DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 2, the limitation, “wherein the light path deflection component (3) comprises symmetrically distributed prisms corresponding to the imaging component (2), the prism is wedge-shaped, and the prism has a deflection angle a of 10-20 degrees” renders the scope of the claim unclear. Namely, a plurality of prisms is claimed, followed by limitations applied to a singular prism. For examination purposes it is presumed that the limitations must apply to one or all of the prisms in the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choate (US 5,832,107) in view of Lehnen et al. (US 5,917,655).
In regard to claim 1, Choate discloses a virtual binocular detection device 20 (denoted “optical system”, see e.g. Column 2, lines 56-58 and Figure 1) for imaging detection of a to-be-detected object W (denoted “object or piece of work”, see e.g. Column 2, lines 45-47 and Figure 1), comprising (see e.g. Figure 1):
a light source S1 (see e.g. Column 5, lines 46-54 and Figure 1) configured to generate light for imaging detection (see e.g. Column 5, lines 46-65),
two imaging components 23 and 24 (denoted “cameras”, see e.g. Column 2, lines 66-Column 3, line 11 and Figure 1) arranged side by side and configured to receive the light and perform imaging(see e.g. Column 3, line 65-Column 4, line 25), and a light path deflection component 41/42 (denoted “doublet lenses”, see e.g. Column 3, lines 20-24 and Figure 1) positioned between the light source S1 and the imaging component 23 and 24 and configured to receive and refract the light reflected by a surface of the to-be-detected object W so as to make main light emit into the imaging component 23 and 24 (see e.g. Figure 1 and note that the light is split into two paths, toward the cameras 23, 24).
Choate fails to disclose
the light is emitted parallelly to the imaging component.
However, Lehnen et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 4)
the light 77, 78 is emitted parallelly to the imaging component 46 (see e.g. Figure 4).
Given the teachings of Lehnen et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Choate with the light is emitted parallelly to the imaging component.
Doing so would provide a rearranging of parts (i.e. to redirect the light in a parallel fashion), which is considered within ordinary skill in the art. Such a rearrangement would allow for ease of viewing of the image.
In regard to claim 5, Choate discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
a housing 12 having an inner cavity (see e.g. Figure 1 where the components are contained within housing 12), wherein the light source S1, the imaging component 23 and 24 and the light path deflection component 41/42 all are positioned within the inner cavity (i.e. of element 12).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choate (US 5,832,107) in view of Lehnen et al. (US 5,917,655) and further in view of MacNaughton et al. (CA 2739136, a copy of which is attached).
In regard to claim 2, Choate, in view of Lehnen et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the light path deflection component comprises symmetrically distributed prisms corresponding to the imaging component, the prism is wedge-shaped, and the prism has a deflection angle a of 10-20 degrees.
However, MacNaughton et al. discloses
wherein the light path deflection component 20 (see e.g. paragraph [00227] and Figure 67) comprises symmetrically distributed prisms corresponding to the imaging component 22+S, (see e.g. Figure 67).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select a configuration in which the prism is wedge-shaped, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using the prism has a deflection angle a of 10-20 degrees, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
Given the teachings of MacNaughton et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Choate, in view of Lehnen et al., with wherein the light path deflection component comprises symmetrically distributed prisms corresponding to the imaging component, the prism is wedge-shaped, and the prism has a deflection angle a of 10-20 degrees.
Providing a prism of a shape specific to the light path toward the imaging components would optimize the viewing quality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
In regard to dependent claims 3 and 6-8, the closest prior art references fail to disclose “wherein the imaging component (2) comprises an industrial lens (201) configured to receive light and a vision camera (202) configured for imaging; the industrial lens (201) uses a fixed-focus lens, and the industrial lens (201) has a focal length F of 35-55 mm; and the vision camera (202) uses a board level camera.”
In regard to dependent claim 4, the closest prior art references fail to disclose “wherein the light source (1) comprises a blue light source (101) and a red light source (102) arranged in sequence, and the red light source (102) is closer to the to-be-detected object (6); the light source (1) comprises a frame with an opening in the middle, and a plurality of light sources are arranged on the frame; and an opening of a frame of the red light source (102) is greater than that of the blue light source (101).”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following reference is cited for disclosing related limitations of the applicant’s claimed and disclosed invention: Lang et al. (US 2014/0218478 A1) and Tan (US 2011/0316975 A1).
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871