DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinbuch et al. (US 2019/0041495; Cited in PTO-892 Part of Paper No. 20251218) in view of Braun et al. (US 2024/0072434).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Steinbuch discloses a radar sensor and a method for self-monitoring of the radar sensor (Abstract; e.g., a self-monitoring device for detecting operating parameters of the radar sensor), which carries out object detection of an object using a measurement process based on a measurement signal (paragraph [0023]; e.g., see track object), the method comprising:
self-monitoring, by the radar sensor, during the measurement process using a test signal superimposed on the measurement signal (paragraphs [0029], [0031], [0036]; e.g., self-monitoring module 26 applies a test signal T to the outputs of the two antennae 18).
Steinbuch discloses the test signal is fed to receive channels, but fails to specifically disclose the test signal is encoded by signal encoding such that the encoded test signal is differentiated from the measurement signal.
However, Braun discloses the test signal is encoded by signal encoding such that the encoded test signal is differentiated from the measurement signal (paragraphs [0009]-[0010]; e.g., The test signal generator and measurement function 110 includes the encoders 112 that generate orthogonal test signals, for example, in real-time and in the time domain using different orthogonal codes).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Steinbuch in combination of Braun as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to encoding the signal that the encoded test signal is differentiated from the measurement signal in order to enable beamforming by efficient control of spatial coherent additions of desired signals and coherent subtractions of unwanted signals (Braun: paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Steinbuch in combination with Braun discloses the method for self-monitoring as recited in claim 1, wherein the signal encoding includes code-division multiple access (Braun: paragraphs [0005], [0009]; e.g., multiple measurements can be obtained simultaneously).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Steinbuch in combination of Braun as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to encoding the signal includes code-division multiple access in order to enable beamforming by efficient control of spatial coherent additions of desired signals and coherent subtractions of unwanted signals (Braun: paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Steinbuch in combination with Braun discloses the method for self-monitoring as recited in claim 2, wherein the code-division multiple access multiplies the test signal by a spread code pattern (Braun: paragraphs [0005], [0009]).
Regarding claim 4, Steinbuch in combination with Braun discloses the method for self-monitoring as recited in claim 1, wherein the signal encoding takes place by frequency-division multiplexing (Braun: paragraphs [0005], [0009]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Steinbuch in combination of Braun as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to encoding the signal encoding takes place by frequency-division multiplexing in order to enable beamforming by efficient control of spatial coherent additions of desired signals and coherent subtractions of unwanted signals.
Regarding claim 5, Steinbuch in combination with Braun discloses the method for self-monitoring as recited in claim 4, wherein the frequency-division multiplexing is orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (Braun: paragraphs [0005], [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Steinbuch in combination with Braun discloses the method for self-monitoring as recited in claim 1, wherein the signal encoding includes time-division multiplexing (Braun: paragraphs [0009]-[0010]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Steinbuch in combination of Braun as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to encoding the signal includes time-division multiplexing for advantages of maximize bandwidth by dividing a single transmission channel into distinct time slots, allowing multiple signals to take turns traveling over the same wire.
Regarding claim 8, Steinbuch in combination with Braun discloses the method for self-monitoring as recited in claim 1, wherein the signal encoding includes Doppler-division multiplexing (Braun: paragraphs [0009]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 9, Steinbuch in combination with Braun discloses the method for self-monitoring as recited in claim 8, wherein the test signal is offset from the measurement signal by a Doppler shift in a Doppler dimension (Steinbuch: paragraph [0023], [0035]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinbuch in combination with Braun, in view of Maiellaro et al. (US 2018/0188317; Cited in PTO-892 Part of Paper No. 20251218).
Regarding claim 7, Steinbuch in combination with Braun discloses the method for self-monitoring as recited in claim 6, fails to specifically disclose wherein the test signal is superimposed on the measurement signal in first time intervals that alternate with superimposition-free second time intervals.
However, Maiellaro discloses the test signal is superimposed on the measurement signal in first time intervals that alternate with superimposition-free second time intervals (paragraphs [0020], [0129], [0140]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Steinbuch in combination with Braun and Maiellaro as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant to superimpose the test signal on the measurement signal in first time intervals that alternate with superimposition-free second time intervals in order to allowing for higher spectral efficiency and better performance in high-mobility scenarios compared to traditional methods like OFDM.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648