DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner thanks the Applicant for the well-prepared amendment. The Examiner appreciates the Applicant’s effort to carefully analyze the Office action, and make appropriate arguments and amendments.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-30 responded on February 26, 2026 are pending, claims 1-8, 10, 12, 13, and 15-28 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed February 26, 2026 with regards of 35 USC § 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that examiner dissect a claimed invention into discrete elements and then evaluate the elements in isolation. Xu discloses in [0062] tracking (i.e. implicitly indicate monitoring), by the processing circuitry and using the TRS configuration, at least one of time or frequency. The Examiner cited the secondary reference to emphasize the monitoring. Teyer discloses in [0103-0105] A WTRU may (e.g., implicitly) determine an availability state associated with a cell, carrier, TRP, and/or frequency band…a detection of an RS signal tracking reference signal (TRS)) (i.e. monitor)…a WTRU's RRC state (e.g., Idle, inactive, or connected mode)…whether system information (e.g., periodic SI or a subset of SIBs) has been received (e.g., within a configured time window) for the entire monitor steps. Applicant also argued Teyer may provide different options. However, Claim does not recite addition limitation to clarify TRS configurations are provided to a UE via a SIB (the SIB is for connected mode), and then are provided again using dedicated RRC to connected UEs see specification [0026] to exclude other mode such as idle or inactive mode. Incorporating claim 4 and any intervening claims would help clarify the transmission is not only one way from BS to UE to exclude idle or inactive mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-11, 16-21 and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2023/0199778 A1, hereinafter "Xu") in view of Teyeb et al. (WO 2024/030635 A1, hereinafter "Teyeb").
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Xu, Fig. 2 200), comprising:
at least one memory (Xu, Fig. 2 250); and
at least one processor (Xu, Fig. 2 210) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a network node, a first tracking reference signal (TRS) configuration via a system information block (SIB) (Xu, [0033] the TRS/CSI-RS configurations can be provided in SIB signaling);
in a connected mode, a first resource for a TRS based on the first TRS configuration (Xu, [0019, 0032]) UE 105 can be connected to and can be communicating with base station 101 (e.g., the serving cell) using carrier 107 from which UE 105 receives the signaled TRS configurations; provide a number of approaches that specify potential TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) (i.e. first resource), which may be available to UEs in connected mode); and
perform a first set of TRS measurements for the TRS (Xu, [0020] UE 105 can measure one or more carriers (e.g., carrier 107) used for communication with base station 101 (e.g., the serving cell) to perform time and/or frequency tracking based on those TRS configurations).
Xu does not explicitly disclose monitor, in a connected mode, a first resource for a TRS based on the first TRS configuration.
Teyeb from the same field of endeavor discloses monitor, in a connected mode, a first resource for a TRS based on the first TRS configuration (Teyeb, [0103-0105] A WTRU may (e.g., implicitly) determine an availability state associated with a cell, carrier, TRP, and/or frequency band… a detection of an RS signal tracking reference signal (TRS)) (i.e. monitor)…a WTRU's RRC state (e.g., Idle, inactive, or connected mode)…whether system information (e.g., periodic SI or a subset of SIBs) has been received (e.g., within a configured time window)).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRS with SIB signaling disclosed by Xu and TRS with RRC signaling disclosed by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to reduce operational costs and improve environmental sustainability (Teyeb, [0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses wherein to perform the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS, the at least one processor is configured to perform the first set of TRS measurements based on the monitored first resource (Xu, [0019, 0032]) UE 105 can be connected to and can be communicating with base station 101 (e.g., the serving cell) using carrier 107 from which UE 105 receives the signaled TRS configurations; provide a number of approaches that specify potential TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) (i.e. first resource), which may be available to UEs in connected mode).
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the network node, a second TRS configuration via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Xu, [0043] it is noteworthy that both of the approaches above are applicable regardless of which signaling message carries the TRS configurations (i.e., whether it is SIB or RRC dedicated signaling). Furthermore, the above two approaches may be used to reduce the signaling overhead even if SIB segmentation is supported); but does not explicitly disclose refrain from monitoring the first resource indicated in the first TRS configuration;
monitor, in the connected mode, a second resource for the TRS based on the second TRS configuration; and perform a second set of TRS measurements for the TRS based on the monitored second resource.
Teyeb from the same field of endeavor discloses refrain from monitoring the first resource indicated in the first TRS configuration (Teyeb, [0088] A WTRU may receive or may refrain from receiving (e.g., not receive) the SIBs before accessing the cell. Other SI may be referred to as an On-Demand SI, for example, because the base station (e.g., gNB) may transmit/broadcast SIBs on request (e.g., only when explicitly requested by WTRU(s)). Transmission (e.g., only) upon request may reduce network energy consumption);
monitor, in the connected mode, a second resource for the TRS based on the second TRS configuration (Teyeb, [0117]A WTRU may monitor for reception of a presence indication or signal associated with a gNB configured with one or more availability states (e.g., on, off, dormant, and/or deep sleep). A presence indication may be a physical downlink signal transmitted by the associated cell or gNB that is sleeping, e.g., in certain availability states, such as deep sleep, micro sleep, dormant, or off. A presence indication may (e.g., alternatively) be downlink information (e.g., downlink information bits) that are delivered to the WTRU, for example, by broadcast signalling (e.g., system information block (SIB)) or by dedicated signalling (e.g., RRC signalling or MAC CE)); and
perform a second set of TRS measurements for the TRS based on the monitored second resource (Teyeb, [0115] A WTRU may determine that an uplink or downlink resource and/or signal are available for transmission/reception and/or measurements for the determined network availability state, for example, if applicable In the active availability state. A WTRU may determine that one or more (e.g., a subset of) measurement resources and/or signals (e.g., SSBs, CSI-RS, TRS, PRS) are not applicable in one or more).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRS with SIB signaling disclosed by Xu and TRS with RRC signaling disclosed by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to reduce operational costs and improve environmental sustainability (Teyeb, [0074]).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses wherein to monitor, in the connected mode, the first resource for the TRS based on the first TRS configuration, the at least one processor is configured to monitor, in the connected mode, the first resource for the TRS based on a periodicity of the TRS (Xu, [0035] This
conventional approach to TRS configuration information signaling requires a large number of information sub-elements… aperiodicTriggeringOffset and trs-Info).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses an absence of a second TRS configuration, from the network node, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a periodicity indication from the network node that indicates the periodicity of the TRS (Xu, claim 11 wherein one or more of the following parameters are absent from all of the respective TRS information elements: repetition, trs-info, nrofPorts,
firstOFDMSymbo!InTimeDomain2, cdm-Type, density, and powerControlOffset).
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses wherein the first TRS configuration indicates at most one TRS resource set is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) beam, wherein the at most one TRS resource set includes the first resource (Xu, [0003] at least one TRS configuration described by a respective TRS information element, the respective TRS information element including one or more of the following parameters: a first parameter indicating an index of the TRS-Resource; a second parameter indicating a frequency domain allocation using 2 bits; a third parameter using 4 bits to indicate location of a first symbol in a slot; a fourth parameter using 2 bits indicating a ratio of energy or power… a sixth parameter indicating a transmission period and a slot offset of a CSI-RS resource (i.e. TRS resource set); a seventh parameter using no more than 6 bits, and indicating a corresponding SSB index);
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the network node, a selection indication and an index associated with the SSB beam, wherein the index associated with the SSB beam corresponds to a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state configuration, wherein the selection indication corresponds to the at most one TRS resource set; and
apply the TCI state configuration based on the selection indication and the index associated with the SSB beam (Xu, [0047] instead of the using the conventional TCI signaling structure, the QCL information can be more simply indicated as the corresponding SSB index. This is because the particular SSB is the only reference available to idle/inactive UEs. With up to 64 SSB beams available in a TRS configuration, the parameter QCL indication requires a maximum of 6 bits. In a further simplification, the actual bit-width for the QCL information can be determined based on the actual number of SSB beams. The actual number of SSB beams is indicated by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1. If 4 SSB beams are available, then 2 bits are sufficient to signal the QCL indication information for the TRS configuration).
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses wherein the first TRS configuration indicates more than one TRS resource set is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) beam, wherein a TRS resource set of the more than one TRS resource set includes the first resource (Xu, [0003] at least one TRS configuration described by a respective TRS information element, the respective TRS information element including one or more of the following parameters: a first parameter indicating an index of the TRS-Resource; a second parameter indicating a frequency domain allocation using 2 bits; a third parameter using 4 bits to indicate location of a first symbol in a slot; a fourth parameter using 2 bits indicating a ratio of energy or power… a sixth parameter indicating a transmission period and a slot offset of a CSI-RS resource (i.e. TRS resource set); a seventh parameter using no more than 6 bits, and indicating a corresponding SSB index);
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the network node, a selection indication and an order value
associated with an ordered location of the TRS resource set in the more than one
TRS resource set, wherein the order value associated with the TRS resource set
corresponds to a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state configuration,
wherein the selection indication corresponds to the TRS resource set; and
apply the TCI state configuration based on the selection indication and
the order value associated with the TRS resource set (Xu, [0047] instead of the using the conventional TCI signaling structure, the QCL information can be more simply indicated as the corresponding SSB index. This is because the particular SSB is the only reference available to idle/inactive UEs. With up to 64 SSB beams available in a TRS configuration, the parameter QCL indication requires a maximum of 6 bits. In a further simplification, the actual bit-width for the QCL information can be determined based on the actual number of SSB beams. The actual number of SSB beams is indicated by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1. If 4 SSB beams are available, then 2 bits are sufficient to signal the QCL indication information for the TRS configuration).
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses wherein the first TRS configuration indicates an identifier of a TRS resource set that includes the TRS resource (Xu, [0003] at least one TRS configuration described by a respective TRS information element, the respective TRS information element including one or more of the following parameters: a first parameter indicating an index of the TRS-Resource; a second parameter indicating a frequency domain allocation using 2 bits; a third parameter using 4 bits to indicate location of a first symbol in a slot; a fourth parameter using 2 bits indicating a ratio of energy or power… a sixth parameter indicating a transmission period and a slot offset of a CSI-RS resource (i.e. TRS resource set); a seventh parameter using no more than 6 bits, and indicating a corresponding SSB index);
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the network node, a selection indication and the identifier
of the TRS resource set, wherein the identifier of the TRS resource set corresponds to a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state configuration, wherein the selection indication corresponds to the TRS resource set; and apply the TCI state configuration based on the selection indication and the identifier of the TRS resource set. (Xu, [0047] instead of the using the conventional TCI signaling structure, the QCL information can be more simply indicated as the corresponding SSB index. This is because the particular SSB is the only reference available to idle/inactive UEs. With up to 64 SSB beams available in a TRS configuration, the parameter QCL indication requires a maximum of 6 bits. In a further simplification, the actual bit-width for the QCL information can be determined based on the actual number of SSB beams. The actual number of SSB beams is indicated by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1. If 4 SSB beams are available, then 2 bits are sufficient to signal the QCL indication information for the TRS configuration).
Regarding claim 19, Xu discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
communicate, with the network node, based on the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS (Xu, [0020] UE 105 can measure one or more carriers (e.g., carrier 107) used for communication with base station 101 (e.g., the serving cell) to perform time and/or frequency tracking based on those TRS configurations).
Regarding claim 20, Xu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (Xu, Fig. 2 200), comprising:
at least one memory (Xu, Fig. 2 250); and
at least one processor (Xu, Fig. 2 210) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
provide, for a user equipment (UE), a first tracking reference signal (TRS)
configuration, associated with a TRS for a connected mode of the UE, via a system
information block (SIB) (Xu, [0019, 0033] UE 105 can be connected to and can be communicating with base station 101 (e.g., the serving cell) using carrier 107 from which UE 105 receives the signaled TRS configurations; the TRS/CSI-RS configurations can be provided in SIB signaling); and
communicate, with the UE, based on a first set of TRS measurements for the
TRS (Xu, [0020, 0032] UE 105 can measure one or more carriers (e.g., carrier 107) used for communication with base station 101 (e.g., the serving cell) to perform time and/or frequency tracking based on those TRS configurations)).
Xu does not explicitly disclose a monitored first resource of the TRS associated with the first TRS configuration.
Teyeb from the same field of endeavor discloses TRS that is associated with a monitored first resource of the TRS associated with the first TRS configuration (Teyeb, [0103-0105] A WTRU may (e.g., implicitly) determine an availability state associated with a cell, carrier, TRP, and/or frequency band… a detection of an RS signal tracking reference signal (TRS)) (i.e. monitor)…a WTRU's RRC state (e.g., Idle, inactive, or connected mode)…whether system information (e.g., periodic SI or a subset of SIBs) has been received (e.g., within a configured time window)).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRS with SIB signaling disclosed by Xu and TRS with RRC signaling disclosed by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to reduce operational costs and improve environmental sustainability (Teyeb, [0074]).
Regarding claim 21, Xu discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
provide, for the UE, a second TRS configuration via radio resource control
(RRC) signaling (Xu, [0043] it is noteworthy that both of the approaches above are applicable regardless of which signaling message carries the TRS configurations (i.e., whether it is SIB or RRC dedicated signaling). Furthermore, the above two approaches may be used to reduce the signaling overhead even if SIB segmentation is supported); but does not explicitly disclose communicate, with the UE and absent further communication based on the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS, based on a second set of TRS measurements for the TRS that is associated with a monitored second resource of the TRS associated with the second TRS configuration.
Teyeb from the same field of endeavor discloses communicate, with the UE and absent further communication based on the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS, based on a second set of TRS measurements for the TRS that is associated with a monitored second resource of the TRS associated with the second TRS configuration (Teyeb, [0088, 0115] A WTRU may receive or may refrain from receiving (e.g., not receive) the SIBs before accessing the cell. Other SI may be referred to as an On-Demand SI, for example, because the base station (e.g., gNB) may transmit/broadcast SIBs on request (e.g., only when explicitly requested by WTRU(s)). Transmission (e.g., only) upon request may reduce network energy consumption; A WTRU may determine that an uplink or downlink resource and/or signal are available for transmission/reception and/or measurements for the determined network availability state, for example, if applicable In the active availability state. A WTRU may determine that one or more (e.g., a subset of) measurement resources and/or signals (e.g., SSBs, CSI-RS, TRS, PRS) are not applicable in one or more).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRS with SIB signaling disclosed by Xu and TRS with RRC signaling disclosed by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to reduce operational costs and improve environmental sustainability (Teyeb, [0074]).
Regarding claim 26, Xu discloses wherein the first TRS configuration indicates at most one TRS resource set is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) beam, wherein the at most one TRS resource set includes the monitored first resource (Xu, [0003] at least one TRS configuration described by a respective TRS information element, the respective TRS information element including one or more of the following parameters: a first parameter indicating an index of the TRS-Resource; a second parameter indicating a frequency domain allocation using 2 bits; a third parameter using 4 bits to indicate location of a first symbol in a slot; a fourth parameter using 2 bits indicating a ratio of energy or power… a sixth parameter indicating a transmission period and a slot offset of a CSI-RS resource (i.e. TRS resource set); a seventh parameter using no more than 6 bits, and indicating a corresponding SSB index); wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
configure the UE with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state
configuration based on a selection indication and an index associated with the
SSB beam by providing, for the UE, the selection indication and the index
associated with the SSB beam, wherein the index associated with the SSB beam
corresponds to the TCI state configuration, wherein the selection indication
corresponds to the at most one TRS resource set (Xu, [0047] instead of the using the conventional TCI signaling structure, the QCL information can be more simply indicated as the corresponding SSB index. This is because the particular SSB is the only reference available to idle/inactive UEs. With up to 64 SSB beams available in a TRS configuration, the parameter QCL indication requires a maximum of 6 bits. In a further simplification, the actual bit-width for the QCL information can be determined based on the actual number of SSB beams. The actual number of SSB beams is indicated by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1. If 4 SSB beams are available, then 2 bits are sufficient to signal the QCL indication information for the TRS configuration).
Regarding claim 27, Xu discloses wherein the first TRS configuration indicates more than one TRS resource set is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB) beam, wherein a TRS resource set of the more than one TRS resource set includes the monitored first resource (Xu, [0003] at least one TRS configuration described by a respective TRS information element, the respective TRS information element including one or more of the following parameters: a first parameter indicating an index of the TRS-Resource; a second parameter indicating a frequency domain allocation using 2 bits; a third parameter using 4 bits to indicate location of a first symbol in a slot; a fourth parameter using 2 bits indicating a ratio of energy or power… a sixth parameter indicating a transmission period and a slot offset of a CSI-RS resource (i.e. TRS resource set); a seventh parameter using no more than 6 bits, and indicating a corresponding SSB index); wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
configure the UE with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state
configuration based on a selection indication and an order value associated with
the TRS resource set, wherein to configure the UE with the TCI state
configuration, the at least one processor is configured to provide, for the UE, the selection indication and the order value associated with an ordered location of the TRS resource set in the more than one TRS resource set, wherein the order value associated with the TRS resource set corresponds to the TCI state configuration, wherein the selection indication corresponds to the TRS resource set (Xu, [0047] instead of the using the conventional TCI signaling structure, the QCL information can be more simply indicated as the corresponding SSB index. This is because the particular SSB is the only reference available to idle/inactive UEs. With up to 64 SSB beams available in a TRS configuration, the parameter QCL indication requires a maximum of 6 bits. In a further simplification, the actual bit-width for the QCL information can be determined based on the actual number of SSB beams. The actual number of SSB beams is indicated by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1. If 4 SSB beams are available, then 2 bits are sufficient to signal the QCL indication information for the TRS configuration).
Regarding claim 28, Xu discloses wherein the first TRS configuration indicates an identifier of a TRS resource set that includes the monitored first resource (Xu, [0003] at least one TRS configuration described by a respective TRS information element, the respective TRS information element including one or more of the following parameters: a first parameter indicating an index of the TRS-Resource; a second parameter indicating a frequency domain allocation using 2 bits; a third parameter using 4 bits to indicate location of a first symbol in a slot; a fourth parameter using 2 bits indicating a ratio of energy or power… a sixth parameter indicating a transmission period and a slot offset of a CSI-RS resource (i.e. TRS resource set); a seventh parameter using no more than 6 bits, and indicating a corresponding SSB index); wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: configure the UE with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state configuration based on a selection indication and the identifier of the TRS resource set by providing, for the UE, the selection indication and the identifier
of the TRS resource set, wherein the identifier of the TRS resource set
corresponds to the TCI state configuration, wherein the selection indication
corresponds to the TRS resource set (Xu, [0047] instead of the using the conventional TCI signaling structure, the QCL information can be more simply indicated as the corresponding SSB index. This is because the particular SSB is the only reference available to idle/inactive UEs. With up to 64 SSB beams available in a TRS configuration, the parameter QCL indication requires a maximum of 6 bits. In a further simplification, the actual bit-width for the QCL information can be determined based on the actual number of SSB beams. The actual number of SSB beams is indicated by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1. If 4 SSB beams are available, then 2 bits are sufficient to signal the QCL indication information for the TRS configuration).
Regarding claims 29-30, these claims recite "a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)" and "a method of wireless communication at a network node" that disclose similar steps as recited in claims 1 and 20, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claims 1 and 20 as presented above.
Claims 5, 8, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2023/0199778 A1, hereinafter "Xu") in view of Teyeb et al. (WO 2024/030635 A1, hereinafter "Teyeb") as applied to claim above, and further in view of Nagata et al. (WO 2014/002943 A1, hereinafter "Nagata").
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the network node, a second TRS configuration via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Xu, [0043] it is noteworthy that both of the approaches above are applicable regardless of which signaling message carries the TRS configurations (i.e., whether it is SIB or RRC dedicated signaling). Furthermore, the above two approaches may be used to reduce the signaling overhead even if SIB segmentation is supported); but does not explicitly disclose receive, from the network node, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration; wherein to monitor, in the connected mode, the first resource for the TRS based on the first TRS configuration, the at least one processor is configured to monitor the first resource for the TRS based on the configuration prioritization indicated by the priority indication.
Nagata from the same field of endeavor discloses receive, from the network node, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration (Nagata, [0135] The CSI acquisition unit 2045 acquires the CSI of each cell fed back from the user terminal via the PUCCH or the like. The CSI fed back from the user terminal via the PUCCH is set to an index of each information (SMR, IMR, UE emulation, NZP CSI-RS, etc.) used to generate each CSI so as to avoid collision. Selected based on priority); wherein to monitor, in the connected mode, the first resource for the TRS based on the first TRS configuration, the at least one processor is configured to monitor the first resource for the TRS based on the configuration prioritization indicated by the priority indication (Nagata, [0136] The priority information generation unit 2044 selects each information (SMR, IMR, UE emulation, NZP CSI-RS) used to generate CSI in order to select a feedback CSI from among a plurality of types of CSI generated by the user terminal. Etc.) is set as a priority. Information on the index for which the priority is set is transmitted by, for example, a broadcast signal (Master Information Block (MIB) transmitted using Physical Broadcast Channel), or System Information Block (SIB) multiplexed on the data channel. Alternatively, it is notified from the radio base station to the user terminal by upper layer signaling, RRC signaling).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Nagata’s system for priority indication into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to support audio/video on avoid collision (Nagata, [0135]).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses receive, from the network node, a second TRS configuration via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the second TRS configuration indicates a second resource for the TRS (Xu, [0043] it is noteworthy that both of the approaches above are applicable regardless of which signaling message carries the TRS configurations (i.e., whether it is SIB or RRC dedicated signaling). Furthermore, the above two approaches may be used to reduce the signaling overhead even if SIB segmentation is supported); wherein to perform the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS, the at least one processor is configured to perform the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS based on the monitored first resource (Xu, [0020] UE 105 can measure one or more carriers (e.g., carrier 107) used for communication with base station 101 (e.g., the serving cell) to perform time and/or frequency tracking based on those TRS configurations) but does not explicitly disclose to perform a second set of TRS measurements for the TRS based on the monitored second resource.
Teyeb from the same field of endeavor discloses perform a second set of TRS measurements for the TRS based on the monitored second resource (Teyeb, [0115] A WTRU may determine that an uplink or downlink resource and/or signal are available for transmission/reception and/or measurements for the determined network availability state, for example, if applicable In the active availability state. A WTRU may determine that one or more (e.g., a subset of) measurement resources and/or signals (e.g., SSBs, CSI-RS, TRS, PRS) are not applicable in one or more).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRS with SIB signaling disclosed by Xu and TRS with RRC signaling disclosed by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to reduce operational costs and improve environmental sustainability (Teyeb, [0074]).
Xu in view of Teyeb does not explicitly disclose receive, from the network node, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration;
wherein to monitor, in the connected mode, the first resource for the TRS based
on the first TRS configuration, the at least one processor is configured to monitor the second resource for the TRS based on the second TRS configuration according to the priority indication.
Nagata from the same field of endeavor discloses receive, from the network node, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration (Nagata, [0135] The CSI acquisition unit 2045 acquires the CSI of each cell fed back from the user terminal via the PUCCH or the like. The CSI fed back from the user terminal via the PUCCH is set to an index of each information (SMR, IMR, UE emulation, NZP CSI-RS, etc.) used to generate each CSI so as to avoid collision. Selected based on priority); wherein to monitor, in the connected mode, the first resource for the TRS based on the first TRS configuration, the at least one processor is configured to monitor the second resource for the TRS based on the second TRS configuration according to the priority indication (Nagata, [0136] The priority information generation unit 2044 selects each information (SMR, IMR, UE emulation, NZP CSI-RS) used to generate CSI in order to select a feedback CSI from among a plurality of types of CSI generated by the user terminal. Etc.) is set as a priority. Information on the index for which the priority is set is transmitted by, for example, a broadcast signal (Master Information Block (MIB) transmitted using Physical Broadcast Channel), or System Information Block (SIB) multiplexed on the data channel. Alternatively, it is notified from the radio base station to the user terminal by upper layer signaling, RRC signaling).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Nagata’s system for priority indication into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to support audio/video on avoid collision (Nagata, [0135]).
Regarding claim 23, Xu discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
provide, for the UE, a second TRS configuration via radio resource control
(RRC) signaling (Xu, [0043] it is noteworthy that both of the approaches above are applicable regardless of which signaling message carries the TRS configurations (i.e., whether it is SIB or RRC dedicated signaling). Furthermore, the above two approaches may be used to reduce the signaling overhead even if SIB segmentation is supported); but does not explicitly disclose provide, for the UE, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration;
wherein to communicate, with the UE, based on the first set of TRS
measurements for the TRS that is associated with the monitored first resource of the
TRS associated with the first TRS configuration, the at least one processor is configured to communicate based on the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS and also based on the priority indication.
Nagata from the same field of endeavor discloses provide, for the UE, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration (Nagata, [0135] The CSI acquisition unit 2045 acquires the CSI of each cell fed back from the user terminal via the PUCCH or the like. The CSI fed back from the user terminal via the PUCCH is set to an index of each information (SMR, IMR, UE emulation, NZP CSI-RS, etc.) used to generate each CSI so as to avoid collision. Selected based on priority); wherein to communicate, with the UE, based on the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS that is associated with the monitored first resource of the TRS associated with the first TRS configuration, the at least one processor is configured to communicate based on the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS and also based on the priority indication (Nagata, [0136] The priority information generation unit 2044 selects each information (SMR, IMR, UE emulation, NZP CSI-RS) used to generate CSI in order to select a feedback CSI from among a plurality of types of CSI generated by the user terminal. Etc.) is set as a priority. Information on the index for which the priority is set is transmitted by, for example, a broadcast signal (Master Information Block (MIB) transmitted using Physical Broadcast Channel), or System Information Block (SIB) multiplexed on the data channel. Alternatively, it is notified from the radio base station to the user terminal by upper layer signaling, RRC signaling).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Nagata’s system for priority indication into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to support audio/video on avoid collision (Nagata, [0135]).
Regarding claim 24, Xu discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
provide, for the UE, a second TRS configuration via radio resource control
(RRC) signaling, wherein the second TRS configuration indicates a second resource for
the TRS (Xu, [0043] it is noteworthy that both of the approaches above are applicable regardless of which signaling message carries the TRS configurations (i.e., whether it is SIB or RRC dedicated signaling). Furthermore, the above two approaches may be used to reduce the signaling overhead even if SIB segmentation is supported); and wherein to communicate, with the UE, based on the first set of TRS measurements (Teyeb, [0115] A WTRU may determine that an uplink or downlink resource and/or signal are available for transmission/reception and/or measurements for the determined network availability state, for example, if applicable In the active availability state. A WTRU may determine that one or more (e.g., a subset of) measurement resources and/or signals (e.g., SSBs, CSI-RS, TRS, PRS) are not applicable in one or more) but does not explicitly disclose the TRS that is associated with the monitored first resource of the TRS associated with the first TRS configuration and a monitored second resource of the TRS associated with the second TRS configuration.
Teyeb from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein to communicate, with the UE, based on the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS that is associated with the monitored first resource of the TRS associated with the first TRS configuration, the at least one processor is configured to communicate based on a second set of TRS measurements for the TRS associated with a monitored second resource of the TRS associated with the second TRS configuration (Teyeb, [0115] A WTRU may determine that an uplink or downlink resource and/or signal are available for transmission/reception and/or measurements for the determined network availability state, for example, if applicable In the active availability state. A WTRU may determine that one or more (e.g., a subset of) measurement resources and/or signals (e.g., SSBs, CSI-RS, TRS, PRS) are not applicable in one or more).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TRS with SIB signaling disclosed by Xu and TRS with RRC signaling disclosed by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to reduce operational costs and improve environmental sustainability (Teyeb, [0074]).
Xu in view of Teyeb does not explicitly disclose provide, for the UE, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration.
Nagata from the same field of endeavor discloses provide, for the UE, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration (Nagata, [0135] The CSI acquisition unit 2045 acquires the CSI of each cell fed back from the user terminal via the PUCCH or the like. The CSI fed back from the user terminal via the PUCCH is set to an index of each information (SMR, IMR, UE emulation, NZP CSI-RS, etc.) used to generate each CSI so as to avoid collision. Selected based on priority); wherein to communicate, with the UE, based on the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS that is associated with the monitored first resource of the TRS associated with the first TRS configuration, the at least one processor is configured to communicate based on a second set of TRS measurements for the TRS associated with a monitored second resource of the TRS associated with the second TRS configuration according to the priority indication (Nagata, [0136] The priority information generation unit 2044 selects each information (SMR, IMR, UE emulation, NZP CSI-RS) used to generate CSI in order to select a feedback CSI from among a plurality of types of CSI generated by the user terminal. Etc.) is set as a priority. Information on the index for which the priority is set is transmitted by, for example, a broadcast signal (Master Information Block (MIB) transmitted using Physical Broadcast Channel), or System Information Block (SIB) multiplexed on the data channel. Alternatively, it is notified from the radio base station to the user terminal by upper layer signaling, RRC signaling).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Nagata’s system for priority indication into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to support audio/video on avoid collision (Nagata, [0135]).
Claims 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2023/0199778 A1, hereinafter "Xu") in view of Teyeb et al. (WO 2024/030635 A1, hereinafter "Teyeb") and Nagata et al. (WO 2014/002943 A1, hereinafter "Nagata") as applied to claim above, and further in view of Nam et al. (US 10,805,980 B2, hereinafter "Nam").
Regarding claim 6, Xu in view of Teyeb and Nagata does not explicitly disclose
wherein to receive the priority indication, the at least one processor is configured to receive the priority indication via an extension of the SIB, UE-dedicated signaling, or group-common signaling.
Nam from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein to receive the priority indication, the at least one processor is configured to receive the priority indication via an extension of the SIB, UE-dedicated signaling, or group-common signaling (Nam, Col. 14 line 1-3 Indication of reclaimed resources may be a cell-specific, UE-specific, or UE-group-specific indication of resource allocation).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Nam’s system for priority indication into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve spectral efficiency, lowering costs and improve services (Nam, Col. 2 line 3-5).
Regarding claim 7, Xu in view of Teyeb and Nagata does not explicitly disclose
wherein to receive the priority indication, the at least one processor is configured to receive the priority indication semi-statically or dynamically.
Nam from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein to receive the priority indication, the at least one processor is configured to receive the priority indication semi-statically or dynamically (Nam, Col. 13 line 14-22 Col. 14 line 5-9 the FC resources may be dynamically reconfigured to be used by any services or cells/TRPs/VEs (including legacy services/devices) for different
purposes The indication, by MAC-CE and/or DCI or DCI alone signaling, has higher priority over RRC-signaling and/or broadcasting-based assignment of FC resources).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Nam’s system for priority indication into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve spectral efficiency, lowering costs and improve services (Nam, Col. 2 line 3-5).
Claims 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2023/0199778 A1, hereinafter "Xu") in view of Teyeb et al. (WO 2024/030635 A1, hereinafter "Teyeb") and Nagata et al. (WO 2014/002943 A1, hereinafter "Nagata") as applied to claim above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 12,213,107 B2, hereinafter "Li").
Regarding claim 9, Nagata discloses Beamforming may be supported and beam direction may be dynamically configured but does not explicitly disclose wherein the priority indication includes a first indication of a first beam direction associated with the first TRS configuration and a second indication of a second beam direction associated with the second TRS configuration.
Li from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the priority indication includes a first indication of a first beam direction associated with the first TRS configuration and a second indication of a second beam direction associated with the second TRS configuration (Li, Col.7 line 41-45 the spatial direction information is the spatial relationship between a spatial RS and a transmission channel. The RS includes any one of an SSB, a CSI-RS, an SRS or a DRS. The spatial direction information is configured by a UE-specific parameter…different spatial reference signals (RSs) have a priority order, and different beam directions have a priority order).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Li’s system for priority indication with beam direction into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve data transmission efficiency (Li, Col. 1 line 32).
Claims 12-15 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2023/0199778 A1, hereinafter "Xu") in view of Teyeb et al. (WO 2024/030635 A1, hereinafter "Teyeb") and Nagata et al. (WO 2014/002943 A1, hereinafter "Nagata") as applied to claim above, and further in view of Chatterjee et al. (WO 2022/031540 A1, hereinafter "Chatterjee").
Regarding claim 12, Xu does not explicitly disclose provide, to the network node, a capability indication of the UE, wherein the capability indication provides indicia of support of the UE for a paging error indication (PEI) and paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in the connected mode; and
receive, from the network node, an activity indication associated with the first resource for the TRS that indicates an activation or a deactivation of the first resource for the TRS.
Chatterjee from the same field of endeavor discloses provide, to the network node, a capability indication of the UE, wherein the capability indication provides indicia of support of the UE for a paging error indication (PEI) and paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in the connected mode (Chatterjee, [00106-00107] first monitoring occasion of a PDCCH-hased WUS or PEI can be a UE capability or configured by higher layer signalling and can be expressed in slots for a given numerology or expressed in ms, such as 1, 2, ..... , 60ms. The UE may indicate multiple values via capability signalling); and
receive, from the network node, an activity indication associated with the first resource for the TRS that indicates an activation or a deactivation of the first resource for the TRS (Chatterjee, [0074] when a DCI is used in which the CRC is scrambled by a P-RNTI, the TRS availability can be indicated, or activated or deactivated, if the Short Message Indicator field indicates ‘00’ …monitor the DCI with the CRC scrambled by the P-RNTI during the PO may implicitly indicate to the UE that one or more of the following TRS and/or CSI- RS occasions is available) .
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Chatterjee’s system for PEI capability with beam direction into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve energy efficiency in 5G/NR (Chatterjee, [0054]).
Regarding claim 13, Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein the activity indication includes a single bit that indicates the activation or the deactivation, wherein to receive the activity indication, the at least one processor is configured to receive the activity indication via the SIB or radio resource control (RRC) signaling; or wherein the activity indication includes a validity duration extension that indicates an extended time period for which a first TRS resource set that includes the first resource of the TRS is activated (not given patentable weight due to not selected option).
Chatterjee from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the activity indication includes a single bit that indicates the activation or the deactivation, wherein to receive the activity indication, the at least one processor is configured to receive the activity indication via the SIB or radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Chatterjee, [0074] when a DCI is used in which the CRC is scrambled by a P-RNTI, the TRS availability can be indicated, or activated or deactivated, if the Short Message Indicator field indicates ‘00’ (which is reserved in the existing design). Alternatively, if the Short Message Indicator field indicates ‘01 ’, ‘ 10’, or ‘ 11’, the UE may assume one or more of the following TRS and/or CSI-RS occasions are available or available for the following occasions until another signalling, such as higher layer or DCI, deactivates the availability).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Chatterjee’s system for PEI capability with beam direction into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve energy efficiency in 5G/NR (Chatterjee, [0054]).
Claim 14 does not give patentable weight due to depend on the non selected option of claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, Xu does not explicitly disclose wherein to receive the activity indication associated with the first resource for the TRS, the at least one processor is configured to receive, based on the capability indication of the UE indicating a lack of the support, the activity indication associated with the first resource for the TRS via unicast or group-common downlink control information (DCI) or via a unicast or multi-cast medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE).
Chatterjee from the same field of endeavor discloses receive, based on the capability indication of the UE indicating a lack of the support, the activity indication associated with the first resource for the TRS via unicast or group-common downlink control information (DCI) (Chatterjee, [0074] when a DCI is used in which the CRC is scrambled by a P-RNTI, the TRS availability can be indicated, or activated or deactivated, if the Short Message Indicator field indicates ‘00’ (which is reserved in the existing design). Alternatively, if the Short Message Indicator field indicates ‘01 ’, ‘ 10’, or ‘ 11’, the UE may assume one or more of the following TRS and/or CSI-RS occasions are available or available for the following occasions until another signalling, such as higher layer or DCI, deactivates the availability).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Chatterjee’s system for PEI capability with beam direction into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve energy efficiency in 5G/NR (Chatterjee, [0054]).
Regarding claim 25, Xu does not explicitly disclose receive, from the UE, a capability indication of the UE, wherein the capability indication provides indicia of support of the UE for a paging error indication (PEI) and paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in the connected mode; and
provide, for the UE, an activity indication associated with the monitored first resource for the TRS that indicates an activation or a deactivation of the monitored first resource for the TRS;
wherein the activity indication includes a single bit that indicates the activation or the deactivation, wherein to receive the activity indication, the at least one processor is configured to receive the activity indication via the SIB or radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the activity indication includes a validity duration extension that indicates an extended time period for which a first resource set that includes the monitored first resource of the TRS is activated, wherein the extended time period is different from at least one of (i) a first time period associated with a first activation of a second TRS resource set that excludes the monitored first resource of the TRS, or (ii) a second time period associated with a second activation of a third TRS resource set of a different UE in an idle mode (not given patentable weight due to not selected option), or
wherein to receive the activity indication associated with the monitored first resource for the TRS, the at least one processor is configured to receive, based on the capability indication of the UE indicating a lack of the support, the activity indication associated with the monitored first resource for the TRS via unicast or group-common downlink control information (DCI) or via a unicast or multi-cast medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE).
Chatterjee from the same field of endeavor discloses receive, from the UE, a capability indication of the UE, wherein the capability indication provides indicia of support of the UE for a paging error indication (PEI) and paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring in the connected mode (Chatterjee, [00106-00107] first monitoring occasion of a PDCCH-hased WUS or PEI can be a UE capability or configured by higher layer signalling and can be expressed in slots for a given numerology or expressed in ms, such as 1, 2, ..... , 60ms. The UE may indicate multiple values via capability signalling); and
provide, for the UE, an activity indication associated with the monitored first resource for the TRS that indicates an activation or a deactivation of the monitored first resource for the TRS (Chatterjee, [0074] when a DCI is used in which the CRC is scrambled by a P-RNTI, the TRS availability can be indicated, or activated or deactivated, if the Short Message Indicator field indicates ‘00’ …monitor the DCI with the CRC scrambled by the P-RNTI during the PO may implicitly indicate to the UE that one or more of the following TRS and/or CSI- RS occasions is available);
wherein the activity indication includes a single bit that indicates the activation or the deactivation, wherein to receive the activity indication, the at least one processor is configured to receive the activity indication via the SIB or radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Chatterjee, [0074] when a DCI is used in which the CRC is scrambled by a P-RNTI, the TRS availability can be indicated, or activated or deactivated, if the Short Message Indicator field indicates ‘00’ (which is reserved in the existing design). Alternatively, if the Short Message Indicator field indicates ‘01 ’, ‘ 10’, or ‘ 11’, the UE may assume one or more of the following TRS and/or CSI-RS occasions are available or available for the following occasions until another signalling, such as higher layer or DCI, deactivates the availability), wherein to receive the activity indication associated with the monitored first resource for the TRS, the at least one processor is configured to receive, based on the capability indication of the UE indicating a lack of the support, the activity indication associated with the monitored first resource for the TRS via unicast or group-common downlink control information (DCI) or via a unicast or multi-cast medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Chatterjee, [0074] when a DCI is used in which the CRC is scrambled by a P-RNTI, the TRS availability can be indicated, or activated or deactivated, if the Short Message Indicator field indicates ‘00’ (which is reserved in the existing design). Alternatively, if the Short Message Indicator field indicates ‘01 ’, ‘ 10’, or ‘ 11’, the UE may assume one or more of the following TRS and/or CSI-RS occasions are available or available for the following occasions until another signalling, such as higher layer or DCI, deactivates the availability).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to include the teachings of Chatterjee’s system for PEI capability with beam direction into Xu’s TRS configuration process as modified by Teyeb with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve energy efficiency in 5G/NR (Chatterjee, [0054]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4 and 22 are potentially allowable over the prior art of record Xu et al. (US 2023/0199778 A1, hereinafter "Xu") in view of Teyeb et al. (WO 2024/030635 A1, hereinafter "Teyeb") and further in view of Nagata et al. (WO 2014/002943 A1, hereinafter "Nagata") as applied to the claim above.
Regarding claim 4, Xu in view of Teyeb discloses TRS configuration to replace multiple CSI-RS resource configurations but does not explicitly disclose receive, from the network node after the reception of the second TRS configuration, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration.
Nagata discloses receive, from the network node after the reception of the second TRS configuration, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration (Nagata, [0145] The priority information acquisition unit 1045 relates to an index of each information (SMR, IMR, UE emulation, NZP CSI-RS, etc.) used for generating CSI, a cell index, a CSI index, and a priority set for these combinations. Get information. When the radio base station determines the priority of each information, the information about the index for which the priority is set is, for example, a broadcast signal (Master Information Block (MIB) transmitted using Physical Broadcast Channel), or It is notified from the radio base station to the user terminal by System Information Block (SIB) multiplexed on the data channel, upper layer signaling, RRC signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) signal or downlink control information).
Xu in view of Teyeb and Nagata fails to teach alone or in combination "wherein to refrain from monitoring the first resource indicated in the first TRS configuration, the at least one processor is configured to refrain from monitoring the first resource based on the configuration prioritization indicated by the priority indication".
Regarding claim 22, Xu in view of Teyeb discloses provide, for the UE, a configuration associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS but does not explicitly disclose provide, for the UE, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration.
Nagata discloses provide, for the UE, a priority indication that indicates a configuration prioritization associated with the first TRS configuration and the second TRS configuration (Nagata, [0145] The priority information acquisition unit 1045 relates to an index of each information (SMR, IMR, UE emulation, NZP CSI-RS, etc.) used for generating CSI, a cell index, a CSI index, and a priority set for these combinations. Get information. When the radio base station determines the priority of each information, the information about the index for which the priority is set is, for example, a broadcast signal (Master Information Block (MIB) transmitted using Physical Broadcast Channel), or It is notified from the radio base station to the user terminal by System Information Block (SIB) multiplexed on the data channel, upper layer signaling, RRC signaling, Medium Access Control (MAC) signal or downlink control information).
Xu in view of Teyeb and Nagata fails to teach alone or in combination " wherein to communicate, with the UE and absent the further communication based on the first set of TRS measurements for the TRS, based on the second set of TRS measurements for the TRS, the at least one processor is configured to communicate based on the second set of TRS measurements for the TRS based on the priority indication".
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUNA WEISSBERGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2415