DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on December 5, 2023 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a0(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (KR 20180109012 A).
Regarding claim 9, Lim discloses a display device (Fig. 6) comprising: a substrate (DP) including a display region (DA) in which an image is displayed, the substrate having a plurality of first corners at a first side of the substrate; a light emitting layer (¶[0026]) on the display region of the substrate, the light emitting layer configured to emit light (¶[0026]); and a polarization plate (POL) on the substrate, the polarization plate having a plurality of first corners at a first side of the polarization plate that are aligned with the plurality of first corners at the first side of the substrate (¶s[0073-0075]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Claims 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 1, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 1, and specifically comprising the limitation of the side of the polarization plate includes a first protruded part having a first tip end that coincides with a first edge of the glass substrate and a second protruded part having a second tip end that coincides with a second edge of the glass substrate.
Regarding claim(s) 2-8, claims(s) 2-8 is/are allowable for the reasons given in claim(s) 1 because of its/their dependency status from claim(s) 1.
Regarding claim(s) 10, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 10, and specifically comprising the limitation of the first side of the polarization plate is between the plurality of first corners of the polarization plate and is spaced apart from the first side of the substrate that is between the plurality of first corners of the polarization plate.
Regarding claim(s) 12-14, claims(s) 12-14 is/are allowable for the reasons given in claim(s) 10 because of its/their dependency status from claim(s) 10.
Regarding claim(s) 15, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 15, and specifically comprising the limitation of at least one remaining side of the polarization plate includes a guide part protruding from the at least one remaining side, and an outer edge of the guide part is aligned with a side of the substrate such that the guide part separates the at least one remaining side of the polarization plate from the side of the substrate by a predetermined distance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamamoto (US 2019/0310511 A1) discloses a liquid crystal display panel comprising two recess portions and two island portions provided on an edge of a black matrix, and two recess portions and two recess portions provided on respective edges of a rear polarizing plate and a front polarizing plate at positions that match the two recess portions and the two island portions.
Yanagisawa et al. (JP 2014-026200 A) discloses an alignment mark to align centers of a liquid crystal display and a frame, and aligning corners of a polarizing plate, the alignment mark is formed on an inner side.
Yu et al. (TW 201214360 A) discloses a display device including a display panel, a polarizing plate attached onto a surface of the display panel, a transparent adhesive layer covering a surface of the polarizing plate, and a transparent protective layer attached to the polarizing plate through the transparent adhesive layer.
Ma (CN 101852938 A) discloses a liquid crystal display panel, comprising a first base plate, a polarizer, a shading layer and a position mark, the positioning mark has a first edge and a second edge, the first edge and the second edge are vertical, wherein the first edge and the second edge form an L shape, and a corner of the polarizer coincides with the first edge or the second edge.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879