DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
This Office action is responsive to the Amendment filed on February 11th, 2026. The examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, and 20. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments with respect to the objections to the drawings have been fully considered. The objections to the drawings are withdrawn.
Applicant’s remarks and amendments with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered. The claim objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Furthermore, at pages 10-11, Applicant argues that Marcus teaches the inclusion of a reset butting and reset switch and the electronic controller controlling the air pump in para. [0095] and therefore teaches operating units of the sphygmomanometer related to measurement of blood pressure on the module. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims recite that “operating units of the sphygmomanometer related to measurement of blood pressure values except for the switch are provided only on a smart terminal”. The reset button/switch 21/21a of Marcus in para. [0095] is used to adjust the predetermined pressure or pressure range of the air pump but is not related to operating units of the sphygmomanometer related to measurement of blood pressure values. The electronic controller 18 in para. [0095-0096] is used to communicate with a remote device and the inflation and deflation of the air bladder is controlled using the remote device and the controller 18 is merely used to retain the pressure in the cuff (para. [0096-0097]). The switch and the electronic controller 18 are not involved in/related to the measurement of blood pressure values/calculations of measuring systolic blood pressure as disclosed in para. [0057-0058], rather the operation of the cuff is controller remotely over a wireless protocol associated with a Smart computer or phone (para. [0099]). Therefore, Marcus does disclose the operating units of the sphygmomanometer related to measurement of blood pressure values, except for the switch, are not located on the module but rather on the remote device used to control the operation of the cuff (Marcus, “operation of the cuff … phone application”, para. [0096, 0099]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus (US 20200360027 A1) in view of Kojima (US 20080146947 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Marcus discloses a sphygmomanometer (blood flow restriction cuff, Abstract, fig. 1, para. [0057-0058]), comprising a main body (module 15, figs. 1-3) equipped with a switch (button 21 & reset switch 21a, fig. 3) and further comprising a cuff (cuff 10, figs. 1-2), wherein operating units (“operation of the cuff … phone application”, para. [0096, 0099]) of the sphygmomanometer related to measurement of blood pressure values except for the switch are all provided only on a smart terminal (“Smartphone”, para. [0096, 0099]) that is bound with the sphygmomanometer by means of wireless communication (remote controlled blood flow restriction cuff 10; “controlled remotely over a wireless protocol”, para. [0095, 0099]).
Marcus does not expressly disclose the switch configured only to facilitate connection with the smart terminal and to transition the sphygmomanometer between one or more states of power.
However, Kojima directed to a blood pressure measuring device comprises a main device 1 and a separate device 2, the main device 1 including a power switch 10 (fig. 1) discloses the switch (power switch 10, fig. 1) configured only to facilitate connection with the smart terminal (separate device 2, fig. 1) and to transition the sphygmomanometer between one or more states of power (“turning on/off the main device”; “pushes power switch 10 … start signal is transmitted … wireless communication … on startup”; “ blood pressure measurement … not in conjunction with the power switch 10”; “two-way communication … acknowledgement signal”, para. [0024, 0026-0027, 0038, 0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus such that the switch is configured only to facilitate connection with the smart terminal and to transition the sphygmomanometer between one or more states of power, in view of the teachings of Kojima, as this would aid in establishing two-way wireless communication, reducing the power consumption of both of the main device/sphygmomanometer and the separate device/smart terminal, and reducing the size and weight of the power supply sources (Kojima, para. [0038, 0042-0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Marcus, as modified by Kojima hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 1, wherein a displaying unit of the sphygmomanometer related to blood pressure measurement is provided only on the smart terminal that is bound with the sphygmomanometer (“smart phone or wireless interface display unit”, para. [0114], fig. 6).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus in view of Kojima, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sasagawa (US 20070167845 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Marcus, as modified by Kojima hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 2. Marcus, as modified by Kojima hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the operating units and the displaying unit of the sphygmomanometer related to blood pressure measurement are all powered by the smart terminal that is bound with the sphygmomanometer.
However, Sasagawa directed to an arm insertion type sphygmomanometer 1 comprising sphygmomanometer body portion 10 in wireless communication with remote control unit 40 having a display portion 43 (figs. 1B-2) discloses wherein the operating units and the displaying unit of the sphygmomanometer related to blood pressure measurement (remote control unit 40 having microcomputer 47 and display portion 43, fig. 2, para. [0056, 0061]) are all powered by the smart terminal that is bound with the sphygmomanometer (power supply 41 which supplies power to the unit 40, para. [0061], fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima hereinabove, such that the operating units and the displaying unit of the sphygmomanometer related to blood pressure measurement are all powered by the smart terminal that is bound with the sphygmomanometer, as this would aid in remotely operating the sphygmomanometer by supplying power to the components of the remote control unit.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus in view of Kojima, as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of Whitaker (US 20090318818 A1), and further in view of Cornwell (US 4178918 A).
Regarding claim 4, Marcus, as modified by Kojima hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 2, wherein the main body (module 15, figs. 1-3) is integrated therein with an air pump (air pump 14, fig. 3, para. [0095]) that is configured to have air communication (as seen in figs. 1-2) with the cuff (cuff 10, figs. 1-2), wherein the air pump (air pump 14, figs. 3-4, para. [0095]) has, in terms of control signals thereof (para. [0095, 0099-0100]), exclusively electrically connected to an controlling chip (controller 18, fig. 3, para. 0095]) in the sphygmomanometer (as seen in fig. 3) that is configured to communicate with the smart terminal (“connects with the controller of cuff via a smartphone … Bluetooth”, para. [0099-0100, 0103].
Marcus, as modified by Kojima hereinabove, does not expressly disclose the air pump that is configured to have detachable air communication with the cuff.
However, Whitaker directed to blood pressure monitoring system discloses the air pump (pump 15, fig. 3, para. [0013]) that is configured to have detachable air communication with the cuff (cuff 23, fig. 1) (pneumatic circuit that is removably attached to an inflatable cuff by a hoseless connector, Abstract, para. [0013, 0017-0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Marcus, as modified by Kojima hereinabove, such that the air pump is configured to have detachable air communication with the cuff, in view of the teachings of Whitaker, for the obvious advantage of establishing a hoseless releasable leak tight connection in the housing that can be used in association with a number of cuffs to reduce the risk of cross contamination.
Marcus, as modified by Kojima and Whitaker hereinabove, does not disclose a reversible air pump.
However, Cornwell directed to noninvasive blood pressure measuring and recording system discloses a reversible air pump (fixed volume single stroke reversible piston pump 28, fig. 1, col. 2 lines 1-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Marcus, as modified by Kojima and Whitaker hereinabove, to comprise a reversible air pump, in view of the teachings of Cornwell, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the air pump of Marcus for the fixed volume single stroke reversible piston pump and motor of Cornwell to provide an improved means for inflating and deflating the cuff with a linear, repeatable rate of pressure decrease for accurate measurement.
Regarding claim 9, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker and Cornwell hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 4. Marcus, as modified by Kojima and Whitaker hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the reversible air pump has an airflow passage that changes direction of airflow passing therethrough according to rotation directions of a motor of the reversible air pump.
However, Cornwell directed to a noninvasive blood pressure measuring and recording system discloses wherein the reversible air pump (28, fig. 1) has an airflow passage (conduit 24, fig. 1) that changes direction of airflow passing therethrough according to rotation directions of a motor (motor 30, fig. 1) of the reversible air pump (“inflation … reverse its direction … deflation”, col. 3 lines 47-56 & col. 9 lines 16-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima and Whitaker hereinabove, such that the reversible air pump has an airflow passage that changes direction of airflow passing therethrough according to rotation directions of a motor of the reversible air pump, in view of the teachings of Cornwell, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the pump of Marcus for the fixed volume single stroke reversible piston pump and motor of Cornwell to provide an improved means for inflating and deflating the cuff with a linear, repeatable rate of pressure decrease for accurate measurement.
Claims 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus in view of Kojima, Whitaker and Cornwell, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Liu (CN 103735258 A English Translation).
Regarding claim 5, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker and Cornwell hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 4. Marcus further discloses that the user 40 initialises and connects with the controller of the cuff via a smartphone 50 with an application (app) 52 running on a Bluetooth protocol (para. [0103, 0110]). Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker and Cornwell hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the controlling chip is a Bluetooth chip.
However, Liu directed to a sphygmomanometer discloses wherein a controlling chip is a Bluetooth chip (P10, fig. 1, “Bluetooth chip”, para. [0014, 0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker and Cornwell hereinabove, such that the controlling chip is a Bluetooth chip, in view of the teachings of Liu, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the controller of Marcus for the Bluetooth chip of Liu in order to operate the sphygmomanometer by communicating/connecting with the host microcontroller/smartphone running on a Bluetooth protocol.
Regarding claim 6, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 5, further comprising a battery (power supply 20, fig. 4) integrated or removably installed in the main body (as seen in fig. 4), and a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 16, fig. 4), wherein, in addition to power-consuming units of the battery (power supply 20, fig. 4) itself and the pressure sensor related to blood pressure measurement (pressure sensor 16, fig. 4), the sphygmomanometer only has the Bluetooth chip (Marcus, controller 18, fig. 4 & Liu, P10, para. [0060) and the reversible air pump (Marcus, pump 14, fig. 4 & Cornwell, pump 28, fig. 1) as power-consuming units thereof (as seen in figs. 3-4, para. [0019, 0096]).
Regarding claim 7, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 6, wherein the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 16, fig. 4) related to blood pressure measurement is provided on a circuit board (PCB board 19, fig. 4) in the sphygmomanometer (as seen in fig. 4, para. [0095]), wherein the pressure sensor has a detection air pipe (unlabeled but as seen in fig. 4) connected to the cuff through a detection air channel (air inlet 12, fig. 1) so as to acquire pressure signals (signals received from pressure sensor 16, para. [0095]). Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the signals of the pressure sensor are sent to the smart terminal by the controlling chip in the sphygmomanometer that is configured to communicate with the smart terminal.
However, Liu directed to a sphygmomanometer discloses wherein the signals of the pressure sensor (“pressure sensor … signal”; “blood pressure monitor data”, para. [0012, 0020]) are sent to the smart terminal by the controlling chip (“Bluetooth chip”, para. [0060]) in the sphygmomanometer that is configured to communicate with the smart terminal (“communication function … data exchange … Bluetooth communication module … real-time transmission”; “external terminal”, para. [0020-0021, 0035-0036, 0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, such that the signals of the pressure sensor are sent to the smart terminal by the controlling chip in the sphygmomanometer that is configured to communicate with the smart terminal, in view of the teachings of Liu, in order to provide a miniaturized sphygmomanometer that is responsible for only data detection, collection, and uploading and sending the signals/data to the external terminal/application for data analysis.
Regarding claim 8, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 7. Marcus further discloses that the microprocessor based electronic controller 18 on PCB board 19 controls operation of the air pump 14 (para. [0095, 0097]). Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein an inflation driver for driving the reversible air pump is electrically connected to or integrated in the circuit board, and the inflation driver is, in terms of control signals thereof for switching working modes, exclusively electrically connected to the controlling chip in the sphygmomanometer that is configured to communicate with the smart terminal.
However, Cornwell directed to a noninvasive blood pressure measuring and recording system discloses wherein an inflation driver (motor 30, fig. 1) for driving the reversible air pump (col. 3 lines 43-68) is electrically connected to or integrated in the circuit board (motor speed controller circuit 32, as seen in fig. 1), and the inflation driver (motor 30, fig. 1) is, in terms of control signals thereof for switching working modes (as seen in fig. 1), exclusively electrically connected to the controlling chip (as seen in fig. 1, motor 30 is electrically connected to controller 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, such that an inflation driver for driving the reversible air pump is electrically connected to or integrated in the circuit board, and the inflation driver is, in terms of control signals thereof for switching working modes, exclusively electrically connected to the controlling chip in the sphygmomanometer that is configured to communicate with the smart terminal, in view of the teachings of Cornwell, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the air pump of Marcus for the fixed volume single stroke reversible piston pump and motor of Cornwell to provide an improved means for inflating and deflating the cuff with a linear, repeatable rate of pressure decrease for accurate measurement.
Regarding claim 10, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 7, wherein the cuff (cuff 10, fig. 1) is equipped with an air valve connector (air inlet 12 & tube 13, figs. 1 & 3-4, para. [0095]) for connecting an air valve (valve 17, fig. 4) of the reversible air pump (Marcus, pump 14, fig. 4 & Cornwell, pump 28, fig. 1) and a detection air channel joint (unlabeled but as seen in fig. 4) for connecting the detection air pipe (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 4) of the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 16, fig. 4) in the sphygmomanometer (fig. 1), so that the main body and the cuff are in both mechanical connection and air communication (as seen in fig. 1, para. [0095]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus in view of Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell and Liu, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Ganske (US 20160022269 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 10, wherein the cuff (cuff 10, fig. 1) contains therein an airbag (“air bladder”, para. [0095]) that are inflatable and deflatable (para. [0096]).
Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the cuff defines a first connecting surface mechanically coupled to the main body and a second connecting surface configured to be wound around the wrist and arm of a to-be-measured object.
However, Ganske directed to a system 2 including a cuff 4 having an inflatable bladder 20 (figs. 1 & 6), discloses wherein the cuff (cuff 4, fig. 6) defines a first connecting surface mechanically coupled to the main body (“intermediate section 24 … attachment to controller 10”, para. [0059], figs. 1 & 6) and a second connecting surface (sections 22, fig. 6) configured to be wound around the wrist and arm of a to-be-measured object (“wraps cuff 4 about the arm”; “cuff … attachment to an arm … sections 22 … flexible”, para. [0044, 0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, and Liu hereinabove, such that the cuff defines a first connecting surface mechanically coupled to the main body and a second connecting surface configured to be wound around the wrist and arm of a to-be-measured object, in view of the teachings of Ganske, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the cuff of Marcus for the cuff of Ganske to be wrapped around the arm for determining blood pressure measurements (Ganske, para. [0059, 0068]).
Regarding claim 12, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, and Ganske hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 11. Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, and Ganske hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the second connecting surface is integrally formed with the first connecting surface and is mechanically separated from the main body.
However, Ganske directed to the system 2 including an inflatable cuff 4 (fig. 1), discloses wherein the second connecting surface (sections 22, fig. 6) is integrally formed with the first connecting surface (section 24, fig. 6) (“integrally”, para. [0059]) and is mechanically separated from the main body (as seen in fig. 1, para. [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, and Ganske hereinabove, such that the second connecting surface is integrally formed with the first connecting surface and is mechanically separated from the main body, in view of the teachings of Ganske, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the cuff of Marcus for the cuff of Ganske to be wrapped around the arm for determining blood pressure measurements (Ganske, para. [0059, 0068]).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus in view of Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, and Ganske, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Allen (US 20200015689 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, and Ganske hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 12, wherein the main body primarily comprises a casing (module 15, figs. 2-4), the circuit board (PCB 19, figs. 2-4), the air pump (air pump 14, figs. 2-4), the battery (power supply 20, fig. 4, para. [0097]), and the switch installed on a surface of the casing (reset button and reset switch 21a, as seen in figs. 2-3), wherein the circuit board (PCB 19, fig. 4) integrates thereon a main controlling unit (controller 18, fig. 4).
Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, and Ganske hereinabove, does not disclose the reversible air pump.
However, Cornwell directed to noninvasive blood pressure measuring and recording system discloses the reversible air pump (fixed volume single stroke reversible piston pump 28, fig. 1, col. 2 lines 1-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, and Ganske hereinabove, to comprise the reversible air pump, in view of the teachings of Cornwell, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the air pump of Marcus for the fixed volume single stroke reversible piston pump and motor of Cornwell to provide an improved means for inflating and deflating the cuff with a linear, repeatable rate of pressure decrease for accurate measurement.
Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, and Ganske hereinabove, does not expressly disclose, wherein the circuit board integrates thereon a driving unit, a detecting unit, and a charging unit.
However, Allen directed to a wearable blood pressure meter discloses wherein the circuit board (control circuitry 112/substrate 405, figs. 1B & 4B) integrates (“integrated circuit”, para. [0031]) thereon a main controlling unit (controller 115, fig.1B, para. [0023]), a driving unit (control logic 117, fig. 1B, para. [0023-0024]), a detecting unit (BP logic 119, fig. 1B, para. [0023-0024]), and a charging unit (charging circuitry 109, fig. 1B, para. [0021-0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, and Ganske hereinabove, such that the circuit board integrates thereon a main controlling unit, a driving unit, a detecting unit, and a charging unit, in view of the teachings of Allen, as this would aid in controlling the general operation of blood pressure meter, charge the rechargeable battery power supply through inductive coupling, receive and convert measurements, and perform data communications by providing an application specific integrated circuit (Allen, para. [0021-0024]).
Regarding claim 14, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 13. Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the driving unit of the sphygmomanometer includes an inflation driver, the reversible air pump, and a driving circuit, wherein the reversible air pump has in terms of its control signals exclusively electrically connected to the controlling chip, wherein the reversible air pump has an airflow passage, a direction of an airflow passing through the airflow passage is determined by motor rotation directions.
However, Cornwell directed to noninvasive blood pressure measuring and recording system discloses wherein the driving unit of the sphygmomanometer (fig. 1) includes an inflation driver (motor 30, fig. 1), the reversible air pump (pump 28, fig. 1), and a driving circuit (motor speed controller 32, fig. 1) (col. 3 lines 57-68), wherein the reversible air pump (pump 28, fig. 1) has in terms of its control signals (as seen in fig. 1) exclusively electrically connected to the controlling chip (as seen in fig. 1, motor 30 is electrically connected to controller 32), the reversible air pump (pump 28, fig. 1) has an airflow passage (conduit 24, fig. 1), a direction of an airflow passing through the airflow passage is determined by motor rotation directions (“forward (inflating) … reverse (deflating)”; “inflation … reverse its direction … deflation”, col. 3 lines 47-68 & col. 9 lines 16-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, such that the driving unit of the sphygmomanometer includes an inflation driver, the reversible air pump, and a driving circuit, the reversible air pump has in terms of its control signals exclusively electrically connected to the controlling chip, the reversible air pump has an airflow passage, a direction of an airflow passing through the airflow passage is determined by motor rotation directions, in view of the teachings of Cornwell, as this would aid in improving means for inflating and deflating the cuff with a linear, repeatable rate of pressure decrease for accurate measurement.
Regarding claim 15, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 14. Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the airflow passage is an inflating passage and/or a deflating passage, the reversible air pump is configured to change operating conditions of the reversible air pump according to variations of a polarity of the current flow in the driving circuit the reversible air pump is located in, wherein the operating conditions include a first operating condition wherein the motor is driven to rotate in a forward direction so the reversible air pump inflates the cuff and a second operating condition wherein the motor is driven to rotate in a reverse direction so the reversible air pump deflates the cuff.
However, Cornwell directed to noninvasive blood pressure measuring and recording system discloses wherein the airflow passage (conduit 24, fig. 1) is an inflating passage and/or a deflating passage (“24 … inflates and deflates”, col. 3 lines 43-56), the reversible air pump (pump 28, fig. 1) is configured to change operating conditions of the reversible air pump according to variations of a polarity of the current flow in the driving circuit the reversible air pump is located in (“polarity … motor to reverse its direction col. 9 lines 15-26, fig. 8), wherein the operating conditions include a first operating condition (start switch 16, fig. 1) wherein the motor is driven to rotate in a forward direction so the reversible air pump inflates the cuff (“forward (inflates)”, col. 3 lines 57-68) and a second operating condition (upper limit switch, fig. 1) wherein the motor is driven to rotate in a reverse direction so the reversible air pump deflates the cuff (“reverse (deflating)”, col. 3 lines 57-68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, such that the airflow passage is an inflating passage and/or a deflating passage, the reversible air pump is configured to change operating conditions of the reversible air pump according to variations of a polarity of the current flow in the driving circuit the reversible air pump is located in, wherein the operating conditions include a first operating condition wherein the motor is driven to rotate in a forward direction so the reversible air pump inflates the cuff and a second operating condition wherein the motor is driven to rotate in a reverse direction so the reversible air pump deflates the cuff, in view of the teachings of Cornwell, as this would aid in improving means for inflating and deflating the cuff with a linear, repeatable rate of pressure decrease for accurate measurement.
Regarding claim 16, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 15. Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the charging unit of the sphygmomanometer comprises a data interface, the battery together with a battery managing module, an interface circuit, and a charging circuit, the data interface is used to charge the battery of the sphygmomanometer via the interface circuit and the charging circuit, wherein the battery is used to power components of the sphygmomanometer.
However, Allen discloses wherein the charging unit (power supply 105, fig. 1B) of the sphygmomanometer comprises a data interface (antenna 123, fig. 1B), the battery (battery 111, fig. 1B) together with a battery managing module (“rectifier/regulator … energy storage devices”, para. [0022]), an interface circuit (antenna 107, fig. 1B), and a charging circuit (charging circuitry 109, fig. 1B), the data interface is used to charge the battery of the sphygmomanometer via the interface circuit and the charging circuit (energy harvesting antenna 107 and antenna 123 … respective functions of inductive charging and wireless communications with reader 135, para. [0021]), wherein the battery is used to power components of the sphygmomanometer (para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, such that the charging unit of the sphygmomanometer comprises a data interface, the battery together with a battery managing module, an interface circuit, and a charging circuit, the data interface is used to charge the battery of the sphygmomanometer via the interface circuit and the charging circuit, wherein the battery is used to power components of the sphygmomanometer, in view of the teachings of Allen, as this would aid in charging the rechargeable battery supply through inductive coupling and provide power to the various embedded electronics.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus in view of Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen, as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Choi (US 20170357214 A1), and further in view of Sano (US 20050187484 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 16. Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the battery managing module is used to provide the battery with reliable over-charge and/or over-discharge protection, over-current and/or over-heat protection and fault diagnosis.
However, Choi directed to an electronic device including at least one of medical devices (blood pressure measuring device) (para. [0045]), having a battery assembly 100 discloses wherein a battery managing module (battery protective circuit 140, fig. 8) is used to provide the battery with reliable over-charge and/or over-discharge protection, over-current and/or over-heat protection and fault diagnosis (“protect the battery”, para. [0073, 0114, 0125]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, and Allen hereinabove, such that the battery managing module is used to provide the battery with reliable over-charge and/or over-discharge protection, over-current and/or over-heat protection and fault diagnosis, wherein the data interface is further connected to other health-detecting devices in mechanical way and via signals, so as to obtain additional health-monitoring functions, in view of the teachings of Choi, as this would aid in protecting the battery and notifying a user if the battery is damaged.
Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, and Choi hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the data interface is further connected to other health-detecting devices in mechanical way and via signals, so as to obtain additional health-monitoring functions.
However, Sano directed to a blood pressure measurement device including a main body unit 30 having a main body-side I/F (interface) 9 for communicating with an external portion discloses wherein the data interface (interface 19/9 , figs. 1 & 4; “interface in blood pressure measurement device 50 for connecting cable 47 … port of main body-side I/F 9”, para. [0063]) is further connected to other health-detecting devices in mechanical way and via signals (“thermometer main body 45 may be connected via cable 47 to blood pressure measurement device 50”, para. [0059-0063]), so as to obtain additional health-monitoring functions (“body temperature data”, para. [0058-0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, and Choi hereinabove, such that the data interface is further connected to other health-detecting devices in mechanical way and via signals, so as to obtain additional health-monitoring functions, in view of the teachings of Sano, as this would aid in obtaining body temperature data or other physiological data in association with the blood pressure measurement data (Sano, para. [0058-0060]).
Regarding claim 18, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, and Sano hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 17, wherein the casing (module 15, figs. 2-4) of the sphygmomanometer comprises a shell (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 3) and an end cap (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 3), which jointly define some cavity therebetween (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 3-4), wherein the cavity is shaped to a layout of internal components of the sphygmomanometer (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 3-4, para. [0098]), wherein the cavity is formed as a pump cavity for receiving the reversible air pump and a battery cavity for receiving the battery (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 3-4, “ air pump 14, power supply 20, … housed in a module”, para. [0098]).
Claims 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcus in view of Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, and Sano, as applied to claim 18 above, further in view of Nishioka (US 20150025400 A1), and further in view of Henkin (US 6251080 B1).
Regarding claim 19, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, and Sano hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 18. Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, and Sano hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the main body and the cuff are removably connected.
However, Whitaker directed to blood pressure monitoring system having a main body 12 with a pneumatic circuit and a cuff 23 discloses wherein the main body (12, fig. 1) and the cuff (cuff 23) are removably connected (cuff 23, fig. 1) (pneumatic circuit that is removably attached to an inflatable cuff by a hoseless connector; “releasable”, Abstract, para. [0013, 0017-0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, and Sano hereinabove, such that the main body and the cuff are removably connected, in view of the teachings of Whitaker, as this would aid in establishing a hoseless releasable leak tight connection in the housing that can be used in association with a number of cuffs to reduce the risk of cross contamination.
Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, and Sano hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the main body and the cuff are removably connected in a first arrangement where the axis of the reversible air pump is parallel to a third direction.
However, Nishioka directed to a blood pressure meter (fig. 1) having a main body 10, a cuff 20, a pump unit 31, and a first fluid path that extends in straight in the Z direction (Abstract, figs. 1-2) discloses wherein the main body (main body 10, fig. 1) and the cuff (cuff 20, fig. 1) are connected (“main body that is attached in an opposing manner to the cuff”, para. [0015]) in a first arrangement where the axis of the reversible air pump is parallel to a third direction (“the pump unit 31/air pump 312 is arranged so as to be overlaid directly on the air supply opening 22a of the fluid bladder 22 (in FIG. 3A) … extends straight in the z direction”, para. [0015, 0051-0052] (Examiner note: para. [0050-0051] and fig. 4 of the instant application specification defines the third direction as the z direction and the reversible air pump has its axial direction parallel to the third direction)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, and Sano hereinabove, such the that the main body and the cuff are removably connected in a first arrangement where the axis of the reversible air pump is parallel to a third direction, in view of the teachings of Nishioka, as this would aid in arranging elements in a compact manner to achieve a reduction in the size and thickness of the product.
Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, Sano, and Nishioka hereinabove, does not disclose wherein the main body and the cuff are removably connected in a second arrangement where an axis of the reversible air pump is parallel to a first direction.
Henkin annotated fig. 3
However, Henkin directed to a compactly contained long term ambulatory blood pressure monitor having a flexible arm band 12 with an inflatable air bladder 14 disposed therein, combined cincture coupler and component housing 18, and pump 76 discloses wherein the main body (18, fig. 1) and the cuff (12 & 14, fig. 1) are connected (“attached”, col. 5 lines 44-50) in a second arrangement where the axis of the reversible air pump is parallel to a first direction (as seen in annotated fig. 3; (Examiner note: para. [0050, 0063] & fig. 6 defines the first direction as the x direction and the reversible air pump 103 has its axial direction parallel to the first direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, Sano, and Nishioka hereinabove, such that the main body and the cuff are removably connected in a second arrangement where the axis of the reversible air pump is parallel to a first direction, in view of the teachings of Henkin, as this would aid in providing a non- obtrusive, non-visual, non-invasive, compact, hidden, and reliable ambulatory blood pressure recorder.
Regarding claim 20, Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, Sano, Nishioka, and Henkin hereinabove, discloses the sphygmomanometer of claim 19.
Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, Sano, Nishioka, and Henkin hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein in the first arrangement, the main body is perpendicularly mounted onto the first connecting surface of the cuff in a negative direction of the third direction, the components in the sphygmomanometer are tightly arranged along the third direction and around the reversible miniature air pump.
However, Nishioka discloses wherein in the first arrangement, the main body is perpendicularly mounted onto the first connecting surface of the cuff in the negative direction of then third direction (“main body casing 12 … first and second nozzles 121 and 122 … toward the -Z direction”, para. [0060], unlabeled but as seen in figs. 1& 5-7), the components in the sphygmomanometer are tightly arranged along the third direction and around the reversible miniature air pump (unlabeled, but as seen in figs. 5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, Sano, Nishioka, and Henkin hereinabove, such that in the first arrangement, the main body is perpendicularly mounted onto the first connecting surface of the cuff in a negative direction of the third direction, the components in the sphygmomanometer are tightly arranged along the third direction and around the reversible miniature air pump, in view of the teachings of Nishioka, as this would aid in arranging elements in a compact manner to achieve a reduction in the size and thickness of the product.
Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, Sano, Nishioka, and Henkin hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein in the second arrangement, the main body is mounted onto the first connecting surface of the cuff in the first direction, the components in the sphygmomanometer are tightly arranged along the first direction and around the reversible miniature air pump.
However, Henkin discloses wherein in the second arrangement, the main body is mounted onto the first connecting surface of the cuff in the first direction (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 2), the components in the sphygmomanometer are tightly arranged along the first direction and around the reversible miniature air pump (unlabeled, but as seen in annotated fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marcus, as modified by Kojima, Whitaker, Cornwell, Liu, Ganske, Allen, Choi, Sano, Nishioka, and Henkin hereinabove, such that in the second arrangement, the main body is mounted onto the first connecting surface of the cuff in the first direction, the components in the sphygmomanometer are tightly arranged along the first direction and around the reversible miniature air pump, in view of the teachings of Henkin, as this would aid in providing a non-obtrusive, non-visual, non-invasive, compact, hidden, and reliable ambulatory blood pressure recorder.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/A.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/AURELIE H TU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791