Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9370278 B1 by Lion et al. (hereinafter "Lion") in view of US 20190350246 A1 by Greene and evidenced by Yamamoto (RU 2676939 C2 and Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lion shows a vegetable cutting and washing device (Figure 1), comprising a collection basin (10, Figure 1), a basin cover (12), a cover plate (90) and a cutting blade (92, Figure 5) for cutting vegetables,
wherein the basin cover is provided with a vegetable pouring port (a passage 78) and
the cover plate is detachably installed in the vegetable pouring port (see the slicer 90 is removable on the passage 78 or a port as seen in Figure 5 below);
the cover plate is provided with an installing hole (the hole for receiving the blade 92, see Figure 5 below, for slicing food entering to the passage);
the cutting blade is detachably installed on the installing hole (see Figure 5 there are 3 fasteners mounted and secured the blade to the slicer 90, the blade is ably detachably mounted to the hole); and
the basin cover (12) is clamped with the collection basin (10) through a clamping piece (see Figure 5 below), wherein an inner wall of the vegetable pouring port is inclined and protruded inwards to form a limiting bevel (see the bevel in a zoom-in in Figure 5 below), and an edge of the cover plate (90) is abutted against the limiting bevel (see Figure 5).
However, Lion does not explicitly disclose a plurality of draining holes in the basin cover.
Greene shows a device for washing vegetables having the basin cover (8, Figure 8) that includes a plurality of draining holes (strainer ports 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the basin cover of Lion to have a plurality of draining holes, as taught by Greene, in order to allow for emptied cleaning water from the basin after washing and to help prevent overflow of water during the washing process (Greene, Para. 16 of Greene “a strainer port #1 for emptying post wash water from washing chamber”).
With regards to the blade is “detachably installed” on the installing hole, if one still argues that the blade is NOT “detachably installed” on the installing hole, the blade detachably installed on the installing hole is well known in the art, as evidenced by Yamamoto (RU 2676939 C2 and Translation), see Figure 1, there are 2 fasteners 110 and 2 installing holes 18 for detachably secured a blade 20 to an opening of a slicer (Page 7 of Translation).
Further, the blade is “detachably installed” on the installing hole, in which is well known (as evidenced by Yamamoto), since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893)., in order to allow the blade removably attached the slicer if it needs or resharpening or replacing.
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Lion discloses a handle (Lion, Fig. 1, handle 34) is fixed on the basin cover.
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Lion discloses the clamping piece (see Lion’s Figure 5 above) comprises a plurality of clamping hooks (see Lion’s Figure 1 below, there are clamping hooks);
an opening edge of the collection basin (10) extends outwards to form an annular bulge (Lion, Fig. 3, flange 16); one end of the plurality of clamping hooks is rotatably connected to the basin cover (see Lion, Fig. 1, lid 12); and the other ends can be hooked on the annular bulge (see Lion, Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Lion discloses the edge of the cover plate (Lion, Fig. 5 above, slicer 90) is provided with a notch (see a notch in Figure 5 above).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9370278 B1 by Lion et al. (hereinafter "Lion") in view of US 20190350246 A1 by Greene and US 2615486 A by Marcus and evidenced by Yamamoto (RU 2676939 C2 and Translation).
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of Lion shows all of the limitations as stated above except a plurality of clamping slots.
Marcus shows a plurality of clamping slots (Fig. 2, grooves 21a); a plurality of clamping bulges (extensions 22b) are fixed on a cutting blade (22); and the plurality of clamping bulges (32) can be correspondingly inserted into the plurality of clamping slots (Marcus, col. 2, lines 16-22, "A cutter 22, having suitable upwardly exposed cutting edges 22a, is provided with extensions 22b. The extensions 22b are adapted to slidingly engage the grooves 21a of the channels 21 to thereby firmly hold the cutter 22 with respect to a cover 17 and position the cutter 22 above the opening 22") so that the cutting blade is installed on the cover plate (Marcus, Fig. 2, cover 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the blade fasteners of Lion to have clamping slots and bulges, as taught by Marcus, since this is known alternative way for the same purpose of mounting the blade into the slicer and in order to securely hold the blade for use (Marcus, col. 2, lines 16-22, "A cutter 22, having suitable upwardly exposed cutting edges 22a, is provided with extensions 22b. The extensions 22b are adapted to slidingly engage the grooves 21a of the channels 21 to thereby firmly hold the cutter 22 with respect to the cover 17 and position the cutter 22 above the opening 22”).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9370278 B1 by Lion et al. (hereinafter "Lion") in view of US 20190350246 A1 by Greene and CN 211722871 U (art of record) by Ye and evidenced by Yamamoto (RU 2676939 C2 and Translation).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Lion shows all of the limitations stated above including the bottom of the basin cover is provided with an annular groove (see Examiner Annotated Lion Figure 7 below) corresponding to a top edge of the collection basin (Lion’s Figure 3). However, Lion does not explicitly disclose a sealing ring.
Ye shows a sealing ring (Ye, Fig. 3, sealing ring 23) between the cover and the basin and abutted against the top edge of the collection basin (Ye, Fig. 3, top opening 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have a sealing ring between the cover and basin, as taught by Ye, to the modified device of Lion, in order to prevent leakage during use (see Ye English Machine Translated Document, hereinafter "YEMTD"; Description, para. 37, line 286, "The sealing ring is used to provide sealing performance for the cup body 10 to prevent liquid leakage").
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Lion shows all of the limitations as stated in claim 1 above except a non-slip pad.
Ye also shows a non-slip pad (Ye, Fig. 4, non-skid pads 494), wherein the non-slip pad (10) is bonded to the bottom of the collection basin (1) (see Ye Fig. 4 and Translation, Para. 54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add a non-slip pad to the bottom of Lion's basin, as taught by Ye in order to help reduce vibrations and prevent slipping (see Translation, Para. 54 of Ye).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons:
With regards to “a plurality of draining holes”, the argument is acknowledged, but it is persuasive because the combination Lion in view of Green teaches and suggests to have “a plurality of draining holes”, in order to allow for emptied cleaning water from the basin after washing and to help prevent overflow of water during the washing process (Greene, Para. 16 of Greene “a strainer port #1 for emptying post wash water from washing chamber”).
With regards to “the design of the plurality of draining holes on the lid will increase the structure complexity of the lid and the device cost,… the additional water discharge structure will make the structure of the lid more complex and thus increase the manufacturing cost”, this statement appears to be a conclusory opinion with not proffer factual evidence or persuasive rationale to explain how the additional water discharge structure will make the structure of the lid more complex and thus increase the manufacturing cost.
Adding the plurality of draining holes on the lid would be less material to make the cover or lid cheaper (see Greene’s Figure 1) and the lid would be improved for emptying post wash water from washing chamber as strongly suggested by Greene’s Para. 16). Also, see KSR, 550 U.S. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.") who confuses why adding the additional water discharge structure will make the structure of the lid more complex.
Applicant also states that “the design of the plurality of draining holes on the lid will affect the working effect of the salad processing device of Lion, …, when the salad processing device performs the spin-drying operation, water will not only be discharged from the vertical slots 42 of the basket 40, but will also splash out from the draining holes of the lid, causing water to splash everywhere, which will make the working environment unclean and affect the user experience, while also affecting the spin-drying effect” (emphasis added), again, this statement appears to be a conclusory opinion with not proffer factual evidence or persuasive rationale to explain how the cleaning water flows/splashes upwardly and splashes out from the draining holes of the lid (as seen in Lion’s Figure 2, the water will laterally splash out from the slots 42 during spinning the basket 40).
There are evidence that cleaning devices have a plurality of draining holes on the cover or lids and spinning baskets, for examples, see Kwong (US 8353244) and Mah (US 2010/0263555) which will NOT make the working environment unclean and affect the user experience, while also affecting the spin-drying effect.
With regards “installing hole …the cutting blade is detachably installed on the installing hole”, see the three blade fasteners discussion in claim 1 above for details and see the KSR for “integrally” above.
With regards to “an inner wall…the limiting bevel”, as the claim is written, it is not clear where the inner wall …is inclined relative to what and protruded inwards to what for forming a limiting bevel, therefore, see the discussion in claim 1 above and see Figure 5 of Lion above to meet the limitations. Please notes that this device is a portable, the inner wall can be positioned, inclined and protruded… as desired.
With regards to “bevel”, see Lion’s Figure 5 above, there are many bevel portions of the inner wall, especially, it shows at corners.
With regards to “inwards”, this is not persuasive since as the claim is written, it is unclear what the “inwards” relative to, therefore, the illustration on Figure 5 above meets this limitation.
However, if Applicant still believes that the claimed invention’s apparatus/method different from the prior art’s apparatus/method or needs to discuss the rejections above or suggestion amendments that can be overcome the current rejections, Applicant should feel free to call the Examiner to schedule an interview.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NHAT CHIEU Q DO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724 10/19/2026