N O N - F I N A L A C T I O N
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/24/23 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election / Restriction
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s reply filed on 10/27/2025, which pointed out a Species III (Fig. 32-44, imaging device 800 with stabilizers 850 and thermal regulation channel 880), which Applicant has now elected, and asserts Species III reads on claims 1-20.
Closest Prior Art
The prior art (cited on PTO-892) is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Among these, the following references are considered to be the closest, collectively disclosing the state of the art concerned with a mountable surveillance camera configured with thermal regulation channels for dissipating heat from interior components towards a housing exterior.
YUE (US 11,012,601) – applied to 35 USC 102/103 rejection, see below.
HOSLER (US 11,635,167) – see Fig. 1 in view of Fig. 6.
MILLER (US 20180171991) – see FIG. 26-29, and PARA [0054, 0088-89]: image sensor 2508 has an optical image stabilization (OIS) assembly may include heatsink 2502 features such as vias and conductive plating. Vias 2802 are formed in a the base metal of a moving member 2822 of an optical image stabilization suspension assembly to create a heat path away from an image sensor 2808. For some embodiments, the vias 2802 are formed under the location of the image sensor 2808. The conductive plating 2810 is disposed on the top and bottom sides of the moving member 2822 and within the vias 2802 to form a heat path away from the image sensor 2808.
RAMSEYER (US 20180070003) – see FIG. 1-2, FIG. 4, and PARA [0041]: image sensor 26/28, heatsink 38, housing slats 40.
LEBLANC (US 20210180784) – see ABSTRACT, FIG. 3, FIG. 5-6, and PARA [0037]: camera 100, heatsink 107, and image sensor 105/115.
NOTE: Examiner welcomes INTERVIEW(s) to discuss the instant application’s claimed invention as it corresponds to the specification embodiments, as well as, discussing the similarities/differences taught/not taught by prior art. In the interest of compact prosecution, Applicant’s arguments/amendments should not only address the cited closest art applied/relied on in the 35 USC 102/103 rejection (below), but also address the other cited closest art not applied/relied on.
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YUE (US 11,012,601) -- hereafter, termed as shown “underlined”.
As per INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1, YUE teaches an imaging device comprising: an under-shelf mountable housing including an imaging portion extending outwardly from a mounting portion, the imaging portion defining a mounting station (See dual camera module systems in Figures 3, 5, 7, 12-13 which may have its housing configured to be undershelf mounted – Fig. 1 & 4A in view of col.4, lines 11-31. The housing has mounting regions to accommodate camera modules 520/620 such as in Fig. 5-6.);
a stabilizer removably disposed at the mounting station, and an image sensor mounted to the stabilizer to be moved with the stabilizer as a unit (Fig. 6 in view of col. 5, lines 57-64; col. 15, lines 31-56; col.16, lines 3-64; Dual camera housing has mounting regions to accommodate camera modules 520/620 (having a sensor and lens) which may be mounted with stabilization modules 623 using bores/openings and various types of fasteners/connectors. The stabilization module 623 may be a housing or other component having internal springs or other systems for compensating for any motion of the camera sensor 622, or any vibration affecting the camera sensor 622. ).
As per CLAIM 2, YUE teaches the imaging device of claim 1, wherein the mounting station includes a first part of a first mounting arrangement; and wherein the stabilizer includes a second part of the first mounting arrangement, the second part of the first mounting arrangement being configured to engage the first part of the first mounting arrangement to mount the stabilizer at the mounting station (YUE, Figures 3, 5, 12-13: dual camera housing has mounting regions to accommodate camera modules 520/620 (having a sensor and lens) which may be mounted with stabilization modules 623 using various mounting means such as bores/openings and fasteners/connectors per Fig. 6-7 in view of col. 5, lines 57-64; col. 15, lines 10-56; col. 16, lines 3-67; col. 17, lines 1-56).
As per CLAIM 3, YUE teaches the imaging device of claim 2, wherein the second part of the first mounting arrangement includes a latch (YUE, Figures 3, 5, 12-13: dual camera housing has mounting regions to accommodate camera modules 520/620 (having a sensor and lens) which may be mounted with stabilization modules 623 using various mounting means such as bores/openings and fasteners/connectors per Fig. 6-7 in view of col. 5, lines 57-64; col. 15, lines 10-56; col. 16, lines 3-67; col. 17, lines 1-56).
As per CLAIM 4, YUE teaches the imaging device of claim 1, wherein the image sensor includes a first part of a second mounting arrangement, and wherein the stabilizer includes a second part of the second mounting arrangement, the second part of the second mounting arrangement being configured to engage the first part of the second mounting arrangement to mount the image sensor at the stabilizer (YUE, Figures 3, 5, 12-13: dual camera housing has mounting regions to accommodate camera modules 520/620 (having a sensor and lens) which may be mounted with stabilization modules 623 using various mounting means such as bores/openings and fasteners/connectors per Fig. 6-7 in view of col. 5, lines 57-64; col. 15, lines 10-56; col. 16, lines 3-67; col. 17, lines 1-56).
As per CLAIM 5, YUE teaches the imaging device of claim 4, wherein the second part of the second mounting arrangement includes a latch (YUE, Figures 3, 5, 12-13: dual camera housing has mounting regions to accommodate camera modules 520/620 (having a sensor and lens) which may be mounted with stabilization modules 623 using various mounting means such as bores/openings and fasteners/connectors per Fig. 6-7 in view of col. 5, lines 57-64; col. 15, lines 10-56; col. 16, lines 3-67; col. 17, lines 1-56).
As per CLAIM 6, YUE teaches the imaging device of claim 1, wherein the imaging portion of the under-shelf mountable housing includes a faceplate defining an opening for the image sensor, and wherein the faceplate defines a thermal regulation channel (YUE, see Fig. 6-7 in view of Fig. 12-13: face plate frames (640 / 714 / 1214 / 1314) accommodate camera modules (sensor & lens) which are configured with heatsinks and heatsink fins 565, 644, 1265, 1365 to create heat transfer pathways and there are also airflow cooling channels which move across the lower faceplate in Fig. 13).
As per CLAIM 7, YUE teaches the imaging device of claim 6, wherein the thermal regulation channel extends fully through the faceplate (YUE, see Fig. 6-7 in view of Fig. 12-13: face plate frames (640 / 714 / 1214 / 1314) accommodate camera modules (sensor & lens) which are configured with heatsinks and heatsink fins 565, 644, 1265, 1365 to create heat transfer pathways and there are also airflow cooling channels which move across the lower faceplate in Fig. 13).
As per CLAIM 8, YUE teaches the imaging device of claim 6, wherein the thermal regulation channel defines a groove extending between the opening and a perimeter of the faceplate (YUE, see Fig. 6-7 in view of Fig. 12-13: face plate frames (640 / 714 / 1214 / 1314) accommodate camera modules (sensor & lens) which are configured with heatsinks and heatsink fins 565, 644, 1265, 1365 to create heat transfer pathways and there are also airflow cooling channels which move across the lower faceplate in Fig. 13).
As per CLAIM 10, YUE teaches the imaging device of claim 1, wherein the mounting station is a first mounting station, the stabilizer is a first stabilizer, and the image sensor is a first image sensor, and wherein the imaging portion of the housing includes a second mounting station that receives a second stabilizer holding a second image sensor (YUE, Fig. 6 in view of col. 5, lines 57-64 and col. 15, lines 31-56: dual camera housing has mounting regions to accommodate camera modules 520/620 (having a sensor and lens) which may be mounted with stabilization modules 623. The stabilization module 623 may be a housing or other component having internal springs or other systems for compensating for any motion of the camera sensor 622, or any vibration affecting the camera sensor 622. Furthermore, YUE teaches a dual camera module system in Fig. 3, 5, 7, 12-13, and thus, teaches a second mounting station that receives a second stabilizer holding a second image sensor).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUE (US 11,012,601) in view of Official Notice -- hereafter, termed as shown “underlined”.
As per CLAIM 9, YUE teaches the imaging device of claim 1, but appears to be silent to “wherein the stabilizer is slidable relative to the imaging portion of the housing to mount the stabilizer at the mounting station”.
However, Official Notice (MPEP § 2144.03) is taken that both the concepts and advantages of using a slidable mount is well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a slidable mount for the MOTIVATED REASON of achieving a guided secure mounted-fit in the analogous art of a camera housing with mountable components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Contact Information
Interviews with the examiner are available via telephone AND video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant may contact the examiner via telephone OR use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR), which can be found at: http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AKSHAY TREHAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639