milk warmer comprises a first quick-release portion (56) and a second quick-release portion (85 and 83) ([0063] – [0065]).
Regarding claim 2, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dunn does teach the first quick-release portion is a protrusion arranged on the connecting member ([0064] second geared end 56 of the intermediate gear 53 mates with the slave gear 85. In operation, the first drive gear 44 drives the slave gear 85 through the intermediate gear 53.).
Regarding claim 3, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dunn does teach wherein the second quick-release portion is a groove arranged in the cradle (Figure 21 shows a groove formed by elements 83 and 85.), and the cradle is detachably and limitedly mounted with the first quick-release portion through the groove ([0065] Referring to FIGS. 21-22, once the snap lock basket 80 is locked into place, the snap lock basket 80 may be removed. The tabs 58 are inwardly depressed so that the teeth on the slave gear 85 are disengaged from their mating position with mating teeth on the intermediate gear 53. Likewise, the projection 83 on the basket 80 is depressed inward to allow the first geared end 54 of the intermediate gear 53 to overcome the projection 83 and become disengaged from the warming chamber 12.)
Regarding claim 5, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dunn does teach the cradle comprises a handle, the handle is located at an opening of the cradle, and the handle is configured for taking and placing the cradle ([0066] Handles 87 are provided on the basket 80 to allow a user to conveniently grab onto and withdraw the basket 80 from within the warming chamber 12. The handles 87 may be constructed to extend outward from an upper lip of the basket 80 outward into projecting handles 87.).
Regarding claim 6, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dunn does teach the first quick-release portion and the second quick-release portion are cooperatively connected through a positioning column (Figure 23 shows a column 53 extending from the body 10) and a positioning hole (Figure 23 shows a hole for the slave gear 56), and the cooperative connection is realized by at least one of the following: the positioning column and/or the positioning hole is made of an elastic material, and the positioning column and the positioning hole are in interference fit with each other ([0065] The tabs 58 are inwardly depressed so that the teeth on the slave gear 85 are disengaged from their mating position with mating teeth on the intermediate gear 53. Likewise, the projection 83 on the basket 80 is depressed inward to allow the first geared end 54 of the intermediate gear 53 to overcome the projection 83 and become disengaged from the warming chamber 12.). ¶0065 shows that the tabs and gearing can be pressed in by the user and are flexible giving it a “interference fit”.
Regarding claim 8, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dunn does teach the shakable milk warmer comprises a shell (10), the shell comprises a first wall, the first wall forms a cavity with two open ends, the heating member is mounted at one end of the cavity, the first wall and the heating member are enclosed to form the water bath chamber (Figure 17 shows a first side wall 11 with two open ends, one end for the container 60 and the other end for the heaters 30), the shakable milk warmer comprises a first sealing member, and the first sealing member is mounted between the first wall and the heating member ([0083] Here, the housing 10 may be provided with another sealing element disposed between the warming chamber 12 and the heating element 30 to further prevent the first fluid 61 from leaking out of the reservoir 14 in the warming chamber 12.).
Regarding claim 9, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 8. Dunn does teach the shakable milk warmer comprises a second sealing member, and the second sealing member is mounted between the rotating shaft and the bottom portion of the water bath chamber ([0058] For example, various gaskets may be used throughout the housing 10 to seal the lower heating and driving control compartment 200 of the housing 10 from the fluids in the warming chamber 12, and/or any other component requiring sealing according to the subject disclosure. The various gaskets and/or seals may be formed of rubber, and/or any material or process suitable for producing a watertight seal.).
Regarding claim 10, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 9. Dunn does teach the shakable milk warmer comprises a first fixing member, the first fixing member is mounted on the shell, and the first fixing member presses and fixes the heating member on the first wall. (See figure 9 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160015209 A1 – Dunn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20080134905 A1- Peng.
Regarding claim 4, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dunn does not expressly teach the shakable milk warmer comprises a rotating member, an outer ring of the rotating member is in interference fit with the connecting member, an inner ring of the rotating member is in interference fit with an inner ring of the water bath chamber, and the rotating member is configured for horizontally limiting the connecting member and improving stability of the connecting member during rotation
Peng is directed towards an self-stirring cooking device. Peng does teach the shakable milk warmer comprises a rotating member (132), an outer ring (outer part of 132 contacting the container 102) of the rotating member is in interference fit with the connecting member (Figure 3 and [0030] packing 134 is compressed and squeezed against shaft 120 and bushing 132 to create a seal.), an inner ring (inner part of 132 contacting the shaft 120) of the rotating member is in interference fit with an inner ring of the water bath chamber (102),
Peng does not expressly teach the rotating member is configured for horizontally limiting the connecting member and improving stability of the connecting member during rotation. But it is inherent that the bushing 132 inherently reduce friction and keep whatever that is placed inside them to be more stable
Regarding the rotating member is configured for horizontally limiting the connecting member and improving stability of the connecting member during rotation, the applicant is respectfully advised that it has been held by the courts that where a prior art apparatus is identical or substantially identical in structure, claimed properties or functional characteristics are presumed to be inherent, and a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP § 2112.01. In this case, Peng discloses all the structural features of the claimed invention (as detailed above) and was therefore considered to anticipate the cited functional limitations.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160015209 A1 – Dunn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20140083306 A1 - Lee.
Regarding claim 7, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 1. Dunn does not expressly teach the shakable milk warmer further comprises: a rolling body, and the rolling body is arranged between a bottom portion of the cradle and the bottom portion of the water bath chamber.
Lee is directed to a cooking device. Lee does teach the shakable milk warmer further comprises: a rolling body ([0022] Further, it is preferable to dispose a plurality of guide rollers 34 around the cooking container 20).
Although Lee does not expressly teach the rolling body is arranged between a bottom portion of the cradle and the bottom portion of the water bath chamber. The roller body 34 that is taught by Lee is located on the side of the container instead of the bottom, but the roller body is used for stable movement of the container.
Lee discloses all the limitations of the claims, except for the rolling body is arranged between a bottom portion of the cradle and the bottom portion of the water bath chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the rolling body is arranged between a bottom portion of the cradle and the bottom portion of the water bath chamber, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160015209 A1 - Dunn as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 20190082876 A1 - Shi.
Regarding claim 12, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 8. Dunn does teach the heating member comprises a mounting tray and a heating element, the shakable milk warmer further comprises a temperature sensor and a fuse, the heating element, (See figure 9 below).
Dunn also teaches the temperature sensor and the fuse are connected with the heating element ([0085] and [0099]).
Dunn does not expressly teach the heating tube and the temperature sensor and the fuse are mounted on the mounting tray.
Dunn discloses all the limitations of the claims, except for the temperature sensor and the fuse are mounted on the mounting tray. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the temperature sensor and the fuse are mounted on the mounting tray, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Shi is directed towards an multifunctional pot. Shi does teach a heating tube ([0068] heating element 210 includes a heating tube 211).
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. That is in the substitution of the heating tubes of Shi for the heating element of Dunn.
Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160015209 A1 - Dunn as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 20180368613 A1 - Welles.
Regarding claim 13, Dunn teaches the limitations of claim 8. Dunn does teach a top cover, the top cover is located at an opening of the water bath chamber, and the top cover is configured for limiting the cradle. ([0113] FIG. 33 depicts the basket 50 having a cap 70).
Dunn does not expressly teach the top cover is detachably mounted on the shell.
Welles is directed towards an container. Welles does teach the top cover is detachably mounted on the shell ([0064] The shell lid 4 can be removably attached to a top end of the outer shell 2 by screwing the shell lid 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dunn to include the top cover is detachably mounted on the shell because the lid of Welles combined with the shell of Dunn allows the entire unit to be covered and protect the container within.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, all cited prior art does not expressly teach the first sealing member is wrapped around an edge of the heating member, the first wall forms a mounting step corresponding to the heating member, the first fixing member presses the first sealing member on the mounting step, the shakable milk warmer comprises a second fixing member, the second fixing member is mounted on the first fixing member or the heating member, the second fixing member is provided with a mounting groove, the second sealing member is arranged in the mounting groove, the second fixing member presses the second sealing member on the heating member, and the rotating shaft extends through the second sealing member and the second fixing member.
Dunn does teach a fixing member, rotating member, heating member and seals that are attached to the fixing members but are silent on the orientation and placement of said elements withing the apparatus. The examiner deems any combination will be hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170086620 A1 – DUINEVELD does teach heating elements on the side wall for heating of a bottle.
US 20140197158 A1 – Ijuin does teach a heating device that spins the container with a lid.
/KEITH BRIAN ASSANTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761