DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 06/23/2026 with the election of Claims 1-5 (Figs. 19A-19C) and newly added claims 27-32. Therefore, claims 6-21 and 30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species (claim 30 is directed to subject matter not discloses with respect to Figs. 19A-19C), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Thus, claims 1-5 and newly added claims 27-29 and 31-32 are presently pending in this application.
Applicant's election with traverse is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the current election requirement is unreasonable and the applicant is entitled to the examination of a reasonable number of species. This is not found persuasive because the indicated species are mutually exclusive species with mutually exclusive characteristics that are not obvious variants of each other. If the applicant believes that these species should not be considered mutually exclusive species, the applicant is required to state that these embodiments do not have mutually exclusive characteristics and a single prior art disclosing one would disclose the other since they are obvious variants of each other.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The term “sufficient” renders the claims indefinite since it’s a relative term that is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pangman (3366975) in view of Schuessler et al. (2020/0085526) “Schuessler”.
Regarding claim 1, Pangman discloses a breast implant fixation device “P” (Fig. 2) fully capable of performing the intended use “to limit migration of a breast implant in a patient” comprising: a pouch 12 comprising a shape and size to at least partially cover the breast implant (core 10 having barrier 11; Fig. 2); a plurality of pores for tissue to grow therein and secure the device to the patient (col. 4, lin. 62-67 disclose the pouch 12 has pores for cellular growth and to adhere firmly to chest wall); wherein the pouch comprises a back area for placement on the chest wall of the patient, a front area opposite the back area, the front area comprising a front bottom for placement in the lower pole of the breast, a front top for placement in the upper pole of the breast, and a front intermediate-region for placement under the skin of the patient (as shown in Fig. 2, the front has a top, intermediate and bottom region and the front extends opposite a back section); and wherein the back area includes a back top opposite the front top, a back intermediate-region opposite the front intermediate-region, and a back bottom opposite the front bottom (as shown in Fig. 2, the back portion which engages the chest wall as a top, intermediate and bottom region which extend opposite the front top, intermediate and bottom regions); except for wherein at least a portion of the front area of the pouch is thicker than an opposed back area of the pouch.
However, Schuessler teaches a similar pouch 30 (Fig. 5) comprising at least a portion of a front area 14 of the pouch is thicker than an opposed back area 16 of the pouch (par. 0065 discloses the thickness of the shell 30 decreases from an anterior portion towards the posterior portion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the pouch in Pangman to include at least a portion of the front area of the pouch is thicker than an opposed back area of the pouch, as taught and suggested by Schuessler, for providing variation in thickness that advantageously provides tactile feedback to assist the clinician in aligning the breast implant fixation device relative to the anatomy of the patient (par. 0065 of Schuessler).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, the breast implant fixation device in Pangman in view of Schuessler is fully capable of performing the intended use of the thickness of the front area of the pouch is sufficient to prevent the breast implant from being palpable, or to hide any ripples or indentations in the skin of the patient, when a breast implant is placed in the pouch, and the pouch is implanted in the breast of the patient.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 28-29, Pangman in view of Schuessler discloses the claimed invention of claim 1; except for the front area of the pouch and an opposed portion of the front area of the pouch has an elasticity range of 30-65% and the back area of the pouch has an elasticity range of 8-20%, wherein the elasticity is measured as the percent increase in an area when an area is subject to deformation in ASTM burst method D6797-02 using a round ball. However, Pangman in view of Schuessler discloses the required structure and thickness of the pouch where the modified pouch would have a certain percentage of elasticity. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the front area of the pouch and an opposed portion of the front area of the pouch has an elasticity range of 30-65% and the back area of the pouch has an elasticity range of 8-20%, wherein the elasticity is measured as the percent increase in an area when an area is subject to deformation in ASTM burst method D6797-02 using a round ball, since these are result effective variables that contribute to the overall feel and functionality of the pouch, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and modifying the front area of the pouch and an opposed portion of the front area of the pouch has an elasticity range of 30-65% and the back area of the pouch has an elasticity range of 8-20%, wherein the elasticity is measured as the percent increase in an area when an area is subject to deformation in ASTM burst method D6797-02 using a round ball, would result in better alignment of the breast implant fixation device relative to the anatomy of the patient (par. 0064 of Schuessler). MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality that the front area of the pouch and an opposed portion of the front area of the pouch has an elasticity range of 30-65% and the back area of the pouch has an elasticity range of 8-20%, wherein the elasticity is measured as the percent increase in an area when an area is subject to deformation in ASTM burst method D6797-02 using a round ball, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the claimed phrase “wherein the elasticity is measured as the percent increase in an area when an area is subject to deformation in ASTM burst method D6797-02 using a round ball.” is being treated as a product-by-process limitation and a product-by-process claim is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.
Regarding claim 5, Pangman discloses the claimed invention of claim 1 including a thickness of the front area of the pouch is between 0.75 - 3 mm (col. 4, lin. 70-74); except for a thickness of the back area of the pouch is between 0.2-0.4 mm. However, Schuessler teaches a similar pouch 30 (Fig. 5) comprising at least a portion of a front area 14 of the pouch is thicker than an opposed back area 16 of the pouch (par. 0065 discloses the thickness of the shell 30 decreases from an anterior portion towards the posterior portion). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the back area of the pouch in Pangman to include a thickness of between 0.2-0.4 mm, since these are result effective variables that contribute to the elasticity and mechanical properties of the pouch, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art and modifying a thickness of the back area of the pouch is between 0.2-0.4 mm, would provide tactile feedback to assist the clinician in aligning the breast implant fixation device relative to the anatomy of the patient (par. 0064 of Schuessler). In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Furthermore, since applicants have not disclosed that these modifications solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs, these modifications are a matter of design choice. Absent a teaching as to criticality that the thickness of the back area of the pouch is between 0.2-0.4 mm, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 27, Pangman in view of Schuessler discloses the claimed invention of claim 1 including thicker front area than the opposed back area of the pouch; except for a portion of the back area has a different elasticity than an opposed portion of the front area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the structure of the pouch in Pangman to arrive at a portion of the back area has a different elasticity than an opposed portion of the front area, since the elasticity is a result effective variable that contribute to the overall firmness and feel of the prosthesis, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art and modifying the pouch to include a portion of the back area has a different elasticity than an opposed portion of the front area, would allow for an overall firmness and feel of the prosthesis to closely resemble a natural breast. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pangman (3366975) in view of Schuessler et al. (2020/0085526) “Schuessler” in view of Laghi (2007/0055371).
Pangman in view of Schuessler discloses the claimed invention of claim 1; except for the thickness of the front area of the pouch decreases from the front top to the front bottom and wherein the elasticity of the front area of the pouch increases from the front top to the front bottom. However, Laghi teaches a similar breast implant fixation device 210 (Fig. 2) comprising the thickness of the front area of the pouch decreases from the front top to the front bottom and wherein the elasticity of the front area of the pouch increases from the front top to the front bottom (Fig. 2 and par. 0047 discloses the thickness decreases from upper region 228 to relatively lower region 232 in order to optimize the elasticity of the prosthesis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the pouch in Pangman in view of Schuessler to include the thickness of the front area of the pouch decreases from the front top to the front bottom and wherein the elasticity of the front area of the pouch increases from the front top to the front bottom, as taught and suggested by Laghi, for optimizing the shape and feel of the prosthesis (par. 0047 of Laghi).
Conclusion
/YASHITA SHARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774