Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/12/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 08/24/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawing Fig. 10 is objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “10a” has been used to designate both “the tire-repairing connector provided by the first preferred embodiment” (para. [0039]) and “the tire-repairing connector according to the second preferred embodiment” (para. [0045]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kerner (US 20180141396 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kerner discloses a tire-repairing connector, comprising:
a main body having two ends (see annotated fig. 33 below), one end of the two ends being a connecting end (see annotated fig. 33), the other end of the two ends being a second end (see annotated fig. 33), a gas inlet channel being provided in the main body (see annotated fig. 9 below; main body of fig. 33 (double knurled body) shown in more detail in cross-section in fig. 9) and extending through the connecting end (see annotated fig. 9; para. [0081]); and
an insertion tube configured as a hollow tube with two ends (see annotated fig. 33), a gas passage being provided in the insertion tube (see annotated fig. 33; para. [0081]), one end of the insertion tube being provided in the second end of the main body (see annotated fig. 33), with the gas passage in communication with the gas inlet channel (see annotated fig. 9), the other end of the insertion tube being a pointed end (element 94, fig. 33), the pointed end being provided with a clamping groove (see annotated fig. 33 below), and the clamping groove having an opening (see annotated fig. 33).
Regarding claim 6, Kerner discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses:
wherein the second end of the main body is provided with a coupling portion (see annotated fig. 33), the tire-repairing connector further comprises a cylindrical body (element 50, fig. 11; main body of fig. 33 (double knurled body) shown in more detail in cross-section and with cylindrical body in fig. 11), and the coupling portion is configured to be coupled to one end of the cylindrical body in a detachable manner (col. 7, line 20-28).
Regarding claim 8, Kerner discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses:
wherein the connecting end of the main body is provided with an internal hole portion forming a part of the gas inlet channel (see annotated fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerner in view of Chuang (US 2021/0170814 A1), herein referred to as Chuang ‘814.
Regarding claim 2, Kerner discloses the limitations of claim 1, but fails to disclose:
wherein the pointed end of the insertion tube has an inclined surface and thus the pointed end forms a high edge and a low edge, with a height difference between the high edge and the low edge, and the opening of the clamping groove is located at the high edge.
Chuang ‘814 teaches the tire-repairing connector (element 10, fig. 1) comprising a main body (element 20, fig. 2) and an insertion tube (element 30, fig. 2),
wherein the pointed end of the insertion tube has an inclined surface (see annotated fig. 4 below) and thus the pointed end forms a high edge and a low edge (see annotated fig. 4), with a height difference between the high edge and the low edge (see annotated fig. 4), and the opening of the clamping groove is located at the high edge (see annotated fig. 4).
Chuang ‘814 teaches that “the tire repair needle 30 is configured to hold a tire repair strip and to insert the tire repair strip into the tire 91 to be repaired. The tire repair needle 30 has a body 32 on which the tire repair strip is mounted” (para. [0019 – 0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kerner to incorporate the teachings of Chuang ‘814 to provide a tire-repairing connector wherein the insertion tube has an inclined surface, a pointed tip formed of a high and low edge, and an opening to a clamping groove at the high edge. Kerner teaches that a sharp point allows the tube to push through the wound in the tire (para. [0104]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit in having the opening to the clamping groove at the high edge of the insertion tube, so that the plug is conveniently located, and so that the user may push the plug through a hole in the tire (Kerner; para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 3, Kerner discloses the limitations of claim 1, but fails to disclose:
wherein the clamping groove has a middle section, and the middle section has a smallest width of the clamping groove.
Chuang ‘814 teaches the tire-repairing connector (element 10, fig. 1) comprising a main body (element 20, fig. 2) and an insertion tube (element 30, fig. 2),
wherein the clamping groove has a middle section (see annotated fig. 1 below), and the middle section has a smallest width of the clamping groove (see annotated fig. 1).
As previously described, Chuang ‘814 teaches that “the tire repair needle 30 is configured to hold a tire repair strip and to insert the tire repair strip into the tire 91 to be repaired. The tire repair needle 30 has a body 32 on which the tire repair strip is mounted” (para. [0019 – 0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kerner to incorporate the teachings of Chuang ‘814 to provide a tire-repairing connector wherein the clamping groove has a middle section having the smallest width. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of improving functionality of the clamping groove, in that, the narrowing of the width of the middle section of the clamping groove improves the groove’s retention or holding of the plug (Kerner; “positioned or wedged”; para. [0112]).
Regarding claim 4, Kerner modified teaches the limitations of claim 2, but fails to teach:
wherein the clamping groove has a middle section, and the middle section has a smallest width of the clamping groove.
Chuang ‘814 further teaches the tire-repairing connector (element 10, fig. 1),
wherein the clamping groove (see annotated fig. 1) has a middle section (see annotated fig. 1), and the middle section has a smallest width of the clamping groove (see annotated fig. 1).
As previously described, Chuang ‘814 teaches that “the tire repair needle 30 is configured to hold a tire repair strip and to insert the tire repair strip into the tire 91 to be repaired. The tire repair needle 30 has a body 32 on which the tire repair strip is mounted” (para. [0019 – 0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kerner modified to further incorporate the teachings of Chuang ‘814 to provide a tire-repairing connector wherein the clamping groove has a middle section having the smallest width. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of improving functionality of the clamping groove, in that, the narrowing of the width of the middle section of the clamping groove improves the groove’s retention or holding of the plug (Kerner; “positioned or wedged”; para. [0112]).
para.para.
Regarding claim 5, Kerner modified discloses the limitations of claim 3, but fails to teach:
wherein the clamping groove has two walls curving toward each other such that the middle section of the clamping groove has the smallest width of the clamping groove.
Chuang ‘814 teaches the tire-repairing connector (element 10, fig. 1), wherein the clamping groove has two walls (see annotated fig. 1) curving toward each other (see annotated fig. 1) such that the middle section of the clamping groove has the smallest width of the clamping groove (see annotated fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kerner to incorporate the teachings of Chuang ‘814 to provide a tire-repairing connector wherein the clamping groove has a middle section, the middle section has a smallest width of the clamping groove, and the smallest width is formed by the two walls curving toward each other. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of improving functionality of the clamping groove, in that, the narrowing of the width of the middle section of the clamping groove improves the groove’s retention or holding of the plug (para. [0112]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of the walls of the clamping grooving curving toward one another, wherein, the groove retains and releases the plug, without the plug snagging at the transition between the wider opening and the smaller width of the clamping groove.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerner in view of Chuang (TW I783435 B), herein referred to as Chuang ‘435.
Regarding claim 7, Kerner discloses all the limitations of claim 6, but fails to teach:
wherein the connecting end of the main body is provided with a second coupling portion, and the second coupling portion is configured to be coupled to the end of the cylindrical body in a detachable manner.
Chuang ‘435 teaches a tire-repairing connector (element 1, fig. 1) comprising a main body (element 20, fig. 3) having two ends (element 21, 221, fig. 4) and an insertion tube (element 30, fig. 3),
wherein the connecting end of the main body is provided with a second coupling portion (element 12, fig. 4), and the second coupling portion is configured to be coupled to the end of the cylindrical body (element 222, fig. 5) in a detachable manner (fig. 4, 5).
Chuang ‘435 teaches “The second connecting end 22 of the connecting member 20 is detachably connected to the first connecting end 12 of the housing 10, so that the connecting member 20 is reversibly connected to the housing 10 to switch between the storage position and the use position” (Translation, p. 2, para. 12; p. 3, para. 1; Original, para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kerner to incorporate the teachings of Chuang ‘435 to provide a tire-repairing connector wherein the connecting end of the main body is provided with a second coupling portion, and the second coupling portion is configured to be coupled to the end of the cylindrical body in a detachable manner. Kerner discloses cylindrical body (element 50) for storage and protection of the insertion tube (element 4). In additional, separate embodiments, Kerner discloses sleeve (element 95, fig. 35; para. [0113 - 115]) and housing (element 125; para. [0122 – 125]), which are described as improving functionality during use to either protect the user’s hand or to permit the user to apply increased force to the tool during use. One of ordinary skill would understand the benefit of improving functionality of a single element by modifying the cylindrical bodies disclosed in Kerner to be received universally by both the first and second coupling portions of the main body, as taught by Chuang ‘435.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerner first embodiment (fig. 33) in view of Kerner second embodiment (fig. 63A).
Regarding claim 9, Kerner discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses:
wherein the connecting end of the main body (element 211, fig. 60) is protrudingly provided with a bridging portion (element 208, 210 fig. 60), and the gas inlet channel extends through the bridging portion (element 209, 210, 212, fig. 60).
Kerner teaches a second embodiment of the repair connector using a cartridge-less stem connector in place of a gas cartridge (para. [0068]). Kerner teaches that this stem connector could then be used with an inflation device having a Schrader or Presta female valve stem connector (para. [0131-134]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kerner to incorporate the teachings of the second embodiment to provide a tire-repairing connector wherein the connecting end of the main body is protrudingly provided with a bridging portion, and the gas inlet channel extends through the bridging portion. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the improvement in functionality in being able to use a variety of external gas sources by having a protruding bridging portion for connection to the repair connector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chuang (US 2021/0146641 A1) discloses a tire repair device having a main body, a gas inlet port for connecting to a gas source and a gas outlet port for connecting to the valve of a tire. Further, the reference discloses a repair needle for inserting a plug into a puncture in a tire.
Gu (US 10,940,908 B1) discloses a tool assembly having a main body and a repair needle for inserting a plug into a puncture in a tire. Further, the main body has a coupling portion to couple with a housing for storage and transportation.
Chen (TW M308218 U) discloses a tire repair device having a main body, a gas inlet port for connecting to a gas source and a gas outlet port for connecting to the valve of a tire. Further, the reference discloses an insertion tube for inserting a plug into a puncture in a tire and permitting the flow of gas from a gas source through the tube, to the tire. The disclosed insertion tube has a clamping groove having a middle section, where the width of the middle section is the smallest.
Wang (TW M635386 U) discloses a tire repair device having a main body, a gas inlet port for connecting to a gas source and a gas outlet port for connecting to the valve of a tire. Further, the reference discloses a repair needle for inserting a plug into a puncture in a tire. Further, the main body has a coupling portion to couple with a housing for storage and transportation.
/KEEGAN T MARTIN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723