Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, the claimed structure is not clear. Specifically, the claim refers to the zinc and silver particles, individually, as microbatteries, however, a battery is defined as an anode, a cathode and an electrolyte. Further, claim 5 recites that the plurality of microbatteries has at least one pair of electrodes embedded on or within the polymer substrate, but the specification states that the electrodes are also the zinc or silver particles. If the particles are both the electrodes and the batteries, the claimed structure is not clear. For purposes of the art rejections below, the particles are interpreted as being both the electrodes and the microbatteries.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan et al, CN 220652609.
Fan discloses a nonwoven fabric including a plurality of zinc and silver particles, wherein the nonwoven can be used to promote a microcurrent and promote wound healing by contacting it with saline, water, blood or wound exudate to form a microbattery dressing. See page 2, penultimate paragraph of provided machine translation. The fabric can have a thickness of 0.5-3 mm. See final paragraph of page 2. The zinc and silver is applied by various methods including printing and coating. See penultimate of paragraph of page 3. Since the fabric functions electrochemically the zinc and silver particles are equated with the claimed microbatteries and first and second electrode.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al, CN 220652609 in view of Osborn et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0187498.
Fan discloses a nonwoven fabric including a plurality of zinc and silver particles, wherein the nonwoven can be used to promote a microcurrent and promote wound healing by contacting it with saline, water, blood or wound exudate to form a microbattery dressing. See page 2, penultimate paragraph of provided machine translation. The fabric can have a thickness of 0.5-3 mm. See final paragraph of page 2. The zinc and silver is applied by various methods including printing and coating. See penultimate of paragraph of page 3. Since the fabric functions electrochemically the zinc and silver particles are equated with the claimed microbatteries and first and second electrode.
Fan differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the fiber diameter, the diameter of the particles or the percent of the surface of the fiber occupied by the particles.
Osborn teaches suitable fiber diameters for a structure which includes polymeric electrospun fibers and zinc and silver particles as suitably being 1000 nm or less, and wherein in some embodiments no more than 20% of the fibers have a diameter of greater than 700 nm. See paragraph 0013.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have selected suitable fiber sizes as taught by Osborn to form the fibers of Fan.
With regard to the particle size, it would have been obvious to have selected the size of the particles relative to the size of the fibers so that the particles would remain bonded to the fibers and to have selected the amount of particles and thus the amount of surface coverage, which provided sufficient particles for the fabric to function electrochemically.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborn et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0187498 in view of TWI680880B.
Osborn discloses a nonwoven fabric formed from polyamide fibers wherein the fibers of the nonwoven include zinc particles. See paragraph 0010. The fabric functions antimicrobially. See paragraph 0002. The fibers can further comprise silver particles. See paragraph 0013. The fibers can be formed by electrospinning. See paragraphs 0013, 0120. The fibers can have a diameter of 1000 nm or less, and wherein in some embodiments no more than 20% of the fibers have a diameter of greater than 700 nm. See paragraph 0013. Osborn teaches that adding topical treatments of silver onto fabrics to provide an antimicrobial fabric often results in a fabric which loses efficacy because the to the polymer itself and forming by electrospinning provide a durably antimicrobial fabric. See paragraph 0031-0032. The fibers can preferably have a diameter of less than 25 microns. See paragraph 0036. The zinc is present in amounts of 100 ppb to 4000 ppm. See paragraph 0039. The zinc can be added to the polymer before electrospinning. See paragraph 0040. Additional antimicrobial additives such as gold and silver can also be added to the composition before electrospinning. See paragraph 0057. Fiber diameters can be anywhere from 25 microns to less than one micron, such as 100-950 nm. See paragraph 0064. Besides polyamide, other polymers can be used to form the fibers, including polyolefins, polyesters cellulose ether and ester, polyethylene terephthalate.
Osborn differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose employing a metal precursor and then reducing to form the metal particles.
However, TWI680880B discloses providing a antimicrobial metal precursor as part of a polymeric composition which is then electrospun and then reducing by a plasma treatment to provide a metal component of the polymeric fiber. See page 5 of the translation provided by Applicant.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed a metal precursor as taught by TW’880 in order to avoid adding particles before the fibers were electrospun to avoid clogging of the electrospinning apparatus.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789