DETAILED ACTION
RCE filed 4/27/2026 is acknowledged. Amendment filed 4/21/2026 is entered.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 13-16, 19, 20, 22, 28, and 29 have been amended.
Claims 1-30 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 12, 13, 18, 19, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US20220159568A1; “Kim”) in view of Rudolf et al. (US20230276438A1; “Rudolf”).
Regarding claims 1 and 19,
Kim discloses a method (Fig. 7) and apparatus (Fig. 10) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 7, UE 701; Fig. 10, terminal/UE; paragraph 224-235) comprising at least one memory (Fig. 10, memory 1002); and at least one processor (Fig. 10, processor 1003) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that stored in the at least one memory (paragraphs 230-235), the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the UE to transmit information to a network node (Fig. 7, gNB 700) indicating at least one of an aggregation capability or payload pattern information for multiple uplink data flows of the UE (Fig. 7, step 703; paragraphs 152-183; sending UE assistance information from UE to gNB including parameters related to transmission/reception preferred by UE such as carrier aggregation related configuration information preferred by UE for cross-carrier scheduling, UL/DL slot pattern, etc.) and to receive a grant of uplink resources for the multiple uplink data flows based on the information transmitted to the network node (Fig. 4-5; paragraphs 30-32, 86-93; Tables 7-8; cross-carrier scheduling configuration of at least one primary cell or FR1 cell determined by base station/gNB based on the UE assistance information, conveyed via control channel/PDCCH according to aggregation level in the corresponding CORESET).
Kim does not expressly disclose the UE aggregation capability to aggregate traffic of multiple uplink data flows having periodic data traffic, where a first uplink flow is associated with a configured grant and a second uplink flow is not associated with the configured grant and aggregating the second flow in the configured grant or a dynamic grant with the first uplink flow.
Rudolf discloses analogous art (Title: Uplink Transmission in Full-Duplex Systems) including UE aggregation capability to aggregate traffic of multiple uplink data flows having periodic data traffic (paragraph 104, 120, 156, 178, 214-218; PUSCH transmission with repetition based on periodicity), where a first uplink flow is associated with a configured grant and a second uplink flow is not associated with the configured grant and aggregating the second flow in the configured grant or a dynamic grant with the first uplink flow (paragraph 85; UL aggregation of multiple slots with TB repetition for PUSCH for both dynamic grants and configured grants).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim by providing for UE aggregation capability to aggregate traffic of multiple uplink data flows having periodic data traffic, where a first uplink flow is associated with a configured grant and a second uplink flow is not associated with the configured grant and aggregating the second flow in the configured grant or a dynamic grant with the first uplink flow, as shown by Rudolf, thereby flexibly accommodating various services and application with different requirements.
Regarding claims 13 and 28,
Kim discloses a method (Fig. 7) and apparatus (Fig. 11) for wireless communication at a network node (Fig. 7, gNB 700) comprising at least one memory (Fig. 11, memory 1102) and at least one processor (Fig. 7, processor 1103) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory (paragraphs 230-235), the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the network node to obtain information from a user equipment (UE), the information indicating at least one of an aggregation capability or payload pattern information for multiple uplink data flows of the UE (Fig. 7, step 703; paragraphs 152-183; sending UE assistance information from UE to gNB including parameters related to transmission/reception preferred by UE such as carrier aggregation related configuration information preferred by UE for cross-carrier scheduling, UL/DL slot pattern, etc.) and provide a grant of uplink resources for the multiple uplink data flows based on the information transmitted to the network node (Fig. 4-5; paragraphs 30-32, 86-93; Tables 7-8; cross-carrier scheduling configuration of at least one primary cell or FR1 cell determined by base station/gNB based on the UE assistance information, conveyed via control channel/PDCCH according to aggregation level in the corresponding CORESET).
Kim does not expressly disclose the UE aggregation capability to aggregate traffic of multiple uplink data flows having periodic data traffic, where a first uplink flow is associated with a configured grant and a second uplink flow is not associated with the configured grant and aggregating the second flow in the configured grant or a dynamic grant with the first uplink flow.
Rudolf discloses analogous art (Title: Uplink Transmission in Full-Duplex Systems) including UE aggregation capability to aggregate traffic of multiple uplink data flows having periodic data traffic (paragraph 104, 120, 156, 178, 214-218; PUSCH transmission with repetition based on periodicity), where a first uplink flow is associated with a configured grant and a second uplink flow is not associated with the configured grant and aggregating the second flow in the configured grant or a dynamic grant with the first uplink flow (paragraph 85; UL aggregation of multiple slots with TB repetition for PUSCH for both dynamic grants and configured grants).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim by providing for UE aggregation capability to aggregate traffic of multiple uplink data flows having periodic data traffic, where a first uplink flow is associated with a configured grant and a second uplink flow is not associated with the configured grant and aggregating the second flow in the configured grant or a dynamic grant with the first uplink flow, as shown by Rudolf, thereby flexibly accommodating various services and application with different requirements.
Regarding claim 6,
The combination of Kim and Rudolf discloses the configured grant for the first uplink flow and the dynamic grant based on the aggregation capability for the second flow (Rudolf: paragraph 85; UL aggregation of multiple slots with TB repetition for PUSCH for both dynamic grants and configured grants). See motivation above.
Regarding claim 12, 18, and 27,
The combination of Kim and Rudolf discloses the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network node to receive uplink data for the multiple uplink data flows in the uplink resources of the grant (paragraphs 170-171, 201, 203; CG and time/frequency related configuration/allocation information).
Claims 2-5, 9-11, 14, 17, 20, 21, 23-26, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Rudolf in view of Takahashi et al. (US20230345472A1; “Takahashi”).
Regarding claims 2, 14, 20, and 29,
Kim discloses the information indicates, for each uplink data flow, one or more of: timing information for uplink data (paragraph 153-155; UE assistance including time domain resource allocation and HARQ-ACK timing parameters) or payload size/variation/jitter information for the uplink data, but fails to expressly disclose aggregation capability indicating to aggregate traffic of a first uplink data flow in a transmission occasion for a second uplink data flow.
Takahashi discloses analogous art including aggregation capability indicating to aggregate traffic of a first uplink data flow in a transmission occasion for a second uplink data flow (paragraphs 108, 175; aggregating/multiplexing second UL channel into first UL channel according to different payload sizes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim and Rudolf by indicating aggregation capability to aggregate traffic of a first uplink data flow in a transmission occasion for a second uplink data flow, as shown by Takahashi, thereby controlling aggregation according to priority.
Regarding claims 3 and 21,
The combination of Kim, Rudolf, and Takahashi discloses the information indicates the payload size information, for at least one of the multiple uplink data flows, as an index referencing a table (Kim: paragraph 169-173; MCS table; Takahashi: paragraph 108; varying bit/payload sizes). See motivation above.
Regarding claims 4, 14, 21, and 29,
The combination of Kim, Rudolf, and Takahashi discloses the information indicates the timing information based on at least one of: a period and a system time of a first data burst (Fig. 8; paragraphs 25, 92, 169, 183; Table 8; periodicity and time domain resource allocation information and transmission periodicity), or a bitmap associated with a configured grant pattern.
Regarding claims 5, 14, and 29,
The combination of Kim, Rudolf, and Takahashi discloses the information is comprised in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or uplink control information (UCI) (paragraph 78, 152, 187; RRC or MAC CE or PUCCH).
Regarding claims 9, 17, 23, 24, and 30,
The combination of Kim and Rudolf discloses the information includes the pattern information indicates a resource allocation pattern for each of the multiple uplink data flows of the UE (Kim: paragraphs 23-25, 38, 60, 152-183; patterns of sleep, active time, frequency hopping, uplink/downlink slot pattern, etc.), wherein each resource allocation pattern includes at least one of: a period, a payload size, or a traffic occurrence indication of one or more traffic occurrences (Kim: Fig. 8; paragraphs 25, 92, 169, 183; Table 8; periodicity and time domain resource allocation information and transmission periodicity; Rudolf: paragraph 104, 120, 156, 178, 214-218; PUSCH transmission with repetition based on periodicity).
The combination of Kim and Rudolf does not expressly disclose indicating a pattern of combined payload sizes in transmission occasions for an aggregation of the multiple uplink data flows.
Takahashi discloses analogous art as shown above, including pattern information indicateing a pattern of combined payload sizes in transmission occasions for an aggregation of the multiple uplink data flows (paragraphs 108, 175; aggregating second UL channel into first UL channel according to different payload sizes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim and Rudolf by providing pattern information indicating a pattern of combined payload sizes in transmission occasions for an aggregation of the multiple uplink data flows, as shown by Takahashi, thereby aggregating according to flow priority.
Regarding claims 10 and 25,
The combination of Kim, Rudolf and Takahashi discloses to transmit an indication of an information change for at least one occasion of the multiple uplink data flows (paragraph 197; Table 15; mode changes).
Regarding claims 11, 25, 26, and 30,
The combination of Kim, Rudolf and Takahashi discloses indication is comprised in at least one of: a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or uplink control information (UCI) (Kim: paragraph 78, 152, 187; MAC CE or PUCCH; Rudolf: paragraph 84; MAC-CE) and information change indicates at least one index (Kim: paragraph 32, 92; index for cell/CORESET) for a slot of a reported traffic pattern that is no longer valid or with an updated payload size (Rudolf: paragraph 104, 120, 156, 178, 214-218; PUSCH transmission with repetition based on periodicity; Takahashi: paragraph 108; varying bit/payload sizes). See motivations above.
Claims 7, 8, 15, 16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Rudolf in view of Kim et al. (US20130010714A1; “Kim2”).
Regarding claims 7, 15, 16, and 22,
The combination of Kim and Rudolf discloses the grant of the uplink resources includes a configured grant for a first uplink data flow (Kim: paragraph 170, 201, 203; configured grant configuration information) and aggregation of both configured and dynamic grants (Rudolf: paragraph 85; UL aggregation of multiple slots with TB repetition for PUSCH for both dynamic grants and configured grants) but does not expressly disclose a dynamic grant based on the aggregation capability for a second uplink data flow or a configured grant with multiple payload sizes, including a first transport block size (TBS) for a first uplink data flow and at least one secondary TBS for an aggregation of a second uplink data flow with the first uplink data flow.
Kim2 discloses analogous art (Title: transmitting/receiving PDCCH using DCI having adjusted size) including a dynamic grant based on the aggregation capability for a second uplink data flow (paragraphs; dynamic fallback applied to UL) and a configured grant with multiple payload sizes, including a first transport block size (TBS) for a first uplink data flow and at least one secondary TBS for an aggregation of a second uplink data flow with the first uplink data flow (paragraphs 85, 93, 215; carrier aggregation associated with UE capabilities including cross-carrier scheduling for multiple carriers in UL grant of different bandwidths/payload size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Kim and Rudolf by including a dynamic grant based on the aggregation capability for a second uplink data flow, as shown by Kim2, thereby enabling dynamic fallback according to varying bandwidth.
Regarding claim 8,
The combination of Kim, Rudolf, and Kim2 discloses configured grant occasions having a secondary TBS of the at least one secondary TBS are indicated based on at least one of: a period and a system time of a first configured grant occasion (Kim: paragraphs 170-171, 201, 203; CG and time/frequency related configuration/allocation information; Fig. 8; paragraphs 25, 92, 169, 183; Table 8; periodicity and time domain resource allocation information and transmission periodicity) or bitmap associated with a configured grant pattern.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the newly-cited Rudolf reference for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477