DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (CN 213570462 U – as seen through the machine translation available on Google Patents and attached herein), hereinafter “Zhou”.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhou teaches a sperm sorting device (See Fig. 1 and Abstract.), suitable for selectively isolating a plurality of motile sperms from a semen specimen (See Example 1.), the sperm sorting device comprising:
a base 1 including a bottom wall and a surrounding wall ("The bottom surface of the outer tube 1 is closed and is used for containing a semen sample."), the surrounding wall extending from a periphery of the bottom wall toward a top end of the base and surrounding an axis (See Fig. 1 showing the outer tubular wall extending upwardly from the bottom of the base and terminating at the top of the groove 8 at the top end of the base.), the bottom wall and the surrounding wall jointly defining a receiving space with an opening (See Fig. 1 showing the upper opening into which the filter ring 9 is inserted. Further, as discussed above “The bottom surface of the outer tube 1 is closed and is used for containing a semen sample.” – As such, the bottom and the outer wall form a receiving space for containing the sperm sample.); and
a sorter 9 securely coupled to the base and including a mounting member and a sorting filter 4 (“When the collar 6 is stacked on top of the outer tube 1, the protrusion 7 snaps into the groove 8 and the inner tube 2...” – In this arrangement, the sorter 9 is securely coupled to the base by way of compression through the inner tube 2, the sorting member 9 having grooves about the periphery of the cylindrical wall to achieve the secure coupling as seen through Fig. 1. Therein, the mounting member is the frame 9 holding the membrane 4.), wherein:
the mounting member has a sleeve (See Fig. 1 showing the mounting member frame comprising a cylindrical sidewall extending upwardly from the filter 4, the cylindrical sidewall being the sleeve.), a liquid drawing ring (The ring-shaped opening of the frame 9 into which the filter 4 is mounted.), and an injection portion (The step along the inner periphery of the sleeve forming the inner volume of the frame 9 where injected sample travels through by gravity.), the sleeve surrounding the axis and being located in the receiving space (See Fig. 1 showing the sleeve of the frame 9 surrounding the same axis as that of the base 1. Further, as the sorter is inserted down into the base 1, the sleeve surrounding the axis is located in the receiving space.), the liquid drawing ring extending from a bottom end of the sleeve toward the axis (See Fig. 1 showing the inner walls of the liquid drawing ring of the frame 9 extending along the same axis as the outer tubular sidewalls of the base 1 and the frame 9.), the injection portion being provided on the liquid drawing ring, the injection portion being penetrated by an injection hole along a direction parallel to the axis (The hole at the bottom of the inner tube 2 which allows a sperm sample to travel from the volume of the inner tube 2 to the sorting filter 4. As the hole of the inner tube 2 is provided onto the filter 4, the hole penetrates the injection portion.), the sleeve having an inner sleeve surface and an outer sleeve surface surrounding the inner sleeve surface (See Fig. 1 showing the sleeve of the frame 9 having an inner sleeve surface facing the sorting filter 4, and an outer sleeve surface facing outwardly to the surroundings, the outer sleeve surface thereby surrounding the inner sleeve surface.); and
the sorting filter is fixed on the sleeve such that the sorting filter, the liquid drawing ring, and the inner sleeve surface jointly define a sorting chamber with an open top end (See Fig. 1 showing the sorting filter, the liquid drawing ring, and the inner sleeve surface of the frame 9 forming a cavity structure with an open top end constituting a chamber into which the sperm sample flows from the inner tube 2.), the sorting filter having a plurality of micropores allowing passage of the motile sperms (“the pore diameter of the porous membrane 4 is 0.5-15 μm, and can allow the sperm with strong activity to pass through”);
wherein the sorting filter, the bottom wall, and the surrounding wall jointly define a specimen chamber for receiving the semen specimen (As the bottom and surrounding walls form a well for receiving the filtered sperm sample as discussed above, and as the filter forms a top opposite the bottom wall, the filter, bottom wall, and surrounding wall thereby jointly define a specimen chamber for receiving the semen specimen.), and the injection hole brings the specimen chamber and the sorting chamber into communication with each other vertically (As discussed above, the injection hole is attached to the frame and sorting filter by way of the protrusions 7 of the inner tube 2, and the corresponding grooves of the frame 9 as seen through Fig. 1. As such, when the injection hole is attached to the frame 9 and the pair are inserted into the base 1, the injection hole of the inner tube 2 brings the specimen chamber of the base 1 and the sorting chamber of the frame 9 into communication with each other vertically.),
as in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the sleeve further has a bottom sleeve surface connecting the inner sleeve surface and the outer sleeve surface (As seen through Fig. 1, the bottom sleeve surface is the surface formed by the bottom termination of the sleeve.), the liquid drawing ring has an annular top surface, an annular bottom surface, and a central hole (As seen through Fig. 1, the annular top surface is the top of the circumferential step forming the liquid drawing ring, the annular bottom surface is the bottom of the circumferential step forming the liquid drawing ring, and the central hole is the open space holding the sorting filter being surrounded by the liquid drawing ring.), the central hole brings the annular top surface and the annular bottom surface into communication with each other (The central hole forms an opening where the top and bottom annular surfaces are in communication through the opening.), and the annular bottom surface of the liquid drawing ring approaches the annular top surface gradually while extending from the bottom sleeve surface of the sleeve toward the axis (As the annular bottom surface and the annular top surface approach one another through the central hole, and such an approach is gradual as the surfaces come together to form a ridge acting as the injection portion, and the surfaces extend toward the axis as seen through Fig. 1, the annular bottom surface of the liquid drawing ring approaches the annular top surface gradually while extending from the bottom sleeve surface of the sleeve toward the axis commensurately as claimed.), as in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 3 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the annular bottom surface of the liquid drawing ring has an outer extension section extending from the bottom sleeve surface of the sleeve toward the axis (The outer section/region (closer to the outer sleeve surface) of the bottom sleeve surface extending toward the axis commensurately as the bottom sleeve surface extends toward the axis.), a connecting section extending from the outer extension section toward the annular top surface (The middle section/region (between the inner sleeve surface) of the bottom sleeve surface extending toward the axis commensurately as the bottom sleeve surface extends toward the axis.), and an inner extension section extending from the connecting section toward the axis (The inner section/region (closer to the inner sleeve surface) of the bottom sleeve surface extending toward the axis commensurately as the bottom sleeve surface extends toward the axis.), the central hole brings the annular top surface and the inner extension section of the annular bottom surface into communication with each other (Similarly as discussed above, and because the inner extension section of the annular bottom surface is the inner circumferential region of the of the annular bottom surface: The central hole forms an opening where the top and bottom annular surfaces (including the region forming the inner extension section) are in communication through the opening.), the injection hole penetrates the annular top surface and the connecting section of the annular bottom surface (When the device is assembled with the injection hole of the inner tube 2 fixed to the frame 9, the injection hole penetrates the annular top surface and the connecting section of the annular bottom surface as the protruding part of the inner tube 2 is compressed against the filter 4, as shown by the inset portion of the inner tube 2 corresponding to the inner surface of the injection portion and liquid drawing ring. – “the porous membrane 4 of inner tube 2 bottom surface is higher than the liquid level of outer tube 1”), and the sorting filter is fixed on the outer extension section (Fig. 1 shows the filter 4 fixed to the bottom sleeve surface, which includes the outer extension section of said bottom sleeve surface, thereby being fixed on the outer extension section commensurately as claimed.) and has a through hole corresponding to the injection hole (A pore/hole of the filter aligned with the injection hole.),
as in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 3 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the annular bottom surface of the liquid drawing ring has an outer extension section extending from the bottom sleeve surface of the sleeve toward the axis (The outer section/region (closer to the outer sleeve surface) of the bottom sleeve surface extending toward the axis commensurately as the bottom sleeve surface extends toward the axis.), a connecting section extending from the outer extension section toward the annular top surface (The middle section/region (between the inner sleeve surface) of the bottom sleeve surface extending toward the axis commensurately as the bottom sleeve surface extends toward the axis.), and an inner extension section extending from the connecting section toward the axis (The inner section/region (closer to the inner sleeve surface) of the bottom sleeve surface extending toward the axis commensurately as the bottom sleeve surface extends toward the axis.), the central hole brings the annular top surface and the inner extension section of the annular bottom surface into communication with each other (Similarly as discussed above, and because the inner extension section of the annular bottom surface is the inner circumferential region of the of the annular bottom surface: The central hole forms an opening where the top and bottom annular surfaces (including the region forming the inner extension section) are in communication through the opening.), the injection hole penetrates the annular top surface and the outer extension section of the annular bottom surface (When the device is assembled with the injection hole of the inner tube 2 fixed to the frame 9, the injection hole penetrates the annular top surface and the connecting section of the annular bottom surface as the protruding part of the inner tube 2 is compressed against the filter 4, as shown by the inset portion of the inner tube 2 corresponding to the inner surface of the injection portion and liquid drawing ring. – “the porous membrane 4 of inner tube 2 bottom surface is higher than the liquid level of outer tube 1”), and the sorting filter is fixed on the outer extension section but does not extend beyond or under the injection hole (Fig. 1 shows the filter 4 fixed to the bottom sleeve surface, which includes the outer extension section of said bottom sleeve surface, thereby being fixed on the outer extension section commensurately as claimed. – Further, the filter does not extend beyond (as seen through Fig. 1 as the filter 4 aligns with the inset injection hole of the inner tube 2) or under the injection hole (the “under” of the injection hole being the part closer to the retainer ring 6).),
as in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 3 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the injection portion further has a top protruding block formed on the annular top surface of the liquid drawing ring and surrounding the injection hole (The first groove extending from the inner sleeve surface on/over the annular top surface which surrounds the injection hole.), as in Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 6 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the injection portion further has a bottom protruding block formed on the annular bottom surface of the liquid drawing ring and surrounding the injection hole (The second groove extending from the inner sleeve surface on/over the annular bottom surface which surrounds the injection hole.), as in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhou teaches a sperm sorting device (See Fig. 1 and Abstract.), suitable for selectively isolating a plurality of motile sperms from a semen specimen (See Example 1.), the sperm sorting device comprising:
a base including a bottom wall and a surrounding wall ("The bottom surface of the outer tube 1 is closed and is used for containing a semen sample."), the surrounding wall extending from a periphery of the bottom wall toward a top end of the base and surrounding an axis (See Fig. 1 showing the outer tubular wall extending upwardly from the bottom of the base and terminating at the top of the groove 8 at the top end of the base.), the bottom wall and the surrounding wall jointly defining a receiving space with an opening (See Fig. 1 showing the upper opening into which the filter ring 9 is inserted. Further, as discussed above “The bottom surface of the outer tube 1 is closed and is used for containing a semen sample.” – As such, the bottom and the outer wall form a receiving space for containing the sperm sample.); and
a sorter securely coupled to the base and including a mounting member and a sorting filter (“When the collar 6 is stacked on top of the outer tube 1, the protrusion 7 snaps into the groove 8 and the inner tube 2...” – In this arrangement, the sorter 9 is securely coupled to the base by way of compression through the inner tube 2, the sorting member 9 having grooves about the periphery of the cylindrical wall to achieve the secure coupling as seen through Fig. 1. Therein, the mounting member is the frame 9 holding the membrane 4.), wherein:
the mounting member has a sleeve (See Fig. 1 showing the mounting member frame comprising a cylindrical sidewall extending upwardly from the filter 4, the cylindrical sidewall being the sleeve.) and an injection portion (The step along the inner periphery of the sleeve forming the inner volume of the frame 9 where injected sample travels through by gravity.), the sleeve surrounding the axis and being located in the receiving space (See Fig. 1 showing the sleeve of the frame 9 surrounding the same axis as that of the base 1. Further, as the sorter is inserted down into the base 1, the sleeve surrounding the axis is located in the receiving space.), the injection portion extending from a bottom end of the sleeve toward the axis (See Fig. 1 showing the injection portion (the inset step about the inner periphery of the inner cylindrical surface of the sleeve) extending from a bottom end of the sleeve toward the axis.), the injection portion being penetrated by an injection hole along a direction parallel to the axis (The hole at the bottom of the inner tube 2 which allows a sperm sample to travel from the volume of the inner tube 2 to the sorting filter 4. As the hole of the inner tube 2 is provided onto the filter 4, the hole penetrates the injection portion.), the sleeve having an inner sleeve surface and an outer sleeve surface surrounding the inner sleeve surface (See Fig. 1 showing the sleeve of the frame 9 having an inner sleeve surface facing the sorting filter 4, and an outer sleeve surface facing outwardly to the surroundings, the outer sleeve surface thereby surrounding the inner sleeve surface.); and
the sorting filter is fixed on the bottom end of the sleeve such that the sorting filter, the injection portion, and the inner sleeve surface jointly define a sorting chamber with an open top end (See Fig. 1 showing the sorting filter (as being fixed to the bottom sleeve surface), the liquid drawing ring, and the inner sleeve surface of the frame 9 forming a cavity structure with an open top end constituting a chamber into which the sperm sample flows from the inner tube 2.), the sorting filter having a plurality of micropores allowing passage of the motile sperms and a through hole corresponding to the injection hole (“the pore diameter of the porous membrane 4 is 0.5-15 μm, and can allow the sperm with strong activity to pass through”);
wherein the sorting filter, the bottom wall, and the surrounding wall jointly define a specimen chamber for receiving the semen specimen (As the bottom and surrounding walls form a well for receiving the filtered sperm sample as discussed above, and as the filter forms a top opposite the bottom wall, the filter, bottom wall, and surrounding wall thereby jointly define a specimen chamber for receiving the semen specimen.), and the injection hole brings the specimen chamber and the sorting chamber into communication with each other vertically (As discussed above, the injection hole is attached to the frame and sorting filter by way of the protrusions 7 of the inner tube 2, and the corresponding grooves of the frame 9 as seen through Fig. 1. As such, when the injection hole is attached to the frame 9 and the pair are inserted into the base 1, the injection hole of the inner tube 2 brings the specimen chamber of the base 1 and the sorting chamber of the frame 9 into communication with each other vertically.),
as in Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 8 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the sleeve further has a bottom sleeve surface connecting the inner sleeve surface and the outer sleeve surface (See Fig. 1 where the bottom sleeve surface is the bottom portion of the sleeve extending between the inner and outer sleeve surfaces.), and the sorting filter is fixed on the bottom sleeve surface of the sleeve (See Fig. 1 showing the sorting filter fixed on the bottom surface of the sleeve.), as in Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 9 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the sorting filter is further fixed to a bottom surface of the injection portion (As the injection portion is the step extending along the inner periphery of the sleeve, and the sorting filter is mounted under said step, the sorting filter is thereby further fixed to a bottom surface of the injection portion commensurately as claimed.), as in Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 11, Zhou teaches a sperm sorting device (See Fig. 1 and Abstract.) comprising:
a base including a bottom wall and a surrounding wall ("The bottom surface of the outer tube 1 is closed and is used for containing a semen sample."), the surrounding wall extending from a periphery of the bottom wall toward a top end of the base and surrounding an axis, the bottom wall and the surrounding wall jointly defining a receiving space (See Fig. 1 showing the outer tubular wall extending upwardly from the bottom of the base and terminating at the top of the groove 8 at the top end of the base.); and
a sorter (The frame 9 and filter 4.), the sorter comprising:
a protruding ring located on a periphery of the sorter (See Fig. 1 showing the mounting member frame comprising a cylindrical sidewall extending upwardly from the filter 4, the cylindrical sidewall being the protruding ring.), the protruding ring including: an inner sleeve surface that extends towards a bottom of the sorter (The inner cylindrical surface of the upstanding cylindrical protruding ring as seen through Fig. 1.); and a central hole for a sorting filter that spans the central hole and filters the semen specimen (The central hole formed by the opening surrounded by the sorting ring shown in Fig. 1 as being spanned by the filter 4.); and
an injection portion configured to join a sorting space above the sorter to the receiving space (The step along the inner periphery of the sleeve forming the inner volume of the frame 9 where injected sample travels through by gravity. As the injection portion lies at the boundary between the sorting space and the receiving space, the injection portion is configured to join a sorting space above the sorter to the receiving space commensurately as claimed.), the injection portion situated on a bottom edge of the inner sleeve surface (See Fig. 1 showing the injection portion (step surrounding the periphery of the inner sleeve surface) being located at the bottom edge of the inner sleeve surface just above the filter 4.),
as in Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 11 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the sorting filter includes a through hole that aligns with the injection portion (A pore/hole of the filter aligned with the injection portion.), as in Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 11 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the sorting filter does not extend over the injection portion (See Fig. 1 showing the sorting filter 4 extending under the injection portion, not over the injection portion.), as in Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 11 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the injection portion physically extends from the inner sleeve surface toward a center of the sorter (See Fig. 1 showing the injection portion physically extending as a circumferential block from the inner sleeve surface towards the central axis of the sorter.), as in Claim 14.
Regarding Claim 16, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 11 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the injection portion is located above the receiving space (See Fig. 1 showing the injection portion being located above the receiving space, as the injection portion is located on top of the filter 4 which forms the top end of the receiving space.), as in Claim 16.
Regarding Claim 17, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 11 as discussed above. Further, Zhou teaches the device discussed above wherein the sorter includes a connecting section that extends from the inner sleeve surface towards the central hole (The ridges and portions of the inner sleeve surface thereunder extending from the top portion of the inner sleeve surface towards the central axis/central hole.), wherein the injection portion extends through the connecting section (As the connecting section includes portions of the inner sleeve surface thereunder, and as the injection portion extends from the inner sleeve surface toward the connecting section and along the openings in the connecting section, the injection portion extends through the connecting section commensurately as claimed.), as in Claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou. Zhou has been discussed above.
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Zhou does not specifically teach the device discussed above wherein the base and the sorter are integrally formed as a single structure, as in Claim 1.
However, merely making integral as one piece what exists in the prior art as separate pieces absent any criticality or unexpected result is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04 (V)(B).
Herein, the separate base 1 and sorter 4/9 serve the identical function of the claimed integral base and sorter and do not function differently depending on them being integral or separate. By this, the claimed “base and the sorter are integrally formed as a single structure” is an obvious matter of design choice, absent evidence of a criticality or unexpected result resulting from the referenced elements being integrally formed.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Demirici (US 2016/0290913 A1), hereinafter “Demirici”. Zhou has been discussed above.
Regarding Claim 15, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 11 as discussed above. Further, Zhou does not specifically teach the device discussed above wherein the base and sorter are bonded together using an adhesive substance, as in Claim 15.
However, Demirici teaches a respective sperm sorting device where a layer comprising an injection space for receiving a sperm sample, and a layer comprising a filtering media for filtering the sperm sample, the filtering media being secured between the injection space layer and a bottom layer, and wherein said layers are adhered together using an adhesive substance so as to secure the filtering media between the layers (See Fig. 2B and [0040]: “The sperm traverse across a media 38 along the microfluidic chip 22, which may include the aforementioned glass 32, as well as a PMMA or other material layer 40, with a double-sided adhesive (DSA) layer 42 arranged there between to affix the glass 32 and PMMA layer 40 together.”), thereby preventing the filtering media from becoming dislodged and failing to properly filter the sperm sample.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Zhou wherein the base and sorter are bonded together using an adhesive substance, such as suggested by Demirici, so as to avoid the filter 4 becoming dislodged and failing to properly sort the sperm sample by letting unfiltered sample reach the receiving space by bypassing the filter.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BENJAMIN KASS whose telephone number is (703)756-5501. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Capozzi, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3638. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/B.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798