DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (US 2024/0283201) and Turner et al. (US 2023/0354477).
Regarding claim 1, Hunter (H) discloses a method for operating an air conditioner unit ([0022], PTAC), the method comprising: initiating a resistance heating cycle of the air conditioner unit (208, [0051]); determining a plug personality of a plug of the air conditioner unit, wherein the plug personality is an amperage limit of the plug; determining a nominal voltage rating of the air conditioner unit; determining, based on the plug personality and the nominal voltage rating ([0019]), but does not disclose the determination of a pulse width modulation rate percentage for a single bank resistance heater of the air conditioner unit; and setting, within a memory of a heater controller, the determined pulse width modulation rate percentage for the single bank resistance heater.
However, Turner (T), discloses a heating device (Abstract) wherein the controller (9,11,12, [0042], i.e., microprocessor) makes a determination of a pulse width modulation rate percentage for a single bank resistance heater ([0046]); and setting, within a memory of a heater controller (12), the determined pulse width modulation rate percentage for the single bank resistance heater ([0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a PWM current regulator to control the current to the heating elements in order to prevent damage or overheating to the heating elements.
Regarding claim 2, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determined plug personality corresponds to a first value (H-Figure 7B, [0049]), wherein the determined nominal voltage rating corresponds to a second value, and wherein the determined pulse width modulation rate percentage is based on the first value and the second value ([0032, 0059]). As a clarification, Hunter decerns the target value, whilst Trattler adjusts the duty cycle to reach the desired outcome.
Regarding claim 3, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plug personality is determined to be 15A, 20A, or 30A (H- [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the method of claim 3, wherein in response to the plug personality being determined to be 15A a first value is set to ½ ([0046], PWM percentage is calculated and can be from 0-100% depending on the heating requirements.).
Regarding claim 5, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the method of claim 3, wherein in response to the plug personality being determined to be 20A a first value is set to 2/3 ([0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the method of claim 3, wherein in response to the plug personality being determined to be 30A a first value is set to 1 ([0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the nominal voltage rating is determined to be 230V or 265V (H- Figure 7B).
Regarding claim 8, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the method of claim 7, wherein in response to the nominal voltage rating being determined to be 230V a second value is set to ¾ ([0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the method of claim 7, wherein in response to the nominal voltage rating being determined to be 265V a second value is set to 1 ([0046]).
Regarding claim 10, Hunter (H) discloses an air conditioner unit comprising: a plug ([0044], i.e., NEMA 6-15) for providing an electrical connection to the air conditioner unit (100); a single bank resistance heater for selectively heating a flow of air (208); and a heater controller operable for: initiating a resistance heating cycle of the air conditioner unit; determining a plug personality of the plug, wherein the plug personality is an amperage limit of the plug; determining a nominal voltage rating of the air conditioner unit; determining, based on the plug personality and the nominal voltage rating ([0019, 0044, 0051]), but does not disclose determining a pulse width modulation rate percentage for the single bank resistance heater; and setting the determined pulse width modulation rate percentage for the single bank resistance heater.
However, Turner (T), discloses a heating device (Abstract) wherein the controller (9,11,12, [0042], i.e., microprocessor) determines a pulse width modulation rate percentage for the single bank resistance heater ([0046]); and setting the determined pulse width modulation rate percentage for the single bank resistance heater (via 12, [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize a PWM current regulator to control the current to the heating elements in order to prevent damage or overheating to the heating elements.
Regarding claim 11, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 10, wherein the determined plug personality corresponds to a first value, wherein the determined nominal voltage rating corresponds to a second value, and wherein the determined pulse width modulation rate percentage is based on the first value and the second value ([0032, 0059]). As a clarification, Hunter decerns the target value, whilst Trattler adjusts the duty cycle to reach the desired outcome.
Regarding claim 12, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 10, wherein the plug personality is determined to be 15A, 20A, or 30A (H- [0044]).
Regarding claim 13, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 12, wherein in response to the plug personality being determined to be 15A a first value is set to ½ ([0046], PWM percentage is calculated and can be from 0-100% depending on the heating requirements).
Regarding claim 14, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 12, wherein in response to the plug personality being determined to be 20A a first value is set to 2/3 ([0046]).
Regarding claim 15, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 12, wherein in response to the plug personality being determined to be 30A a first value is set to 1 ([0046]).
Regarding claim 16, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 10, wherein the nominal voltage rating is determined to be 230V or 265V (H- Figure 7B).
Regarding claim 17, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 16, wherein in response to the nominal voltage rating being determined to be 230V a second value is set to ¾ ([0046]).
Regarding claim 18, Hunter (H), as modified, discloses the air conditioner unit of claim 16, wherein in response to the nominal voltage rating being determined to be 265V a second value is set to 1([0046]).
Conclusion
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762